© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Machines at Greene & Walnut Lane for asphalt paving of Greene St
- Description
- Film negative showing a group of large machines on a construction site at Greene Street and Walnut Lane. Smoke billows from the machines., Inscription on negative: 11/1912, Originally located in negative album [P.2013.13a], Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- November 1912
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.543]
- Title
- Henry Avenue Bridge construction, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the Henry Avenue Bridge (also known as the Wissahickon Memorial Bridge) under construction. The bridge spans Wissahickon Creek at Lincoln Drive and Henry Avenue and was built from 1930-1932 after designs by Ralph Modjeski and and Paul Cret. Areas of the city to the north and east of the bridge are also visible., Negative numbers: 13961n, 13963n, 14393n.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1931
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.13961n; P.8990.13963n; P.8990.14393n]
- Title
- Masonic Temple
- Description
- View looking northeast at the west front and south flank of the temple on North Broad Street built 1868-1873 after the designs of Freemason and Philadelphia architect James H. Windrim to accommodate the local lodge's increasing membership. Includes large slabs of stone and horse-drawn carts and drays in the foreground, presumably for construction of City Hall (not pictured). Also shows the front facade of the building at the northwest corner of North Broad and Filbert Streets., Title on negative., Publisher's imprint printed on mount., Yellow curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of F.J. Dallet.
- Creator
- Purviance, W. T. (William T.)
- Date
- [ca. 1873]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Purviance - Associations [P.9418.4]
- Title
- Art Gallery and Memorial Hall - March 7
- Description
- Oblique view looking northeast showing the front and west flank of the exhibition hall, also known as the Art Gallery, built 1874-1876 after designs by Hermann J. Schwarzmann. In the foreground, a construction site with piles of lumber and frame structures is set up. This photograph was taken about two months before the official opening of the International Exhibition, which celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Photographer's imprint printed on mount and on verso. Imprint on verso contains initials "CPC" in decorative border surmounted by date range 1776-1876., White curved mount with rounded corners., Gift of Robert M. Vogel., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Centennial Photographic Co.
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Centennial Photographic Co. [P.9047.182]
- Title
- Temple Stadium site, Pickering Avenue and East Vernon Road, West Oak Lane, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of the site of Temple Stadium (also called Beury Stadium and Owl Stadium) under construction. Located at the corner of Pickering Avenue and East Vernon Road, on the site formerly known as Vernon Park. The Temple Owls football team played at the stadium until 1978, and it was demolished in the 1980s., Negative numbers: 8396.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1928
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.8396]
- Title
- [Carpenters' Hall, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- View of the front facade of the hall built 1770-1774 by the builders association, Carpenters' Company of the City and County of Philadelphia, after designs by member Robert Smith. Shows five men in suits standing and seated on the front steps of the building across from the foundation for the Guarantee Trust Company building (built 1873-1875) under construction at 318-320 Chestnut Street. Also shows a small garden lot and the side of the adjacent building at 324 Chestnut Street. Hall served as the meeting place for the First Continental Congress in 1774. The Carpenter's Company, organized 1724, was formed to provide instruction in the science of architecture and financial assistance to members and members' families in need., Orange mount with rounded corners., Title supplied by cataloguer., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- McAllister, W. Y. (William Young), 1812-1896
- Date
- [ca. 1873]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McAllister, W. Y. - Associations [(8)1322.F.7i]
- Title
- Horticultural Hall in course of erection
- Description
- View of the frame of Horticultural Hall designed by Hermann J. Schwarzmann. A man stands in front of the fence surrounding the construction site in the foreground. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title from faint manuscript note on mount below image., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Date
- [ca. 1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Exhibitions [P.9299.35]
- Title
- Art Gallery
- Description
- Construction view looking northeast showing the front and west flank of the exhibition hall, also known as the Art Gallery, built 1874-1876 after designs by Hermann J. Schwarzmann. In the foreground, railroad tracks extend toward the building and a construction site with piles of lumber and frame structures is set up. Exhibition hall built for the International Exhibition, which celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Orange mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Date
- [ca. 1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Construction [P.9047.75]
- Title
- New market house, 10th Street, Philada
- Description
- Interior view showing the Franklin Market, named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, under construction at Tenth and Marble, i.e. Ludlow streets (between Market and Chestnut streets). Completed after the designs of John McArthur, the building served as a market until sold to the Mercantile Library in 1867. The market relocated to a newly constructed building adjacent to the Farmer's Market at Twelfth and Market streets. Shows five men looking over the building's framework including a nearly completed ceiling and dirt sub-floor. Scaffolding covers the inside walls and stands in the center of the construction site., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title printed on mount., Distributor's label pasted on verso: M.I. Franklin, optician, 112 S. Fourth St., Philad'a., See clipping in Poulson's scrapbook vol 1, p.19-20., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 113., Arcadia caption text: This 1859 construction view shows the Franklin Market, designed by Philadelphia architect John McArthur, Jr., on [South Tenth Street between Market and Chestnut streets]. Built by the Centre Market Company to house several of the displaced farmers and butchers, who previously occupied sheds on Market Street, the market house, named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, accommodated nearly 300 stalls under its fireproof roof. Around 1864, as a result of poor business, the market relocated to a different facility at Twelfth and Market streets adjacent to the successful Butchers’ and Farmers’ Market., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Markets [P.8931.4]
- Title
- Wanamaker's new building operation, Jan[uar]y. 6th, 1909
- Description
- Photographic reproduction of panoramic photograph showing view from east of construction site. Wanamaker Department Store, designed by Daniel H. Burnham & Co., opened in Philadelphia in 1911 as the world's largest retail merchandising building., Original signed and copyrighted by William H. Rau, 1909., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo-Rau [P.8504.2]
- Title
- Machinery Hall
- Description
- Interior view of Machinery Hall under construction. Hall designed by Henry Pettit and Joseph M. Wilson. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title from manuscript note on mount., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Date
- [ca. 1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Exhibitions [P.9299.37]
- Title
- [Stone foundation at construction site and rear of row houses, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Depicts construction site's stone foundation surrounded by wooden fence in foreground, with rear of row houses and a greenhouse in background. A man wearing a hat passes by the construction site., Photographer's manuscript note on verso: Small residences such as we have been seeing once stood here. They have been torn down to make way for another tall - 'shove it-up-in-a-week' building. Tell story of Englishman and United State-sian argument apropos quick building (Woolworth Bldg N.Y.). This picture indicates the new form of loft-building , what may be termed the renessance [sic] in home structure in Phila, and the destruction of the small old colonial type. Note greenhouse on second floor at left of print. Explain the incident of clambering over fence to get this view., Gift of Margaret Odewalt Sweeney., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Wilson, G. Mark (George Mark), 1879-1925, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1923
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Wilson 145 [P.8513.145], http://www.lcpimages.org/wilson/wilson145.htm
- Title
- Decatur Street from Jones Hotel
- Description
- View from Jones hotel on the south side of the 600 block of Chestnut Street showing the construction lot for Jayne's Marble Building (615-619 Chestnut) on the north side. Lot on the former site of the Arcade Hotel. Also shows Decatur Street below Market and partial views of the 600 blocks of Jayne and Market streets. Includes "Morrell's Carpenter Shop" (611 Jayne), laborers, broadsides pasted on building rubble, and businesses on Market., Attributed to F. De B. Richards., Title from manuscript note on verso., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Select link below for a digital image.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer.
- Date
- ca. 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Construction [(7)1322.F.73c], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/1322f773c.jpg
- Title
- Decatur Street from Jones Hotel
- Description
- View from Jones hotel on the south side of the 600 block of Chestnut Street showing the construction lot for Jayne's Marble Building (615-619 Chestnut) on the north side. Lot on the former site of the Arcade Hotel. Also shows Decatur Street below Market and partial views of the 600 blocks of Jayne and Market streets. Includes "Morrell's Carpenter Shop" (611 Jayne), laborers, broadsides pasted on building rubble, and businesses on Market., Attributed to F. De B. Richards., Title from manuscript note on verso., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Select link below for a digital image.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Construction [(7)1322.F.73c], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/1322f773c.jpg
- Title
- Philadelphia House of Correction
- Description
- Aerial view of the Philadelphia House of Correction, opened in 1874 in the Holmesburg section of Philadelphia. Depicts the razing of the original building and construction of a new facility using the old materials., Negative number: 5602a.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- May 21, 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5602a]
- Title
- Philadelphia House of Correction
- Description
- Aerial view of the Philadelphia House of Correction, opened in 1874 in the Holmesburg section of Philadelphia. Depicts the razing of the original building and construction of a new facility using the old materials. Holmesburg Prison can be seen in the distance., Negative number: 5458.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1925
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5458]
- Title
- Philadelphia House of Correction
- Description
- Aerial views of the Philadelphia House of Correction, opened in 1874 in the Holmesburg section of Philadelphia. Depicts the razing of the original building and construction of a new facility using the old materials., Negative numbers: 5489-5492.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- March 5, 1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.5489-5492]
- Title
- [Unidentified bridge construction]
- Description
- Depicts the construction of an unidentified bridge in the winter, showing materials lying in a snow-covered valley. Industrial buildings sit nearby. Probably a bridge designed by one of the civil engineers in the Webster family., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members., Modern reference print #13 available for P.9501.12 in research file.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1896
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.1-3, P.9501.12-15]
- Title
- [Municipal Auditorium, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, West Philadelphia, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Aerial views of the Municipal Auditorium under construction. The facility was also known as Convention Hall and later as Civic Center Auditorium. The building was designed in the Art Deco style by the architect Philip H. Johnson and was demolished in 2005. View is facing northwest and shows the structure about 50 percent complete, with portions of the University of Pennsylvania campus visible in the distance., Negative number: 13242n., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Convention Hall, W. Phila. Pa., Sept. 26, 1930.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1930
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.13242n]
- Title
- [United States Custom House, Chestnut and Second Streets, Old City, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Aerial views of the Custom House under construction at 200 Chestnut Street (at 2nd Street). Building was designed in the Art Deco style by the architecture firm Ritter and Shay. View looks northeast towards the Custom House from the vicinity of Front and Dock Streets. Much of Old City surrounding the Custom House is visible, as is some of Center City in the distance., Negative number: 16086n., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: New Customs House, Phila. Pa., October 19, 1933.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1933
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.16086n]
- Title
- [Municipal Court Building under Construction, 1801 Vine Street, Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Aerial views of the Municipal Court Building under construction in June, 1939. Building was designed in the classical revival style by architects John T. Windrim and Morton Keast. View looks southwest from the vicinity of 17th and Callowhill. The Benjamin Franklin Parkway is visible from Logan Circle to just beyond 22nd Street. Major features of the parkway can be seen, including the Free Library of Philadelphia and the Franklin Institute. The view to the west stretches to 30th Street Station and the Schuylkill River., Negative number: 19826s., Manuscript note on negative sleeve: Municipal Court Bldg. under construction, Logan Circle - Phila., June 26, 1939.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1939
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.19826s]
- Title
- Municipal Stadium under construction, South Philadelphia, Philadelphia
- Description
- Aerial views of Municipal Stadium, later known as John F. Kennedy Stadium, under construction in 1925 in preparation for the Sesqui-Centennial International Exhibition the following year. Designed by the Philadelphia firm Simon & Simon. Broad Street and the Delaware River are also visible. Located at 3601 Broad Street in South Philadelphia. The stadium was demolished in 1992., Negative numbers: 4826a, 4826b, 4828a, 4829a, 4831, 5214, 5406-5409, 5413.
- Creator
- Aero Service Corporation, photographer
- Date
- 1925-1926
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.4826a; P.8990.4826b; P.8990.4828a; P.8990.4829a; P.8990.4831; P.8990.5406-5409; P8990.5213; P.8990.5214]
- Title
- Broad St. New public buildings
- Description
- View looking from City Hall under archway supported by scaffolding at vehicles on Broad Street. Shows horse-drawn carriage parked in the foreground., Title from photographer's printed series list on verso with fifty-nine other titles from "Philadelphia" (1-31) and "Washington, D.C." (32-59) series., Photographer's imprint printed on mount, Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Peabody, Edwin N.
- Date
- [ca. 1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Miscellaneous - Peabody [P.9099.6]
- Title
- [715-719 Arch Street, Bowen, Dungan & Co. under renovation, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a large brick building owned by Marriott C. Morris' father Elliston P. Morris under construction at 715-719 Arch Street. Telephone wires travel through the air in front of the building as wooden scaffolding shields the street below. Two signs hang from the scaffolding. The left sign reads "Bowen, Dungan & Co. have resumed business 728 Arch St." The right sign reads "Doyle & Doak Contractors and Builders [..] 609 Sansom St." A sign in the first floor window behind the scaffolding reads "Uncle Tom's Cabin Co." The building was damaged by a fire in 1900., See *P.9895.8.12 and *P.9895.8.13., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1906
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.8.9]
- Title
- [715-719 Arch Street, Bowen, Dungan & Co. under reconstruction, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing showing a view of a large brick building owned by Marriott C. Morris' father Elliston P. Morris under construction at 715-719 Arch Street. Telephone wires travel through the air in front of the building as wooden scaffolding shields the street below. Two signs hang from the scaffolding. The left sign reads "Bowen, Dungan & Co. have resumed business 728 Arch St." The right sign reads "Doyle & Doak Contractors and Builders [..] 609 Sansom St." A sign in the first floor window behind the scaffolding reads "Uncle Tom's Cabin Co." The building was damaged by a fire in 1900., See *P.9895.8.12 and *P.9895.8.13., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1906
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.8.10]
- Title
- [Construction of Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. A road runs in front of the buildings on the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.1]
- Title
- [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown. Man walking in foreground]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings. A wooden fence separates the building on the left from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. A sign advertising the builders is visible over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 11, 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.2]
- Title
- [Patriotic decorations on building facade near Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn, Germantown]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.3]
- Title
- [Patriotic decorations on building facade near the Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.4]
- Title
- [Patriotic decorations on building facade near Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of a building draped with American flags and patriotic bunting. The building to the right has a sign that reads "John McConnell." A group of men works on the Germantown Boys' Club addition next to a brick wall and a pile of boards in the foreground. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.5]
- Title
- [Street and building construction of Germantown Boys' Club, 10 W. Penn Germantown]
- Description
- Film negative showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition. Various construction materials and workers spill out onto the road that runs to the right of the site. A man stands near a wooden fence in the foreground and a building with a sign reading "John McConnell, horseshoer" is visible in the background. A sign advertising the builders hangs over the construction. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.105.6]
- Title
- The foundation of the Union League House, Phil
- Description
- Construction site for the Union League building showing workers beginning work on the foundation. Academy of Natural Sciences visible in background. Union League established to raise funds and recruits for the Union cause. Groundbreaking for Union League building at Broad and Sansom streets took plance on March 1,1864 and the building opened on May 11, 1865., Buff mount with square corners., Title from manuscript note on verso., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903, photographer
- Date
- [1864]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - associations [P.8464.23]
- Title
- Girard House Philadelphia
- Description
- View showing the Girard House hotel, built from 1851-1852 after the designs of John McArthur, Jr., at 823-835 Chestnut Street. Signage advertising John O. Mead & Sons, silverplaters, adorns the hotel building. In the foreground, construction work on the foundations of the Continental Hotel (built 1857-1860), also after the designs of McArthur, is visible., Yellow mount with square corners., Title from manuscript note on mount., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1857]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Hotels [(8)1322.F.29g]
- Title
- Laying corner stone of public building, July 4, 1874, Philadelphia, Penn'a
- Description
- Outdoor scene of crowd of people surrounding a large stone attached to a pulley. A man stands on the stone which is the cornerstone for Philadelphia's City Hall., Title from manuscript note on verso., Publisher's imprint on paper label on verso., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., From 1873 to 1875, Cremer documented the construction of Philadelphia's City Hall in a series of stereographs produced for the Commissioner for the Erection of the Public Building.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- 1874
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Construction [P.9644.9]
- Title
- Masonic Hall, Philada
- Description
- Exterior view of the south and west facades of Philadelphia's Masonic Temple during its construction. Land at Broad and Filbert Streets was purchased in 1866 and construction of the building, designed by James H. Windrim, began in 1868. The building was dedicated on September 26, 1873., Number 1237 in an unnamed series., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1870
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereographs - unidentified - Construction [P.9644.7]
- Title
- William Penn's mansion or the "slate-roof house." Southeast corner of Norris Alley and Second Street
- Description
- View showing storefronts occupying the former Penn residence built circa 1687-circa 1699 on the 100 block of South Second Street. Scaffolding covers the H-shaped building and piles of wood planks lie in the street. A clothing store occupies one section of the building and small tables are visible on a flat-section of the roof. Served as the residence of Penn from 1699-1701., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Compass directions inscribed on mount., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: See p. 32., Accompanied by article dated April 23, 1864 describing the averted demolition of the residence and planned preservation of the building by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 2, page 31. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Select link below for a digital image., Published in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry # 54., Corresponding album page describing "Penn's House" [(2)2526.F.28 (Poulson)] housed with photograph.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- August 1854
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - P [(2)2526.F.31 (Poulson)], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/2526f31.jpg
- Title
- Cathedral of St. Peter & St. Paul, rear view
- Description
- Exterior view of rear of church. Scaffolding covers dome. Cathedral built between 1846 and 1864. Exterior design executed by John Notman, interior design by Napoleon LeBrun., Title from inscription on mount., Light grey mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views relating to Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cresson, Charles M. (Charles Massey), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cresson [1322.F.40a]
- Title
- Girard House Hotel, northeast corner of Chestnut & 9th St As viewed from the southwest across the foundation walls of the new hotel on the s.e. corner of Chestnut and Ninth Street
- Description
- View looking northeast from the construction site of the Continental Hotel showing the Girard House hotel, built 1851-1852 after the designs of John McArthur, Jr., at 823-835 Chestnut Street. Signage advertising John O. Mead & Sons, silverplaters, adorns the hotel building. Also shows an advertisement promoting "Bathing Robes at Sloans" visible on a building adjacent to the construction and a man standing on a section of the foundation. The Continental Hotel was built 1857-1860 after the designs of McArthur., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on (3)2526.F.115., One of the images originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia. (, One of the images originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 115. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Select link below for a digital image., (6)1322.F.65b reproduction of (3)2526.F.115, (3)2526.F.115 reaccessioned as 8339.F.4.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- March 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Hotels - G [(6)1322.F.65b; (3)2526.F.115], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/8339f4.jpg
- Title
- [Engine house at Delaware Water Works]
- Description
- View showing the engine house at the Delaware Water Works, formerly the Kensington Water Works, at the foot of Wood Street (i.e., Susquehanna Avenue) near the Delaware River. The waterworks, completed in 1852, provided water for the district of Kensington. Also shows laborers working on a raised platform near piles of wood planks in front of the building., Title supplied by cataloguer., Manuscript note on accompanying label: Philadelphia Water Works. "Engine House." Delaware Works. H.P.M. Birkinbine Chief Engr., Buff mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(8)1322.F.3c]
- Title
- Church of the Holy Trinity, 200 South 19th Street, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Views showing the exterior during construction and after completion of the Norman-style Protestant Episcopal church built 1856-1859 at 200 South 19th Street after the designs of John Notman. Includes a close-up view of the church door during construction. Views also show construction debris, construction equipment, neighboring buildings on the north side of the 1900 block of Walnut Street, and a partial view of Rittenhouse Square., Contains three stereographic prints mounted on yellow paper mounts, including two with manuscript titles and one with a printed label; three one-half stereographic prints mounted on paper; and one unmounted albumen., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., One of images [(8)1322.F.19a] reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #152., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1859-ca. 1862
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Religion [(4)1322.F.72b & e; (4)1322.F.73a; (6)1322.F.87g; (8)1322.F.19a], Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Moran - Churches and Meetinghouses - H [(4)1322.F.72c-d]
- Title
- Reading R.R. Office
- Description
- View showing the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad Company offices at 227 South Fourth Street during the construction of the 1871 addition designed by Collins & Autenrieth. The offices remained at the site from the time of original construction in 1850 (designs by John M. Gries) until 1893 and the completion of the new Philadelphia and Reading terminal at 12th and Market streets. Also shows construction materials including concrete blocks, bricks, and planks of wood laying in front of the office building and in the street., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title printed on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1871
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Transportation [P.9260.84]
- Title
- St. Stephen's Church (Episcopal). Dr. Duchachett [sic], rector. Tenth St. East side corner of College Avenue The broken ground &c in foreground, is the remains at the time the picture was taken, of the old wooden houses now removing to give place to a new market house
- Description
- Date inscribed on photograph., Tile and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: See next picture., View showing the Protestant Episcopal church built 1822-1823 after the designs of William Strickland at 19 South 10th Street. Also shows the construction site for the Franklin Market in the foreground., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 49. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 39., Arcadia caption text: St. Stephen’s Church represents another magnificent church structure added to the cityscape of Philadelphia during the 19th century. Built 1822-1823 at 19 South Tenth Street after the designs of Philadelphia architect William Strickland, the Gothic-style Episcopal church houses two monuments bequeathed by devout parishioner and lawyer Edward Shippen Burd. The lower view shows one of the monuments, Burd’s tomb, designed by architect Frank Wills and installed after his death in 1848. The exterior view shows the construction site opposite the church for the Franklin Market, begun in 1859.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- April 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Churches and Meetinghouses - S [(3)2526.F.49 (Poulson)], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/2526f49.jpg
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. New mill house at Fairmount. Foundations for south front
- Description
- View showing laborers pausing from work in the foundation pit for the new mill house on the mound dam at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The new mill house, constructed between 1859-1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, housed the engines that replaced the water wheels that previously powered the waterworks. View also includes scaffolding, buckets on pulleys, and a pool of water in the foreground., Title from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer of the Water Department, on accompanying label., Buff mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- July 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.120(v)a]
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. New mill house at Fairmount. Foundations for south front
- Description
- View showing stone work on the foundation of the new mill house on the mound dam at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The new mill house constructed between 1859-1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine housed the engines that replaced the water wheels that previously powered the waterworks. View includes workers posed on the foundation walls. Also shows a partial view of the old mill house in the background., Title from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer, on accompanying label., Buff mount with square corners., Date inscribed in negative., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- October 16, 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.120j]
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. Extension of Water Works. South view of flumes. New mill house
- Description
- View showing the construction site on the mound dam of the new mill house at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The new mill house, built between 1859-1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, housed the turbine engines that replaced the water wheels, which previously powered the waterworks. Shows several construction workers posed near the flumes, with wheelbarrows, on scaffolding, and on a raised walkway across a channel of water. Also shows a man with a top hat , possibly Birkinbine, standing in the center of the site., Title and date from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer of the Water Department, on verso., Grey mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- May 4, 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [P.9356.7]
- Title
- Dam, Fairmount
- Description
- View looking west across the Schuylkill River from the old mill house at the Fairmount Water Works. Shows the dam as well as construction materials and equipment near the new mill house. The new mill house, built between 1859 and 1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, was altered between 1867 and 1872 during remodeling of the old mill house. The waterworks, originally built between 1812 and 1822, were altered and expanded after the designs of Birkinbine and Frederick Graff, Jr., until 1872., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title printed on mount., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [P.9260.89]
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. New mill house at Fairmount. South front
- Description
- View looking from the Schuylkill River showing the new mill house under construction on the mound dam at the Fairmount Water Works. The new mill house, built between 1859 and 1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, housed the engines that replaced the water wheels that previously powered the waterworks., Title from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer, on accompanying label., Grey mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1861
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.121d]
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. New mill house at Fairmount. Foundations for south front
- Description
- View showing the foundation pit for the new mill house on the mound dam at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The new mill house, built between 1859 and 1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, housed the engines that replaced the water wheels that previously powered the waterworks. Includes construction workers standing in the pit. Also shows a partial view of the old mill house in the background., Title and date from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer, on accompanying label., Date inscribed in negative., Grey mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- September 7, 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.121a]
- Title
- Philadelphia Water Works. New mill house at Fairmount. Foundations for south front
- Description
- View showing the foundation pit for the new mill house on the mound dam at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The new mill house, built between 1859 and 1862 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Henry P.M. Birkinbine, housed the engines that replaced the water wheels that previously powered the waterworks. Three construction workers are posed in the pit., Title and date from manuscript note by H.P.M. Birkinbine, Chief Engineer, on accompanying label., Date inscribed in negative., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- July 1, 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.121b]
- Title
- [Construction of the Germantown Boys' Club near 10 W. Penn, Germantown]
- Description
- Photograph showing a view of the construction of the Germantown Boys' Club addition located between two brick buildings at 10 West Penn Street. A wooden fence separates the building on the right from construction debris piled on the sidewalk. Two men walk down the road that runs in front of the buildings to the right. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s. The Club originally rented a building on Rittenhouse Street starting in 1890. The main club building was constructed 1898-1899, with an addition built in 1909., Photograph from negative number 105-2., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 11, 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2099]