View of facade of Quaker meetinghouse from east side of Twelfth Street. People stand on corner. Automobiles are parked in front. Building was built 1812 with reassembled parts from the 1755 Greater Meeting House and was in continuous use until 1972 when it was dismantled and re-erected at the George School in Newtown, PA., Title from photographer's manuscript note on verso., Photographer's manuscript note on verso: Old meetinghouse, 12 St ab. Chestnut, W. side. Erected 1812. What a charming old place. Peace and quietude seem to reign supreme within its walls, while the jangle, the clatter, the sound of many feet, of many voices and of countless motors and cars, raise up all around it. See the contrast of yesterday and today in building. The old Quaker meeting house is engulfed in a well, the sides of which are the huge sky scraping monstrotomes [sic], called department stores, loft and office buildings. (more data). Explain old English trades guild system. They built for generations in those days. At the present time we build for a generation and feel well satisfied if our buildings stand even that long., Gift of Margaret Odewalt Sweeney., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel and Susan Oyama's Philadelphia: Then and Now (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1988), p. 96.
Wilson, G. Mark (George Mark), 1879-1925, photographer
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Wilson 172 [P.8513.172], http://www.lcpimages.org/wilson/wilson172.htm
Exterior view of meeting house looking west from 12th Street. Building was constructed in 1812 with reassembled parts from the 1755 Greater Meeting House. It was dismantled and re-erected at the George School in Newtown, PA in 1972. Also includes the Friends' Institute (left) built in 1892 after designs by Walter Smedley., Divided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department LCP postcards - Religion - Meeting houses - [P.9048.252]
Winter, snow scene looking west from Girard Street at the front facade of the brick Twelfth Street Friends' meeting house on the west side of the block, below Market Street. Snow-covered trees on both streets partially obscure the building. Built 1812-1813 using parts of the Greater Meeting House. In use until 1972, when it was dismantled and re-erected at the George School in Newtown, Pa., Title from manuscript note on verso., Creme mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Religion [P.9047.2]