© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
(1,001 - 1,050 of 1,148)
- Title
- Views of Liberia from "W.F. Lynch report of mission to Africa"
- Description
- Series of titled views of the Black emigrant country of Liberia (founded 1822) that accompanied a government report compiled by William F. Lynch, Commander, United States Navy following an exploratory excursion to the west coast of Africa. Depicts the stone mansion of Joseph Jenkins Roberts, the first president of Liberia (1847-1855); Episcopal Mission, near Cape Palmas, Mt. Vaughan, founded in 1834 under the auspices of the Maryland Colonization Society and the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society of the Protestant Episcopal Church; Monrovia (i.e., Liberia) from Bushrod's Island; and Cape Palmas, a Liberian settlement. Views include lush landscapes, Black and white residents, sailing ships, and dwellings., Title from name of the publication., Artists include John H.B. Latrobe and William S. Seager., Printed below images: Senate executive documents, No. 1, 33rd Congress, 1st Session, Part III., Published in "W.F. Lynch report of mission to Africa," Senate Executive documents, 1st Session, 33rd Congress, part 3, vol. 1, doc. 1, p. 329-389., Latrobe, a Baltimore landscape painter, also served as President of the Maryland Colonization Society., Gift of David Doret, 2004., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of the Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014., Wagner & M'Guigan, a partnership between Philadelphia lithographers Thomas S. Wagner & James M'Guigan, was active 1846-1858.
- Creator
- Wagner & M'Guigan
- Date
- [1853]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department GC - Views - Foreign - Africa [P.2004.33.5a-d]
- Title
- Views of the Wilson family on their estate
- Description
- Views show the Wilson family recreating on their estate. Depicts the family reading, picnicking, sitting and lounging in their yard, walking and working in their gardens, harvesting corn, playing with family dogs, posing near a small footbridge, and eating on their porch. Several members of the family are seated on their horses in a few of the images. One image includes an African American man, attired in a white chef’s hat and apron, overseeing a meal under a tent. Also shows exterior views of the family's two-and-a-half story residence with porches on the first two levels, a stone barn, and outbuildings. American flags are included in several of the images., Title supplied by cataloger., Date based on content and attire of the people., Photographer's labels pasted on versos., Stereograph [P.9439.17] contains manuscript note on verso: "For Mr. Wilson with compliments of the artist.", Contains twenty-two photographs, seventeen printed on yellow mounts with square corners and five printed on mint green mounts with square corners., Purchase 1993., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Residences [P.9439.1-22]
- Title
- [Webster family portrait on porch of 4834 Penn Street, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's family on the porch of his parent's home at 4834 Penn Street, built in 1890, according to a datestone on the side of the house. From left to right, the image includes: unidentified woman, Bertha T. Webster, George S. Webster, Mary S. Webster (seated), Jane L. Webster and a young boy, possibly the photographer's oldest son, Edward Lownes Webster, perched on the banister., The Webster family owned four neighboring properties on Penn Street: 4830, 4832, 4834, and 4900., Modern reference print #9 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.84]
- Title
- [John H. Webster, Sr., with his five sons, on the porch of Stouton, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the five sons of John Hambleton Webster, standing in ascending age order from left to right behind their seated father near the front entrance of Stouton, the former country seat of William MacPherson, owned by the Webster family since 1805. From left to right: Clement B. Webster, John H. Webster, Jr., Howard Webster, George S. Webster, and Albert Webster., William MacPherson was the son of Captain John MacPherson (1726-1792) from Edinburgh. William served as lieutenant for the British army during the first year of the Revolutionary War, but joined the Colonial army under the leadership of Lafayette. Appointed surveyor of the Port of Philadelphia in 1789 and commanded the Philadelphia battalion, the "MacPherson Blues", during the Whiskey Insurrection in 1794. Married Margaret Stout and resided at their country seat "Stouton". Site later named MacPherson Park., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.62]
- Title
- [Webster family portrait on side porch of 4834 Penn Street, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's family sitting on the side porch of his parent's home at 4834 Penn Street, constructed in 1890 according to a datestone on the side of the house. From left to right, the image includes: unidentified woman, Jane L. Webster, Bertha T. Webster, Mary S. Webster (sitting against the house), George S. Webster (against the post) and a young boy, possibly the photographer's oldest son, Edward Lownes Webster, sitting in the middle on the first step. The photographer's mother, Lydia S. Webster, stands in the doorway., The Webster family owned four neighboring properties on Penn Street: 4830, 4832, 4834, and 4900., Modern reference print #12 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.89]
- Title
- [John H. Webster, Sr., with his five sons, on the porch of Stouton, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the five sons of John Hambleton Webster, standing in descending age order from left to right behind their seated father near the front entrance of Stouton, the former country seat of William MacPherson, owned by the Webster family since 1805. From left to right: Albert Webster, George S. Webster, Howard Webster, John H. Webster, Jr. and Clement B. Webster., William MacPherson was the son of Captain John MacPherson (1726-1792) from Edinburgh. William served as lieutenant for the British army during the first year of the Revolutionary War, but joined the Colonial army under the leadership of Lafayette. Appointed surveyor of the Port of Philadelphia in 1789 and commanded the Philadelphia battalion, the "MacPherson Blues", during the Whiskey Insurrection in 1794. Married Margaret Stout and resided at their country seat "Stouton". Site later named MacPherson Park., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.63]
- Title
- Hampton Place - Residence of Lt. Gen. Winfield Scott - Elizabethtown, N.J
- Description
- Exterior view of the front elevation of Hampton Place in Elizabeth, New Jersey, the residence of soldier and statesman Winfield Scott and his wife Maria Mayo, who are depicted standing in the gateway leading to the front entrance of the home. Colonel John Mayo, Maria's father, purchased the property in the early nineteenth century., Title printed on mount., Publisher's imprint printed on mount., Creme mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- McAllister & Brother
- Date
- c1862
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McAllister & Bro. - Residences [P.8464.12]
- Title
- [Interior views of the McAllister Residence, 14 North Merrick Street, West Penn Square, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Interior views of John McAllister Jr.'s residence on West Penn Square showing bedrooms, parlors, the main staircase, and the furniture and artwork decorating the rooms and walls, including a fireplace and mantle, piano, paintings, tables, chairs, mirrors, beds, and wash basins. Several views include John McAllister, Jr., with an unidentified man in one view, sitting in chairs in a parlor., Title supplied by cataloger., Yellow mounts with rounded corners., One item [P.9389.2] reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 26., Arcadia caption text: ... This house, built around 1835 on North Merrick Street, was one of a growing number of large double townhouses that lined Penn Square by the end of the 1830s. ... The image below provides a partial view of two of the bedrooms., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Residences [P.9389.1-9]
- Title
- Scraps illustrative of the history of Phil[adelphia]. Vol. 5
- Description
- Scrapbook containing predominantly clipped illustrations, prints and ephemera dated 1855-1856 and pertaining to the built environment, and social and cultural climate of Philadelphia. Contents include several wood engravings, engravings, cameo stamps, and lithographs depicting prominent city landmarks, businesses, cityscapes, and caricatures and cartoons. Many of the graphics are advertisements and vignettes, or illustrate published articles. Advertisements depict F. Roussel Perfumery (114 Chestnut); W. J. Horstmann, trimmings (223 Chestnut); E. Mathieu, clarified cider and vinegar (14 Lombard); Stoddart’s Dry Good Store (278 N. Second); a Segars and tobacco store (93 S. Sixth, i.e., 300 block); Bennett’s Tower Hall (184 Market, i.e., 600 block); C. B. Rogers & Co. Agricultural Works and Bone Mill; P.F. Cunningham Catholic Book Store (104 S. Third); "Palmer’s Patent Leg, as exhibited at the World’s Exhibition, London, 1851"; J. H. Rohrman, Japan Ware Manufactory (96 Cherry); Carpenter’s Schuylkill & Eastern Ice Depot (Franklin & Willow); Mills B. Espy, preserved fruits (109 S. Third); J. Thornley’s India-Rubber Emporium and Magnetic Telegraph Offices (101 Chestnut, i.e., 300 block); Thomas & Sons auction house and E. H. Butler & Co., publishers (67 S. Fourth, i.e., 200 block); The State Savings Fund (83 Dock); Leary’s Cheap Book Store (158 N. Second, i.e., 200 block); John Baird Marble Mason (Ridge Avenue); Farmers & Mechanics Fire Marine & Life insurance Co. (200 block Walnut) Frederick Brown Building (Chestnut and Fifth); Fritz, Williams, & Hendry, leather (29 N. Third); Henry Tilge & Co., importers & dealers in hatters goods (140 N. Third); F.A. Hoyt & Brother, boys clothiers (1000 block Chestnut); Masonic Hall and adjacent properties, including Horstmann and Washington House (700 block Chestnut); Thornley & Chism, dry goods (700 block Spring Garden); and North, Chase & North, iron founders (Second and Mifflin)., Other graphics show "Chapel and Principal Entrance. To the Monument Cemetry [sic] Phila."; Institution for the Blind; First Presbyterian Church; a building at "Pine & William St. West Phila."; an 1837 view of the American Sunday School Union annotated "Chestnut Street next E. of Jones Hotel; and the houses eastward to S.E. cor. of Sixth & Chestnut Street – Durand’s apothecary shop"; Stand Pipe for the West Philadelphia Water Works; "City Ferry Boat"; and a view of the entrance to Mount Moriah Cemetery, and map, including the cemetery; and genre engravings "The Farm-House Pets" and The Roadside Inn " by J.H. Byram annotated "specimen of the art of engraving on wood in Philadelphia 1855." Vignettes depict "A Merchant of Philadelphia in the year 1745"; housewares, including a sieve, bath tub, ranges and furnaces, and drapery; a "“Know Thyself” phrenological head annotated “Fowler, Wells & Co."; a "J.B. Smith, New Street File Works" file; and an annotated 1832 view of C. & N. Jones Stockings (200 block Chestnut) [p. 28 and 31]. Caricatures and cartoons satirize an African American women peddler "Hot Corn Biddy"; spiritualism; fashion; the medical profession; and street musicians., Scrapbook also contains several lithographs from the 1830 edition of "Watson's Annals," ephemera, and newspaper clippings. Watson plates include Stone Prison at Philadelphia 1728, Carpenter’s Mansion, London Coffee House, and High Street & Market Shambles. Most are accompanied by detailed manuscript notes by Poulson. Ephemera includes a chart of "Length of Squares East and West"; hand-colored, illustrated lithographed invitation for the "Hand in Hand Fire Company, First Grand Citizens Dress Ball" (1847); illustrated invitation to Islington Park showing Islington Park (1848); seals of the Agricultural Society of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Railroad Company, All Saints Church, Moyamensing; a “Ship news” cut from "Poulson’s American Daily Advertiser" (1822) annotated “designed at my request by my friend John Lewis Krimmel, the now celebrated painter; and engraved on brass by Mason, So. Fourth St."; "The Old State House Bell" souvenir poem; architectural drawing "N.W. Corner 2d & Chestnut St. extending W on Chest. St. torn down abt. 1832" (includes R. Jones, engraver; I. Davis confectionary; [C. & N. Jones] Stocking Store); and a partial circular advertising De Grath’s “Electric Oil” Depot, No. 39 South Eighth Street (1859)., Newspaper clippings include illustrated advertisements and articles; editorials; anecdotal and current event pieces; and columns reporting about city improvements and public interest stories. Illustrated pieces detail Lafayette Vauxhall Garden; a "Bird’s Eye View of the City of Philadelphia"; Central High School; the Society of the Cincinnati; the major 1856 fire at Sixth and Market streets; "The Trained Elephants ‘Victoria’ and ‘Albert’ " at the National Circus; "Gentlemen’s Short Boots"; and the new hall of the Athenaeum. Anecdotal and current event articles include commentaries about the closing of Blood’s Despatch Post in flavor of the Post Office (1861); the new traveling coach built by W. D. Rogers for entertainer Dan Rice; the influx of envelopes due to the change in the Post Office law (1841); a new cooling apparatus installed in Walnut Street Theatre (1855); the 1855 State Poultry Exhibition; and the planting of oysters in Back Creek below the city. Editorials discuss the Philadelphia Book Trade (1855); Academy of Natural Sciences; deterrents for pedestrians on Chestnut Street, including extension of shopfronts into the sidewalk and side show hawkers; ladies fancy work fads, including scrap furniture and poticho mania (1856); and the mansions of George Washington and George Willing., Other columns report about West Philadelphia; the 1856 fires at Bingham Mansion and the Artisan’s Building (100 block Chestnut); government buildings, including the Custom House, Commissioners Hall and United States Mint; city trades, including lager beer; city improvements, including the modification of street names, removal of the market sheds on Market Street, the laying of the cornerstone of the Church of Evangelists, the forthcoming erection of the new hospital for Christ Church; and new establishments, including Granville Stokes “picton stone” store (209 Chestnut). Clippings also include lists, reports, and tables about the cattle market; real estate sales; taxables (1841); crime statistics; the fire department companies; and building improvements. Scrapbook also contains explicative manuscript notes by Poulson (some tipped in or inscribed on lettersheets). Topics include Carpenter’s Mansion, Pennsylvania Hospital, and the State House. Some notes explicate accompanying graphics., Majority of contents annotated with a date. Several annotated with a detailed manuscript note by Poulson., Chromolithograph “Philadelphia” containing vignettes of portrait of Benjamin Franklin and the seal of the city and annotated by Poulson pasted on p. 4. Print inscribed: "Vincit qui se vincit. Vol. V. Collected from fugitive sources only, By C. A. Poulson.", "Index to set in back part of vol. XI.", Several photographs by F. De. B. Richards and James McClees, including views of Independence Hall, La Pierre House, and Central High School, removed to the Print Department., Original watercolors by Poulson, including view of Walnut Grove removed to Print Department., Various artists, engravers, and printers include William Avery; C. G. Childs; Edward Clarkson; S. H. Gimber; Alexander Lawson; C. A. Lesueur; J. H. Byram; King & Baird; R. Major; W. Mason; Charles F. Noble; Frederick Pilliner; John Sartain; Charles Spiegle; J. W. Steele; William Stott; William Strickland; R. Telfer; Cornelius Tiebout; and Charles Cushing Wright., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Poulson, Charles A. (Charles Augustus), 1789-1866, compiler
- Date
- 1822-1862, bulk 1855-1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare Poulson scrapbooks - vol. 5 [(5)2526.F]
- Title
- Mount Pleasant, Arnold House, East Fairmount Park, Philadelphia
- Description
- Exterior views of Mount Pleasant Mansion (i.e. Arnold Mansion) built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. One view shows the east front of the main house. The other view depicts the main house flanked by smaller buildings and trees. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Title supplied by cataloger., Photographer's imprint in red text on mounts., Manuscript notes on versos., Explicative paragraph of text providing brief history of Fairmount Park entitled, "Fairmount Park and Water Works, Philadelphia," printed on verso of P.9462.22. Text surmounted by vignette of state seal of Pennsylvania and surrounded by decorative border., Yellow mounts with rounded corners., Purchase 1994 [P.9462.22]. Gift of J.F. Dallet, 1995 [P.9488.1]., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Residences [P.9462.22 and P.9488.1]
- Title
- Bits of nature and some art products, in Fairmount Park, at Philadelphia, Penna
- Description
- Volume of compiled prints and drawings by lithographer, etcher, and artist Augustus Kollner primarily depicting landscapes of Fairmount Park and originally published in his "Bits of Nature ...," one of four volumes in his 1878 series of small folio pictures. Also contains views of Philadelphia and Bucks and Montgomery counties. Several of the prints also show park and riverscape; residences and estates; animals, including canal mules, horses, cows, and dogs; park visitors, including an African American family, children, and persons on foot and on horseback; steamboats, rowboats, and other vessels on the Schuylkill River; and rock formations. Other views show wharf workers at lunch and a cliff-side residence at North Twenty-Seventh Street near the park., Mount Pleasant Mansion was built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Titles include Thos. Moore’s Cottage, Phila. Park; Schuylkill River, Fairmount Park, Phila. (Columbia Bridge); Prospect from Ridgeland and Fairmount Park, Phila.; (In Fairmount Park) Sweet Briar Mansion, in 1843; In Ravine near Sweet Briar Fairmount Park, Phila.; Schuylkill River below the Falls, Fairmount Pk. Phila.; Belmont and Waterworks. Mount Pleasant, Fairmount Park, Philada.; In Wissahickon Valley, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Peters Island, Fairmount Park, Philada.; Schuylkill Riv. above Fairmount Dam, Philada. in 1843; Phila. 1842; Schuylkill River Pa.; Pt. Pleasant, Pa.; Near Willow Grove Penna.; Life Scenes in Fairmount Park; Near East Park, Phila./ "S.E. corner 27th & [Arben?]"; Schuylkill Valley Pa (dated 1893).; Delaware Riv. [Easton?]; Life Scenes in Park; City Wharf Scene (dated 1894); and West Phila [illegible] near Sweet [Briar?] West Phila., Title from title page., Maroon leather binding, stamped in gilt on cover: Bits of Nature. A. Kollner., Spine stamped: Bits of Nature. Kollner., Prints variably signed AK; A. Kollner; A. Kollner fc.; From nate. and etchd by A. Kollner; and Kollner, fect., Titles on the stone or plate. Some annotated with inscribed titles., Two of prints [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.15 and 16] printed on recto of proofs. Proofs depict "Life Scenes in Park" and "The Christian Soldier.", Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, 1813-1906
- Date
- [1878-1894]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F]
- Title
- [Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr., 6706 Cresheim Road, Pelham]
- Description
- Film negative showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. as boys sitting on the wooden porch steps of their home at 6706 Cresheim Road. They wear sailor suits and have a watering can between them,, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- Spring 1906
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.73]
- Title
- Bessie Morris & Patty Mellor at 5442 [Germantown Avenue, Deshler-Morris House]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a close view of Pattie Mellor and Marriott C. Morris' sister Elizabeth Canby Morris sitting next to each other in front of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. Mellor on the right wears a hat decorated with flowers and a dark coat and turns her head toward Morris who looks downward. Morris wears a cloth hat and a light coat. She has a small, black dog in her lap. The house's large windows are visible in the background. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., No. 18., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.100.2]
- Title
- Bessie Morris & Patty Mellor at 5442 [Germantown Avenue, Deshler-Morris House]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a close view of Marriott C. Morris' sister Elizabeth Canby Morris and Pattie Mellor sitting next to each other in front of the Deshler-Morris House. Mellor on the right wears a hat decorated with flowers and a dark coat and turns her head toward Morris who looks toward the camera. Morris wears a cloth hat and light coat. She has a small, black dog in her lap. The Deshler-Morris House's large windows are visible in the background. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., No. 18., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.100.2a]
- Title
- Charles James Rhoads & Sam[uel] B[uckley] Morris in backyard, 5442 [Germantown Avenue, Deshler-Morris House]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Samuel Buckley Morris, Marriott Morris' brother, and Charles James Rhoads, Morris' Aunt Beulah's nephew, as boys with a dog under the branches of a leafy tree in the backyard of the Deshler-Morris House. The boy on the right wears a light colored suit and a cap and sits next to a tree with a bat under his arm. The boy in the center wears a dark colored suit with a dark hat and stands with one arm raised over the dog and a bat in his other hand. A planter stands to the left of the group and the rear of the house and a large tree are visible in the background. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., No. 19., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.100.4]
- Title
- Knock em down group on Uncle Chas' [Rhoads] porch, Haddonfield, [NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing three women, including Marriott C. Morris' sister Elizabeth Canby Morris, Mrs. Woods, and Samuel Nicholson Rhoads all leaning to the left against a pillar while sitting on the porch step at Morris' uncle Charles Rhoads' house. The man looks outward while the women rest their heads on each other's shoulders. The man wears a three-piece suit while the women wear dark high-necked dresses. There are vines growing up a lattice on the left. The Haddonfield area was originally developed by Elizabeth Haddon (1680-1762) who immigrated to the United States in 1701 to manage property her father had bought in the colonies., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Light: Good light., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- November 18, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.794]
- Title
- Elberon Hotel & Franklyn Cottage from S.W., [Long Branch, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Franklyn Cottage in the distance to the right and Elberon Hotel amidst other buildings to the left. A path curves to meet the driveway to the cottage. The drive is surrounded by a hedge, with a man and two women gathered just inside the row of shrubbery. Lewis E. Brown built the Elberon Hotel in 1876. A nearby cottage owned by Charles Franklyn, president of the Cunard Ship Lines, was the scene of President James Garfield’s death in 1881. The Elberon area was a popular resort spot for actors, politicians, and the social elites starting in the 1870s., Time: 12:45, Light: Sun under cloud., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- August 29, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.719]
- Title
- [Oglesby's & possibly Tremont House in distance, Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's multi-story house seen from above at a distance. Two people stand on the wide porch located on the first level. Balconies are on the second and third floors. A path circles around a flower bed in the front lawn. Trees grow behind the house and the ocean and possibly Tremont House are visible in the distance. Construction of Phoebe Wright's house is visible in the foreground. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down. The Tremont House hotel opened between 1878 and 1880 by Paul and Mary Thurlow. Phoebe Wright was a prominent Quaker philanthropist. Her house was built in 1890 and was the only vacation home in Sea Girt from this time period to survive into the 21st century., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.9.3]
- Title
- [Oglesby's Cottage, Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's multi-story house seen from above at a distance. Two people stand on the wide porch located on the first level. Balconies are on the second and third floors. A path circles around a flower bed in the front lawn. Trees grow behind the house and the ocean and possibly Tremont House are visible in the distance. Construction of Phoeve Wright's house is visible in the foreground. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down. Phoebe Wright was a prominent Quaker philanthropist. Her house was built in 1890 and was the only vacation home in Sea Girt from this time period to survive into the 21st century., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.9.8]
- Title
- Street in St. Georges, Elwell on wall, Public garden on left, [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a narrow street lined with stone walls on Saint George Island. Godet Elwell sits on the wall in front of a house. A Black woman, attired in a brimmed hat with a ribbon and a plaid shawl, stands behind the wall and looks at the viewer. A young Black child sits on the wall between them. A Black girl, attired in a brimmed hat, a white dress, a shawl, and shoes, stands behind Elwell. Behind the family, a sheet and clothes, hang on a clothesline and on a bush. More buildings line the road in the right., Time: P.M., Light: Faint sun., Purchase 2001., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 12, 1886
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.853]
- Title
- Back of [Bockius House] 4774 Main & our yard from end of flagstone path, [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Bockius House at 5434 Germantown Avenue with a wooden fence seen from across the wide lawn of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. Other houses are visible in the background. A line of bare trees separates the lawn from the other houses. The Bockius House was built for Albert Ashmead as a wedding gift. It was later occupied by Charles R. Bockius, and eventually Elliston Perot Morris, who remodeled it in 1903. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on the 5442 Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Sample plates from Buchanan, Browley & Co. 6 doz. 4x5 Sp., 5 doz, 3 1/4 x 4 1/4, Sp. bought 3/26., Time: 5:10, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 23, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1084]
- Title
- Our cottage [Avocado] & Oglesby's from shed roof of [Charles & Phoebe] Wright's stable. [Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Morris family home Avocado and Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's house, two multi-story homes taken from the shed of Charles and Phoebe Wright's stable. Avocado on the right features a wide porch and a tower with a balcony. The lower portion of the house is obscured by a growth of thick trees. Elliston Perot Morris bought property in Sea Girt, N.J. in 1875, where he built the summer home Avocado after designs by Quaker architect Hibberd Yarnall. Morris left Avocado, named after a Perot family estate in Bermuda, to his daughter Elizabeth Canby Morris in his will. It was sold in 1947 after her death. By 1958 the house had been demolished. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Photographer remarks: overtimed, Time: 3:00 PM, Light: good sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 23, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1586]
- Title
- Ellie [Rhoads], Anna [Rhoads] & Bessie, closer. [On porch of Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Marriott C. Morris' sister Elizabeth Canby Morris, his Aunt Beulah's neice Anna Rhoads, and Ellie Rhoads sitting on the Deshler-Morris House porch at 5442 Germantown Avenue. The women are shown from the waist up, and all are wearing high-necked dresses. Morris on the right wears a hat and a monocle on a chain., Time: 4:30, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 17, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.546]
- Title
- [Ellie Rhoads, Anna Rhoads, & Bessie. Porch of Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Marriott C. Morris' sister Elizabeth Canby Morris, his Aunt Beulah's neice Anna Rhoads, and Ellie Rhoads sitting on a bench situated on a porch of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. The women all wear high-necked dresses and hold tennis racquets. Morris on the right wears a hat and a monocle on a chain. Jet, the small black family dog, stands between Morris' legs. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Forms part of Marriott C. Morris Collection., Photographer remarks: Fogged in lower portion of plate., Time: 8:30, Light: Good., Same group as last., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 18, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.547]
- Title
- Aunty [Phoebe] Wright's house from Avocado 3rd fl[oor] window, [Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Phoebe and Charles Wright's large three-story brick house with a porch and a crenellated ridgeline as seen from the third floor of the Morris family home Avocado. A path runs in front of the house and ocean is visible in the distance. Charles Wright began the construction of this house in 1885. Phoebe Wright was not directly related to him, but lived here until the construction of her own house in 1890., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.53.10]
- Title
- [Phoebe Wright's house from porch of Avocado, Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Phoebe and Charles Wright's a large three-story brick house seen from the porch of the Morris family home Avocado. The Wright's house has a porch and a balcony on the second floor. The pillars of the porch on Avocado are visible in the foreground and the grass extends into the background. Charles Wright began the construction of this house in 1885. Phoebe Wright was not directly related to him, but lived here until the construction of her own house in 1890., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.53.11]
- Title
- Looking North from Avocado, Mrs. Oglesby cottage, Sea Girt
- Description
- Glass negative showing Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's multi-story house with a wraparound porch and balcony on the third floor seen from a distance on the Morris family home Avocado's porch. A decorated railing and two porch pillars stand in the foreground and the ocean is visible on the right. Elliston Perot Morris bought property in Sea Girt, N.J. in 1875, where he built the summer home Avocado after designs by Quaker architect Hibberd Yarnall. Morris left Avocado, named after a Perot family estate in Bermuda, to his daughter Elizabeth Canby Morris in his will. It was sold in 1947 after her death. By 1958 the house had been demolished. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.53.2]
- Title
- Old Conyngham House & E.I.H. Howell's house. 4634 & 4636 Main St., G[erman]t[ow]n
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Conyngham-Hacker House at 5214 Germantown Avenue and E.I.H. Howell's house at 5218 Germantown Avenue. Both two-story houses have shuttered windows and ivy climbing the walls. Trees grow in the lawn in front of the houses, which is separated from the brick road by a stone wall. A lamppost and telephone pole stand in the sidewalk in front of the wall. Originally built by William Forbes in 1755, the Conyngham-Hacker House was the residence of David H. Conyngham of the firm J.M. Nesbit & Co. The house changed hands several times before being bought by Isaiah Hacker in 1844, as well as serving as Hannah Wister’s residence. It was used variously as a private residence and a boarding school until being bought by the Germantown Historical Society in 1927 to serve as their headquarters. The Howell House was named after owner E.I.H. Howell. It was originally built by William Forbes in 1795 and used as both a private residence and a boarding school dormitory. It later became part of the Colonial Germantown Historic District., Time: 8:15, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 24, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1515]
- Title
- [Mount Pleasant, Mount Pleasant Drive, East Fairmount Park, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Exterior views of the mansion built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Mount Pleasant was described by John Adams as "the most elegant seat in Pennsylvania," and is an excellent example of Philadelphia's Middle Georgian country houses of the 1760s. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Negative numbers: 54 & 54a-d, Negative numbers 54a-54d dated 1928 in manuscript note on negative sleeve., Purchase 1978., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022.
- Creator
- Jennings, William Nicholson, 1860-1946, photographer
- Date
- 1928
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jennings [P.9480.54 ; P.9480.54a-54d]
- Title
- [The Fisher House. Formerly No. 110 now 226 South Front Street The residence of Saml. R. Fisher - where he deceased. His son (only) Thomas then occupied the house where he died, on Tuesday morning, Feby 12th 1856. The house is remarkable from the "pent" roof over the front door - where the second or upper door appears in the picture there was a window similar to that remaining. S.R.F's counting house* no. 27 (old) Dock St. and storehouses were in the rear of this, on Dock Street. The houses northerly in view are to the N.W. cor. of Front and Granite Street.]
- Description
- View looking east showing the 200 block of Front Street, including the former residence of merchants Samuel Rowland Fisher and his son Thomas Fisher. Also shows adjacent businesses including Kirkpatrick, DeHaven & Co., liquor dealers (228-230 S. Front) and the Pennsylvania Railroad Emigrant Line office (224 S. Front). Also shows barrels lining the sidewalk and a parked horse-drawn dray., Date inscribed on negative., Title from duplicate., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- May 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - F [(7)1322.F.27d]
- Title
- The " Black Bear" Tavern; Girard estate offices; the residence of Thos. Sully, and his studio, and the music store of Geo. E. Blake; up to Fred. Brown's iron building and apothecary shop, at the n.e. corner of Fifth and Chestnut St., and the east side of Fifth St. continued, below (s. of) Chestnut in the perspective. The original Black bear tavern was on south side of Market east of Fifth Street. The stables &c are on the same lot that fronted Market Street
- Description
- View looking west on Fifth Street below Chestnut Street showing the businesses and residence. Shows the tavern building tenanted by Jeremiah Starr, grocer (11 S. Fifth) and Schaffer & Montgomery, wine and liquors (13 S. 5th). Also includes the office building operated by the estate of Stephen Girard; the residence of artist Thomas Sully (23 S. 5th); Blake's music store (25 S. 5th); and the renovated drug and chemical store of Frederick Brown (rebuilt late 1850s). Carts and wagons line the street and a group of men stand in front of the tavern. Tavern building razed 1859 for the erection of the Eastern Market at Fifth and Merchant streets., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Date inscribed on photograph., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: (see p. 56 1/2)., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 58. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- February 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo -Richards - Streets - Fifth [(3)2526.F.58 (Poulson)]
- Title
- Chew house, Germantown
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows an African American man, attired in a hat, a white shirt, and overalls or a waistcoat, possibly a groundskeeper, posed near a tree holding a walking stick or a tool. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Attributed to John Moran., Title from manuscript note on mount., Yellow paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia. McAllister Collection, gift, 1886., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1867]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Residences [(8)1322.F.41a]
- Title
- [Bullock mansion, North Third Street above Market Street, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- View looking southeast showing the former mansion of wool merchant Benjamin Bullock (32 N. 3rd, pre-consolidation) tenanted by the businesses of James L. Rahn, hosiery & gloves, and John M. Ford, saddlery hardware, at 46-48 N. 3rd Street above Market Street. Building heavily adorned with signage. Also shows adjacent businesses including William P. Wilstach & Co. (38 N. 3rd), saddlery hardware; Yard, Gillmore & Co., silk goods (40-42 N. 3rd); and Lippincott, Coffin & Co., dry goods and trimmings (50 N. 3rd). Crates, carts, and horse saddlery equipment line the sidewalk., Attributed to F. De B. Richards., Title from manuscript note on verso: Bullock's old mansion North 3d., Date from manuscript note on verso., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 2, page 95. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 24., Arcadia caption text: Many structures on the eastern side of Center City, near the Delaware River, were originally constructed as residences and later adapted for commercial use. This photograph, taken in May of 1859, depicts the former mansion of wool merchant Benjamin Bullock on Third Street [above] Market Street. Modified with display windows at street level, two businesses - James L. Rahn’s hosiery and glove shop, and John M. Ford’s saddlery and hardware store - occupy the building. Other homes on this block had already been replaced by taller commercial buildings.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- May 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - B [(2)2526.F.95 (Poulson)], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/rcd/2526f95.jpg
- Title
- Chew house, Germantown, 1867
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows an African American man, James Smith, posed near the front door of the home. He is attired in a hat, a white collared shirt, white gloves, a dark-colored jacket, pants, and shoes. A smaller building used as a kitchen or for laundry is visible in the rear (left). Smith was enslaved in Chestertown, Maryland before buying his freedom. He began work for the Chews as a coachman in 1819 and later worked as a general servant until his death in 1871. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Title and date from inscription on mount., Originally part of an album of seventy eight views by John Moran entitled "A collection of photographic views in Philadelphia & its vicinity taken in the year 1868-1869" (Philadelphia, 1870)., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Photograph pasted on verso: Stenton 1900., See website "Cliveden. Know it. Feel it. Share it." (link above)., Purchase 1870., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903, photographer
- Date
- 1867
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Moran album [1717.F.123], http://www.cliveden.org/
- Title
- No.1 Residence of Rt. Rev. Dr. Wm. White, Bishop of Pennsylvania, No. 2 Residence of Chas. Chauncey, Esq. No.3 his law office these houses on Walnut Street No. 3 being one to the n.w. cor. of that and Third Street
- Description
- View showing the 300 block of Walnut street including the former residence of Bishop William White built 1786-1787 (309 Walnut) and the former residence, built 1746, and adjoining law office of attorney Charles Chauncey (307 and 305 Walnut). Chauncey residence tenanted by Petry Brothers' restaurant. View also shows construction debris in the foreground., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Date inscribed on photograph., Inscribed on recto of photograph: 1; 2; 3., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 11, page 87. The scrapbooks contained approximately 120 photographs by Philadelphia painter and pioneer photographer Richards of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia commissioned by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Creator
- Richards, F. De B. (Frederick De Bourg), photographer
- Date
- June 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Richards - Residences - W [(11)2526.F.87(Poulson)]
- Title
- Mt. Pleasant E. Park, John Macpherson 1761
- Description
- Exterior view depicting the country house built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Shows the front entrance to the mansion, covered in ivy, and flanked by outbuildings. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Title from inscription on mount., Date inferred from photographic medium., Purchase 1989., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Date
- [ca. 1926]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - Official Photographer [P.9260.329]
- Title
- [Exterior view of Mount Pleasant Mansion built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa.]
- Description
- Exterior view of Mount Pleasant Mansion built 1761-1765 for Captain John Macpherson after the designs of Thomas Nevil in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia, Pa. Shows the Georgian mansion, outbuildings, and surrounding grounds of the estate that was a working plantation 1762-1765. The two-story mansion is designed with several windows; stairs leading to a front entrance adorned with a lunette window and a pediment supported by Doric columns; and a roof with a balustrade that has dormers and two large chimneys. Flanking the mansion are two smaller, symmetrical outbuildings of an office and a summer kitchen. Smaller out-buildings flank the office and kitchen. In the right of the view, a structure, possibly a covered, water-pump, is visible. In the foreground, several park benches line the lawn in front of the mansion. Several trees, without foliage, stand in-between the buildings. Macpherson, a privateer during the Seven Years’ War, purchased the estate with profits from these operations. Free white and Black laborers, indentured servants, and at least four enslaved people of African descent, whose names are unknown, worked on the plantation. In 1779, General Benedict Arnold purchased Mount Pleasant for his wife Peggy Shippen, but they never occupied the house. In 1792, General Jonathan Williams purchased the mansion. The City of Philadelphia purchased the property from the Williams family in 1869. On behalf of the city, the Philadelphia Museum of Art restored the house in 1926., Title supplied by cataloger., Date from manuscript note on verso: “Mount Pleasant” built by Macpherson and once owned and occupied by Benedict Arnold, but [?] now called the “Dairy” in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia 1892., Purchase 1989., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited.
- Date
- [1892]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - unidentified - residence [P.9260.472]
- Title
- The battle ground at Germantown. Cliveden or Chew's House
- Description
- Periodical illustration depicting the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. On the grounds in the foreground, a white boy stands beside a chair and exchanges a book with an African American man. Benjamin Chew owned property from Delaware to Maryland, including plantations that enslaved people. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Title from item., Plate from: Godey's magazine and lady's book, December, 1844. (LCP Per G 43)., Smith, a prominent Philadelphia landscape painter and friend of Godey's publisher, Louis A. Godey, had several of his Philadelphia and Pittsburgh views engraved for the 1844 issues of the periodical. Smith's painting, Chew House, Germantown, is in the collection at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of engravings relating to Philadelphia. McAllister Collection, gift, 1886., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of the Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Creator
- Dick, Archibald L., approximately 1805-approximately 1855, engraver
- Date
- [December 1844]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department PhPr - 11x14 - Residences [(7)1322.F.12b]
- Title
- Mr. Chew's house
- Description
- Restrike of an Archibald Dick engraving after the work of Philadelphia artist Russell Smith which originally appeared in the December 1844 edition of Godey's lady book. Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. On the grounds in the foreground, a white boy stands beside a chair and exchanges a book with an African American man. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Title from item., Smith, a prominent Philadelphia landscape painter and friend of Godey's lady book publisher, Louis A. Godey, had several of his Philadelphia and Pittsburgh views engraved for the 1844 issues of the periodical., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of engravings relating to Philadelphia. McAllister Collection, gift, 1886., Description revised 2021., Access points revised 2021., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department PhPr - 11x14 - Residences - Chew [(7)1322.F.13]
- Title
- House where Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, s.w. cor 7th & Market St. 1776
- Description
- Exterior view showing the three-and-a-half story brick residence of bricklayer Jacob Graff, Jr. during the year 1776. Jefferson resided as a boarder on the second floor. Men and women pedestrians stroll the sidewalk including an African American peddler. Residence, later converted to a warehouse and then demolished in 1883 for the erection of the Penn National Bank, was reconstructed in 1968 in anticipation of the Bicentennial., Title from item., Possibly commissioned by Philadelphia antiquarian Ferdinand Dreer., Lib. Company. Annual report, 1975, p. 6-11., Purchase 1975., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Creator
- Evans, B. R. (Benjamin Ridgway), 1834-1891, artist
- Date
- 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Evans watercolors [P.2298.144], http://www.brynmawr.edu/iconog/evans/files/plc144.html
- Title
- [Group portrait in front of the rear of a frame residence at an unidentified location]
- Description
- Portrait of a large group standing before a picket fence before a house at an unidentified location. In the right, five white men stand and sit, attired in uniforms, possibly baseball uniforms. In the center, a group of white men, women, and children, possibly a family, sit and stand and look at the viewer. In the left, a group of African Americans, who possibly work with the family, include two women one of whom holds a baby, a young girl, and a man who holds the reins of a horse. Several dogs are also in the portrait., Title supplied by cataloger., Date inferred by attire of the sitters., Purchase 1989., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Part of digital collections catalog through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services as administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Education through the Office of Commonwealth Libraries, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Tom Corbett, Governor, 2013-2014.
- Date
- [ca. 1895]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department group portrait photographs - family [P.9260.615]
- Title
- [Marriott Canby Morris Jr. in front of large house in the snow]
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris’ son Marriott Canby Morris Jr. as a boy standing in a snowy field, likely at their home at 131 W. Walnut Lane. A three-story house with a porch on the first floor and a balcony on the second stands in the background. Tall trees stand in the field behind the house., Photograph from negative number P.2013.13.335., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1909
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.623]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr. and Marriott C. Morris Jr., steps, 6706 Cresheim Rd
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. sitting on their porch steps at 6706 Cresheim Road. Elliston Morris on the left wears a wide brimmed straw hat and Marriott Morris Jr. on the right wears a bonnet and bloomers and holds a stick in his hand., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- [October] 1902
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2029]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr. and Marriott C. Morris Jr., 6706 Cresheim Rd
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. sitting on their porch steps at 6706 Cresheim Road. Elliston Morris on the left wears a wide brimmed straw hat and Marriott Morris Jr. on the right wears a bonnet and bloomers and holds a stick in his hand., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- [October] 1902
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2030]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr. and Marriott C. Morris Jr. on front steps, 6706 Cresheim Rd, Pelham
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. as children seated on their porch steps at 6706 Cresheim Road. Elliston Morris wears a wide brimmed straw hat and wraps his arms around Marriott Morris Jr. who sits on the ground with an unhappy look on his face., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 1902
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2031]
- Title
- Jane R. Morris and Elliston P. Morris Jr at 6706 Cresheim Rd, Pelham
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' wife Jane Rhoads Morris seated on their porch steps at 6706 Cresheim Road with their son Elliston Perot Morris Jr. She reaches a hand toward Elliston Morris who sits in a wicker carriage with four wheels. Elliston Morris wears a wide brimmed hat and a long, light colored frock., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1902
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2033]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr., Marriott C. Morris Jr. Pelham
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. as chldren sitting in a toy wheelbarrow next to a brick building, likely their home at 6706 Cresheim Road. Both children wear wide brimmed straw hats and light colored frocks. Marriott Morris Jr. on the right has long, curly hair., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1903
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2036]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr., Marriott C. Morris Jr. Pelham
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' sons Elliston Perot Morris Jr. and Marriott Canby Morris Jr. as chldren sitting in a toy wheelbarrow next to a brick building, likely their home at 6706 Cresheim Road. Both children wear wide brimmed straw hats and light colored frocks. Marriott Morris Jr. on the right has long curly hair., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1903
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2037]
- Title
- Jane Rhoads Morris & Elliston P. Morris Jr., 6706 Cresheim Rd
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' wife Jane Rhoads Morris holding their son Elliston Perot Morris Jr. as a baby wrapped in a crocheted blanket in front of their house at 6706 Cresheim Road. Elliston Morris wears a ruffled shirt and a cap with a bow. Jane Morris wears a long dress., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- Winter 1899
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2001]
- Title
- Elliston P. Morris Jr. on front steps, 6706 Cresheim Rd., Pelham
- Description
- Photograph showing Marriott C. Morris' son Elliston Perot Morris Jr. as a young boy seated on the porch steps of their home at 6706 Cresheim Road. Morris looks up at a flowering shrub to his left. He wears a light colored frock and dark shoes with laces., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- 1901
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2010]