© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Delaware Ave., Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Depicts street and pedestrian traffic on Delaware Avenue., Sheet number: 156A02., Divided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Streets - Miscellaneous - 156]
- Title
- Delaware Avenue elevated railroad postcards
- Description
- Depicts sections of the Market Street elevated railroad along Delaware Avenue looking north and south, showing the Delaware Avenue station and the Market Street and Chestnut Street Ferry stations., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet numbers: 158A02, 158A06, 158A07 and 158A11., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1907-1916
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Village of Point Pleasant, Delaware River and canal in the distance
- Description
- View showing the river and mill village near New Hope, Pa. Includes a covered bridge. Village was developed to service rafters and canal men transporting materials on the river and canal., Attributed to John McAllister., Title from accompanying label., Yellow paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of Pennsylvania views & political miscellany., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1863]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Views - Point Pleasant [5759.F.1f]
- Title
- Marshall's Falls, near Delaware Water Gap, Pa
- Description
- Views depict a waterfall flowing from large rock formations into a stream in the Delaware Water Gap., Title supplied by cataloger., Publisher's imprint printed on labels pasted on versos., Manuscript note on publisher's label of one item [P.8709.2]: Marshall's Falls, near Del. Water Gap, Pa., Imprint of distributor, Johnson & D'Utassy, photographers, pasted over publisher's label on verso of two items in series [8248.F.6 and P.9462.11]: (formerly Johnson, Williams & Co.), 952, 954, 956 Broadway, New York, corner Madison Square, opposite Fifth Avenue Hotel, and Kittatinny House, Delaware Water Gap, Pa., Yellow mounts with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1866]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Views [8248.F.6; P.8709.2; and P.9462.11]
- Title
- Views on the Delaware
- Description
- Rooftop view of a landscaped park with walkways adjacent to the Delaware River. A man drives a horse-drawn cart in the street in the foreground., Title from printed unnumbered series lists on verso., Distributor's imprint printed on verso., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Date
- [ca. 1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Views [P.9299.31]
- Title
- Views of the Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Series of titled landscape views include, "View on Broadhead's Creek," "Little Bushkill Creek, above the Falls," "Buttermilk Falls," "Buttermilk Falls, vicinity of Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania," "Caldeno Falls," "Delaware River, from Prospect Rock," "The Gap, Blockhead Mountain," "The Gap, from the bed of the river," "Gap, from Table Rock, Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania," "Marshall's Falls, Marshall's Creek," and "Mossy dell". Images depict tree-lined creeks, waterfalls, rocks, dams, a mossy dell and a snake in the Delaware Water Gap. Many of the views contain posed male figures, possibly John Moran and John Storey., Titles printed on labels pasted on versos., Photographer's labels pasted on versos., Imprint of distributor, Johnson & D'Utassy, photographers, printed on verso of two items in series: 952, 954, 956 Broadway, New York, corner Madison Square, opposite Fifth Avenue Hotel, and Kittatinny House, Delaware Water Gap, Pa. All branches of the photographic art executed in the most skillful manner and with despatch. Photographs colored in oil or water colors or india ink. N.B. A large and choice collection of stereoscopic views, taken from nature, on hand. John H. Johnson. Fred. George D'Utassy., Imprint of distributor, J.W. Queen & Co., 924 Chestnut Street, stamped on verso of one items in series., Buff and yellow mounts with square and rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Moran and Storey was a short-lived partnership between Philadelphia photographers John Moran and John Storey in the early 1860s.
- Creator
- Moran & Storey
- Date
- [ca. 1863]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran & Storey - Views [8248.F.2-4; 8248.F.12; 8353.F.29; P. 2002.4.2; P.8771; P.8899; P.8982; P.9009.3; P.9079.7; P.9168.5; P.9462.21; P.9466.11-13]
- Title
- [Steamboat Thomas A. Morgan, Delaware River, near Philadelphia]
- Description
- View shows the passenger steamer built 1854 by Harlan & Hollingsworth on the Delaware River. Also shows people sitting on the floating dock at the pier in the foreground. Buildings facing the river on the opposite side are also visible., Title supplied by cataloger., Photographer's imprint printed on label pasted on verso., White mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- T. H. Nichols & Co.
- Date
- [ca. 1866]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Miscellaneous - Nichols [P.8992.22]
- Title
- Views of Ashwood, Gulph Mills, and other sites in Delaware County and surrounding counties in Pennsylvania
- Description
- Album containing 24 photographs showing landscape views of Delaware County and portraiture of family and acquaintances. Images include exterior and interior views of the Leaming family estate Ashwood near Villanova and views of Conshohocken, Darby Creek near Lewis Mill, Valley Forge, Gulph and Morris mills and dams, Hammer Hollow, and farmland in Cream and Pleasant valleys. Also contains an image of Radnor Meeting House and a photographic reproduction of a cloud filled sky captioned "Sic Itur ad Astra" (i.e., thus you shall go the stars). Many of the views include Leaming's wife and children and others posed in parlors; with animals; on bridges and dirt paths; at brooks, creeks, spring houses, and barns; and in modes of transportion, including canoes and horse-drawn vehicles. Other portrait sitters include Alice Bourda and children Ernie Law, Tommy Gaffney, Henny Lewis, and Og Hoffman., Wooden binding., Title supplied by cataloger., Captions by Robert Waln Leaming on the recto and verso of the album pages., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., See LCP AR [Annual Report] 1999, p. 45-46., Gift of Mrs. Clifford Lewis III., Housed in phase box., Robert Waln Leaming, grandson of China Trade merchant Robert Waln (1765-1836), was a merchant by trade who also painted and practiced photography. He was married to Julia Scott, descended from the royal Scotts of Ancrum, with whom he had four children Rebecca, i.e., Reb (1850-1911); Mary, i.e., Mame (1851-1911); Julia, i.e., Duly (1854-1913), and Thomas (1856-1911). Leaming was also an active member of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia. His residence Ashwood, not to be confused with the Penn-Gaskell/DeCosta property of the same name (208 Ashwood Road, Villanova), was razed in the late 19th century.
- Creator
- Leaming, Robert Waln, 1824-1884, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1873
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.9759.2]
- Title
- Moss Cataract
- Description
- View of a downhill stream running over a smooth rock bed covered in green moss in the Delaware Water Gap. Both sides of the stream are flanked by trees and bushes., Title from photographer's label on verso. Also lists eighteen other titles in the series (No. 192-209). Also includes series titled A Trip on the Catawissa (No. 210-235)., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett, George O., photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett - Views [P.2002.21.8]
- Title
- The Echo at Riverton, N.J
- Description
- Depicts a sailboat with the sail up on the Delaware River. Six passengers, including an African American man, sit within the boat. Trees are visible along the shoreline in the background., Green mount with square corners., Title from manuscript note on paper label on verso., Manuscript note on verso: Fred S. Wiese No. 33., Purchase 2002., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell [P.2002.4.3]
- Title
- The Echo at Riverton, N.J
- Description
- Depicts a sailboat on the Delaware River with a two-men crew. At the bow, a white man leans his right hand on the boom, which the sail is rolled around. Behind him, an African American man leans his right elbow on the boom and stands with his left hand on his hip. Trees along the shoreline are visual in the background., Green mount with square corners., Title from manuscript note on paper label on verso., Manuscript note on verso: Fred S. Wiese No. 34., Purchase 2002., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Views [P.2002.4.4]
- Title
- D & H Canal & coal dock, Honesdale, Pa
- Description
- View showing the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company boat and coal dock on the canal. The Delaware and Hudson canal, constructed from 1825-1828 after the designs of engineer Benjamin Wright, was conceived by Philadelphia merchants, William and Maurice Wurtz, as a means to transport anthracite coal from northeastern Pennsylvania to New York. Depicts in the foreground, workers standing on one of several docked canal boats used to transport coal hauled to Honesdale by the Pennsylvania Coal Company gravity railroad. In the background, a Pennsylvania Coal Company locomotive steams down the tracks past mountains of coal., Orange mount with rounded corners., Title from manuscript note on mount., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified -Transportation [P.9212.4]
- Title
- Philadelphia Warehousing & Cold Storage Co. Delaware Ave. Noble, Beach and Front Streets, Philadelphia
- Description
- Depicts the Philadelphia Warehousing & Cold Storage Co. building, with an advertising text on verso., Publisher's monogram printed on verso., Sheet number: 40A08A, Text on verso and recto describing the company's history., Divided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- [ca. 1910]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Business and Industry - Miscellaneous - 40]
- Title
- Delaware River, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Harbor scene showing steamships traveling the river. Includes a partial view of the sails of a ship in the foreground., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11f]
- Title
- Delaware River, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Harbor scene showing steamships traveling the river. Includes a partial view of the sails of a ship in the foreground., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11f]
- Title
- Ice scene on the Delaware, Philadelphia
- Description
- Harbor scene showing a sailing ship with masts down and billowing smoke. Also shows nearby sailing vessels. View does not include ice., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth-century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc., in cooperation with The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry # 223., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13c]
- Title
- Ice scene on the Delaware, Philadelphia
- Description
- Harbor scene showing a sailing ship with masts down and billowing smoke. Also shows nearby sailing vessels. View does not include ice., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth-century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc., in cooperation with The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry # 223., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13c]
- Title
- Ice scene on the Delaware, Philadelphia
- Description
- Harbor scene during the winter showing ships docked at piers on the frozen river. Also shows people ice skating in the background., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 67., Arcadia caption text: Mother Nature suspended commercial and passenger activity on the Delaware River in this c. 1860 winter image. Bare-masted schooners and small boats are docked along the snow-covered piers of Philadelphia harbor in the foreground as people ice skate on the frozen river in the background. Ice skating was a common activity on the impenetrable river before the use of steam-powered icebreakers. Organizations such as the Philadelphia Skating Club and Humane Society provided skating instruction and rescued people who broke through the ice., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13d]
- Title
- Ice scene on the Delaware, Philadelphia
- Description
- Harbor scene during the winter showing ships docked at piers on the frozen river. Also shows people ice skating in the background., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 67., Arcadia caption text: Mother Nature suspended commercial and passenger activity on the Delaware River in this c. 1860 winter image. Bare-masted schooners and small boats are docked along the snow-covered piers of Philadelphia harbor in the foreground as people ice skate on the frozen river in the background. Ice skating was a common activity on the impenetrable river before the use of steam-powered icebreakers. Organizations such as the Philadelphia Skating Club and Humane Society provided skating instruction and rescued people who broke through the ice., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13d]
- Title
- View on the Delaware, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Shows ships docked at piers with warehouse sheds near loading docks cluttered with crates and barrels., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11n]
- Title
- View on the Delaware, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Shows ships docked at piers with warehouse sheds near loading docks cluttered with crates and barrels., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11n]
- Title
- View on the Delaware, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Shows ships docked at piers with warehouse sheds holding lumber. Also shows men in rowboats in the distance., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Title printed on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13a]
- Title
- View on the Delaware, Philadelphia harbor
- Description
- Shows ships docked at piers with warehouse sheds holding lumber. Also shows men in rowboats in the distance., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Title printed on mount., Buff paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.13a]
- Title
- View of Philadelphia harbor, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Harbor scene showing a steamboat departing from a pier on the Delaware River. Includes a partial view of a docked steamboat., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11g]
- Title
- View of Philadelphia harbor, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Harbor scene showing a steamboat departing from a pier on the Delaware River. Includes a partial view of a docked steamboat., Photographer's imprint stamped on mount., Buff mount with square corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim brothers, William and Frederick, were pioneer photographers and stereograph publishers, who operated a photographic studio in Philadelphia from the 1840s to 1874 and the death of William.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Harbors [(8)1322.F.11g]
- Title
- Tower view, at Water Gap House
- Description
- Bird's eye view from a circular window looking north at the Delaware Water Gap region from the Water Gap House built in 1872 on Mt. Minsi. Shows the Delaware River (right), the adjacent hilly landscape, and a residence on the west bank of the river in the foreground., Title from printed series label on verso with twenty-three other titled views (No. 121-144)., Photographer and publisher's printed label pasted on verso., Manuscript note on mount below image: Tower view, Water Gap House., Yellow curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Graves, Jesse A. (Jesse Albert)
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Miscellaneous - Graves [P.9168.6]
- Title
- Cramp's Shipyard postcards
- Description
- Depicts Cramp's Shipyard from the Delaware River, with small boats and docked ships. Cramp's built warships for the Navy and yachts for wealthy clients beginning circa 1830., Postcards issued mainly by the Philadelphia Post Card Company and the Souvenir Post Card Company of New York., Contains 14 postcards printed in color and 7 printed in black and white., Also known as William Cramp & Sons Ship & Engine Building Company Shipyard., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1900-1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Business and Industry - Cramp's - 36]
- Title
- Pennsylvania Railroad Ferries postcards
- Description
- Contains images of the Pennsylvania Railroad Ferry, showing the Market Street Loop, the ferry terminal, the ferry boat crossing the Delaware River, the boat entrance from the Delaware River and a general view of Delaware Avenue looking north showing the terminal building. The ferry transported passengers to and from Camden, NJ before the first bridge spanned the river in 1926., Contains 10 postcards printed in color and 3 printed in black and white., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1900-1922
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Railroads - Ferries - 144]
- Title
- Philadelphia Navy Yard
- Description
- View showing a ship on the Delaware River, docked at the Philadelphia Naval Yard in Southwark. The naval yard, the first U.S. Navy Yard, established by shipbuilder Joshua Humphreys and Secretary of the Navy Benjamin Stoddert in 1801, built, overhauled, stored, and disposed of warships. It operated in Southwark until 1876 when the Navy Yard enlarged and relocated to League Island., Title printed on mount., Publisher's printed label pasted on verso., Stamped on verso: G. Pfund, 4731 N. Front St., Phila., Pa., Manuscript note in modern hand on verso: Old Ironsides. U.S.S. Constitution. Idenitifcation is likley incorrect given design of ship and U.S.S. Constitution did not dock at the Philadelphia Navy Yard in the 1850s, but circa 1873 for renovations for the Centennial Exhibiton of 1876., White mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim Brothers copyrighted a series of stereographs with labels inscribed: "American Stereoscopic Co., Langenheim, Loyd & Co., Philadelphia" in 1858. They continued to produce stereographs until 1865, when they withdrew from the American Stereoscopic Co.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm)
- Date
- c1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Military [P.9079.4]
- Title
- Schooner at Chestnut Street, wharf, Phila
- Description
- View of a schooner, or sailboat, docked at Chestnut Street Wharf on the Delaware River. Three men stand on the ship as one man crouches higher up on the main boom. Barrels line the dock in the foreground and firewood is stacked on the pier in the distance., Title from photographer's printed label on verso., Manuscript note on verso: Sallie M. Haas., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett, George O., photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett - Transportation [P.9107.10]
- Title
- View of Kensington, Phila
- Description
- View showing several freight cars loaded with coal resting on railroad tracks between fenced plots of land and several piers owned by Philadelphia coal merchants on the Delaware River. Merchants include Van Dusen Bro. & Co.; John C. Scott & Son; and Gordon Repplier & Co. Also shows sloops docked at the piers and a corn crop in the foreground., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title from manuscript note on verso., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1870
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Transportation [P.9212.7]
- Title
- Cooper's Point, on the Delaware, New Jersey
- Description
- Views showing tracts of land near the Delaware River in Camden, New Jersey originally established as a ferry port by William Cooper circa 1689. Includes a marsh, the river bank, and a docked ship near piles of lumber. Also shows men posed on and in front of the ship., Attributed to John Moran., Yellow paper mounts with square corners., Title from labels pasted on mounts., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of New Jersey., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1861]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Views [5742.F.3c; 5742.F.6c]
- Title
- Prince Henry and Mr. Cramp, leaving the new Russian battleship, Cramp Ship Yards, Philadelphia, U.S.A
- Description
- View showing visiting dignitary Prince Heinrich of Prussia and Charles H. Cramp during the prince's visit to the United States in March 1902. The royal naval commander toured the city, including Cramp's shipyard and the recently completed Russian battleship, Retvizan, on March 10, 1902. Depicts the prince and Cramp shortly after disembarking from the ship. The men walk toward a group of male spectators under the guard of sailors., Printed on mount: Works and Studios. Arlington, N.J Littleton, N.H. Washington D.C., Title printed on mount., Sun sculpture trademark printed on mount., Buff mount with rounded corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Underwood & Underwood
- Date
- c1902
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Underwood & Underwood - Industry [P.9279.1]
- Title
- [Engine house at Delaware Water Works]
- Description
- View showing the engine house at the Delaware Water Works, formerly the Kensington Water Works, at the foot of Wood Street (i.e., Susquehanna Avenue) near the Delaware River. The waterworks, completed in 1852, provided water for the district of Kensington. Also shows laborers working on a raised platform near piles of wood planks in front of the building., Title supplied by cataloguer., Manuscript note on accompanying label: Philadelphia Water Works. "Engine House." Delaware Works. H.P.M. Birkinbine Chief Engr., Buff mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(8)1322.F.3c]
- Title
- Views of the Delaware Water Gap
- Description
- Views of individuals recreating near the Delaware River, Caldeno Creek, and Rebecca's Bath in the area of the Delaware Water Gap. Includes a man sitting on a rock and reading near railroad tracks overlooking the river, a distant view of Kittatinny Hotel on Mount Minsi, and children sitting on rocks and benches near the river and streams., Yellow cardboard mounts with rounded corners. Photographer's printed labels pasted on versos., Distributor's stamp on verso of P.9168.4: William Y. McAllister, Phila. Jul. 31, 1868., Stamped on verso of P.8484.9: J.W. Deane., Manuscript note on verso of P.8484.10: Seely., Manuscript note on versos of P.8484.11-12: Bartlett & French; William C. Darrah coll., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Bartlett & French was a partnership between Philadelphia photographers George O. Bartlett and William French circa 1867-1869.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Views [P.8484.9-12; P.9168.4]
- Title
- Scenery on the Pennsylvania Railroad
- Description
- Album of photographs documenting the Philadelphia, Middle, and Pittsburgh divisions of the Pennsylvania Railroad, incorporated in 1846. The consolidated company sought to build a trunk route from Philadelphia to Pittsburgh through the Allegheny mountains in order to compete with the Erie Canal for freight traffic. In 1854, rail passage through the Alleghenies via the "Horse Shoe Curve" was achieved and spurred the establishment and growth of the several towns depicted along the route., Photographs depict stations, sites, landmarks, and landscape and townscape views along the Pennsylvania Railroad. Titles include No. 1 Ardmore Station ; No. 2 Bryn Mawr Station; No. 3 Bridge at Conways at Conewago; No. 5 Mount Union; No. 6 Susquehanna Bridge at Rockville (i.e., first bridge replaced in 1877); No. 7 Track Tank; No. 8 Jack Narrows; No. 9 Triple Track; No. 12 Bryn Mawr Hotel; No. 13 Coatesville Bridge; No. 16 Powers Run Allegheny River; No. 21 Sample track near Harmersville; No. 25 East from Harmersville; No. 26 Butler; No. 29 On the Kiskimenitus below Leechburg; No. 36 Greensburg near Huffs; No. 39 Hawkins; No. 40 West of Derry; No. 41 East of Morgan; No. 42 West of Beattys Station; No. 43 Monastery West of Latrobe; No. 44 1 1/2 miles East of S. W. Penna.; No. 46 Westmoreland Coal Co.; No. 47 Braddocks, Port Perry and Steel Works; No. 48 Westmoreland Landscape; No. 49 Stewarts Sample Track; No. 50 Section of Y at Walls; No. 51 Greensburg Station ; No. 53 West of Pack Saddle; No. 55 Lockport; No. 56 Below Conemaugh Furnace; No. 58 Cresson (Panorama); No. 61 Allegheny Tunnel , Galitzen; No. 64 Soap Fat; No. 57 Cresson (Panorama); No. 59 Kittanning from McGarveys; No. 65 Pulpit Rock; No. 67 From McKees Gap; No. 76 Bellefonte; No. 78 Mill Hall; No. 79 Birmingham; No. 80 Union Furnace and Station ; No. 81 Spring Creek; No. 82 Allegheny Tunnel; No. 83 Tyrone and Clearfield; No. 84 Grade on the Tyrone and Clearfield; No. 85 Bellefonte Gap;, No. 86 Mule Shoe and Deep Fill; No. 88 Pack Saddle East; No. 90 Logan House, Altoona, Pa.; No. 96 Jack Narrows, Mapleton; No. 97 Entrance to Jack Narrows; No. 98 Reservoir; No. 99 Bedford Springs; No. 100 View from Bedford Springs; No. 101 Bedford from Wickershams; No. 102 Below Bedford, Devils Backbone; No. 103 Bedford; No. 104 McVeytown Station; No. 105 Mount Dallas; No. 106 Mapleton; No. 107 Huntington; No. 108 Tuscarora Valley; No. 109 Sentinel Rock; No. 110 Tyrone Forges; No. 113 Standard Track, Lewistown Narrows; No. 114 From Centre of Susquehanna Bridge; No. 115 Terrace Mountain, Mill Creek; No. 116 From West End of Susquehanna Bridge; No. 117 Upper Mann’s; No. 118 Lewistown Narrows; No. 119 Susquehanna Bridge; No. 121 Standard Track at Newport; No. 123 Across the Allegheny; No. 127 General View of Bryn Mawr; No. 124 Saltzburg; No. 130 Bryn Mawr; No. 131 Bryn Mawr; No. 138 Irwin Station; No. 139 Sample Track, Wynnewood Station ; No. 140 Haverford College; No. 142 Haverford College Station; No. 147 Bridge at Columbia [Wrightsburg?] Pa.; No. 148 Wayne Station; No. 151 Terminus at Delaware City; No. 154 Harrisburg from Fort Washington ; No. 150 Chiques (i.e., Chickie’s Rock); No. 153 Henry Clay, Chiques and Marietta; No. 158 Landenburg; No. 159 Columbia Tunnel; and No. 162 Louella Residence of J. Henry Askin., Photographs include railroad tracks, locomotives and railcars, railroad equipment, bridges, tunnels, rock formations, mountains, passes, mills, furnaces, coal and steel works, hotels, Victorian-style residences, wooden dwellings and sheds, canal houses and canals, telegraph poles, townscape, farmsteads, marshland, rivers, and wooden fences. Several images, particularly views of stations, also depict posed figures, including an African American man at the Haverford College Station (No. 142). Details in other photographs include rail tracks with a water trough (No. 7); amateurishly hand-painted advertising text on a wood fence (No. 36); the "Exchange Hotel" near the Allegheny Tunnel in Galitzen (No. 61); men seated on the cow catcher of a partially visible locomotive at the grade on the Tyrone and Clearfield (No. 84); a gazebo-style pavilion at Bedford Springs (No. 199); oil tanks and drums (No. 123); the Pennsylvania Gas Coal Co. Office, a pedestrian bridge crossing over a creek, and the “Tom Smith Peanut Man” shed near Irwin Station (No. 138); the “Columbia” barge (No. 147); a "Water-Line of Boston" sailing vessel at the terminus at Delaware City (No. 151); the Martin Landenburger mill in Landenburg (No. 158); and the greenhouse attached to the residence on the Louella estate in Wayne (No. 162)., Photographer’s imprint inscribed in negative of several of the photographs: F. Gutekunst, Philada. or F. Gutekunst, Photogr., Philada., Date inferred from publication date of stereographs with similar content by the photographer. See stereo - Gutekunst - Views [P.9058.1-.142]., Photograph No. 4, 10-11, 14-15, 17-20, 22-24, 27-28, 30-35, 37-38, 45, 52, 54, 60, 62-63, 66, 68-75, 77, 87, 89, 91-95, 112, 120, 122, 125-126, 128-129, 132-137, 141, 143-146, 149, 152, 155-157, 160-161 not included in album., Inscribed in pencil upper right corner on mount of photograph No. 1: 40 guards., Inscribed in pencil below image on mount of photograph No. 1: about 1876., Inscription in pencil below title on mount of photograph No. 147: Wrightsburg. “Columbia” in title circled., See Gutekunst (Pennsylvania Railroad) research file., Gift of the Greer family in memory of David St. John Greer who after starting as a co-op student at Drexel University spent his working life with the Pennsylvania Railroad with the exception of a period of service with the U.S. Navy during WWII., Lib. Company. Annual report, 2014, p. 49-50., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Gutekunst, a prominent Philadelphia photographer, published a series of Pennsylvania Railroad views stereographs in 1875.
- Creator
- Gutekunst, Frederick, 1831-1917, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.2014.74]
- Title
- Monitors, League Island, Philada
- Description
- Shows out of service ironclad warships docked by the Navy Department at the island at the junction of the Delaware and Schuylkill Rivers. Island opened officially as the Navy Yard in 1876., Publisher's label pasted on verso., White paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #148., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Military [(8)1322.F.13b]
- Title
- Photograph album
- Description
- Photograph album belonging to Philadelphia amateur photographer John C. Browne. Contains landscape and architectural views of the Delaware Valley and Central Pennsylvania, informal portraits of family and friends, and canal boat excursions of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia, including over the Pennsylvania Canal to Harrisburg (1879) and Morris Canal (1880). Images depict "Bartram's house, Gray's Ferry"; Cobbs Creek, including the Old Powder House; Wissahickon; Jay Cooke's Ogontz estate; Mill Creek (Lower Merion Township); the Philadelphia Zoo monkey house; Chelten Hills; Laurel Hill; Delaware Water Gap, including G. W. Childs arbor, Kittany House, Promontory, Lovers Leap, Young's Peak, and Mt. Minsi; falls, creeks, and Dingman's Ferry in Pike County, Pa.; sites along the Juniata Division of Pennsylvania Canal, including mill races, iron furnaces, Pennsylvania Rail Road bridges, and canal locks at or near Bridgeport, Dauphin, and Rockville; and sites along the Morris Canal, including canal boat planes and hoisting tower, Hopatcong Lake, Little Falls, and Passaic Falls., Other images show the English Cottage on the Centennial grounds (1877); strung hunted game and fish; landscape views of Sea Bright and Belvidere, N.J. and the Delaware near Torresdale; a posed "sweethearts" scene "On the Pennypack" (1878); and a group portrait of the Photographic Society (Samuel F. Corlies, Charles Pancoast, Charles Barrington, Samuel Sartain, Joseph William Bates, W. S. Vaux, Dr. Carl Seiler, Thomas H. McCollin, Thomas B. Craig) with cameras and fishing equipment during the Morris Canal excursion. Other portrait views include Mr. and Mrs. S. Fisher Corlies, Mamie Lloyd, Sallie Bacon, Jesse S. Graves, Alice E. Browne, Susie Hacker, Samuel Fox, and Charles Palmer. Some photographs show a photographer using his camera and several of the canal excursion views include the canal boats "Zuleika" (Pennsylvania Canal) and "Katie Kellogg" and her mule team "Tom & Baby" (Morris Canal)., Front free end paper signed John C. Browne., Photographs identified by inscriptions below images. Majority are date and some annotated "Washed Emulsion.", Red cloth binding, with gilt, and stamped on cover: Album., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., An article by Browne, "The Waterfalls of Pike County, Pa.," describing a trip to photograph natural scenery in Pike County appears in Philadelphia Photographer, Vol. XIII, no. 151 (July 1876), pages 208-211., LCP AR [Annual Reports] 1989 p. 33-34., Browne was a founder of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- Browne, John C. (John Coates), 1838-1918, photographer
- Date
- 1877-1880
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.9317]
- Title
- Photographs taken by Robert Waln Leaming 1865-1875 at Ashwood, Villa Nova, Delaware County, Penna. Lancaster Pike and Spring Mill Road
- Description
- Album containing 67 photographs showing the grounds and residence of the Ashwood estate near Villanova during different seasons; neighboring properties in Delaware and Montgomery counties; and formally posed family portraiture. Images include the front and rear facade of the Ashwood residence and landscape views of the grounds; Paxson's Mill and Dam in Radnor; J. Howard Lewis's paper mill at Darby Creek; 'Hammer Hollow," including the mill dam; Gulph Mill (Montgomery County); Leaming's other family estate Waln Grove near Frankford; old spring houses near Gulph Mill and Paxson's Mill; and Ancrum, "Seat of the Scotts Baronets of Ancrum Scotland." Many of the estate views include Leaming's wife and children (attired in clothing appropriate to the season) posed at the residence and on the grounds, including near fences, the barn, woods, and creek and in characters, as tableaux, and with farm and domesticated pets. Also contains photographic reproductions and photo-collages. Reproductions depict the the "Scott of Ancrum" family tree and Leaming's painting "Where the Sea Mew roams" and the collages show Leaming's daughters in a parlor setting (possibly Ashwood) and painted works by Jean Louis Ernest Meissonier, James Reid Lambdin, and Edwin Henry Landseer including the visage of Robert Waln Leaming. Other portrait sitters include Alice Burda, Tom Stewart, "Our Truck-man" in his horse-drawn buggy; the "Coachman" with horse "'Nelly'"and Mrs. Scott, i.e., probably, Leaming's mother-in-law Mary Emlen Scott, Blue morocco binding, plate on front cover: R. W. Leaming and stamped: Photographs., Title from inscription on front free end paper. Also includes family tree of descendants of Robert Waln Leaming and his wife Julia Scott (1821-1914)., Insert: Portrait print of Robert Waln engraved by Samuel Sartain after 1825 painting by Jacob Eicholtz. Verso inscribed with biographical information., Captions by Robert Waln Leaming below the images., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., LCP AR [Annual Report] 1999, p. 45-46., Gift of Mrs. Clifford Lewis III., Housed in phase box., Robert Waln Leaming, grandson of China Trade merchant Robert Waln, was a merchant by trade who also painted and practiced photography. He was married to Julia Scott, descended from the royal Scotts of Ancrum, with whom he had four children Rebecca, i.e., Reb (1850-1911); Mary, i.e., Mame (1851-1911); Julia, i.e., Duly (1854-1913), and Thomas (1856-1911). Leaming was also an active member of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia. His residence Ashwood, not to be confused with the Penn-Gaskell/DeCosta property of the same name (208 Ashwood Road, Villanova), was razed in the late 19th century.
- Creator
- Leaming, Robert Waln, 1824-1884, photographer
- Date
- 1865-1875
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.9759.1]
- Title
- Bits of nature and some art products, in Fairmount Park, at Philadelphia, Penna
- Description
- Volume of compiled prints and drawings by lithographer, etcher, and artist Augustus Kollner primarily depicting landscapes of Fairmount Park and originally published in his "Bits of Nature ...," one of four volumes in his 1878 series of small folio pictures. Also contains views of Philadelphia and Bucks and Montgomery counties. Several of the prints also show park and riverscape; residences and estates; animals, including canal mules, horses, cows, and dogs; park visitors, including an African American family, children, and persons on foot and on horseback; steamboats, rowboats, and other vessels on the Schuylkill River; and rock formations. Other views show wharf workers at lunch and a cliff-side residence at North Twenty-Seventh Street near the park., Mount Pleasant Mansion was built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Titles include Thos. Moore’s Cottage, Phila. Park; Schuylkill River, Fairmount Park, Phila. (Columbia Bridge); Prospect from Ridgeland and Fairmount Park, Phila.; (In Fairmount Park) Sweet Briar Mansion, in 1843; In Ravine near Sweet Briar Fairmount Park, Phila.; Schuylkill River below the Falls, Fairmount Pk. Phila.; Belmont and Waterworks. Mount Pleasant, Fairmount Park, Philada.; In Wissahickon Valley, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Peters Island, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Schuylkill Riv. above Fairmount Dam, Philada. in 1843; Phila. 1842; Schuylkill River Pa.; Pt. Pleasant, Pa.; Near Willow Grove Penna.; Life Scenes in Fairmount Park; Near East Park, Phila./ "S.E. corner 27th & [Arben?]"; Schuylkill Valley Pa (dated 1893).; Delaware Riv. [Easton?]; Life Scenes in Park; City Wharf Scene (dated 1894); and West Phila [illegible] near Sweet [Briar?] West Phila., Title from title page., Maroon leather binding, stamped in gilt on cover: Bits of Nature. A. Kollner., Spine stamped: Bits of Nature. Kollner., Prints variably signed AK; A. Kollner; A. Kollner fc.; From nate. and etchd by A. Kollner; and Kollner, fect., Titles on the stone or plate. Some annotated with inscribed titles., Two of prints [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.15 and 16] printed on recto of proofs. Proofs depict "Life Scenes in Park" and "The Christian Soldier.", Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, 1813-1906
- Date
- [1878-1894]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F]