View looking toward the water works originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Frederick Graff. In the foreground, elegantly dressed women and men, sit, and stand on the veranda admiring the vista as street and pedestrian traffic approaches and departs from the covered Upper Ferry Bridge. Traffic includes horse-drawn carriages, a man on horseback, and a woman walking and holding a parasol. Canal barges travel under the bridge and in the canal lock across from the water works. The water works include the engine house, mill house, and pavilions on the mound dam and on reservoir hill. A water fountain and trees complete the view. Also shows businesses and residences behind the water works in the background. The Lancaster-Schuylkill Bridge, known as the Upper Ferry Bridge, was erected 1809-1812, with Robert Mills serving as architect and Lewis Wernwag as engineer. The bridge burned in 1838., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 788, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 88 B 7861
Creator
Bowen, John T., ca. 1801-1856?
Date
c1838
Location
Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Bc 88 B 7861