Back to top

Chelten Ave. Station P.R.R. Just before it was raised [sic] 1-1916.

Doorway to Johnson House, Main & Washington Ln.

Doorway to Blair House, formerly in Bensel House.

Germantown High School

Vernon Park near Main St.

Robeson's Knoll, mouth of Wissahickon.

Riverside Mansion, formerly Milverton.

E. Park Drive where Wissahickon Drive enters.

Pencoyd Iron Works, opposite mouth of Wissahickon.

Looking east at mouth of Wissahickon.

Where Wissahickon Drive joins E. Park Drive.

4821 Main St.

Wagner House, 4840 Main St., built 1747, hospital in Battle of Germantown.

Henry House, 1760. 4908 Main St. In 1828 bought by John S. Henry father of Alex Henry thrice mayor of Phila.

General Wayne Hotel, S.W. Main & Manheim Sts.

Conyngham-Hacker House, 5214 Main St.

5430 Main St. Home of Capt. Albert Ashmead.

"Wyck" Haines home, Walnut Lane & Main St., oldest house standing in Gt'n at this date.

Wyck, front bedroom.

Knorr house, N.W. Main St. & Walnut Lane, from pencil sketch on a visiting card, made in 1862.

Old Johnson House, N. W. Main & Washington Lane.

[[The]] Johnson House, Main & Washington Lane, built in 1768 by John Johnson. The doors & hall show marks of bullets in battle of Germantown.

Keyser House, 6316 Main St., subsequently owned by Elwood Johnson.

Near Wakefield, Fisher's Lane.

Old stone monument to Continental soldiers buried inside gateway to Chas. Wharton's place, Old York Road below Chelten Ave.

Warner houses, 6021 & 6023 Main St.

Old Concord School House. Main St. Germantown, Pa. Built 1775

Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.

Riverside Mansion, Ridge Road, Phil.

Mehl House, 4817 Main St.

Jacob Knorr House, 1760, 6307 Main St.

On the Wissahickon near Valley Green.

Germantown Academy, built 1760.

Doorway of Stenton.

Home of Anthony Gilbert, "the Strong Blacksmith."

5450 Main St. Built 1790. Home of Thos. Armat.

5151 Main St. Home of Phil. R. Freas and first office of the Village Telegraph, later Germantown Telegraph.

Livezey House, Gtn. From west bank of Wissahickon.

Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.

Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.

Vernon Park on Greene St.

[[The]] Monestary [sic]. Built by Joseph Gorgas bt. 1746 & 1752.

Peter Robeson House in 1789. Ridge Road & mouth of the Wissahickon.

N.W. & N. E. Chelten Ave. & Main St., Post Office & 1st Presbyt. Church.

Doorway of Livezey House, 3 p.m.

Stenton, built by James Logan 1727.

S.W. Manheim & Portico St., near Main St. Owned by Jacques Marie Roset in 1792. Introduced the tomato to Gtn.

Dr. Bensel's old barn, School Lane, rear of Saving Fund.

Old tavern on Wissahickon Drive below Lincoln Drive.

Morris House.

Pages