Back to top

107 W. School Lane. Bought in 1810 for faculty of Academy.

4821 Main St.

5011 Main St.

5112-14 Main St.

5112-5114 Main St.

5140 Main St. Occupied by Gilbert Stuart 1794-5. Studio in rear.

5151 Main St. Home of Phil. R. Freas and first office of the Village Telegraph, later Germantown Telegraph.

5203-5205 Main St. Home of Dr. Theodore Ashmead and Dr. Belton. Owen Wister born here July 14,1860.

5242-44 Main St., formerly Indian Queen Hotel.

5261 Main St. Built by John Wister 1744.

5275-7 Main St. Occupied by Thos. Jefferson in 1793 & Edmund Randolph.

5300 Main St. at present parsonage of Trinity Luth. Church. Formerly Sauer's property. In cellar first type case in America 1772.

5430 Main St. Home of Capt. Albert Ashmead.

5434 Main St. Home of John Ashmead.

5450 Main St. Built 1790. Home of Thos. Armat.

5845 Main St. Standing at time of Revolution.

6019 Main St. Old Green Tree Tavern, once kept by Daniel & Sarah Pastorius until his death in 1754. Shows also 6021 & 23.

6205 Main St., built by Dirck Keyser 1738. 1st 2-story house in Germantown.

6211 Main St.

6305 Main St.

American, Hawaian, Cuban flags displayed on Market St. at the outbreak of Spanish War.

Among the Berkshire Hills.

Battle of Germantown Monument, Vernon Park.

A Berkshire road. 1888.

Billmyer House, 1727, N.E. Main & Upsal Sts.

Birthplace of David Rittenhouse, born 1732. On Lincoln Drive, Germantown.

Blair House, 6043 Main St. First 3 story house, 1775. In 1851 owned by Charlotte Cushman the actress.

Blair House, Main & Walnut Ln. Built 1775 by Dr. Wm. Shippen, occupied also by his son in law. Rev. Saml. Blair afterward President of Princeton University.

Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.

Broad St. looking N. from Filbert, showing the four churches on 4 corners of Arch St.

Building in rear of the Johnson house, Washington Lane.

Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.

Canal near Bridgeport below Norristown, Pa.

Capt. Barrow's House, 5106 Main St.

Carlton, from the east. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

Carlton, north side, near Midvale Ave. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

[[The]] Castle. Built 1812 [sic]. State in Schuylkill fish house below Graysferry. Old fishing club. Founded 1732.

Chelten Ave. Station P.R.R. Just before it was raised [sic] 1-1916.

Chew House, Germantown, Pa.

Chew House, Main & Johnson Sts.

Christ Church burying ground. 5th & Arch Sts. Phila.

Christopher Ludwig house, Haines Street.

Clock tower of Independence Hall, Philada.

Concord School House. Built 1775.

Conyngham-Hacker House, 5214 Main St.

Cope House, Main abv. Johnson St. [sic]

Court of Honor, Peace Jubilee. Oct. 25-28, 1898. Looking north from Locust St. Shows Dundas House cor. Broad & Walnut.

Cypress planted by John Bartram. In 1830 it was 91 years old, 112 ft. high, 25 ft. in circumference.

Doorway, N. E. Walnut Lane & Main St.

Doorway of 6347 Main St. Keyser-Rodney House.