© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Girard College postcards
- Description
- Contains exterior views of Founder's Hall, also identified as the main building, built 1833-1847 after designs by Thomas Ustick Walter., Contains 38 postcards printed in color and 20 printed in black and white. Also includes 1 linen postcard., Endowed by philanthropist Stephen Girard to educate boys without fathers. Girard ran away from home in France at the age of fourteen, worked his way up to ship captain and landed in the states in 1776. He became one of the wealthiest men in America before his death seventeen years before the opening of Girard College in 1848., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10)
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector.
- Date
- 1900-1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Schools - Girard College - 150]
- Title
- Girard College
- Description
- Exterior view of Founder's Hall, also identified as the main building, built 1833-1847 after designs by Thomas Ustick Walter. Endowed by philanthropist Stephen Girard to educate boys without fathers. Girard ran away from home in France at the age of fourteen, worked his way up to ship captain and landed in the states in 1776. He became one of the wealthiest men in America before his death seventeen years before the opening of Girard College in 1848., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
- Creator
- Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
- Date
- Negative 1886, printed 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.151]
- Title
- Statue of Stephen Girard in Girard College
- Description
- Interior view of marble, life-size statue of Stephen Girard standing atop a sarcophagus in Founder's Hall. Francois Victor Gevelot designed the sarcophagus that holds the remains of Girard. A man in a bowler hat and suit leans on the wrought iron railing separating the public from the monument., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Founder's Hall, also identified as the main building, built 1833-1847 after designs by Thomas Ustick Walter. Endowed by philanthropist Stephen Girard to educate boys without fathers. Girard ran away from home in France at the age of fourteen, worked his way up to ship captain and landed in the states in 1776. He became one of the wealthiest men in America before his death seventeen years before the opening of Girard College in 1848.
- Creator
- Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
- Date
- Negative 1886, printed 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.152]
- Title
- [Founder's Hall, Girard College, 1201-1211 West College Avenue, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View looking southwest showing the hall constructed 1833-1847 in the Greek Revival Style after the designs of Philadelphia architect Thomas Ustick Walter. Also shows a partial view of a neighboring building left of the hall and several trees in the foreground. Girard College was established through a bequest from Stephen Girard, a Philadelphia financier and philanthropist, for the creation of a school for "poor white orphans.", Title supplied by cataloguer., Date from manuscript note on verso., McClees 1858-13., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- October 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.122]
- Title
- Girard College for orphans at Philadelphia, Penn
- Description
- Exterior view of Girard College constructed 1833 to 1847 after the designs of Thomas Ustrick Walter at 1201-1211 West College Avenue, Philadelphia. In the center, shows Founders Hall designed in the Greek-Revival style with columns and a pediment. Two outbuildings flank either side of the Hall. A number of boys walk on the school grounds. Outside the walled campus, pedestrians walk along the sidewalk. Horse-drawn carriages travel down the street. Girard College was established through a bequest from Stephen Girard, a Philadelphia financier and philanthropist, for the creation of a school for poor, white, orphaned boys. The outbuildings, originally named Building 1 through 4, were used as student dormitories and residences for the president and teacher. In 1927, the buildings were renamed, Allen Hall, Bordeaux Hall, Mariner Hall, and Merchant Hall., Title and date from duplicate copies in Library Company collection., Trimmed and lacking title and imprint., Gift of David Doret., See related copies: **Ph Pr - Education - Girard [5225.F.7; 5225.F.11].
- Creator
- Graham, A. W., engraver
- Date
- [ca. 1840 or 1847]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *Doret and Mitchell Collection – Prints [P.2019.64.39]


