Glass negative showing the Germantown Friends Meeting House at 47 West Coulter Street, with a wide porch encircling the entire first floor. A large lawn dotted with trees surrounds the meeting house. The Germantown Meeting began circa 1690, shortly after the settling of the area. Smaller meeting houses existed on this land until a larger building was built in 1869 by Hibberd Yarnall from designs by Addison Hutton. During the 1827 Quaker split, the meeting remained affiliated with the Orthodox sect. The Meeting House remained a place of Quaker worship up through the 21st century., Time: 9:45, Light: Pretty good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
April 20, 1885
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.553]