© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
(551 - 600 of 1,148)
- Title
- Old Lehman House, [5524 Germantown Avenue], Main nearly opp. Armat St[reet], [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the large stone home of Christian Lehman at 5524 Germantown Avenue. To the left of the house is a wooden fence and a road lined with trees. Christian Lehman was born in Germany in 1714 and immigrated to the United States in 1731. He worked as a land surveyor and flower merchant. By 1809, the house had passed to his son, Benjamin., Time: 4:10, Light: Good strong sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 18, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.548]
- Title
- Cottage from the old stable, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a two-story home once owned by the Morris family at the corner of Chew Street and Church Lane. The house has a porch with vines growing up the columns. A woman sits on the porch and a tree and various tall shrubs stand in front of the home. To the right is a small covered patio., Time: 6, Light: Faint sunlight, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 21, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.561]
- Title
- House where Benj[amin] West was born, at Swarthmore
- Description
- Glass negative showing the three-story stone home with a duel slanted roof and two chimneys where Benjamin West was born. The house is surrounded by trees and other houses are visible in the background. West was a history painter during the Revloutionary War and the Seven Years' War., Photographer remarks: Soaked in bromide solution before developing. Camera shook., Time: 2:10, Light: Strong sun., The photograph is slightly blurred., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 27, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.580]
- Title
- Front of [Deshler-Morris House], 5442 [Germantown Avenue] (copy) small
- Description
- Glass negative showing a photograph mounted and resting on a easel of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. In the photograph, a boy rides a bicycle down the sidewalk in front of the wooden fence that stands to the left of the house. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.10]
- Title
- Rear of [Deshler-Morris House], 5442 [Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the rear of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. There is a porch on the ground level and a balcony on the second floor. A large bare tree grows in the garden near the left side of the house. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.11]
- Title
- [T.H. Wilkinson painting of Deshler-Morris House, 4782 Main Street, Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a painting by Thomas H. Wilkinson of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. The house has shuttered windows and ivy covering the walls. A wooden fence extends from the left side fo the house with trees growing behind it in the yard. A woman stands on the sidewalk in front of the fence next to a brick road. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1893
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.11.18]
- Title
- Old [De la Plaine] house, cor[ner] of Main St. & [illegible] School Lane, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a side view of the De la Plaine House at 5521-5523 Germantown Avenue across a dirt road lined with wheel tracks. The three-story house stands behind a brick sidewalk with trees growing at the edge. A man stands on the sidewalk in front of the house next to a wooden fence. James De la Plaine settled in Germantown in 1691. Before his death in 1750, he built a house. It was afterward owned by E.B. Paramore and used as a corner store before the Germantown Mutual Fire Insurance Company bought the property in 1885. The Rev. B. Wistar Morris also lived here before he became a bishop in Oregon., Photographer remarks: Taken from Sue Jones window. A passable picture., No. 11., Time: 11:30 AM, Light: cloudy day, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 24, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.4]
- Title
- Old Royal House, 4506 Main St[reet. Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Old Royal House, two-story house with shuttered windows at 5010 Germantown Avenue. Two other buildings stand very close on either side. The building on the right has a storefront on the first floor. A man and dog rest in the entryway. George Royal built this house in 1747 for his son Edward., Time: 8:45, Light: Good sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1528]
- Title
- Old "Buttonwood Tavern," 4434 Main Street, below Fisher's Lane, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Mechlin-Wagner House, a two-story tavern with shuttered windows at 4840 Germantown Avenue. A fence surrounds the lawn. Trolley tracks run down the brick road in front of the building and two large trees grow on either side of the entryway. The Mechlin-Wagner House was built in 1747 by John Zachary. It was sold to Samuel Mechlin in 1764 and continued to pass through the Mechlin-Wagner family. The house was demolished in 1915., Time: 9:10, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1530]
- Title
- Old house, 4400 Main St[reet] opp. Wakefield church, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a brick house with two chimneys and a steep roof at 4746 Germantown Avenue. The house is seen from the side and it stands next to the brick road with trolley tracks running down the center. A dilapidated wooden fence surrounds the property. Originally this farm house was part of the Toland Family property. It then belonged to Margaretta E. Potter., Time: 9:15, Light: Good sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1531]
- Title
- [Old Perot House]. Mrs. Dickinson. [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the rear of the Old Perot House seen from the backyard. The house has a tall chimney, an open window and Mrs. Dickinson stands under an overhang in the small courtyard. Joseph C. Dickinson bought the Port Royal Perot house from William B. Perot in 1880., Another rear view of same house., Photographer remarks: Broken 8-1889 & patched up., Time: 11:30, The plate is cracked and has been reinforced with another plate and adhesive., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 18, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1433]
- Title
- Old Perot house, (Mrs. Dickinson's residence) from Perot Island in Heron Bay. [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the old Perot House house situated on a hilly, tree lined shore in Heron Bay. The house and its various outbuildings are seen from a distance on the water., Time: 2:15, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 26, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1463]
- Title
- Uncle W[illia]m [Canby]'s house from Van Buren St. & Penna. Ave., Wilmington
- Description
- Glass negative showing Marriott Morris' uncle William Canby's three-story brick home set on the corner of Van Buren Street and Pennsylvania Avenue. The house is separated from the cobblestone road by a metal fence and a sidewalk. Trees grow in the sidewalk and large shrubs grow in front of the house's entryway., Time: 3:30, Light: Fair sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- December 20, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1387]
- Title
- Ed. Strawbridge in buggy at their house, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Edward Strawbridge sitting in a horse-drawn buggy. He wears a three-piece suit and hat and holds the horse's reins. The buggy waits on the street in front of a house., Time: 12:15, Light: Good sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 21, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1509]
- Title
- George [Morris]'s room from inside. Geo. with gun
- Description
- Glass negative showing Marriott Morris' cousin George Spencer Morris holding a rifle. He stands in a room crowded with pictures and furniture. An easel stands to the right with a picture of a woman on a swing. A tall desk stands on the left holding a carved bust, multiple framed pictures and another rifle. Morris wears a three-piece suit, hat, and tall boots., Time: 8:20 P.M., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 25, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1378]
- Title
- House on point, N. shore of Paget. Looking toward Hamilton, [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a house set on the shore of Hamilton Harbor. The shoreline curves forming a small bay to the left of the house. A hill rises sharply behind the house and trees grow near the water., Photographer remarks: Overtimed, Time: 11:45, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1482]
- Title
- Our [Deshler-Morris] house & [Revs. Charles W. & William A.] Schaeffer's, 4782 & 4784 Main St. from in front of C. Smith's shoe store, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a row of houses, including the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantwon Avenue, lining the brick road with trolley tracks running down the center. A sidewalk separates the road from the buildings, which stand at various heights and sizes. A horse-drawn cart waits in the road in front of a large stone building and a man stands on the steps of the building on the far left. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Time: 8, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 10, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1502]
- Title
- Market Square from Ebele's side door, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Market Square surrounded by a low metal fence. Trees, shrubs, and grass grow in the square around the Civil War statue of a man standing on a carved base. Buildings surround the park across a brick road. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument., Time: 8:25, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 17, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1507]
- Title
- Wyck, Jane Haines' house, no. [blank] Main St. From Dr. Dunton's gate, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Germantown Avenue, a brick road with trolley tracks running down the center lined with sidewalks, trees, and telephone poles leading up to Wyck, home of Jane Haines. A group of men stands next to a pile of bricks on the right side of the street. A wooden fence stands behind the sidewalk of the left side. Wyck is visible among tree branches beyond the fence. Also called the Haines House, the earliest owner of this property was Hans Millan, who immigrated to the United States in 1689. The house passed through marriage into the Johnson, Wistar, and Haines families. Reuben Haines III named the house Wyck after a mansion in England owned by the non-relative Richard Haines. In 1824, he hired Philadelphia architect William Strickland to alter the interior of the house. Haines’s daughter Jane Reuben Haines, the founder of the first horticultural school for women, the Pennsylvania School of Horticulture for Women, lived in the house until 1911. The house was donated to Historical Germantown in 1873 and serves as a museum, garden, and farm., Time: 8:40, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 23, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1512]
- Title
- [Residences and resorts along the shore at Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a series of large houses seen at a distance from across a sand dune at the shore at Sea Girt, N.J. A wooden pathway travels across the dune in the foreground., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.13.13]
- Title
- Old houses, Mrs. Billmeyer's, nos. 5345 & 5347 Main St. cor. Upsal, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the two-story stone house at 605-6507 Germantown Avenue owned by Mrs. Billmeyer. The house has shuttered windows and two gabled windows on the roof. A wooden fence extends to the right of the house and stone steps lead from the sidewalk to the front entryway. Trolley tracks run down the center of the brick road runs. Michael Billmeyer's house was built around 1730 by George Bensell. Tradition says that Washington conducted the Battle of Germantown from here. The house was purchased by Michael Billmeyer, German printer for the Pennsylvania Assembly, in 1789. It became part of the Colonial Germantown District during the late 20th century., Photographer remarks: Developed 12, 11, 1890, Time: 11, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1519]
- Title
- Old house 5411 Main St. opp. Good St., [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the King Property, a two-story stone house with a steep roof, at 5411 Germantown Avenue. Trolley tracks run down the center of the brick road. A dog stands beneath one of the trees growing in planters along the sidewalk. Rev. John William Runkle occupied the residence in 1809. It became known as the King property for later owner Joseph King. St. Luke’s Church purchased the property between 1869 and 1873, and it eventually became a part of the church’s lawn., Time: 11:20, Light: No sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1520]
- Title
- The Old Chew House, [Cliveden], Scene of Battle of Germantown 1777
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows the facade of the two-story stone building with a pediment over the front door, shuttered windows, and dormers and chimneys on the roof. In the foreground, the walkway leads to the house. On the grounds are two sculptures, a portrait bust on a pedestal and a classical female nude without a head and arms. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Time: 11:40, Light: Good sun., Purchase 2001., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1522]
- Title
- Front view of Avocado lodge, old home of the Perot family, Paget near Royal Palms, [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Perot family home Avocado Lodge, a two-story house with a porch and a side wall obscured by a large, leafy plant. The house stands on a small hill and two men lean on the railing in front of the porch. An addition to the house extends from the left side of the original building. The construction of Avocado Lodge dates to the 1700s. The Perot family began to reside at the estate with James Perot Sr.’s son William Perot. It was later acquired by the military in 1860. In the 1980s it was converted into a government school and the grounds made into a national park., Photographer remarks: Overtimed, Time: 12, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 9, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1400]
- Title
- Robert Tucker's residence near head of lane, [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of Robert Tucker's two-story house built into a hillside. A low stone wall separates the house from a grassy field. Palms and other trees grow around the house., Time: 1:10, Light: No sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1487]
- Title
- View of the Sound from Henry Darrell's place. Norwood showing corner of the house. [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of Henry Darrell's house with a chimney and a covered patio. A lawn bordered by trees and leafy shrubs stands next to the house. The bay is visible beyond the garden in the distance., Photographer remarks: Slightly overtimed., Time: 10:55, Light: Fine sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 3, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1491]
- Title
- Charles J. Wister's house, [Grumblethorpe], no. 4661 Main St. opp. Queen St., [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Grumblethorpe, a two-story stone house with shuttered windows and ivy climbing the side wall at 5267 Germantown Avenue. A fence with a gate extends to the right and a sidewalk and brick road run in front of the house. Built by John Wister in 1744, Grumblethorpe was the home of the Wister family for over 160 years. Named by Wister’s son, Charles J. Wister, it was a working farm through the late nineteenth century. By the 20th century, it served as a museum and part of Colonial Germantown Historic District., Time: 12:10, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1534]
- Title
- [View of Pelham neighborhood. Depicts three residences, including the rear of one home]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of three large, stone houses separated by lawns on Pelham Road. Trees grow near each of the houses and telephone wires are strung in the foreground., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1899
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.13.8]
- Title
- [Auburn, residence of John McAllister Sr., Old Front St. Road, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- View also includes four men seated and standing on the front porch of the country home., Title supplied by cataloguer., Date inscribed on photographs., Manuscript note below cyanotype copy photograph in scrapbook compiled by McAllister's grandson William Y. McAllister in February 1894 reads: Auburn and my horse Jenny. Auburn was a property of Ten Acres on the Old Front St. road bought by Grandfather about 1798 to avoid the yellow fevers - on it he built a Stonehouse - a workshop and horse mill and a factory and other buildings - the property is now nearly as he left it - He died in 1830 and it was sold for about 1/3d of its cost. The streets are not yet run through it but when they are the house will be about F & Tioga St..... [P.2003.28. 51]., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., See reference to photograph in John McAllister letter to C.A Poulson, March 27, 1860 in the C.A. Poulson Autograph Collection, LCP Manuscript Collections.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- March 1860
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - McAllister [(6)1322.F.30 & 173a]
- Title
- "Old Joseph, the Patriarch"
- Description
- Engraving accompanies a fictional episode described in Letter IV, "The 'Purchases' -- Old Joseph." Episode takes place on Christmas Eve in the cabin of the coachman Rafe, the slave seated on the log near the fireplace to the extreme right. Rafe has learned that he will soon be sold, and thus separated from his wife, who sits to his right, and their young child, who rests on her lap. Other slaves cluster around the couple, trying to comfort them. Leaning on his walking stick, Old Joseph (described as "the beau ideal of a patriarch, at once humble, dignified and venerable") stands and faces the group, offering words of wisdom and consolation. Interior is furnished with a bench, a chest of drawers, a large chair, and stools of varying sizes. The men's discarded top hats are placed throughout the room, as are assorted utilitarian and domestic objects, such as pots and pans, an umbrella, and an axe. In the foreground, a book, quite possibly the Bible, rests on a stool., Frontispiece for Emily C. Pearson's Cousin Franck's Household, or, Scenes in the Old Dominion (Boston: Upham, Ford, and Olmstead, 1853)., Fels Afro-Americana Image Project, Scenes from Slave Life.
- Creator
- Hedge, Franklin, b. ca. 1830, engraver
- Date
- [1853]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare Am 1853 Pear 73222.O frontispiece, https://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/object/Islandora%3A2792
- Title
- Bartram's house and garden postcards
- Description
- Contains views of the Bartram house and garden, built 1730-1731 by botanist John Bartram. Primarily contains exterior views of the house showing the west side and the east front. Views of the garden include cypress tree, "Lady Petre Pear-tree," and watering trough. Also includes view of the sitting room and a reproduction of a painting of John Bartram., Contains 4 postcards printed in color and 16 in black and white., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1900-1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Buildings - Bartram House and Garden - 21]
- Title
- Hamilton mansion, Woodlands
- Description
- Depicts the Hamilton Mansion, the Woodlands, built 1770-1790. Originally the country seat of Andrew Hamilton. His grandon William Hamilton (1745-1813) renovated and enlarged the house from 1787 until his death in 1813. In 1843 the house became the headquarters for the Woodlands Cemetery., Sheet number: 27A11, Undivided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1905
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Buildings - Miscellaneous - 27]
- Title
- [Caleb O. Childs residence, 9201 Germantown Avenue, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Exterior view of home of Caleb Childs, "gentleman," and his wife Sarah. Built circa 1860, served as a private residence until 1940 when it was opened to the public as an art gallery. Became the Woodmere Art Museum in 1985., Yellow mount with square corners., Manuscript note on verso: 102 C.O. Child Chestnut Hill 1866., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett, George O., photographer
- Date
- 1866
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett - residences [P.9486.4]
- Title
- Odumata's sleeping room ; Inner square of Apookoos house
- Description
- Plates are included in Chapter VI, "Architecture, Arts, and Manufactures." Top plate shows the sleeping room of Odumata, an old Ashanti aristocrat. Bowdich described the room as being "one side of an oblong area in a very retired angle of his house, about 25 feet by 8." As he continued,"The cloth suspended to the left of the door on the top of the steps, hides the bloody stools which are in the recess. The small gallery in front of the upper room is only wide enough for one person to walk in. The recess and small room below accommodate confidential slaves. The bed room was very small, about 8 feet square, but being hung round with a variety of gold and silver ornaments, had a very rich appearance. The bed is generally about 5 feet high, and composed entirely of large silk-cotton pillows piled one above another. The King of Gaman, we were assured, had steps of solid gold to ascend to his bed. A man wearing a crier's cap, is playing the sanko." (p. 307) As the title suggests, the bottom plate shows the inner square of Apokoo's house. (Apokoo was the keeper of the Ashanti royal treasury.) Describing the image, Bowdich wrote, "No. 6, is a perspective view of the entrance area to Apokoo's house; the fourth side is an open fronted building like those on the right and left for attendants to wait in, and for the hearing of palavers. The opposite closed side is a bed room. The figure is playing the bentwa." (p. 307), Two plates in T. Edward Bowdich's Mission from Cape Coast Castle to Ashantee: with a statistical account of that kingdom, and geographical notices of other parts of the interior of Africa (London: J. Murray, Albemarle-Street: printed by W. Pulmer and Co., Cleveland-Row, St. James's, 1819), p. 306., Fels Afro-Americana Image Project, Africa: Images, Maps, and Geography.
- Date
- Dec. 2, 1818
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare *U Afri Bowd 12983.Q p 306, https://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/object/Islandora%3A2895
- Title
- Part of a piazza in the palace [No. 7] ; Part of a piazza in the palace [No. 8]
- Description
- Plates included in Chapter VI, "Architecture, Arts, and Manufactures." As the title suggests, the top image shows part of a piazza in the palace of the King of Gaman. (The Gaman peoples live in modern Ghana.) "No. 7," Bowdich explained, "is a part of a piazza, which lines the interior of the wall secluding the palace from the street. The piazza is 200 yards long and inhabited by captains and other attendants on the King; above is a small gallery. Piles of skulls, and drums ornamented with them, are frequent in this piazza. The figure is a common soldier of the Ashantee, his belt ornamented with red shells, and stuck full of knives." The bottom image is another piazza view. "No. 8, is the upper end of the piazza, which is more ornamented, and appropriated to the superior captains, who have each a suite of rooms, marked by the small doors under the piazza. A woman is dancing whilst a man plays the flute and rattle.", Two plates in T. Edward Bowdich's Mission from Cape Coast Castle to Ashantee: with a Statistical Account of that Kingdom, and Geographical Notices of Other Parts of the Interior of Africa (London: J. Murray, Albemarle-Street: printed by W. Pulmer and Co., Cleveland-Row, St. James's, 1819), p. 308., Fels Afro-Americana Image Project, Africa: Images, Maps, and Geography.
- Date
- Dec. 2, 1818
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare *U Afri Bowd 12983.Q p 308, https://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/object/Islandora%3A2896
- Title
- Part of Adoom street [No. 9]
- Description
- As the title suggests, the plate shows part of Adoom-street in Gaman (now part of Ghana). In the accompanying text, Bowdich wrote, "No. 9, is a view of part of Adoom-street: each open front denotes the residence of a captain, being used for talking palavers, receiving strangers, observing or superintending customs, and evening recreation The dwelling is entered by the small door at the side, which generally leads through a narrow passage or court to a large area like No. 6, and thence by various intricate ways to smaller and more retired areas like No 4. and No. 5. A fetish woman has just quitted the centre house; she has on a white cloth, and various pieces of rich silk are hanging round her girdle, her breasts are confined with a scarf, a fillet encircles her head, in each hand she waves a horse's tail, and she continues yelling and swinging round and round until she is quite stupified. A weaver and loom are on her right, and a market woman under her shed on the left.", Fold-out plate in T. Edward Bowdich's Mission from Cape Coast Castle to Ashantee: with a Statistical Account of that Kingdom, and Geographical Notices of Other Parts of the Interior of Africa (London: J. Murray, Albemarle-Street: printed by W. Pulmer and Co., Cleveland-Row, St. James's, 1819), p. 308., Fels Afro-Americana Image Project, Africa: Images, Maps, and Geography.
- Date
- Dec. 2, 1818
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare *U Afri Bowd 12983.Q p 308, https://digital.librarycompany.org/islandora/object/Islandora%3A3141
- Title
- On the Wissahickon near the Old Log Cabin
- Description
- View showing Sarah Greenwood's Woolen Mill, barn, and house above Hermit's Lane near Wissahickon Creek. The mill, built in the 1740s, was destroyed by fire in 1872. In the foreground, a couple stands on a rock in the Wissahickon near a group of people sitting in a rowboat perched on the bank of the creek., Attributed to Bartlett & French., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1867
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Parks [P.9146.4]
- Title
- Cedar Glenn [sic], Laurel Hill Cemetery
- Description
- View showing a man standing in a grove of trees and bushes near a headstone in the rural cemetery built 1836-1839 after the designs of John Notman at 3822 Ridge Avenue. Also shows several residential buildings in the distant background and fencing in the foreground., Title from label on verso., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Attributed to Bartlett & French., Duplicate of P.9058.147., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Bartlett & French was a partnership between Philadelphia photographers George O. Bartlett and William French circa 1867-1868.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1868
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Cemeteries [P.8484.16]
- Title
- Cedar Glenn [sic], Laurel Hill Cemetery
- Description
- View showing a man standing in a grove of trees and bushes near a headstone in the rural cemetery built 1836-1839 after the designs of John Notman at 3822 Ridge Avenue. Also shows several residential buildings in the distant background and fencing near a gravestone in the foreground.., Title from label on verso., Yellow mount with square corners., Attributed to Bartlett & French., Duplicate of P.8484.16., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Bartlett & French was a partnership between Philadelphia photographers George O. Bartlett and William French circa 1867-1868.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1868
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Cemeteries [P.9058.147]
- Title
- [John B. Stevenson, flaxseed and linseed oil manufactory, 439-441 York Avenue, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View shows the four-story flaxseed and linseed oil manufactory at the northeast corner of York Avenue and Willow Street. Signs reading "John B. Stevenson, flaxseed & linseed oil," "brimstone & soda ash," "oil cake & cake meal," "oil cake, cake meal, linseed oil & flaxseed," span the west front and south facades of the corner brick building. Men stand and sit outside of the front entrance of the manufactory and on the steps of the adjacent property (441 York Avenue). The row house occupied by John B. Stevenson (443 York Avenue) in the mid-to-late 1860s is also visible. In the foreground, trolley tracks span Willow Street., Title supplied by cataloger., Photographer's imprint from embossed stamp on recto., Yellow mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett & Smith, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1867]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & Smith - Industries [P.9669.13]
- Title
- 37 Crown Street
- Description
- Street scene showing the residence of the artist on Crown Street (perpendicular to Race and Vine streets). The view includes other residential buildings and the rear of St. Augustine's Roman Catholic Church and cemetery (260-262 N. 4th) partially concealed behind a wall. A few people and a dog stroll along the sidewalk., Lithograph is based on a drawing by Richard Kern now in the collection of the Huntington Library., Date printed lower left corner., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 5, See David J. Weber. Richard H. Kern: Expeditionary Artist in the Far Southwest, 1848-1853. (Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press for the Amon Carter Museum, 1985) for a biography of the artist., Gift of David Doret., Kern was a member of an artistic Philadelphia family. His brothers Benjamin, Edward, and John were also artists, and for a short time in the 1840s, Richard shared a Philadelphia studio with Edward and John and taught art. He also supported himself by preparing technical illustrations for some of Philadelphia's scientific organizations. Like his brothers, Benjamin and Edward, Richard served as a topographical draftsman on expeditions to the western United States. He was killed by Native Americans in Utah.
- Creator
- Kern, Richard H., 1821-1853
- Date
- 1843
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Residences - Kern [P.9635]
- Title
- Residence of Wm. Crammond [sic], esq. s.w. corner of Third and Spruce Street
- Description
- View looking southwest showing the former residence of Philadelphia merchant William Cramond. Ironwork gates adorn the lower level of the building. Also includes signage visible in the left of the image advertising "City Office.", Attributed to F. De B Richards., Tile from manuscript note by Poulson inscribed on mount., Date inscribed on photograph., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 11, page 85. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, with edited., Select link below for a digital image.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- June 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - C [(11)2526.F.85], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/2526f85.jpg
- Title
- [Views of Milestown, Philadelphia along Old York Road, north of Branchtown, and above Oak Lane.]
- Description
- Series of views of the Philadelphia neighborhood. Shows a rundown cottage near a row of trees; a mill; and a creek. Views also include boys posed near the sites, including boys with a rowboat and holding fishing nets., Attributed to John Moran., Cream mounts with square corners., Three of images accompanied by labels., Series numbers include: 22., Originally part of McAllister scrapbooks of American views and Pennsylvania views & political miscellany., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1861
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Views - Milestown [5739.F.1e; 5739.F.55b; 5759.F.1h; 5759.F.3c & i]
- Title
- Views on the Estate of S.B. Waugh, Bordentown, N.J
- Description
- Exterior and interior views of portrait painter Samuel Bell Waugh's residence in Bordentown, N.J., including group portraits of the family on the lawn of the property. The only interior view depicts a young woman playing a piano in an ornately decorated parlor. Two young girls, possibly Samuel Bell Waugh's daughters, are depicted in six of the seven images., Photographer's stamp on versos of mounts., Yellow mounts with square corners., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1863
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - residences [P.8464.1-7]
- Title
- Louis Phillipe's second place of residence in Phila After residing at the house of one of the partners of the firm of Cunningham & Nesbitt, in Front bel. Walnut St., two or three weeks he boarded in the above pictured house; on the arrival of his brothers from France, he with them commenced housekeeping in the building, still standing, at the N.W. corner of Fourth and Prune Street. The western portion of Rev. Mr. Marshall's Presbyterian church (old, but renovated, enlarged, &c lately) is on the left of the picture and a faint view (in the sky) of the spire of St. Peter's church on Pine and Third St
- Description
- Shows the former residence of Reverend William Marshall who hosted the exiled King of France at 322 Spruce Street. Philippe lived at the residence 1796-1797., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount of (3)2526.F.95., Date inscribed on (3)2526.F.95., Manuscript notes by Poulson on mount: (See page 11); (See opposite page)., One of the images originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia. Contains marked out manuscript note on recto: House 322 Spruce Street Philadelphia. And west side of Scots Presbyterian Church Philadelphia., One of the images originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 95. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's and Susan Oyama's Philadelphia then and now (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1988), p. 8.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- March 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - L [(3)2526.F.95 (Poulson); (6)1322.F.35c]
- Title
- William Penn's mansion or the "slate-roof house." Southeast corner of Norris Alley and Second Street
- Description
- View showing storefronts occupying the former Penn residence built circa 1687-circa 1699 on the 100 block of South Second Street. Scaffolding covers the H-shaped building and piles of wood planks lie in the street. A clothing store occupies one section of the building and small tables are visible on a flat-section of the roof. Served as the residence of Penn from 1699-1701., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Compass directions inscribed on mount., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: See p. 32., Accompanied by article dated April 23, 1864 describing the averted demolition of the residence and planned preservation of the building by the Historical Society of Pennsylvania., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 2, page 31. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Select link below for a digital image., Published in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry # 54., Corresponding album page describing "Penn's House" [(2)2526.F.28 (Poulson)] housed with photograph.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- August 1854
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - P [(2)2526.F.31 (Poulson)], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/2526f31.jpg
- Title
- Van Pelt St. and Locust St
- Description
- View showing the front facade of the residence of Miss Lily C. Harris built circa 1895 at 2125 Locust Street near Rittenhouse Square. Dwelling is adorned with an ironwork balcony., Title from descriptive manuscript note by photographer on verso., Descriptive manuscript note by photographer on verso: An all satisfying colonial doorway graceful, dignified and having all the reminiscent charm of the period it reflects., Gift of Margaret Odewalt Sweeney., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Wilson, G. Mark (George Mark), 1879-1925, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1923
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Wilson [P.8513.180], http://www.lcpimages.org/wilson/wilson180.htm
- Title
- A little court off Front St. no. of Arch St
- Description
- Depicts two brick homes, with two children posed in front of each building., Title from photographer's manuscript note on verso., Photographer's manuscript note on verso: These houses in the picture, likewise all those in court are considerably over 125 years. At the upper end of this court there is an alley. In this alley there is a three story, Flemish bond front, house. In this house Benj Franklin resided. So he passed the buildings herewith photographed, in going to - or coming from his home, since there never was any other way of gaining entrance to his home than by passing up this alley. Houses rent from $6 to $9 per mo. (Tell about woman and the Dardenells story. Judicate the pride of residentials (Americans) of this section in the houses of the neighborhood. Proud of the long periods they have resided there., Gift of Margaret Odewalt Sweeney., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Wilson, G. Mark (George Mark), 1879-1925, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1923
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Wilson 118 [P.8513.118], http://www.lcpimages.org/wilson/wilson118.htm
- Title
- View of the toll-house, Superintendents residence, and part of Schuylkill Canal, &c. on the W. side of River Schuylkill, opposite Fairmount
- Description
- Shows the buildings at the base of a tree-lined hillside near the canal in the foreground. Additional buildings are visible in the background. Schuylkill Navigation Company was incorporated in 1815 to create a navigational waterway on the Schuylkill River between Port Carbon and Philadelphia to transport coal. The canal was completed in 1828., Title and date from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 55? The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #210., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Transportation [(5)2526.F.15b]
- Title
- Louis Phillipe's second place of residence in Phila After residing at the house of one of the partners of the firm of Cunningham & Nesbitt, in Front bel. Walnut St., two or three weeks he boarded in the above pictured house; on the arrival of his brothers from France, he with them commenced housekeeping in the building, still standing, at the N.W. corner of Fourth and Prune Street. The western portion of Rev. Mr. Marshall's Presbyterian church (old, but renovated, enlarged, &c lately) is on the left of the picture and a faint view (in the sky) of the spire of St. Peter's church on Pine and Third St
- Description
- Shows the former residence of Reverend William Marshall who hosted the exiled King of France at 322 Spruce Street. Philippe lived at the residence 1796-1797., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount of (3)2526.F.95., Date inscribed on (3)2526.F.95., Manuscript notes by Poulson on mount: (See page 11); (See opposite page)., One of the images originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia. Contains marked out manuscript note on recto: House 322 Spruce Street Philadelphia. And west side of Scots Presbyterian Church Philadelphia., One of the images originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 95. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's and Susan Oyama's Philadelphia then and now (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1988), p. 8.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- March 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - L [(3)2526.F.95 (Poulson); (6)1322.F.35c]