© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Penn's tree, with the city & port of Philadelphia, on the river Delaware from Kensington
- Description
- Northeast view from the site of the Treaty Tree, the legendary location of William Penn's treaty with the Delaware Indians in 1682. Depicts a pier with docked boats; laborers, including shipbuilders, at work; and individuals relaxing, fishing, leading a horse, and strolling near a fenced property displaying the American flag. The Treaty Tree or Great Elm Tree blew down in 1810., Illustrated in S. Robert Teitelman's Birch's Views of Philadelphia (Philadelphia: The Free Library of Philadelphia, 1982, rev. 2000), Pl. 2., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Birch, William Russell, 1755-1834, engraver
- Date
- [1828]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Birch's views [Sn 2c/P.2276.4]
- Title
- Philadelphia, from Camden, - 1850
- Description
- Panoramic view looking west from Camden showing the city to West Philadelphia. In the foreground, several bustling piers line the Camden riverfront. Sail ships and steamboats are docked, horse-drawn wagons are loaded and transport goods, and individuals mill on the piers and near the Market Street ferry house. Several vessels, including sail ships, tug boats, and steam boats sail in the river near both riverfronts and around Smith and Windmill islands. In the background, the cityscape of Philadelphia is visible. Includes the Navy Yard, Spark's Shot Tower, the steeples of Christ Church and Independence Hall, and Girard College. Also shows rows of buildings, smokestacks, undeveloped land, and the Schuylkill River in the distant background., Copyright by Francis Smith in Pennsylvania., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 583, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., The Smith brothers, Benjamin, Francis, David and George, were premier and prolific artists and publishers of panoramic city views during the pre-Civil War era., Free Library of Philadelphia: Oversize Philadelphiana - Views
- Creator
- Smith, Benjamin F., Jr., 1830-1927, artist
- Date
- c1850
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department ***BW - Views [P.8970.31]
- Title
- Monitors, League Island, Philada
- Description
- Shows out of service ironclad warships docked by the Navy Department at the island at the junction of the Delaware and Schuylkill Rivers. Island opened officially as the Navy Yard in 1876., Publisher's label pasted on verso., White paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #148., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Military [(8)1322.F.13b]
- Title
- Aerial view of the 69th Street area, Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Aerial views (some from extremely high altitude) of Upper Darby, Pa. Views looking south/southeast from West Chester Pike towards West Philadelphia. The 69th Street Transportation Center, Cobbs Creek, row houses and some industrial buildings are visible. Probably taken May 1926 [5875, 5876]; 1925 [5190, 5195] and 1930 [12276]., Negative numbers: 5875; 5876; 5190; 5195; 12276., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1925-1930]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5875; P.8990.5876; P.8990.5190; P.8990.5195; P.8990.12276]
- Title
- Farm, Solebury Township, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Aerial view of a farm at Aquetong Road & Covered Bridge Road in Solebury Township, Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Surrounding croplands and Delware River are visible., Negative number: 4283., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1924
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.4283]
- Title
- Art Colony, New Hope, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Aerial view of Art Colony along the Delaware River, immediately north of the Rte. 202 bridge, north of New Hope, Pennsylvania. View shows a number of buildings surrounded by croplands. The towpath is also visible., Negative number: 5532., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5532]
- Title
- Construction of airplane hangars, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of airplane hangars under construction at the site of what is now Philadelphia International Airport. Starting in 1925 the Pennsylvania National Guard used the site (known as Hog Island) as a training airfield. The site was dedicated as the "Philadelphia Municipal Airport" by Charles Lindbergh in 1927, but it had no proper terminal building until 1940. 5924 shows a view of the hangars from southwest to northeast along Island Avenue. 5926 shows a slightly more distant view from west to east including the Schuylkill and Delaware Rivers, Philadelphia Naval Shipyard as well as the hangers under construction. The Pennsylvania Rail Road is also visible. Probably taken May 1926., Negative numbers: 5924; 5926., Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5924; P.8990.5926]
- Title
- Philadelphia in the olden time
- Description
- Print containing a panoramic view of the city and three titled vignettes of city landmarks during the colonial era. View looks west from Camden, New Jersey and shows the Delaware River and Philadelphia cityscape. Includes the steeples of Swede's church, St. Peter's Church, Christ Church, Carpenter's Hall, State House, Christ Church, and German Reformed Church; the Market sheds on Market Street; businesses and residences; and piers and docked ships. On the river, vessels sail past Smith's Island. Also shows, in the foreground, the busy ferry and coach stop at Cooper's Point in Camden. Near the ferry house, individuals wait to board the stage coach express to New York, men gallop in on horseback, a farmer rides a horse of a team of four hauling a large bale of hay, passengers board the horse and passenger ferry readying for departure, and men fish on the river banks. Vignettes include pedestrian traffic and show "1710 The Prison at 3rd & High (Market) St.; "The State House as it was in 1735"; and "Old Court House and Friends Meeting House 2nd & High (Market) Sts. 1707." High Street Prison was actually built circa 1723 and the nearby old market stalls were built 1710. State House, i.e. Independence Hall, was built 1732-1748. The Old Court House was built 1707 by carpenter Samuel Powell and the meeting house known as Market Street Meeting House was erected 1695 and rebuilt 1775-1776., Copyrighted by Smith & Cremens in Washington, D.C., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 591.2. Digital image shows first state of print., Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 864 W 121 [2nd state?], Gift of Col. Cleon E. Hammond, May 26, 1971.
- Creator
- Smith & Cremens
- Date
- c1875
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 864 W 121 [2nd state?]
- Title
- Philadelphia in the olden time
- Description
- Print containing a panoramic view of the city and three titled vignettes of city landmarks during the colonial era. View looks west from Camden, New Jersey and shows the Delaware River and Philadelphia cityscape. Includes the steeples of Swede's church, St. Peter's Church, Christ Church, Carpenter's Hall, State House, Christ Church, and German Reformed Church; the Market sheds on Market Street; businesses and residences; and piers and docked ships. On the river, vessels sail past Smith's Island. Also shows, in the foreground, the busy ferry and coach stop at Cooper's Point in Camden. Near the ferry house, individuals wait to board the stage coach express to New York, men gallop in on horseback, a farmer rides a horse of a team of four hauling a large bale of hay, passengers board the horse and passenger ferry readying for departure, and men fish on the river banks. Vignettes include pedestrian traffic and show "1710 The Prison at 3rd & High (Market) St.; "The State House as it was in 1735"; and "Old Court House and Friends Meeting House 2nd & High (Market) Sts. 1707." High Street Prison was actually built circa 1723 and the nearby old market stalls were built 1710. State House, i.e. Independence Hall, was built 1732-1748. The Old Court House was built 1707 by carpenter Samuel Powell and the meeting house known as Market Street Meeting House was erected 1695 and rebuilt 1775-1776., Copyrighted by Smith & Cremens in Washington, D.C., Not in Wainwright., Key to 11 of 14 numbered sites within image printed below the title., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 591.1, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 864 W 121, Gift of Mrs. E. M. Paris, April 9, 1935.
- Creator
- Smith & Cremens
- Date
- c1875
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 864 W 121
- Title
- [Manuscript map showing lots of land along the Delaware River and near Point House, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Manuscript map showing landowner's names and lots southwest of Point House in Moyamensing. Lot owners include Eve Graffrey, "T. Walter & others," "T. Walter &c," and John Hunter. Lots to the north of those inscribed with names of landowners are marked (l-r): "C. No. 10"; "D. No. 11"; "B. No. 9"; "A. No. 8"; "No. 4"; "No. 5"; "No. 6.", Title supplied by cataloger., Includes compass., Includes "30 Ft Lane.", Includes "Ditch" lane., Gift of David Doret and Linda G. Mitchell.
- Date
- [ca. 1830]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Doret and Mitchell Collection - Drawings and Watercolors - Maps [P.2017.8.27]
- Title
- Windmill Island
- Description
- View looking from Philadelphia toward Windmill Island in the Delaware River. In the foreground, the edges of piers are visible. Sailboats and a steamboat traverse the river. The island, including a building and several trees (left), and the cityscape of Camden (right) comprise the background. In 1838 a channel was cut through Windmill Island in the Delaware River to improve navigation between Philadelphia and Camden, New Jersey. Smith Island to the north and Windmill Island to the south served as summer resort areas. Removal of the islands to allow unobstructed navigation of the river was completed in 1897., Title written on recto., Artist's signature and date written in lower right corner.
- Creator
- Anderson, Reginald, artist
- Date
- [1890]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *Doret & Mitchell Collection - Drawings & Watercolors [P.2018.62.5]
- Title
- Photograph album
- Description
- Photograph album belonging to Philadelphia amateur photographer John C. Browne. Contains landscape and architectural views of the Delaware Valley and Central Pennsylvania, informal portraits of family and friends, and canal boat excursions of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia, including over the Pennsylvania Canal to Harrisburg (1879) and Morris Canal (1880). Images depict "Bartram's house, Gray's Ferry"; Cobbs Creek, including the Old Powder House; Wissahickon; Jay Cooke's Ogontz estate; Mill Creek (Lower Merion Township); the Philadelphia Zoo monkey house; Chelten Hills; Laurel Hill; Delaware Water Gap, including G. W. Childs arbor, Kittany House, Promontory, Lovers Leap, Young's Peak, and Mt. Minsi; falls, creeks, and Dingman's Ferry in Pike County, Pa.; sites along the Juniata Division of Pennsylvania Canal, including mill races, iron furnaces, Pennsylvania Rail Road bridges, and canal locks at or near Bridgeport, Dauphin, and Rockville; and sites along the Morris Canal, including canal boat planes and hoisting tower, Hopatcong Lake, Little Falls, and Passaic Falls., Other images show the English Cottage on the Centennial grounds (1877); strung hunted game and fish; landscape views of Sea Bright and Belvidere, N.J. and the Delaware near Torresdale; a posed "sweethearts" scene "On the Pennypack" (1878); and a group portrait of the Photographic Society (Samuel F. Corlies, Charles Pancoast, Charles Barrington, Samuel Sartain, Joseph William Bates, W. S. Vaux, Dr. Carl Seiler, Thomas H. McCollin, Thomas B. Craig) with cameras and fishing equipment during the Morris Canal excursion. Other portrait views include Mr. and Mrs. S. Fisher Corlies, Mamie Lloyd, Sallie Bacon, Jesse S. Graves, Alice E. Browne, Susie Hacker, Samuel Fox, and Charles Palmer. Some photographs show a photographer using his camera and several of the canal excursion views include the canal boats "Zuleika" (Pennsylvania Canal) and "Katie Kellogg" and her mule team "Tom & Baby" (Morris Canal)., Front free end paper signed John C. Browne., Photographs identified by inscriptions below images. Majority are date and some annotated "Washed Emulsion.", Red cloth binding, with gilt, and stamped on cover: Album., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., An article by Browne, "The Waterfalls of Pike County, Pa.," describing a trip to photograph natural scenery in Pike County appears in Philadelphia Photographer, Vol. XIII, no. 151 (July 1876), pages 208-211., LCP AR [Annual Reports] 1989 p. 33-34., Browne was a founder of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- Browne, John C. (John Coates), 1838-1918, photographer
- Date
- 1877-1880
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.9317]
- Title
- Washington crossing the Delaware. Evening previous to the Battle of Trenton Decr. 25th 1776 The annual greeting of the carriers of the Philadelphia Inquirer to their patrons for 1861
- Description
- Commemorative print after Thomas Sully's 1819 painting "Washington's Passage of the Delaware." Depicts General Washington astride his horse atop the barren bank of the Delaware River. He tips his hat and acknowledges his troops below, who cross the river by barge. To the left of Washington, white men soldiers move a cannon. In the right are several soldiers on horseback, including Prince Whipple, enslaved African American man and bodyguard to Washington Aide, General William Whipple., Title based on item., Original painting in the collections of The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Massachusetts., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., For a description of the original painting, see the broadside Passage of the Delaware by Thomas Sully. (LCP sm #Am 1820 Sul, 6658.F)., Accessioned 1987., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Creator
- Gimbrede, Joseph Napoleon, 1820-, engraver
- Date
- [1861]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *GC - American Revolution [P.9179.9]
- Title
- S.E. view of Philadelphia
- Description
- Panoramic view looking from Camden, New Jersey showing the Delaware riverfront and harbor. Includes cityscape; docked ships; boathouses; Spark's Shot Tower; Smith and Windmill Island; and several sailing vessels and a steamboat traversing the river. Also shows two men near grazing horses on the riverbank in the foreground., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 667, Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1860]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Rivers - Delaware [(7)1322.F.19]
- Title
- Vertical views of Municipal Stadium, Naval Shipyard on League Island and environs, South Philadelphia
- Description
- Vertical views of the area of South Philadelphia roughly bounded by Packer Avenue to the north, the Naval Shipyard to the south, 26th Street to the west and the Delaware River to the east. Municipal Stadium (later known as John F. Kennedy Stadium) is visible. Naval vessels can be seen in the harbor and portions of the oil refineries near the Schuylkill River are also visible. View is from a high altitude., Negative numbers: 12413n, 12414n.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1930
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.12413n; P.8990.12414n]
- Title
- [Tacony-Palmyra Bridge construction, Tacony, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Aerial view of the construction of the Tacony-Palmyra Bridge that spans the Delaware River at Levick Street from the Tacony section of Philadelphia to Palmyra, Burlington County, New Jersey (PA/NJ Route 73). Bridge designed by architect Paul Philippe Cret and engineer Ralph Modjeski., Negative numbers: 8496., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Palmyra Bridge.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1928
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.8496]
- Title
- Photographs taken by Robert Waln Leaming 1865-1875 at Ashwood, Villa Nova, Delaware County, Penna. Lancaster Pike and Spring Mill Road
- Description
- Album containing 67 photographs showing the grounds and residence of the Ashwood estate near Villanova during different seasons; neighboring properties in Delaware and Montgomery counties; and formally posed family portraiture. Images include the front and rear facade of the Ashwood residence and landscape views of the grounds; Paxson's Mill and Dam in Radnor; J. Howard Lewis's paper mill at Darby Creek; 'Hammer Hollow," including the mill dam; Gulph Mill (Montgomery County); Leaming's other family estate Waln Grove near Frankford; old spring houses near Gulph Mill and Paxson's Mill; and Ancrum, "Seat of the Scotts Baronets of Ancrum Scotland." Many of the estate views include Leaming's wife and children (attired in clothing appropriate to the season) posed at the residence and on the grounds, including near fences, the barn, woods, and creek and in characters, as tableaux, and with farm and domesticated pets. Also contains photographic reproductions and photo-collages. Reproductions depict the the "Scott of Ancrum" family tree and Leaming's painting "Where the Sea Mew roams" and the collages show Leaming's daughters in a parlor setting (possibly Ashwood) and painted works by Jean Louis Ernest Meissonier, James Reid Lambdin, and Edwin Henry Landseer including the visage of Robert Waln Leaming. Other portrait sitters include Alice Burda, Tom Stewart, "Our Truck-man" in his horse-drawn buggy; the "Coachman" with horse "'Nelly'"and Mrs. Scott, i.e., probably, Leaming's mother-in-law Mary Emlen Scott, Blue morocco binding, plate on front cover: R. W. Leaming and stamped: Photographs., Title from inscription on front free end paper. Also includes family tree of descendants of Robert Waln Leaming and his wife Julia Scott (1821-1914)., Insert: Portrait print of Robert Waln engraved by Samuel Sartain after 1825 painting by Jacob Eicholtz. Verso inscribed with biographical information., Captions by Robert Waln Leaming below the images., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., LCP AR [Annual Report] 1999, p. 45-46., Gift of Mrs. Clifford Lewis III., Housed in phase box., Robert Waln Leaming, grandson of China Trade merchant Robert Waln, was a merchant by trade who also painted and practiced photography. He was married to Julia Scott, descended from the royal Scotts of Ancrum, with whom he had four children Rebecca, i.e., Reb (1850-1911); Mary, i.e., Mame (1851-1911); Julia, i.e., Duly (1854-1913), and Thomas (1856-1911). Leaming was also an active member of the Photographic Society of Philadelphia. His residence Ashwood, not to be confused with the Penn-Gaskell/DeCosta property of the same name (208 Ashwood Road, Villanova), was razed in the late 19th century.
- Creator
- Leaming, Robert Waln, 1824-1884, photographer
- Date
- 1865-1875
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.9759.1]
- Title
- Delaware River and South Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial view of the Delaware River and South Philadelphia taken from a bi-plane (parts of which are visible) from ca. 2000-foot altitude above the vicinity of 6th and Tasker streets. View is southwest to northeast. Petty Island and Cooper's Point, New Jersey are visible., Negative number: 1618, Record created with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1922
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.1618]
- Title
- [Panoramic view of Center City, Philadelphia looking east from non-existing suburban perspective]
- Description
- Panoramic view of Philadelphia from an imagined, suburban perspective. In the foreground from a raised viewpoint are suburban houses with landscaped lawns and trees. Cars travel down the street. A stylized view of Philadelphia is depicted including industrial and office buildings, Broad Street leading to City Hall, the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, and the Delaware River., Title supplied by cataloger., Signed and dated by the artist in lower right corner., Gift of David Doret and Linda G. Mitchell, 2022., Edwin Frank Bayha (1880-1937) was born in Philadelphia to German immigrants. He graduated from the Pennsylvania Museum and School of Industrial Art in 1899 and was a member of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts from 1898 to 1933. He worked as an illustrator and commercial artist.
- Creator
- Bayha, Edwin F., 1880-1937
- Date
- 1928
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department ***Doret and Mitchell Collection – Drawings & Watercolors [P.2022.62.3.19]
- Title
- Photographs
- Description
- Album of predominantly landscape photographs of the Delaware Valley and upstate New York taken by Philadelphia amateur photographer John C. Browne. Contents include views of Tacony, Cobb’s, Chester, and Pennypack Creeks; Germantown; Fairmount Park and the Wissahickon; Media, Dauphin, and Hamburg, Pa.; and Dutchess County and Newburgh, N.Y. Views also show estates, including S. H. Lloyd Garden on School House Lane and the W.C. Kent residence (Germantown), Mount Pleasant (Fairmount Park), Henry W. Sargent’s estate (Wodenthe) in Fishkill on the Hudson, and Presqu’ile (built 1813, Dutchess County, N.Y.); churches, including St. Timothy’s (built 1862, Roxborough) and St. Luke’s (Matteawan, Beacon, N.Y.); bridges, including the Norristown Railroad Bridge, Ridge Avenue Bridge, and the P.R.R. Bridge over Hamburg; Humphrey Yearsley’s Mill (built 1792, near Media); Delaware Water Gap; Glen Mills; St. Denning’s Point; waterfalls; cascades; wooded paths; woodlands; creek beds; and posed male and female figures in entryways, gardens, and near trees and waterfalls. Album also contains images of the Pennsylvania Hospital, Spring House and Croton Aqueduct near Tarrytown, the Washington Oak at Denning’s Point, and the Old Swedes Church (i.e., Holy Trinity Church), including cemetery, in Wilmington, Delaware. St. Luke's image also shows parishioners entering the church., Mount Pleasant Mansion was built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Title from title page written in ink manuscript: Photographs by John C. Browne., Photographs contain titles in ink manuscript below the images. Signed J.C. Browne Photo. or J.C. Browne., Several photographs removed before acquisition., Includes "Index" of titles numbered 1-73. Titles for 61-69 are blank., Gift of Harvey S. Shipley Miller and Jon Randall Plummer, 2010., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Image "Tacony Creek" (#4) published as frontispiece in Philadelphia Photographer (April 1865)., Image "On the Pennypack" (#36) published as frontispiece in Philadelphia Photographer (October 1866)., One of missing photographs (#13) located and acquired through auction. See "Red Bridge on the Wissahickon" [*photo -Browne (P.2011.57)], LCP holds loose duplicate of photograph of Pennsylvania Hospital (#9). See photo - Browne (P.9260.485)., Housed in phase box.
- Creator
- Browne, John C. (John Coates), 1838-1918, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1862-ca. 1866
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums [P.2010.38.44]
- Title
- Vote for Charles Brown, and you will discover how he tried to sleep with Buchanan how Buchanan repulsed him; how he then turned over to Douglas; denounced Breckenridge, established a Douglas Club at the corner of Fifth and Chestnut Streets, in Philadelphia; advocated the Douglas split in the Baltimore convention, and how now at last he finally turns up in Delaware the candidate of Dixie, secession and disloyalty! Vote for Charles Brown, and he will explain the ludicrous process by which he craftily managed to get from President Franklin Pierce, a fat 30,000 dollar Philadelphia office. 30,000 dollars. 30,000 dollars. Vote for old Charles Brown, and he will explain how a man of honor can remain within the Union lines, advocate secession, take the Union oath, and electioneer to represent Delaware in the loyal Congress of the United States, at a time like this, when Jeff Davis wants his services in Dixie. Attention! Men of the lodges, grand commanders, knights templar and knights of the camp:---K.G.C. See ye that knights of less degree, squires and servitors, accolytes and neophytes, one and all vote the ticket. The Iscariot, Arnold, Jeff Davis and Vallandigham lodges will lead off. Remember our mystic signs, symbols, grips and pass-words.---C Sesh is the countersign
- Description
- The illustration is a political cartoon, showing Brown taking a bag of money from a sleeping, dreaming Franklin Pierce., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitized by Alexander Street Press for Images of the American Civil War.
- Date
- [1864?]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare 4# Am 1864 Vote (5)5777.F.24a (McAllister)
- Title
- Microscopic view of Philadelphia
- Description
- Bird's eye view predominately showing the built city from the Schuylkill to the Delaware rivers and Port Richmond to South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows parts of West Philadelphia, Windmill Island, and Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from west to east, the Woodlands, Blockley Almshouse, the Upper Ferry Bridge, Market Street Bridge, the two Gas Works, Fairmount Water Works, Girard College, Eastern State Penitentiary, the Naval Asylum, Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, St. Mark's Church, Christ Church, Independence Hall, Pennsylvania Hospital, St. Peter's Church, and Spark's Shot Tower. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square) and adjacent landmarks, including the P.R.R. Freight Depot, U.S. Mint, First Independent Church, Pennsylvania Asylum for the Blind, and Will's Eye Hospital. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Foundries with smokestacks and undeveloped land border the built city to the North and South., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 478, Free Library of Philadelphia: Philadelphiana - Views
- Date
- c1869
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Views [P.9087]
- Title
- Philadelphia in 1702
- Description
- Print containing a panoramic view of the city in 1702 and three titled vignette views representing the early settlement of the city. View looks west from Camden, New Jersey and shows the Delaware River and burgeoning Philadelphia cityscape. Includes Swedes Church (1); Old Horse Mill (2); Pont House from Chester (3); Sven Svener's House (4); Duck Pond and Indian Huts at 3rd & Pine (5), Loxley's House (6); Dock Creek and drawbridge (9); Blue Anchor Tavern (13); Budd's Row (18); Carpenter's House, Brewery and Bakery (20); Old Slate House (22); Friends Public School (24); Benezet House (25); Duck Pond at 4th & Market (26); Baptist & Presbyterian Meeting House at 2nd & Chestnut (27); Friends Meeting (28); London Coffee House (31); Market Shambles (34); Christ Church (36); Jones Row (37); Turners Famous House (39); Arch Street under Arch (40); Friends Bank Meeting (42); Penny Pot House (43); Pegg's Run (44); Swedish settlement (48); Fairman's Mansion & Treaty Tree (49); and Floating Windmill (50) in the Delaware. Also shows other early dwellings and taverns, sailing vessels on the river, and activity at the riverfront that is lined with a few piers. Vignettes show "Penn's Treaty" after the Benjamin West painting; "Site of Philada. When in Possession of the Swedes before the Landing of Penn" covered with forests; "Landing of the First Families" who gather with their posessions at the shore near a cave and in the presence of Native Americans. "Landing" vignette also shows a man cooking at a spit and a cabin under construction on a hillside in the background., Copyrighted by Smith & Cremens in Washington, D.C., Not in Wainwright., Print priced at 50 cents., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 590, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 864 W 119. HSP copy contains separately-issued key to 50 sites depicted in image pasted on verso. Facsimile of key provided with LCP copy of print., Trimmed.
- Creator
- Smith & Cremens
- Date
- c1875
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **BW - Views [5225.F.4]
- Title
- [Warner Company, Berk Street Wharf, Berk and Beach Streets, Fishtown, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- Aerial views of Warner Company industrial piers on the Delaware waterfront at Berk Street and Beach Street in Fishtown. Facility is shown in its entirety. Piers are marked number 66 and 67. Ships are docked at the pier and what look like construction materials float on barges. A portion of the area just beyond Delaware Avenue to the northwest of the facility is also visible., Negative numbers: 20672n., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Warner Co., Berk St. Wharf, Phila, Pa., Oct. 18, 1939.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1939
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.20672n]
- Title
- Pennsylvania and Reading Railroad terminus on the Delaware River, vicinity of Lehigh Avenue and Richmond Street, Port Richmond, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the terminus of the Pennsylvania and Reading Railroad at Port Richmond, Philadelphia. Railroad ends at the Delaware River, where an extensive network of railroad tracks, piers and industrial buildings are visible along the riverfront, many of which served the coal trade. Large ships are visible on the river and portions of the city to the north and west of the terminus can be seen in the distance., Negative numbers: 2841, 2842, 4862., Record revised with information supplied by former Aero Service employee Carl H. Winnefeld, Jr.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1925
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.2841; P.8990.2842; P.8990.4862]
- Title
- McCahan Sugar Refining Co
- Description
- Aerial views from different directions and altitudes of the W.J. McCahan Sugar Refining Company between Tasker and Morris Streets along the Delaware River in Philadelphia. Views show vessels docked on piers, activity on wharves, and warehouse and factory buildings. The refinery was erected 1892-1893., Negative numbers: 5399, 5431, 5804, 5805, 5807, 6114, 6115, 6117., Negatives 5804, 5805, and 5807 dated May 5, 1926., 6114 and 6115 not digitized; similar view to 6117.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1925-1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5399; P.8990.5431; P.8990.5804-5805; P.8990.5807; P.8990.6114-6115; P.8990.6117]
- Title
- View of the city of Philadelphia, and its principal buildings
- Description
- Print containing a central panoramic view of Philadelphia surrounded by vignettes of prominent Philadelphia institutions. View looks west from Camden, New Jersey, showing islands and vessels in the Delaware River. Vignettes include the Almshouse, Fairmount, Girard College, Merchants' Exchange, Moyamensing Prison, Chestnut Street Theatre, U.S. Naval Asylum, State House, U.S. Mint, and the University of Pennsylvania. Most vignettes include small details like carriages, horses and pedestrians on foot., Philadelphia on Stone, Atwater Kent Museum: 40.14.19
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- 1842
- Location
- Atwater Kent Museum | Print Department AKM AKM 40.14.19
- Title
- Panorama of Philadelphia from the State House steeple. East
- Description
- Panoramic view looking toward the Delaware River predominately showing the area east of Fifth Street between Arch and South streets. Includes the Court House, i.e. City Hall, 500 Chestnut Street (1); Philadelphia Library, i.e., Library Company of Philadelphia, 105 S. 5th Street (2); U.S. Bank, i.e., Second Bank of the U.S., 420 Chestnut Street (3); Philadelphia Bank, 400-408 Chestnut Street (4); Girard Bank, 120 S. 3rd Street (5); Pennsylvania Bank, 134-136 S. 2nd Street (6); [Merchants'] Exchange, 143 S. 3rd Street (7) Christ Church, 22-34 N. 2nd Street (8); Smith's Island, Delaware River (9); and Camden (10) and Kaighn's Point (11) in New Jersey. Also shows part of the State House garden; the north side of the 400 block of Chestnut Street; the adjoined storefronts at 426-434 Chestnut Street; the "Our House" hotel, 408 Library Street; Military Hall, 412 Library Street; rooftop views of several of the surrounding city blocks; and a few pedestrians and a horse-drawn carriage on the 400 block of Chestnut Street and the grounds of the State House., Plate one of four panoramas originally issued as Panorama of Philadelphia. Views taken from the State House steeple (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild & J.B. Chevalier, 1838). These panoramas also accompanied bound editions of Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild & J.B. Chevalier, Lithographers, 72 Dock Street, 1838.) Views of Philadelphia was a series of twenty lithographs originally published as five numbers of four prints each. The four panoramas essentially constituted a sixth number in the series, and were published in bound editions with the twenty views under the title Panorama and Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity, published by J.B. Chevalier in 1838 and reissued by J.T. Bowen the same year., First state., Key to 11 landmarks printed below the image., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 542.a.1, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Library Company of Philadelphia: P.2153 and in Print Room *Am 1838 Wild 3008.Q (Poulson), Historical Society of Pennsylvania:, Described in Martin Snyder’s "J.C. Wild and His Philadelphia Views," Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (January 1953, Vol. LXXXVII), p. 32-53.
- Creator
- Wild, J. C. (John Caspar), ca. 1804-1846, artist
- Date
- c1838
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *W264.1[P.2153]
- Title
- Panorama of Philadelphia from the State House steeple. South
- Description
- Panoramic view looking south toward the Delaware River predominately showing the area between Independence Square, the river, and about 8th Street. Includes the Navy Yard at Southwark (1); Shot Tower, 2nd and Carpenter streets (2); Philadepha. C. Prison, i.e., Moyamensing Prison, 1000 block of Reed Street; Albert Barnes Church, i.e., First Presbyterian Church, 626-630 Locust Street (4); Penna. Hospital, 801-849 Pine Street (5); Washington Square, between Sixth, Eighth, Walnut and Spruce streets (6); and Independence Square (7). Also shows visitors on the grounds of Independence Square, the 500 block of the south side of Walnut Street, including a horse-drawn dray, and the rooftops of several city blocks., Plate 4 of four panoramas originally issued as Panorama of Philadelphia. Views taken from the State House steeple (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild & J.B. Chevalier, 1838). These panoramas also accompanied bound editions of Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild and J.B. Chevalier, Lithographers, 72 Dock Street, 1838). Views of Philadelphia was a series of twenty lithographs originally published as five numbers of four prints each. The four panoramas essentially constituted a sixth number in the series, and were published in bound editions with the twenty views under the title Panorama and Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity, published by J.B. Chevalier in 1838 and reissued by J.T. Bowen the same year., First state., Key to 7 landmarks printed below the image., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 542.c.1, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Library Company of Philadelphia: *P.2154 and in Print Room *Am 1838 Wild 3008.Q (Poulson), Historical Society of Pennsylvania:, Described in Martin Snyder’s "J.C. Wild and His Philadelphia Views," Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (January 1953, Vol. LXXXVII), p. 32-53.
- Creator
- Wild, J. C. (John Caspar), ca. 1804-1846, artist
- Date
- c1838
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *W266.1 [P.2154]
- Title
- Panorama of Philadelphia from the State House Steeple. South
- Description
- Panoramic view looking south toward the Delaware River predominately showing the area between Independence Square, the river, and about 8th Street. Includes the Navy Yard at Southwark (1); Shot Tower, 2nd and Carpenter streets (2); Philadepha. C. Prison, i.e., Moyamensing Prison, 1000 block of Reed Street; Albert Barnes Church, i.e., First Presbyterian Church, 626-630 Locust Street (4); Penna. Hospital, 801-849 Pine Street (5); Washington Square, between Sixth, Eighth, Walnut and Spruce streets (6); and Independence Square (7). Also shows visitors on the grounds of Independence Square, the 500 block of the south side of Walnut Street, including a horse-drawn dray, and the rooftops of several city blocks., Plate 4 of four panoramas originally issued as Panorama of Philadelphia. Views taken from the State House steeple (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild & J.B. Chevalier, 1838). These panoramas also accompanied bound editions of Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity (Philadelphia: Published by J.C. Wild & J.B. Chevalier, Lithographers, 72 Dock Street, 1838). Views of Philadelphia was a series of twenty lithographs originally published as five numbers of four prints each. The four panoramas essentially constituted a sixth number in the series, and were published in bound editions with the twenty views under the title Panorama and Views of Philadelphia, and Its Vicinity, published by J.B. Chevalier in 1838 and reissued by J.T. Bowen the same year., Second state., Copyrighted by J.T. Bowen. LCP copies lacking copyright statement., Key to 7 landmarks printed below the image., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 542.c.2, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Library Company of Philadelphia: *8236.F.3 and in Print Room *Am 1838 Wild 3008.Q (Rush), Historical Society of Pennsylvania:, Described in Martin Snyder’s "J.C. Wild and His Philadelphia Views," Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography (January 1953, Vol. LXXXVII), p. 32-53., Gift of Mrs. A. Douglas Oliver.
- Creator
- Wild, J. C. (John Caspar), ca. 1804-1846, artist
- Date
- c1838
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *W266.2 [8236.F.3]
- Title
- Philadelphia, from the State House steeple, north, east and south
- Description
- Panoramic view looking east toward the Delaware River predominantly showing the area east of Fifth Street between Arch and South Streets from Independence Hall. Includes the Court House, i.e. City Hall (500 Chestnut Street); Philadelphia Library, i.e., Library Company of Philadelphia (105 S. Fifth Street); a flag flying on top of the U.S. Bank, i.e., Second Bank of the U.S. (420 Chestnut Street); the spires of Christ Church (22-34 N. Second Street) and St. Peter's Church (300-340 Pine Street). Also shows part of the State House garden; the north side of the 500 block of Chestnut Street, including adjoined storefronts tenanted by the American Hotel (181-183 Chestnut Street); S.L. Simons daguerreotype rooms (179 Chestnut Street); Geo. Earle's Pantechnethica (175 Chestnut Street); Geo. J. Henkels' City Cabinet Wareroom (173 Chestnut Street); and a clothing store on the northwest corner of Fifth and Chestnut Streets. Also depicts rooftop views (including people on the roofs) of several of the surrounding city blocks; and a few pedestrians and a horse-drawn carriage on Chestnut Street and the grounds of the State House. Sailboats and a steamboat are visible on the Delaware River in the distance, along with the horizon of Camden, N.J., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 587, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited.
- Creator
- Elliot, Leo von, 1816-1890, artist
- Date
- c1849
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **W287 [P.2125]
- Title
- Warnick & Leibrandt's Philadelphia stove works and hollow-ware foundry. First wharf above Noble St. Philadelphia Gunners Run & Franklin Avenue. Noble St. Wharf
- Description
- Advertisement containing two views of the stove works and hollow-ware foundries owned and operated by Charles W. Warnick and Frederick Leibrandt. The upper scene depicts the stove works at Gunners Run (ie. Aramingo Canal) and Franklin Avenue (ie. Girard Avenue). Viewed from the opposite bank of Gunner's Run, the scene shows laborers working with horse-drawn carts and drays on the bank of the canal, in front of a complex of industrial buildings labeled "Foundry" (left) and "Warnick & Leibrandt's Stove Works" (right). In the foreground, four laborers lift a large plank of wood, and men in groups of three move materials across the canal in row boats. Includes a docked sailing vessel (left) and smaller vessels in the canal. The bottom winter scene depicts the stove works looking northeast at the Noble Street Wharf (ie. northeast corner of Beach and Noble Streets) showing horse-drawn traffic in the snow-covered street outside of the company's wide, four-story brick building surmounted by a large cupola and weathervane. Includes drivers pulling horse-drawn sleds (left), speeding horse-drawn sleighs carrying a family of four (right), Warnick & Leibrandt covered wagons (center), and children playing with dogs and sleds on North Beach Street in the foreground. A group of bare masts is visible on the Delaware River behind the company's building. The Noble Street Wharf site later became home to the Philadelphia Sugar House., Date supplied by Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 818, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited.
- Creator
- Rease, W. H., artist
- Date
- [ca. 1850]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **W442 [P.2267]
- Title
- East view of Philadelphia, Pennsylva. and part of Camden, New Jersey
- Description
- Bird's eye view looking from Camden toward the east side of the city. Tree-lined blocks of residential and commercial buildings in Camden predominate the foreground. The tower of the Philadelphia-Camden Ferry House and light traffic on Market Street comprises the townscape as well. Several types of vessels, including ferries, steamboats, and sailing ships traverse the Delaware River. In the distance, the cityscape of Philadelphia between Port Richmond and Southwark to West Philadelphia is visible. Includes Fairmount, Girard College, the Navy Yard, Blockley Almshouse, and the steeple of Christ Church. View also shows Smith and Windmill islands, and several ships docked along the piers lining the Delaware riverfront., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 200, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc864 K81.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813
- Date
- c1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **W104 [P.2083]
- Title
- East view. Looking down Chestnut St. across the Delaware. Camden N.J. in the distance
- Description
- Panoramic view showing cityscape in Center City near the Delaware River. Includes residential buildings, storefronts, and factories. Particularly depicts the old City Hall (500 Chestnut), the Library Company of Philadelphia (5th and Library) and the 400 block, north side of Chestnut Street, including the U.S. Hotel (419-423). Also shows the steeples of Christ Church and the Merchant's Exchange, the U.S. flag-adorned roof of the U.S. Custom House (420 Chestnut), trees in Independence Square, maritime traffic on the Delaware River, and Camden, N.J. Pedestrian and street traffic, including a horse-drawn carriage, visible in the lower left corner of the image., Copyrighted by E. Whitefield., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 544a, LCP copy of separately issued tinted and hand-colored "East View" in poor condition. Right edge torn., Library of Congress: PGA - Endicott--Panoramic views... (E size) [P&P], Digital image shows LOC copy of Panoramic Views of Philadelphia from the State House, including "East View." To request a reproduction of this image, please contact this holding institution., To request a reproduction of this print, please contact the holding institution cited.
- Creator
- Whitefield, Edwin, 1816-1892, artist
- Date
- [c1850]
- Location
- Library of Congress | Prints and Photographs Division LOC PGA - Endicott--Panoramic views... (E size) [P&P], Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *BW - Views [P.2119]
- Title
- Gems of Art. Philadelphia
- Description
- Bird's eye view predominately showing the built city from the Schuylkill to the Delaware rivers and Port Richmond to South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows parts of West Philadelphia, Windmill Island, and Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from west to east, the Woodlands, Blockley Almshouse, the Upper Ferry Bridge, Market Street Bridge, the two Gas Works, Fairmount Water Works, Girard College, Eastern State Penitentiary, the Naval Asylum, Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, St. Mark's Church, Christ Church, Independence Hall, Pennsylvania Hospital, St. Peter's Church, and Spark's Shot Tower. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square) and adjacent landmarks, including the P.R.R. Freight Depot, U.S. Mint, First Independent Church, Pennsylvania Asylum for the Blind, and Will's Eye Hospital. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware, mills line the Schuykilll above Market Street, and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Foundries with smokestacks and undeveloped land border the built city to the North and South., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 293, See "For Business Men," Worcester Daily Spy, September 20, 1866. Article reports "A new illustrated work called the 'Gems of Art,' is now being published by John H. Bufford & Sons, of Boston, to consist of finely exectured lithographic plates of landscapes, portraits, battle scenes, and cities to be interspersed with pages of advertisements ... The work is to be published in January, 1867, and four thousand copies gratitously distributed."
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Views [P.9192.2]
- Title
- Philadelphie
- Description
- Bird's eye view after the John Bachmann print published by J. Weik in 1857. Predominately shows the built city from the Schuylkill to the Delaware rivers and Port Richmond to South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows parts of West Philadelphia, Windmill Island, and Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from west to east, grounds for the Agricultural Society Fair of 1856, the Woodlands, Blockley Almshouse, the Upper Ferry Bridge, Market Street Bridge, the two Gas Works, Fairmount Water Works, Girard College, Eastern State Penitentiary, the Naval Asylum, Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, St. Mark's Church, Christ Church, Independence Hall, Pennsylvania Hospital, St. Peter's Church, and Spark's Shot Tower. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square) and adjacent landmarks, including the P.R.R. Freight Depot, U.S. Mint, First Independent Church, Pennsylvania Asylum for the Blind, and Will's Eye Hospital. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Pedestrian and street traffic is also visible on the city road ways. Foundries with smokestacks and undeveloped land border the built city to the North and South., Printed upper right corner: 90., Philadelphia on Stone, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 865 A 844
- Creator
- Asselineau, Léon-Auguste, 1808-1889, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1857]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania | Print Department | HSP at LCP HSP Bc 865 A 844
- Title
- The city of Philadelphia
- Description
- Bird's eye view looking east from West Philadelphia showing the city between West Philadelphia, the Schuylkill River, East Falls/Germantown, and Southwark/Grey's Ferry. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows the Schuylkill River, grounds of the Centennial Exhibition (West Fairmount Park); Treaty, Smith, and Windmill islands; Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from north to south, Glenwood and Oddfellows Cemetery, Columbia Bridge, Centennial buildings (Art Gallery, Memorial Hall, Main Hall), Connecting R.R. Bridge, Reading R.R. coal wharves (Port Richmond), Germantown, Girard Avenue Bridge, Fairmount Park, Kensington Depot, House of Refuge, Eastern Penitentiary, Fairmount Water Works, Wire Bridge, Reading Depot, Penn. R.R. Depots & Car Works (West Philadelphia), Franklin Square, Cathedral of Saints Peter & Paul, Logan Square, Market Street Bridge, New York Depot, New Post Office, Masonic Temple, future City Hall, Chestnut Street Bridge, Independence Hall, Public Ledger Building, Continental Hotel, La Pierre House, Washington Square, Academy of Music, Rittenhouse Square, Pennsylvania General Hospital, Philadelphia and Baltimore R.R., South Street Bridge, Navy Yard, Jefferson Square, Moyamensing Prison, Baltimore Depot, and U. S. Arsenal and Naval Asylum Building. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Train, pedestrian, and street traffic is also visible on the city road ways and railroads. Key to major landmarks and streets printed below the image. Streets include Girard Avenue, Westminster Avenue, Aspen Street, Fadline Street, Haverford Street, Bridge Street, Powelton Street, Lancaster Avenue, Market Street, Chestnut Street, Walnut Street, and South Street., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 137, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 865 P 267
- Creator
- Parsons & Atwater, artist
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania | Print Department | HSP at LCP HSP Bc 865 P 267
- Title
- Bird's eye view of Philadelphia
- Description
- Bird's eye view predominately showing the built city from the Schuylkill to the Delaware rivers and Port Richmond to South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows parts of West Philadelphia, Windmill Island, and Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from west to east, grounds for the Agricultural Society Fair of 1856, the Woodlands, Blockley Almshouse, the Upper Ferry Bridge, Market Street Bridge, the two Gas Works, Fairmount Water Works, Girard College, Eastern State Penitentiary, the Naval Asylum, Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, St. Mark's Church, Christ Church, Independence Hall, Pennsylvania Hospital, St. Peter's Church, and Spark's Shot Tower. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square) and adjacent landmarks, including the P.R.R. Freight Depot, U.S. Mint, First Independent Church, Pennsylvania Asylum for the Blind, and Will's Eye Hospital. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Pedestrian and street traffic is also visible on the city road ways. Foundries with smokestacks and undeveloped land border the built city to the North and South. Upper corners of image rounded., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 49.1, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 865 B 124a, Second state republished in 1868 by John Weik held in the Rare Book Department of the Free Library of Philadelphia (POS 49.2)., Copyright statement torn.
- Creator
- Bachmann, John, artist
- Date
- [c[1857]
- Location
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania | Print Department | HSP at LCP HSP Bc 865 B 124a
- Title
- Birds eye view of Philadelphia
- Description
- Bird's eye view looking west from the Delaware River predominately showing the built city to the Schuylkill River between Center City and South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center, right of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying area south of Center City. Also shows parts of Windmill Island in the foreground and West Philadelphia in the background. Includes the Navy Yard, Spark's Shot Tower, Moyamensing Prison, Independence Hall, Market sheds lining several blocks of Market Street, Christ Church, and Fairmount. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square). Docked ships line the piers along the Delaware and vessels sail on the river., RBD Birds Eye View of Philadelphia, Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 49a, Free Library of Philadelphia: Rare Book Collection, Reproduced in John W. Reps's Bird's eye views: Historic lithographs of North American cities (New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1998), p. 36.
- Creator
- Bachmann, John, artist
- Date
- c1850
- Location
- Free Library of Philadelphia. | Rare Book Collection. Rare Book Collection
- Title
- [George Washington crossing the Delaware]
- Description
- Commemorative print after the 1851 painting by Emanuel Gottlieb Leutze depicting General Washington's famous campaign across the icy Delaware River above Trenton on Christmas Eve 1776. A stoic Washington stands at the head of the lead rowboat surrounded by several of his dedicated men, including a white man soldier holding the American flag and the African American oarsman Prince Whipple, enslaved man and bodyguard to Washington Aide, General William Whipple. In the background, boats with the remaining troops and horses are visible., Copyrighted by M. Knoedler., Proof copy., Title from original painting in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, New York., Gift of Anthony N.B. Garvan, 1981., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of the Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Creator
- Giradet, Paul, engraver
- Date
- [ca. 1853]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **GC - American Revolution [P.8646.1]
- Title
- Bird's eye view, Philadelphia Lith. by H. J. Toudy & Co. 621 & 623 Commerce St. Philadelphia Pa
- Description
- Bird's eye view print containing a border designed with nine vignettes showing Centennial Exhibition buildings at Fairmount Park. View predominately showing the built city from the Schuylkill to the Delaware rivers and Port Richmond to South Philadelphia. Market Street runs down the center of the view. Shows the residential, commercial, industrial, religious, educational, and cultural buildings lining the streets and outer lying areas of Center City. Also shows parts of West Philadelphia, Windmill Island, and Camden, NJ. and public utilities, bridges, railroad depots, and reservoirs. Includes from west to east, the Woodlands, Blockley Almshouse, the Upper Ferry Bridge, Market Street Bridge, the two Gas Works, Fairmount Water Works, Girard College, Eastern State Penitentiary, the Naval Asylum, Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, St. Mark’s Church, Christ Church, Independence Hall, Pennsylvania Hospital, St. Peter’s Church, and Spark’s Shot Tower. Also shows the five major squares (as well as Independence Square) and adjacent landmarks, including the P.R.R. Freight Depot, U.S. Mint, First Independent Church, Pennsylvania Asylum for the Blind, and Will’s Eye Hospital. Masts of docked ships line the piers along the Delaware, mills line the Schuykilll above Market Street, and vessels sail on the waters of both rivers. Foundries with smokestacks and undeveloped land border the built city to the North and South., Captioned vignettes show Main Building, Memorial Hall, Horticultural Hall, Machinery Hall, Independence Hall 1876, Women's Pavilion, Agricultural Hall, Independence Hall 1776. Also contains vignette showing bird's eye view of the exhibition grounds. Captioned vignettes include the size of the buildings. Several of the depicted buildings were built after the designs of Henry Petit, Hermann Schwarzmann, and Joseph Wilson. The Centennial Exhibition celebrated the anniversary of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Not in Wainwright., Copyrighted in Washington, D.C., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 50, Library of Congress: PGA - Toudy & Co.--Bird's eye view, Philadelphia (E size) [P&P]
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library of Congress | Prints and Photographs Division LOC PGA - Toudy & Co.--Bird's eye view, Philadelphia (E size) [P&P]
- Title
- Bits of nature and some art products, in Fairmount Park, at Philadelphia, Penna
- Description
- Volume of compiled prints and drawings by lithographer, etcher, and artist Augustus Kollner primarily depicting landscapes of Fairmount Park and originally published in his "Bits of Nature ...," one of four volumes in his 1878 series of small folio pictures. Also contains views of Philadelphia and Bucks and Montgomery counties. Several of the prints also show park and riverscape; residences and estates; animals, including canal mules, horses, cows, and dogs; park visitors, including an African American family, children, and persons on foot and on horseback; steamboats, rowboats, and other vessels on the Schuylkill River; and rock formations. Other views show wharf workers at lunch and a cliff-side residence at North Twenty-Seventh Street near the park., Mount Pleasant Mansion was built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Titles include Thos. Moore’s Cottage, Phila. Park; Schuylkill River, Fairmount Park, Phila. (Columbia Bridge); Prospect from Ridgeland and Fairmount Park, Phila.; (In Fairmount Park) Sweet Briar Mansion, in 1843; In Ravine near Sweet Briar Fairmount Park, Phila.; Schuylkill River below the Falls, Fairmount Pk. Phila.; Belmont and Waterworks. Mount Pleasant, Fairmount Park, Philada.; In Wissahickon Valley, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Peters Island, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Schuylkill Riv. above Fairmount Dam, Philada. in 1843; Phila. 1842; Schuylkill River Pa.; Pt. Pleasant, Pa.; Near Willow Grove Penna.; Life Scenes in Fairmount Park; Near East Park, Phila./ "S.E. corner 27th & [Arben?]"; Schuylkill Valley Pa (dated 1893).; Delaware Riv. [Easton?]; Life Scenes in Park; City Wharf Scene (dated 1894); and West Phila [illegible] near Sweet [Briar?] West Phila., Title from title page., Maroon leather binding, stamped in gilt on cover: Bits of Nature. A. Kollner., Spine stamped: Bits of Nature. Kollner., Prints variably signed AK; A. Kollner; A. Kollner fc.; From nate. and etchd by A. Kollner; and Kollner, fect., Titles on the stone or plate. Some annotated with inscribed titles., Two of prints [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.15 and 16] printed on recto of proofs. Proofs depict "Life Scenes in Park" and "The Christian Soldier.", Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, 1813-1906
- Date
- [1878-1894]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F]
- Title
- [Robert Swayne collection of Philadelphia photographs]
- Description
- Collection of photographs documenting Philadelphia cityscapes, neighborhoods, landmarks, churches and benevolent institutions, businesses and factories, street views, and local events. Images depict interiors, exteriors, and alleyways. Many views include storefront signage; utility poles and street clocks; railroads and stations; and street and pedestrian traffic, as well as show the Western, Southern, and Northern sections of the city. Subjects depicted include All Saints Church (Torresdale); Cliveden; views along the Delaware River; Fairmount Park and Waterworks; Wissahickon Creek, Schuylkill River and Boathouse Row; Frankford Arsenal (1948); Philadelphia Gazette Building (924 Arch Street); the WCAU building (Bala Cynwyd) ; Rittenhouse and Logan squares; the “Clothesline Show” at Rittenhouse Square: a ca. 1930 view of a baseball game at the Baker Bowl, i.e. National League Park (2622 North Broad St.); the power house of the Westinghouse Gas Engine Machinery (Manayunk); the attic and basement of the original United State Mint (37-39 N. 7th Street, built 1792) photographed ca. 1890 by Newell & Son; interior of the second Mint Building (Broad and Chestnut);, the construction of the Delaware River, later Benjamin Franklin, Bridge (ca. 1924), Hahnemann Hospital (1928), Philadelphia Municipal, later JFK, Stadium (ca. 1926); the interior of an unidentified bakery (53rd and Vine) photographed ca. 1905 by C.H. Miller; interior and exterior of Geo. W. Einselen, Fine Cake Bakery and Ice Cream Saloon (1372 Somerset St.) photographed 1904 by Joseph Pearce; progress photographs photographed 1926 of the property of “Philadelphia Brick Co. Required for P.R.R. Temporary Track” and photographed 1921 by J.E. Bewley of and near the 3400 block of North 5th Street ; “Stephen Girard's ‘Alleged Slave Dungeons,’ Front & Market Streets uncovered by demolition” photographed 1906-1907 by John Trautwine, likely the civil engineer (P.2017.88.37.1-7); ca. 1880s studio portraits of adult and child mummers photographed by Richter & Co.; workers on scaffolding attached to the Nixon Building (20 S. 52nd St.); an exterior view photographed ca. 1873 by Newell & Son of the carpenter shop of Clarkson Fogg in front of which numerous household implements and furniture are lined, as well as men, women, and children, including a policeman are posed (449 N. 10th St.); ca. 1868 view of the 100 block of North Third Street, including the storefront for Dr. Stoever's Bitters manufactured by Kryder & Co (121 N. Third); Maryland Metal Bldg. Co. Incorporated classroom modules for the Philadelphia School District (ca. 1924); ca. 1920 advertising photos for an unidentified lighting company of examples of their work in Philadelphia manufactories with sewing machines (Greenwald Bros., Inc., 313 Arch St. and Trio Waist Co., 821 Arch St.) and of the moulding room of S.J. Cresswell Iron Works (2250 Cherry St.); the ca. 1905 interior of the cigar store of Ramon Azogue (102 S. 8th St.);, ca. 1930 view of the hairdressing salon at the Benjamin Franklin Hotel; ca. 1895 view of the interior of the Bourse (i.e., Philadelphia Stock Exchange); and a ca. 1930s exterior view of the Roxborough Home for Indigent Women (601 Leverington Avenue). Other images show a WWI benefit parade "to Keep the War Chest Filled" (1419 N. 2nd St.); a ca. 1900 lavish display of elaborately-decorated cakes photographed by William Phillipi; a posed WWI publicity still with release statements on the verso for Eastman Kodak showing Anna B. Graham with a camera and a young girl in a nurse’s uniform photographed by William F. Langrock; the storefront of a women’s owned business (Mrs. R.T. Anderson); a ca. 1920s contact sheet of variant bust-length portraits of a young woman photographed by the Lipp Studio; and the Walter Lippincott family posed on the porch of a residence., Portrait photographs, including of engraver John Sartain (P.2017.88.77.1 & 2), African American Rev. C. M. Tanner (1869-1933)(P.2018.66.4), John McAllister, Jr. and family members, and “physio-psychism” researcher Emil Sutra (P.2018.66.2) by Philadelphia photographers and occupational, school, and organizational group portrait photographs also comprise the collection. Group portraits document the Bellview Wheelmen; a class trip to the Franklin Institute; and performers attired in leotards, including jugglers, titled “Mr. Jonathan Evans, Haines & Cheer St.” Collection also includes William Stuart McFeeters family photograph album; a small number of images depicting African American men (P.2017.88.11, P.2017.88.61, P.2017.88.76.9 & 38); an organizational group portrait with a man with dwarfism (P.2018.66.15); candid snapshots, including ca. 1900 views of women using cameras along the Schuylkill River; and two film negatives depicting the WCAU building., Title supplied by cataloger., Various photographers, including Frank B. Cassel; William Bell; Berry & Homer; J. E. Bewley; Coward & Shannon; Harry A. Derr; Eagle Photo View Co.; Empire Photo Co.; H. Fetters; S.M. Fisher; Frederick Guteknust; Hansbury Studio; Henry C. Howland; Keystone Instantaneous View Company; William J. Kuebler; William F. Langrock; Lipp Studio; Charles Luedecke; F. Mattes; Monarch Photograph & Publishing Co.; Marriott C. Morris; Robert Newell; Newell & Son; Newell Studio; C. H. Miller, C. R. Pancoast; Joseph N. Pearce; William Phillipi; William Rau; Frederick DeBourg Richards; Schreiber; George Sheridan; Alfred Taylor; John Trautwine; Universal Photo Service; and W. D. Weland, Cartes-de-visite portraits of John Sartain (P.2017.88.77.1 & 2) housed separately and with cdv portraits – sitters - S., View by Schreiber of horse cart racing (1903) housed separately and with *photo – Schreiber., Cartes-de-visite portrait photographs of John McAllister, Jr. and family members (P.2017.88.79-102) housed with the McAllister Family Portrait Collection - cartes-de-visite., Electronic inventories of collection available at repository., See Lib. Company. Annual report, 2016, p. 64-65., RVCDC, Access points revised 2022., Robert Swayne (1927-2011) was a West Chester antique dealer, collector of vernacular photographs, and local writer about the Civil War.
- Date
- [ca. 1860-ca. 1952]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Swayne Collection [P.2017.88 & P.2018.66]