Back to top

4821 Main St.
4821 Main St.
Wagner House, 4840 Main St., built 1747, hospital in Battle of Germantown.
Wagner House, 4840 Main St., built 1747, hospital in Battle of Germantown.
Henry House, 1760. 4908 Main St. In 1828 bought by John S. Henry father of Alex Henry thrice mayor of Phila.
Henry House, 1760. 4908 Main St. In 1828 bought by John S. Henry father of Alex Henry thrice mayor of Phila.
General Wayne Hotel, S.W. Main & Manheim Sts.
General Wayne Hotel, S.W. Main & Manheim Sts.
Conyngham-Hacker House, 5214 Main St.
Conyngham-Hacker House, 5214 Main St.
5430 Main St. Home of Capt. Albert Ashmead.
5430 Main St. Home of Capt. Albert Ashmead.
"Wyck" Haines home, Walnut Lane & Main St., oldest house standing in Gt'n at this date.
Wyck, front bedroom.
Wyck, front bedroom.
Knorr house, N.W. Main St. & Walnut Lane, from pencil sketch on a visiting card, made in 1862.
Knorr house, N.W. Main St. & Walnut Lane, from pencil sketch on a visiting card, made in 1862.
Old Johnson House, N. W. Main & Washington Lane.
Old Johnson House, N. W. Main & Washington Lane.
[[The]] Johnson House, Main & Washington Lane, built in 1768 by John Johnson. The doors & hall show marks of bullets in battle of Germantown.
[[The]] Johnson House, Main & Washington Lane, built in 1768 by John Johnson. The doors & hall show marks of bullets in battle of Germantown.
Keyser House, 6316 Main St., subsequently owned by Elwood Johnson.
Keyser House, 6316 Main St., subsequently owned by Elwood Johnson.
[Upsala, Johnson House. Main St. near Upsal St.]
[Upsala, Johnson House. Main St. near Upsal St.]
Near Wakefield, Fisher's Lane.
Near Wakefield, Fisher's Lane.
Old stone monument to Continental soldiers buried inside gateway to Chas. Wharton's place, Old York Road below Chelten Ave.
Old stone monument to Continental soldiers buried inside gateway to Chas. Wharton's place, Old York Road below Chelten Ave.
Birthplace of David Rittenhouse, born 1732. On Lincoln Drive, Germantown.
Birthplace of David Rittenhouse, born 1732. On Lincoln Drive, Germantown.
Robeson's Knoll, mouth of Wissahickon.
Robeson's Knoll, mouth of Wissahickon.
Old market sheds, 1898. 2nd St. North from Lombard.
Old market sheds, 1898. 2nd St. North from Lombard.
Neglee House, 4518-20 Main St., built before 1750.
Neglee House, 4518-20 Main St., built before 1750.
Hotel on Ridge Ave. Falls of the Schuylkill.
Hotel on Ridge Ave. Falls of the Schuylkill.
Warner houses, 6021 & 6023 Main St.
Warner houses, 6021 & 6023 Main St.
Old Concord School House. Main St. Germantown, Pa. Built 1775
Old Concord School House. Main St. Germantown, Pa. Built 1775
Old Mill near Jay Cooke's residence Chelten Hills.
Old Mill near Jay Cooke's residence Chelten Hills.
Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.
Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.
5261 Main St. Built by John Wister 1744.
5261 Main St. Built by John Wister 1744.
Blair House, Main & Walnut Ln. Built 1775 by Dr. Wm. Shippen, occupied also by his son in law. Rev. Saml. Blair afterward President of Princeton University.
Blair House, Main & Walnut Ln. Built 1775 by Dr. Wm. Shippen, occupied also by his son in law. Rev. Saml. Blair afterward President of Princeton University.
Riverside Mansion, Ridge Road, Phil.
Riverside Mansion, Ridge Road, Phil.
Mehl House, 4817 Main St.
Mehl House, 4817 Main St.
Jacob Knorr House, 1760, 6307 Main St.
Jacob Knorr House, 1760, 6307 Main St.
[Merchants Exchange, Philadelphia]
[Merchants Exchange, Philadelphia]
On the Wissahickon near Valley Green.
On the Wissahickon near Valley Green.
Germantown Academy, built 1760.
Germantown Academy, built 1760.
Doorway of Stenton.
Doorway of Stenton.
Very old house, date unknown. Was used as home of sexton of St. Michaels Lutheran Church. 6669 Main St.
Very old house, date unknown. Was used as home of sexton of St. Michaels Lutheran Church. 6669 Main St.
[[The]] Castle. Built 1812 [sic]. State in Schuylkill fish house below Graysferry. Old fishing club. Founded 1732.
[[The]] Castle. Built 1812 [sic]. State in Schuylkill fish house below Graysferry. Old fishing club. Founded 1732.
Home of Anthony Gilbert,
Home of Anthony Gilbert, "the Strong Blacksmith."
5450 Main St. Built 1790. Home of Thos. Armat.
5450 Main St. Built 1790. Home of Thos. Armat.
5151 Main St. Home of Phil. R. Freas and first office of the Village Telegraph, later Germantown Telegraph.
5151 Main St. Home of Phil. R. Freas and first office of the Village Telegraph, later Germantown Telegraph.
Livezey House, Gtn. From west bank of Wissahickon.
Livezey House, Gtn. From west bank of Wissahickon.
Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.
Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.
Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.
Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.
Vernon Park on Greene St.
Vernon Park on Greene St.
A Berkshire road. 1888.
A Berkshire road. 1888.
Statue of Stephen Girard in Girard College.
Statue of Stephen Girard in Girard College.
[[The]] Monestary [sic]. Built by Joseph Gorgas bt. 1746 & 1752.
[[The]] Monestary [sic]. Built by Joseph Gorgas bt. 1746 & 1752.
Hokey Pokey Man.
Hokey Pokey Man.
Peter Robeson House in 1789. Ridge Road & mouth of the Wissahickon.
Peter Robeson House in 1789. Ridge Road & mouth of the Wissahickon.
N.W. & N. E. Chelten Ave. & Main St., Post Office & 1st Presbyt. Church.
N.W. & N. E. Chelten Ave. & Main St., Post Office & 1st Presbyt. Church.
Doorway of Livezey House, 3 p.m.
Doorway of Livezey House, 3 p.m.
Wanamakers, 5 mo. 1899. Market St. Front.
Wanamakers, 5 mo. 1899. Market St. Front.
"Ship" House, Main St., G'tn. 6338 Main St. Built 1760. At one time an inn. First public hall in Gt'n. was in rear. One of first three hand fire engines kept here.
Stenton, built by James Logan 1727.
Stenton, built by James Logan 1727.
S.W. Manheim & Portico St., near Main St. Owned by Jacques Marie Roset in 1792. Introduced the tomato to Gtn.
S.W. Manheim & Portico St., near Main St. Owned by Jacques Marie Roset in 1792. Introduced the tomato to Gtn.
Riverside Mansion, formerly Milverton.
Riverside Mansion, formerly Milverton.
Old blacksmith shop, Ridge Ave. & Wissahickon opposite Millverton.
Old blacksmith shop, Ridge Ave. & Wissahickon opposite Millverton.
Dr. Bensel's old barn, School Lane, rear of Saving Fund.
Dr. Bensel's old barn, School Lane, rear of Saving Fund.
Old tavern on Wissahickon Drive below Lincoln Drive.
Old tavern on Wissahickon Drive below Lincoln Drive.
Morris House.
Morris House.
Carlton, north side, near Midvale Ave. Washington's Headquarters 1777.
Carlton, north side, near Midvale Ave. Washington's Headquarters 1777.
Loudoun, built 1801 by Thos. Armat for his son.
Loudoun, built 1801 by Thos. Armat for his son.

Pages