© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
Error message
No active batch.
(151 - 200 of 243)
- Title
- S.S. Manhattan on the Delaware River
- Description
- Aerial view of the S.S. Manhattan on the Delaware River. The ship was built by the the New York Shipbuilding Corporation, which is visible along the Camden, New Jersey waterfront. In 1941, the Manhattan was requisitioned and leased by the US Navy, and was subsequently commissioned as the troopship USS Wakefield. Image probably taken July 1932., Negative number: 15673., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1932
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.15673]
- Title
- Aerial views of Darby, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Aerial views from very high altitude showing Darby, Pennsylvania. Views are from northwest to southeast, with the Elmwood section of Philadelphia visible [5587]; from southwest to northeast with the B & O and Pennsylvania Railroads, Chester Pike, and MacDade Boulevard visible [5593]; and from west to east showing Darby Creek, Cobbs Creek, and the Fels & Company plant formerly at Woodland and Island Avenues [5615]. The General Electric plant formerly at 69th and Elmwood Avenues is visible in all three views. Probably taken April 1926., Negative numbers: 5587; 5593; 5615., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1926]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5587; P.8990.5593; P.8990.5615]
- Title
- The iron steamboat, R. F. Stockton Commanded by J. R. Crane of New York. Built in Liverpool by J. Laird, under the superintendence of F. B. Ogden esq. U.S. consul, Liverpool for the Delaware & Raritan Canal Compy. Length of timber 70 ft._ Breadth of beam 10ft._ Depth of hold 8ft._ Burden 30 tons._ Draws about 6 1/2 ft. water._ 45 days from Liverpool to New York
- Description
- View showing the innovative steamboat powered by an underwater Ericsson screw propeller, and named for supporter Capt. Robert F. Stockton of the U.S. Navy, during a trial on the Delaware River near the old Navy Yard and Windmill Island. Fourteen men stand on the vessel adorned with a smoke stack, compressor, and American flag. In the foreground, a barrel floats near three men in a skiff sailing in front of the steamboat. In the background, sailing vessels traverse the river and cityscape is visible. Also contains three labeled diagrams below the title that show an engine, shafts, cylinders, and wheels with text explicating how the machinery functions. The "Stockton" screw steamer, built in 1838 with a steam engine after the designs of Swedish engineer John Ericsson, served as a model to finalize negotiations promoted by Stockton and U.S. Consul Ogden between Ericsson and the U.S Navy to build the screw steamer for military purposes. It sailed for the United States in April 1839 and the trials of the vessel drew much public in addition to professional attention., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 393, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bb 679 S 62
- Creator
- Hoffy, Alfred M., b. ca. 1790
- Date
- c1839
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bb 679 S 62
- Title
- To captains and ship owners. Kensington Screw Dock, Penn Street above Maiden, Philadelphia The above establishment has been recently refitted and is now in perfect order for the raising of sailing vessels or propellers, having been in successful operation since 1830, without a single mishap, it is with renewed confidence that proprietors ask for a continuation of patronage heretofore enjoyed. Vessels sail or float into the dock and are raised without strain on any one part. Bilge blocks being worked in such a manner as to take the vessel in her natural shape. The dock is located in the most enterprising part of the town, in the immediate neighborhood of the largest ship yards, black smith shops, mast yards, riggers, block makers, plumbers, painters, &c. &c. with ample depth of water at the wharves for the largest vessels. Watchman always on the premises, also a fire plug on the premises with Schuylkill water with over 300 ft. hose, & can be reached by Glenat's Second Street Omnibusses [sic] at any time during the day. There is also an oil factory & alcohol distillery adjoining the premises, also sheds for the storage of goods. For terms apply on the premises to Alex. H. Campbell, proprietor
- Description
- Advertisement showing the dry dock along a tumultuous Delaware River. Shipwrights work on the hull of a ship raised in the dry dock in front of the firm's building adorned with signage "Kensington Screw Dock." At the wharf of the dry dock, horse-drawn drays travel past the neighboring oil manufactory and distillery and a captain, with a dog, leans on a hitching post to which a tugboat is tied. In the rough water of the river, skiffs, sailboats, and a rowboat navigate the choppy waves. Also shows surrounding boathouses, wharves, and buildings lining the riverfront., Philadelphia on Stone, Atwater Kent Museum: 54.78.1/2
- Creator
- Schell, Francis H., 1834-1909, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- Atwater Kent Museum | Print Department AKM AKM 54.78.1/2
- Title
- Smith's Island. C. Boenning, proprietor
- Description
- Advertisement for the resort area operated by Caspar Boenning at the Delaware River Island containing a "General View of Smith's Island (Fare 6 Cts To Go & Return)" surrounded by 8 scenes showing island amusements and entertainments. Central view depicts a sailboat passing two ferries of people approaching the pier adorned with a tall flagpole and signage for "C. Boenning Baths." Individuals walk on the pier and paths on the island near resort and residential buildings, including the residence of Robert W. Smith. A ferry boat travels through the channel in the right of the image. Upper surrounding vignettes include 3 titled scenes "Residence of Thomas G. Smith," "Swimming & Shower Bath," and "Residence of Robert W. Smith." Shows visitors strolling the building and grounds of the residences. Robert Smith residence also shows a dog swimming and a man on a skiff in a reservoir besides the fenced dwelling. At the bath for men and boys, individuals attired in swim trunks swim, go down a water slide, and dive from a plank and a small raised platform in the center of the pool. Others partake of the waterfall-like shower to the right of the pool and the shade provided by roofing covering parts of the poolside. Also shows a fully-dressed man on the plank holding a rope tied around a child in the pool, possibly receiving swimming lessons and two men and two boys attired in street clothes., Lower untitled scenes show men and women spectators watching a man shooting at a target from the shed of an outdoor shooting range; boys looking in from outside a fence, near a "No Admittance For Boys" sign, at individuals purchasing beverages from a "Lager Beer" stand next to the crowded tented seating area; patrons strolling around and within the Ladies and Families Refreshment Saloon with a "Restaurant" and "Bowling Saloon" as a waiter delivers a tray of food past the side of the building; women attending to customers of all ages at a sarsparilla and mineral water stand advertising "Refreshments for Boys" "Cakes" and "Ice Cream" as children, including a boy with a hoop, play in front of the two-story octagonal building; and a recreation ground where men and women watch ladies swing in swinging cars, and men and boys climb gymnastic (monkey) bars and a pole, as vessels sail on the river in the background. The island, owned by the Smith family 1817-1879, was removed 1891-1897 by the Federal Government to improve the navigation of the river for shipping traffic., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 699, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 723 W 429
- Date
- [ca. 1862]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania | Print Department | HSP at LCP HSP Bc 723 W 429
- Title
- [Philadelphia] P.S. Duval & Co. lith, Phila.]
- Description
- Proof print containing a montage of 14 vignettes (12 captioned) separated by borders of branches and garlands. Vignettes depict the "Custom House," West Philadelphia stand pipe (Twenty-Fourth Ward Water Works), "Independence Hall," Spark's shot tower, Merchants' "Exchange," "Insane Asylum," "Naval Asylum," "Pennsylvania "Hospital," "Philadelphia" near the Naval yard on the Delaware River, "Alms House," "Fair Mount" at the water works, "Girard College," and Eastern State "Penitentiary." Vignettes also include street, maritime, and pedestrian traffic, including horse-drawn carriages, wagons, and omnibuses; sail boats, skiffs, and steam boats; and laborers with hand carts and individuals on horseback. Also contains pictorial details showing an American eagle and shield, William Penn, and a Native American., Title and publication information from published duplicate., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 569, Library of Congress: DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen prints 23 (AA size) Philadelphia, See published copy DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen - 93 prints (AA size) Philadelphia
- Creator
- Queen, James Fuller, 1820 or 21-1886
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- Library of Congress | Prints and Photographs Division LOC DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen prints 23 (AA size) Philadelphia
- Title
- Philadelphia
- Description
- Print containing a montage of 14 vignettes (12 captioned) separated by borders of branches and garlands. Vignettes depict the "Custom House," West Philadelphia stand pipe (Twenty-Fourth Ward Water Works), "Independence Hall," Spark's shot tower, Merchants' "Exchange," "Insane Asylum," "Naval Asylum," "Pennsylvania "Hospital," "Philadelphia" near the Naval yard on the Delaware River, "Alms House," "Fair Mount" at the water works, "Girard College," and Eastern State "Penitentiary." Vignettes also include street, maritime, and pedestrian traffic, including horse-drawn carriages, wagons, and omnibuses; sail boats, skiffs, and steam boats; and laborers with hand carts and individuals on horseback. Also contains pictorial details showing an American eagle and shield, William Penn, and a Native American., Distributor's imprint printed on recto: For Sale by Drovin & Co., 38 S. 3rd Phila., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 569.1, Drovin & Co. was a Philadelphia stationery business., Library of Congress: DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen - 93 prints (AA size) Philadelphia, See proof DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen prints 23 (AA size) Philadelphia
- Creator
- Queen, James Fuller, 1820 or 21-1886
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- Library of Congress | Prints and Photographs Division LOC DLC-PP-1997: 105 Queen - 93 prints (AA size) Philadelphia
- Title
- Plan of the United States dry dock, at Philadelphia, on the new system of the sectional floating dock, basin, & railways, now constructing by contract with Mess. Dakin & Moody Area available for docking in the plan 350 by 90 feet, 31, 500 square feet. Area available for docking in the U.S. dry dock at Norfolk, 210 by 60 feet, 12, 000 square feet. It will be observed that area available for docking in this dry dock is twice and a half greater than in the U.S. stone dry dock at Norfolk, enabling the former to receive a vessel covering twice and half as much space as the utmost limit of the latter. It will also be observed that the efficiency of the Norfolk dock, is limited to docking one ship of the line at a time, of about 200 feet in length, whereas the new Philadelphia dock, will be able to dock three war steamers of 350 feet in length each, and ten ships of the line all at the same time. The Norfolk dock cost $962, 459 and the cost of one on that plan capable of taking only one vessel 350 by 90 feet, estimated on the same basis would be $2, 406, 147 or about three times the contract price of the Philadelphia dock
- Description
- Plan showing the future dry dock at the first U.S. Navy Yard established by shipbuilder Joshua Humphreys and Secretary of the Navy Benjamin Stoddert in 1801 on the Delaware River in Southwark. A three-masted frigate rests in dry dock on land and a three-masted sidewheeler rests in dry dock on the floating dock in the river. Two workers stand on the deck of the sidewheeler. Between the frigates, completed hulls are visible in four storage bays. Across from the bays, a hull under construction rests in scaffolding. Tools and machinery lay near the hull. In the background, a worker hauls wood by horse-drawn cart in front of the naval yard factory. Also includes cityscape and Spark's shot tower. The facility, which built, overhauled, stored, and disposed of warships, operated in Southwark until 1876 when the Navy Yard enlarged and relocated to League Island., Not in Wainwright., Published in Sketch of the plans, present condition, and proposed results of the United States dry docks at the Navy Yards of Philadelphia, Kittery, and Pensacola: ... (New York: P. Miller & Son, 1849)., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 609, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 57 P 544
- Date
- [1849]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 57 P 544
- Title
- View of the launch of the U.S. ship of war Pennsylvania From the Navy Yard at Philadelphia, July 18th 1837
- Description
- View showing several spectators on vessels in the Delaware River watching the launch of the largest sailing ship built to that date by the U.S. Several tall ships, rowboats, and sailboats filled with spectators congest the river as the ship glides out from its storage house. In the background, cityscape is barely visible behind the several masts of the spectator ships. Pennsylvania, one of nine ships authorized by Congress in April 1816 to carry at least 74 guns, was designed and built 1821-1837 by Samuel Humphreys in the Philadelphia Navy Yard. The ship remained in service until 1842 when she became a receiving ship for the Norfolk Navy Yard, where she was burned at the onset of the Civil War. The first U.S. Navy Yard was established by shipbuilder Joshua Humphreys and Secretary of the Navy Benjamin Stoddert in 1801 in Southwark. The facility, which built, overhauled, stored, and disposed of warships, operated in Southwark until 1876 when the Navy Yard enlarged and relocated to League Island., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 803, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 56 Penna 381
- Creator
- Lehman, George, d. 1870, artist
- Date
- [1837]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 56 Penna 381
- Title
- A correct view of the City of Philadelphia on the Delaware River as it appeared on 25th of January 1852
- Description
- Panoramic and bustling, winter view showing several men, women, and children, on the ice-covered river. In the center foreground, a small crowd gathers around a man reading a newspaper as around them, throngs of individuals traverse the frozen walkway, promenade as couples, make conversation, and fall, laugh, and grab one another as they slip on the ice. Several men skate, boys sled, dogs chase each other, and children frolic, including a pair retrieving a hat from a broken patch of ice. Others peddle refreshments from a table and flee from broken ice as ruffians engage in a fist fight. The cityscape of Philadelphia is visible in the background, including Christ Church and Independence Hall in addition to Spark's Shot Tower and Girard College. Also shows the frozen channel running through Windmill Island covered in barren trees in the far left of the image., Copyrighted by A.A. Dugan., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 165, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 72 R 815, Dugan was a Philadelphia engraver.
- Date
- c1852
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 72 R 815
- Title
- View from Dengman's Ferry, looking up the Delaware River
- Description
- Bird's eye landscape view showing the river bordered by pasture, trees, hillsides, and mountains at the Delaware Water Gap in Delaware County. Dingman's Ferry was established circa 1735 by Andrew Dingman., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POSP 261, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Ba 72 D 584
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Ba 72 D 584
- Title
- [River House Bar by the Delaware River canal]
- Description
- Drawing depicting the River House Bar by the Delaware River canal in New Hope, Pa. Shows the two-and-a-half-story bar with a sign that reads, "River House, Dining Room, Guest Rooms, Bar." In the left, is a three-and-a-half-story building with an outbuilding behind it. The canal is visible in the foreground. Snow covers the ground., Title supplied by the cataloger., Date inferred from content and active dates of the artist., Gift of David Doret and Linda G. Mitchell, 2019.
- Creator
- Graeff, Henry F., artist
- Date
- [ca. 1920]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Doret and Mitchell Collection – Drawings & Watercolors [P.2019.66.8]
- Title
- Delaware River canal River House near New Hope dining & guest rooms and bar
- Description
- Drawing depicting the Delaware River canal in New Hope, Pa. Shows a canal boat with an American flag traveling down the Delaware River canal. Buildings flank the canal, including the two-and-a-half-story River House Bar. Snow covers the ground., Title from item., Date inferred from content and active dates of the artist., Gift of David Doret and Linda G. Mitchell, 2019.
- Creator
- Graeff, Henry F., artist
- Date
- [ca. 1920]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Doret and Mitchell Collection – Drawings & Watercolors [P.2019.66.3]
- Title
- Delaware River canal
- Description
- Drawing depicting the Delaware River canal in New Hope, Pa. Shows a canal boat with an American flag traveling down the Delaware River canal. Buildings flank the canal including the two-and-a-half-story bar with a sign that reads, "River House Bar." Snow covers the ground., Title from item., Date inferred from content and active dates of the artist., Gift of David Doret and Linda G. Mitchell, 2019.
- Creator
- Graeff, Henry F., artist
- Date
- [ca. 1920]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Doret and Mitchell Collection – Drawings & Watercolors [P.2019.66.2]
- Title
- Down the bay excursions 130 miles for $1.00. The new steamer Wawaset leaves the first wharf below Arch Street every morning, (Sundays excepted,) at 7 o'clock, for Bombay Hook & intermediate places on the river & bay. Returning--leaves the landing at 1 o'clock, reaching the city about dusk. A beautiful ride is here offered at a reasonable price. The boat passes quite near to Fort Delaware, giving a fine view of this famous fortification and the surrounding barracks, which now contain no less than 13,000 Rebel prisoners. Good meals provided on the boat!
- Description
- Printed on yellow paper., The illustration shows the steamer Wawaset., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitized by Alexander Street Press for Images of the American Civil War.
- Date
- [between 1861 and 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare 2# Am 1861 Down (6)5777.F.1 (McAllister)
- Title
- Luckenbach Lines steamship on the Delaware River, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of a Luckenbach Lines ship sailing and docked in the Delaware River. Piers and industrial facilities are visible along the riverfront at Delaware Avenue between Snyder and Oregon Avenues. Various types of boats and watercraft sail on the river. The Philadelphia skyline can be seen in the distance., Negative numbers: 5177, 5178, 5183.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1925
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5177; P.8990.5178; P.8990.5183]
- Title
- Views of the Delaware Water Gap
- Description
- Views of individuals recreating near the Delaware River, Caldeno Creek, and Rebecca's Bath in the area of the Delaware Water Gap. Includes a man sitting on a rock and reading near railroad tracks overlooking the river, a distant view of Kittatinny Hotel on Mount Minsi, and children sitting on rocks and benches near the river and streams., Yellow cardboard mounts with rounded corners. Photographer's printed labels pasted on versos., Distributor's stamp on verso of P.9168.4: William Y. McAllister, Phila. Jul. 31, 1868., Stamped on verso of P.8484.9: J.W. Deane., Manuscript note on verso of P.8484.10: Seely., Manuscript note on versos of P.8484.11-12: Bartlett & French; William C. Darrah coll., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Bartlett & French was a partnership between Philadelphia photographers George O. Bartlett and William French circa 1867-1869.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Views [P.8484.9-12; P.9168.4]
- Title
- Delaware River waterfront at Washington Avenue, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the piers at Washington and Delaware Avenues in South Philadelphia. Ships are docked at the piers. Cars and a trolley can be seen traveling on the city streets. The area to the north and west of the river and the city skyline are visible in the distance., Negative numbers: P279, P280.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1930
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.P279; P.8990.P280]
- Title
- Delaware River waterfront at Spring Garden Street, Northern Liberties, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the piers and industrial buildings along the Delaware riverfront in Northern Liberties. Views face north and west from the vicinity of Spring Garden Street and Delaware Avenue., Negative numbers: 2834, 4860.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1915
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.2834; P.8990.4860]
- Title
- [Ships on the Delaware River, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- Aerial views of ships on the Delaware River with piers and industrial buildings along the riverfront in the vicinity of Oregon and Delaware Avenues visible behind. The city skyline is visible in the distance., Negative numbers: 25663n., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Waterfront, Phila, Pa.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1941
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.25663n]
- Title
- William Cramp & Sons shipyard, Delaware Avenue and Cumberland Street, Kensington, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of William Cramp & Sons shipyard and shipbuilding facilities located on the waterfront in the Kensington neighborhood of Philadelphia along the Delaware River. The yard closed in 1927 and then reopened briefly in 1941 to produce warships. The site does not appear to be very active and few ships can be seen. Distant views of Philadelphia to the south, west and north of the site are visible., Negative numbers: 21976s, 21978s, 21980s, 21981s, 21983s.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1941
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.21976s; P.8990.21978s; P.8990.21980s; P.8990.21981s; P.8990.21983s]
- Title
- William Cramp & Sons shipyard, Delaware Avenue and Cumberland Street, Kensington, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of William Cramp & Sons shipyard and shipbuilding facilities located on the waterfront in the Kensington neighborhood of Philadelphia along the Delaware River. The yard was open from 1830-1927. It reopened briefly in 1941 to produce warships. This set of images includes distant views showing the entire facility from a higher altitude as well as close-up views showing ships, railroad tracks and other details of the industrial site and adjacent neighborhood. Images probably taken 1921 [1468], 1926 [5571, 6646, 6558] and 1927 [7336]., Negative numbers: 1468, 5571, 6646, 6558, 7336., Record revised with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1921-1927
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.1468; P.8990.5571; P.8990.6646; P.8990.6558; P.8990.7336]
- Title
- Scenery on the Pennsylvania Railroad Album
- Description
- Album of photographs documenting the Philadelphia, Middle, and Pittsburgh divisions of the Pennsylvania Railroad, incorporated in 1846. The consolidated company sought to build a trunk route from Philadelphia to Pittsburgh through the Allegheny mountains in order to compete with the Erie Canal for freight traffic. In 1854, rail passage through the Alleghenies via the "Horse Shoe Curve" was achieved and spurred the establishment and growth of the several towns depicted along the route.
- Date
- 1874
- Title
- A view of Point Airy opposite South Street, Phila. [graphic]: Persons visiting this delightful resort during the summer season will find the bar supplied with a variety of suitable refreshments for the season. Every facility is afforded at this place for enjoyment & recreation. Visitors have also an opportunity of enjoying as delightful a bath as can be had at any point on the Delaware. The boat leaves the first wharf above South Street every few minutes. D. Warren, Proprietor L. Haugg del.
- Description
- Date supplied by Wainwright., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Advertisement showing dock and hotel of resort located on the southern end of Windmill Island, a summer resort area popular in the 19th century before the removal of the island in 1897. View shows a wide variety of river traffic including ferries, sailboats, rowboats, and sailing ships. View of New Jersey waterfront visible in background.
- Creator
- Haugg, Louis, artist., creator
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- http://www.lcpgraphics.org/wainwright/W007.htm, Library Company of Philadelphia Print Dept. **W7 [P.2003]
- Title
- Our country for ever A grand Democratic mass meeting will be held at Village Green Hotel Delaware County, on Saturday evening, Oct. 3 Delegations from all parts of the county are expected to be present. Chas. Buckwalter, Esq., of Phila., Chas. D. Manley, Esq., of Media, R.E. Monaghan, Esq., of West Chester, and other distinguished speakers, will be present to address the meeting. Let there be a grand rally in support of the Constitution as it is, and the Union forever
- Description
- Oct. 3 fell on a Saturday in 1863., Printed on yellow paper., The illustration, signed L. Johnson & Co., is an eagle on a shield, with the banner: Our rights! and our liberties!, Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitized by Alexander Street Press for Images of the American Civil War.
- Date
- [1863]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare 2# Am 1863 Our country (6)5777.F.3a (McAllister)
- Title
- For your country! Now or never! Don't wait to be drafted! To horse! The foe is on us!! Young men wanted to join at once! The first troop Penn'a Light Horse! We will fight the guerillas on their own soil! Arouse, men of Pennsylvania! The rebels are menacing the homes of your fathers!! "Strike for your altars and your fires! Strike for the green graves of your sires! Strike, till the last armed foe expires!" Your countrymen have provided liberally for your families, and all the bounties for three years, or the war, will be paid men joining this troop
- Description
- The 16th Cavalry, 161st Regiment of the Pennsylvania Volunteers, under the command of Col. J. I. Gregg until Aug. 1864, was organized in the summer and fall of 1862 and mustered out in Aug. 7, 1865; Nathan S. Hill and Archer N. Martin both served in Company I; Lieut. Hill was promoted to captain Nov. 15, 1862. Cf. S.P. Bates. History of Pennsylvania Volunteers, v. 4, p. 950, and F.H. Taylor. Philadelphia in the Civil War 1861-1865, p. 179., Printed in red and blue., The illustration shows a mounted Union cavalry soldier, sabre drawn, attacking a mounted Confederate soldier., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitized by Alexander Street Press for Images of the American Civil War.
- Creator
- United States, Army, Pennsylvania Cavalry Regiment, 16th (1862-1865), Company I.
- Date
- [1862]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare 2# Am 1862 Uni Sta (1)5777.F.16i (McAllister)
- Title
- Notice All persons having in their possession guns or equipments belonging to the 4th Regiment, P.V.M. are requested to deliver them at the Spread Eagle Hotel Radnor, Delaware Co., on or before Saturday evening, August 13th, 1864
- Description
- Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitized by Alexander Street Press for Images of the American Civil War.
- Creator
- Pennsylvania, Militia, Regiment, 4th
- Date
- [1864]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare sm # Am 1864 Penn Mil (1)5777.F.73a (McAllister)
- Title
- Allied Chemical & Dye Corporation, General Chemical Division plant, Camden, New Jersey
- Description
- Aerial views of the Allied Chemical & Dye Corporation, General Chemical Division plant on the banks of the Cooper and Delaware Rivers in Camden, New Jersey. The corporation (later known as Allied Chemical Corporation and then as the Allied Corporation) was formed in 1921 as an amalgamation of five of the largest U.S. chemical companies established in the 1800s. These views show what was originally the General Chemical sulfuric acid plant. The facility is shown from several angles, including vertical views from high altitude. A variety of factory buildings are visible, as are ships on the river, railroad tracks servicing the area and row homes in adjacent residential areas., Negative numbers: AC440, AC441, AC442, AC444, AC445, AC446, AC447, AC448, AC449, AC450, AC451, AC452, AC453, AC455.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1925-1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.AC440-AC442; P.8900.AC444-AC453; P.8990.AC455]
- Title
- American Steel & Wire Company factory plant, Trenton, New Jersey
- Description
- Aerial views of the the American Steel and Wire Company plant. In 1848 John A. Roebling purchased a 25 acre site along the Delaware & Raritan Canal in Chambersburg (now a part of Trenton) for his wire rope business. Roebling designed the buildings and machinery and directed the company until his death in 1869, when his sons took over. The company manufactured wire rope and related products for suspension bridges, shipping, mining, construction (including the Panama Canal), electrical power transmission, cable cars, tramways, aircraft, submarine netting, musical instruments, elevators, logging and oil drilling. By World War I, the factory was the largest wire rope plant in the world and the company grew considerably in response to steadily increasing demands for its products. The company was a subsidiary of the U.S. Steel Corporation. The views show ortions of the plant from several angles with the city of Trenton visible in the distance., Negative numbers: 6031, 6434, 6435.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.6031; P.8990.6434; P.8990.6435]
- Title
- [Four women, including Jane Lownes Webster, sitting on the porch, Lownes Clovercrest Farm, 321 West Woodland Avenue, Springfield, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, sitting on the steps of the porch, opposite an unidentified young girl. Two older women sit in rocking chairs behind them. A dog sits on the lawn in front of the house. The residence has five bays, an addition on the right and another porch on the left. The residence is part of the Lownes Clovercrest Farm, and was built by the Lownes family in 1827 and occupied by them until 1913., Images of the property that were catalogued separately include: P.9501.28, P.9501.106, and P.9501.85, showing exterior views of the front and back of the residence on the farm, and a detailed view of Jane Lownes Webster sitting with her family on the front porch of their residence., Modern reference print #27 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.58]
- Title
- Moon development, Morrisville, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Aerial views of a large house being constructed in an area of sparse residential development in Morrisville, Pennsylvania. The Delaware River, a more densely populated area of Morrisville, and Trenton, New Jersey are all visible in the distance., Negative numbers: 6451, 6452.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.6451; P.8990.6452]
- Title
- Piers on the Delaware River south of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the piers along the Delaware River riverfront south of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge (formerly the Delaware River Bridge). Various types of boats are visible on the river, as are both the Camden, New Jersey and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania riverfronts. Views extend as far south as Oregon and Pattison Avenues., Negative numbers: 21737s, 21739s, 21740s.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1941
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.21737s; P.8990.21739s; P.8990.21740s]
- Title
- [Delaware River looking north from Dock Street, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- Aerial views of the Delaware River and Benjamin Franklin Bridge (formerly the Delaware River Bridge) from a vantage point just south and west of Dock Street. Taken on a clear day, the view extends well past North Philadelphia and includes Petty Island, New Jersey and a portion of Camden, New Jersey., Negative numbers: 21990s, Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Philadelphia, Penna., Delaware River, Dock St. & N.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1941
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.21990s]
- Title
- Delaware River waterfront, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the Delaware River waterfront include the Benjamin Franklin Bridge (formerly the Delaware River Bridge) and piers in South Philadelphia. Views face north and west from a vantage point on the river, taken on a relatively clear day so that they extend well into North Philadelphia along the waterfront and into South Philadelphia towards the Center City skyline, which can be seen in the distance., Negative numbers: 13829n, 13831n., Manuscript note on negative sleeves indicates images were taken December 3, 1930.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1930
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.13829n; P.8990.13831n]
- Title
- Port of Wilmington, Wilmington, Delaware
- Description
- Aerial views of the Port of Wilmington showing marine cargo sheds and marine terminals, stacks of shipping containers and other industrial buildings and facilities related to the shipping industry. One cargo ship is docked. Construction of the port was completed in 1922 and it officially opened in 1923. The port is located at the confluence of the Delaware and Christina Rivers., Negative numbers: 4729, 4730, 4731, 4732, 6158, 6159., 4729 not digitized; negative is similar to 4732., 4730 not digitized; negative is damaged and cannot be scanned.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920-1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.4729; P.8990.4730; P.8990.4731; P.8990.4732; P.8990.6158; P.8990.6159]
- Title
- Dock Street and environs, Society Hill, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of Dock Street in the Society Hill neighborhood of Philadelphia. Views face north from the vicinity of Pine and Front Streets. The Delaware River, Benjamin Franklin Bridge, piers and industrial buildings lining Front Street are visible to the east and the view west extends to 2nd Street. The United States Custom House can also be seen., Negative numbers: 21908s, 21909s, 21913s, 21915s, 21917s., Manuscript note on negative sleeves: Dock St. area, Phila., Pa., (for John P. Donovan Co.), 6-25-41.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1941
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.21908s; P.8990.21909s; P.8990.21913s; P.8990.21915s; P.8990.21917s]
- Title
- USS Constitution sailing on the Delaware River, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the USS Constitution sailing on the Delaware River in Philadelphia. The frigate is surrounded by tugboats and the waterfronts of South Philadelphia and Camden, New Jersey can also be seen., Negative numbers: P291, P292, P293, P297, P298.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1931
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.P291; P.8990.P292; P.8990.P293; P.8990.P297; P.8990.P298]
- Title
- Fleet of ships sailing south on the Delaware River, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of a fleet of ships sailing down the Delaware River. Good portions of the riverfronts of Camden and Philadelphia are visible; Center City and the Benjamin Franklin Bridge can be seen in the distance. View looks northwest from the New Jersey side of the river south of Camden., Negative numbers: 6769, 6770.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.6769; P.8990.6770]
- Title
- [Lownes Clovercrest Farm, 321 West Woodland Avenue, Springfield, Pa.]
- Description
- Exterior views of the rear elevation of the residence on the Lownes Clovercrest Farm in Springfield, Pa., showing the pointed arch dormers projecting from the shingled roof and a one story addition covered with siding. The Lownes family constructed the home in 1827 and resided here until 1913. The photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, is depicted with her family on the front porch of the house. Also includes an image of the barn behind the residence., Images of the property that were catalogued separately include: P.9501.58 and P.9501.85, both views of women sitting on the front porch of the residence on the Lownes Clovercrest Farm., Modern reference prints available in the research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.28, P.9501.106]
- Title
- Bridesburg Manufacturing Company
- Description
- Frontispiece illustration depicting the square, industrial complex of the textile machinery manufacturing company on Richmond Street between Walnut and Locust Streets from the Delaware River. View includes a steamboat traveling north on the Delaware River, a docked sailboat, and laborers and horse-drawn carts and drays near the entrance of the complex. Company originally established circa 1819 by Alfred Jenks as Bridesburg Macine Works. Facility was enlarged in 1853, manufactured arms during the Civil War, and returned to manufacturing textile machinery after the Civil War., Not in Wainwright., Published in Bridesburg Manufacturing Company's Descriptive catalogue of machines built by the Bridesburg Manufacturing Company (Bridesburg, Pa., 1867), frontispiece., Catalogue includes fifty-eight lithographs by W. Boell depicting machinery manufactured by the company "to convey to them [patrons] an idea of the innumerable improvements we have made within a few years past, upon the machinery used for carding, spinning, and weaving Cotton and Wool.", Philadelphia on Stone, POS 62
- Creator
- Boell, William
- Date
- 1867
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare Am 1867 Brides 106980.D.frontispiece
- Title
- The early settlement & progress of Philadelphia & Pennsylvania Philadelphia T. Holden Chesnut St. 1833
- Description
- Small vignette on the added title page depicting the site of the Treaty Tree, the legendary location of William Penn's treaty with the Delaware Indians in 1682. Shows boats and figures near the river. The Treaty Tree or Great Elm Tree blew down in 1810., Added title page in John F. Watson's Historic tales of olden time : concerning the early settlement and progress of Philadelphia and Pennsylvania ; for the use of families and schools ; illustrated with plates (Philadelphia : E. Littell : Thomas Holden, 1833)., William L. Breton and Kennedy & Lucas created many of the lithographic plates for Watson's Annals of Philadelphia, so it is probable that they also created the plates in Historic tales of olden time., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 197
- Creator
- Breton, William L., ca. 1773-1855, artist
- Date
- [1833]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Am 1833 Wat [Log 2794.D.title page]
- Title
- Treaty Tree
- Description
- Book illustration after the Benjamin West painting (1771) showing the treaty made at the village of Shackamaxon (i.e. Penn Treaty Park, Kensington) on the Delaware River. Penn, surrounded by his delegates, negotiates with the Delaware Indian chief near a giant elm tree. Crates of goods rest on the ground near the English delegation. Native Americans, including a translator, participate in and watch the negotiations. Also shows brick residences in the background., Plate opposite page 73 in John F. Watson's Historic tales of olden time : concerning the early settlement and progress of Philadelphia and Pennsylvania ; for the use of families and schools ; illustrated with plates (Philadelphia : E. Littell : Thomas Holden, 1833)., William L. Breton and Kennedy & Lucas created many of the lithographic plates for Watson's Annals of Philadelphia, so it is probable that they also created the plates in Historic tales of olden time., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 759
- Creator
- Breton, William L., ca. 1773-1855, artist
- Date
- [1833]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Am 1833 Wat [Log 2794.D.opp73]
- Title
- Scenery on the Pennsylvania Railroad
- Description
- Album of photographs documenting the Philadelphia, Middle, and Pittsburgh divisions of the Pennsylvania Railroad, incorporated in 1846. The consolidated company sought to build a trunk route from Philadelphia to Pittsburgh through the Allegheny mountains in order to compete with the Erie Canal for freight traffic. In 1854, rail passage through the Alleghenies via the "Horse Shoe Curve" was achieved and spurred the establishment and growth of the several towns depicted along the route., Photographs depict stations, sites, landmarks, and landscape and townscape views along the Pennsylvania Railroad. Titles include No. 1 Ardmore Station ; No. 2 Bryn Mawr Station; No. 3 Bridge at Conways at Conewago; No. 5 Mount Union; No. 6 Susquehanna Bridge at Rockville (i.e., first bridge replaced in 1877); No. 7 Track Tank; No. 8 Jack Narrows; No. 9 Triple Track; No. 12 Bryn Mawr Hotel; No. 13 Coatesville Bridge; No. 16 Powers Run Allegheny River; No. 21 Sample track near Harmersville; No. 25 East from Harmersville; No. 26 Butler; No. 29 On the Kiskimenitus below Leechburg; No. 36 Greensburg near Huffs; No. 39 Hawkins; No. 40 West of Derry; No. 41 East of Morgan; No. 42 West of Beattys Station; No. 43 Monastery West of Latrobe; No. 44 1 1/2 miles East of S. W. Penna.; No. 46 Westmoreland Coal Co.; No. 47 Braddocks, Port Perry and Steel Works; No. 48 Westmoreland Landscape; No. 49 Stewarts Sample Track; No. 50 Section of Y at Walls; No. 51 Greensburg Station ; No. 53 West of Pack Saddle; No. 55 Lockport; No. 56 Below Conemaugh Furnace; No. 58 Cresson (Panorama); No. 61 Allegheny Tunnel , Galitzen; No. 64 Soap Fat; No. 57 Cresson (Panorama); No. 59 Kittanning from McGarveys; No. 65 Pulpit Rock; No. 67 From McKees Gap; No. 76 Bellefonte; No. 78 Mill Hall; No. 79 Birmingham; No. 80 Union Furnace and Station ; No. 81 Spring Creek; No. 82 Allegheny Tunnel; No. 83 Tyrone and Clearfield; No. 84 Grade on the Tyrone and Clearfield; No. 85 Bellefonte Gap;, No. 86 Mule Shoe and Deep Fill; No. 88 Pack Saddle East; No. 90 Logan House, Altoona, Pa.; No. 96 Jack Narrows, Mapleton; No. 97 Entrance to Jack Narrows; No. 98 Reservoir; No. 99 Bedford Springs; No. 100 View from Bedford Springs; No. 101 Bedford from Wickershams; No. 102 Below Bedford, Devils Backbone; No. 103 Bedford; No. 104 McVeytown Station; No. 105 Mount Dallas; No. 106 Mapleton; No. 107 Huntington; No. 108 Tuscarora Valley; No. 109 Sentinel Rock; No. 110 Tyrone Forges; No. 113 Standard Track, Lewistown Narrows; No. 114 From Centre of Susquehanna Bridge; No. 115 Terrace Mountain, Mill Creek; No. 116 From West End of Susquehanna Bridge; No. 117 Upper Mann’s; No. 118 Lewistown Narrows; No. 119 Susquehanna Bridge; No. 121 Standard Track at Newport; No. 123 Across the Allegheny; No. 127 General View of Bryn Mawr; No. 124 Saltzburg; No. 130 Bryn Mawr; No. 131 Bryn Mawr; No. 138 Irwin Station; No. 139 Sample Track, Wynnewood Station ; No. 140 Haverford College; No. 142 Haverford College Station; No. 147 Bridge at Columbia [Wrightsburg?] Pa.; No. 148 Wayne Station; No. 151 Terminus at Delaware City; No. 154 Harrisburg from Fort Washington ; No. 150 Chiques (i.e., Chickie’s Rock); No. 153 Henry Clay, Chiques and Marietta; No. 158 Landenburg; No. 159 Columbia Tunnel; and No. 162 Louella Residence of J. Henry Askin., Photographs include railroad tracks, locomotives and railcars, railroad equipment, bridges, tunnels, rock formations, mountains, passes, mills, furnaces, coal and steel works, hotels, Victorian-style residences, wooden dwellings and sheds, canal houses and canals, telegraph poles, townscape, farmsteads, marshland, rivers, and wooden fences. Several images, particularly views of stations, also depict posed figures, including an African American man at the Haverford College Station (No. 142). Details in other photographs include rail tracks with a water trough (No. 7); amateurishly hand-painted advertising text on a wood fence (No. 36); the "Exchange Hotel" near the Allegheny Tunnel in Galitzen (No. 61); men seated on the cow catcher of a partially visible locomotive at the grade on the Tyrone and Clearfield (No. 84); a gazebo-style pavilion at Bedford Springs (No. 199); oil tanks and drums (No. 123); the Pennsylvania Gas Coal Co. Office, a pedestrian bridge crossing over a creek, and the “Tom Smith Peanut Man” shed near Irwin Station (No. 138); the “Columbia” barge (No. 147); a "Water-Line of Boston" sailing vessel at the terminus at Delaware City (No. 151); the Martin Landenburger mill in Landenburg (No. 158); and the greenhouse attached to the residence on the Louella estate in Wayne (No. 162)., Photographer’s imprint inscribed in negative of several of the photographs: F. Gutekunst, Philada. or F. Gutekunst, Photogr., Philada., Date inferred from publication date of stereographs with similar content by the photographer. See stereo - Gutekunst - Views [P.9058.1-.142]., Photograph No. 4, 10-11, 14-15, 17-20, 22-24, 27-28, 30-35, 37-38, 45, 52, 54, 60, 62-63, 66, 68-75, 77, 87, 89, 91-95, 112, 120, 122, 125-126, 128-129, 132-137, 141, 143-146, 149, 152, 155-157, 160-161 not included in album., Inscribed in pencil upper right corner on mount of photograph No. 1: 40 guards., Inscribed in pencil below image on mount of photograph No. 1: about 1876., Inscription in pencil below title on mount of photograph No. 147: Wrightsburg. “Columbia” in title circled., See Gutekunst (Pennsylvania Railroad) research file., Gift of the Greer family in memory of David St. John Greer who after starting as a co-op student at Drexel University spent his working life with the Pennsylvania Railroad with the exception of a period of service with the U.S. Navy during WWII., Lib. Company. Annual report, 2014, p. 49-50., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Gutekunst, a prominent Philadelphia photographer, published a series of Pennsylvania Railroad views stereographs in 1875.
- Creator
- Gutekunst, Frederick, 1831-1917, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.2014.74]
- Title
- Philadelphia Citizen's Line of steam boats to New York & Baltimore
- Description
- Book illustration advertisement showing the busy "Philadelphia Citizens" steamboat wharf at Arch Street and the Delaware River. Also shows the "Citizen's Line" office building (right foreground) adjacent to Jacob Ridgway's Ferry House and Hotel. Swarms of people line the wharf and several walk on the sidewalks. Horse-drawn drays and a carriage line the street in front of the office and hotel. Partial views of surrounding buildings are also visible. Vessels for New York, Baltimore, and Wilmington left the wharf daily., Name of printer supplied by Wainwright., Published in James Mease and Thomas Porter's Picture of Philadelphia from 1811 to 1831: Giving an account of its origin, increase and improvements in arts, sciences, manufactures, commerce and revenue. (Philadelphia: Published by Robert DeSilver, No. 110 Walnut Street, 1831), vol. II, opposite page 17 and in Thomas Porter's Picture of Philadelphia 1811 to 1831: Giving an account of the improvement of the city, during that period (Philadelphia: Published by Robert DeSilver, No. 110 Walnut Street, 1831), vol. II, opposite page 21., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 577, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Library Company of Philadelphia: P.9830.2 a&b and in Am 1831 Mease 68582.D and in Am 1831 Mease Log 4072.D and in Am 1831 Mease 20876., Historical Society of Pennsylvania:, Loose prints gift of Jay Snider.
- Creator
- Breton, William L., ca. 1773-1855, artist
- Date
- [1831]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department W283 [P.9830.2 a&b]
- Title
- China Retreat Pennsylva. the seat of Mr. Manigault
- Description
- View showing the Bucks County estate, near the Delaware River, built in 1796 by former Resident Director of the East India Company in China, André Everadus Van Braam-Houckgeest. Sold by Van Braam in 1798, the estate pased through several owners, including Gabriel Manigault in 1807, and at various times housed Bristol College, a boarding house, and an orphan asylum for African American children. The mansion, the estate grounds severely diminished, was demolished in the mid 20th century. View includes a worker attending the yard in front of the mansion., Gift of Mrs.S. Marguerite Brenner.
- Creator
- Birch, William Russell, 1755-1834
- Date
- [1809]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Birch Country Seats pl-19a [P.9057.55.19a]
- Title
- Van Brant's [sic] place on the Delaware River
- Description
- View, probably an artist's study for "Birch's Country Seats," depicting the Bucks County estate China Retreat, near the Delaware River , built in 1796 by former Resident Director of the East India Company in China, André Everadus Van Braam-Houckgeest. Sold by Van Braam in 1798, the estate passed through several owners, including Gabriel Manigault in 1807, and at various times housed Bristol College, a boarding house, and an orphan asylum for African American children. The mansion, the estate grounds severly diminished, was demolished in the mid 20th century. View includes cows drinking on the banks of the river and two men paddling a boat., Title from manuscript note on verso., Accompanied by scrap inscribed with manuscript note: Van Braam's Delaware River nearly opposite to Burlington. Afterward Penna Cottage., See William Snyder's "William Birch: His Country Seats of the United States" The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography 81 (July 1957), p. 225-254., Originally part of a Poulson scrapbook.
- Creator
- Birch, William Russell, 1755-1834, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1808]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department drawings & watercolors - Birch - Van Braam's China Retreat [P.8759.2]
- Title
- Pennsylvania, 1776-1876, City of Philadelphia
- Description
- View looking west of the Delaware River and the city of Philadelphia from the Camden, New Jersey ferry terminal. Many people are gathered at the ferry terminal and the river is filled with steamboats and sailing ships. This scene is placed within the borders of a shield. Below the shield is Pennsylvania's state seal flanked by scenes of Pennsylvania's industries including railroads, oil, and agricultural., Not in Wainwright., Image was originally published in William Broadhead's The Centennial Book of Signers (Phila: J.M. Stoddard, 1872) page 219., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 556, In 1872 H.J. Toudy & Co. (Henry J. Toudy, George W. Ward, and William C. Berillat) were listed as practical lithographers and printers at 529 Chestnut Street in Philadelphia.
- Creator
- H.J. Toudy & Co., lithographer
- Date
- [1872]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *BW-Views-Philadelphia [P.9639]
- Title
- Philadelphia. S.E. view
- Description
- Panoramic view looking northwest from the Delaware River showing the southeast part of the city. Several vessels, including sailboats, rowboats, and a steamboat travel in the Delaware past cityscape and Windmill and Smith Islands. Cityscape includes the Navy Yard, Spark's shot tower, and the steeple of Christ Church., Plate 7 of series of fifty-four views published by Goupil, Vibert and Company from 1848 to 1851 that were drawn by Kollner and lithographed by Deroy, and later bound under the title "Views of American Cities.", Copyrighted by Aug. Köllner., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 593/594, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Deroy, Laurent, 1797-1886, artist
- Date
- c1848
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - View [P.2283.22]
- Title
- Philadelphia. S.E. view
- Description
- Panoramic view looking northwest from the Delaware River showing the southeast part of the city. Several vessels, including sailboats, rowboats, and a steamboat travel in the Delaware past cityscape and Windmill and Smith Islands. Cityscape includes the Navy Yard, Spark's shot tower, and the steeple of Christ Church., Plate 7 of series of fifty-four views published by Goupil, Vibert and Company from 1848 to 1851 that were drawn by Kollner and lithographed by Deroy, and later bound under the title "Views of American Cities.", Copyrighted by Aug. Köllner., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 593/594, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Upper corners clipped.
- Creator
- Deroy, Laurent, 1797-1886, artist
- Date
- c1848
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Views [P.2283.21]
- Title
- A view of Point Airy opposite South Street, Phila Persons visiting this delightful resort during the summer season will find the bar supplied with a variety of suitable refreshments for the season. Every facility is afforded at this place for enjoyment & recreation. Visitors have also an opportunity of enjoying as delightful a bath as can be had at any point on the Delaware. The boat leaves the first wharf above South Street every few minutes. D. Warren, Proprietor
- Description
- Advertisement showing the "Point Airy Hotel" and dock operated by David Warren at the resort located on the southern end of Windmill Island, a summer resort area popular in the 19th century before the removal of the island in 1897. Trees surround the resort. In the foreground, a wide variety of river traffic including ferries, sailboats, and rowboats traverse the river. A man attired in a suit and top hat helps row one of the vessels. In the background, sailing ships and a ferry are visible in front of the New Jersey waterfront., Date supplied by Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 789, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Haugg worked in Philadelphia 1856-1894.
- Creator
- Haugg, Louis, 1827-1903, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1856]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **W7 [P.2003]