Stark advertisement showing the front facade of the hotel at 625-631 Chestnut Street. A couple walks toward the entrance. Edmund Badger, a former proprietor of The City Hotel, operated the Marshall House at 207 Chestnut Street 1837-1841. Hotel was later renamed the Columbia House and razed in 1856., Title and date from Poulson inscription on recto: Feb. 1, 1837. E. Badger, Proprietor. Chestnut St. near Seventh St., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 458, LCP copy trimmed and lacking title and imprint., Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited.
Date
[February 1, 1837]
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department W228 [P.2102]