© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
(301 - 350 of 1,148)
- Title
- John Bartram's House, side view
- Description
- Exterior view of vine covered flank of dwelling built 1730-1731 and altered in 1770 by botanist John Bartram. Three girls stand in the drive next to the house., Inscribed in negative: 433., Title from negative sleeve.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.3]
- Title
- 6303 [sic] Germantown Ave
- Description
- Exterior view of west front and south flank of house at 6205 Germantown Avenue, built by Dirck Keyser, a Mennonite preacher and silk merchant who immigrated from Amsterdam in 1688. Demolished in 1950 for a supermarket., Inscribed in negative: 2215., Title from negative sleeve., Incorrectly identified as 6303 Germantown Avenue.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.19]
- Title
- Bartram's back door
- Description
- Depicts the vine-covered pillars supporting the porch roof that shelters the back door. Dwelling built 1730-1731 and altered in 1770 by botanist John Bartram. Three girls stand in the drive next to the house., Inscribed in negative: 2217., Title from negative sleeve.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.20]
- Title
- Stenton, house of James Logan
- Description
- Exterior view of front facade of Stenton. Built 1728-1734 by James Logan. The house remained in the Logan family until the early 20th century when the city acquired the property in 1910., Inscribed in negative: 2227., Title from negative sleeve., Also known as the Logan House.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.25]
- Title
- John Bartram's house
- Description
- Rear view of ivy-covered two story stone residence with dormer windows. Botanist and farmer John Bartram built residence in 1730-1731. Altered in 1770, the residence and garden deteriorated throughout the 19th century, but was restored in the 1920s by the John Bartram Association., Inscribed in negative: 2237., Title from negative sleeve.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.27]
- Title
- Stenton, built by James Logan 1727
- Description
- Exterior view of front facade of Stenton. Built 1728-1734 by James Logan. The house remained in the Logan family until the early 20th century when the city acquired the property in 1910., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Also known as the Logan House.
- Creator
- Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
- Date
- January 30, 1913
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.129]
- Title
- Billmyer House postcards
- Description
- Exterior views of front facade of house built in 1727 for the Deshler family. In 1788 German printer, Michael Billmyer, bought the property and continued his printing trade from the house., Contains 2 postcards printed in color and 2 printed in black and white., Sheet numbers: 102A01 and 102B01., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1905-1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
- Title
- Sparrow Jack House postcards
- Description
- Exterior views of house built circa 1770., Contains 2 postcards printed in color and 4 printed in black and white., John Bardsley lived here in the 1870s. Bardsley brought the English sparrow to Germantown to fight the caterpillars which were infesting local trees., Also identified as the Bardsley House., Sheet numbers: 102A11 and 102B14., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1905-1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
- Title
- Stenton postcards
- Description
- Exterior views of front facade and south door of house built 1728-1734 by James Logan. The house remained in the Logan family until the early 20th century when the city acquired the property in 1910., Contains 3 postcards printed in color and 6 printed in black and white., Also identified as the Logan Home., Postcards issued by a variety of publishers, with about half issued by The Rotograph Co., New York City., Sheet numbers: 102A12, 102A14, 102A15 and 102B1., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1900-1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
- Title
- Conyngham-Hacker House postcards
- Description
- Exterior views of front facade of house built circa 1755 and known successively as the Conyngham, Wister and Hacker House. Occupied by the Germantown Historical Society before it moved to its current location at 5501 Germantown Avenue., Also known as the Old Fisher House., Sheet number: 102B05., Undivided backs., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1905
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
- Title
- David Rittenhouse home
- Description
- An out building and a small stone bridge spanning a stream are visible in the foreground of this image depicting the rear elevation of the house where David Rittenhouse was born in 1732. Built circa 1770 by William Rittenhouse as part of a complex occupied by the first paper making business in the colonies., Inscribed in negative: 3644., Title from negative sleeve., Modern reference print available.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.132]
- Title
- David Rittenhouse home
- Description
- Oblique view of the side and front elevations of the house where David Rittenhouse was born in 1732. Built circa 1770 by William Rittenhouse as part of a complex occupied by the first paper making business in the colonies., Inscribed in negative: 3646., Title from negative sleeve., Modern reference print available., Original negative housed in freezer.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.133]
- Title
- Wynnestay
- Description
- View of front facade of Wynnestay from the road, the original portion of which was erected in 1689 for William Penn's personal physician, Dr. Thomas Wynne. The lateral western extension was built circa 1700 by Thomas Wynne's son, Jonathan Wynne., Inscribed in transparency: 4374., Title from transparency sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Transparencies - Hand [P.9259.174]
- Title
- [Jane L. Webster, with "The Aunties" on the porch of a residence, Lownes Clovercrest Farm, Springfield township, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, sitting with her sisters, Hannah and Minnie Lownes, also known as "The Aunties", on porch stairs, in front of an older woman who is sitting in a rocking chair in the background., Modern reference print #6 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.53]
- Title
- [Group sitting on lawn weaving branches, Mt. Equity, Pennsdale, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts a group, including Bertha Taylor Webster and Anna B. Taylor, sitting on rocking chairs on a lawn in front of Mt. Equity's west wing. At the center of the circle formed by the chairs is a large pile of branches the group is pulling apart to make baskets or brooms. The photographer's maternal aunt, Hannah Mary S. Taylor, rented the property in Pennsdale, Pa. during the summer months of 1889 and 1890., A small stone section of Mount Equity, known as "The Cottage," was constructed near the Wolf Run House in Pennsdale, Pa. ca. 1810 by Mercy Ellis after the death of her husband, William Ellis. After her death in 1848, her children used the cottage primarily during the summer months. Her son Charles Ellis built a stone addition to the house in 1861 and a rear kitchen wing was added by the family in 1882. It was around this time that the enlarged house shed its name as "The Cottage," and was known as Mount Equity. The property is now home to a Buddhist Monastery, Mt. Equity Zendo Jihoji., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.55]
- Title
- My country residence
- Description
- Puzzle showing farm life, including livestock grazing and sitting in an enclosed pasture, a horse-drawn cart hauling hay toward the barn, and a horse-drawn coach traveling toward the main house. A man and woman work in the enclosure as children play nearby., One of four puzzles housed in clamshell box., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1858]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *albums (flat) - Four Lithographic Puzzles [8418.F.4]
- Title
- Near east park, Phila
- Description
- Etching looking southeast showing two men walking between two large mounds of land, one with a goat standing near the edge, the other surmounted by a frame shack surrounded by a fence. Also includes dwellings, a tower and a train traveling south on tracks running along Pennsylvania Avenue in the right background., Manuscript note on album page: S.E. corner 27th & Aspen., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.16]
- Title
- [Scrapbook of prints]
- Description
- Scrapbook containing predominantly clipped book and periodical illustrations, including a number of vignettes engraved by W. E. Tucker after the work of Thomas Birch, showing European and American landscapes and landmarks, animal portraiture, and genre and Biblical scenes. Landscape and landmark views mainly depict the Eastern United States and Great Britain. Titles include Passaic Falls; Bandit's Home; The Woodlands, near Philadelphia-Seat of J. Lisle Esq.; Philadelphia from the Elm Tree, Kensington; The Prison at Venice; Abbey Gate of St. Edmundsbury, Suffolk; The Little Irish Girl; The City of Pompeii; The Deluge; The Three Maries at the Tomb of Christ; The Residence of Samuel Breck Esq. on the Schuylkill; Barlborough Hall, Derbyshire; Church Street, St Paul's Church & the Cemetery Gate of St. Augustine's Monastery, Canterbury; The Happy Family; and Plate XV from a 1782 edition of Don Quixote. Several of the views contain persons on foot, images of estates or rural life, farm animals, and modes of transportation on land or sea. Animal portraitures depict birds, sheep, goats, cows, and a wolf. Scrapbook also contains early European landscape lithographs designed by J. Rothmuller and G. Englemann; a lithograph signed with the monogram JPL; illustrated title pages from Oliver Goldsmith's "The Traveler" and William Shenstone's "The School Mistress"; a portrait of Elizabeth Fry; cutouts depicting a tiger and a Moses-like figure; watercolor and gouache drawings of flowers, a butterfly and a ruins; a pressed feather; and three newspaper clippings referring to poets M. LaMartine, Lady Flora Hastings, and Felicia Hemans., Title supplied by cataloger., Label pasted on inside front cover: A. R. Poole, Fancy Stationer, 66 Chestnut St., Philada., Some pages contain paste marks from removed items., Various artists, including T. Doughty, T. Birch, J. V. Barber, P. Dewint, B. K. Fox, L. T. Lee, J. Martin, J. Rothmuller, Charles Barber, Joseph Fussell, R. Westall, G. S. Newton, A. Mosses, B. West, Geo. Shepherd, John Boaden, and Stothard., Various engravers, including W. E. Tucker, W. Miller, C. G. Childs, J. Lybrand, Hall, Charles Pye, Robert Brandard, Mottram, J. W. Steel, J. B. Longacre, E. Smith, J. Neagle, H. Adlard, Hamilton, and William Blake., Various printers and publishers, including Engelmann, Whittaker & Co., Joyce Gold, Pendleton, and Harrison & Co., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Binding in poor condition., Mary Rebecca Darby Smith (1814-1886) was the daughter of Philadelphia Quakers Hannah Logan Fisher (1777-1846) and James Smith (d. 1826) and great great granddaughter of scholar and William Penn's secretary James Logan. Smith, known as an eccentric, never married and traveled widely from the mid to late 19th century. Between 1859 and 1886, she resided in Washington, D.C (1859-1861) and traveled to Europe (1860-1870; 1874-1876; 1880-1886), including the British Isles, Rome, Venice, Paris and St. Petersburg. She was also an autograph collector, author, poet, and socialite. Smith died and was buried in London in November 1886. Her estate was valued at over $30,000 and she left several bequests, including to the Library Company, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and friends throughout the East coast of the United States, Europe, and Russia.
- Creator
- Smith, Mary Rebecca Darby
- Date
- ca. 1782-ca. 1835
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Books & Other Texts | Rare 4-Alcove 2 [Is 6 1536.Q, vol. 1]
- Title
- Joseph Kailler, carpenter and builder, 520 Mifflin St., Phila., Pa
- Description
- Illustrated trade card for Joseph Kailler, a Russian carpenter and builder who immigrated to the United States in 1895. Contains a vignette of a single family dwelling., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler., Digitized.
- Date
- [ca. 1920]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Kailler [P.2002.67.7]
- Title
- Unidentified residences, Pennsylvania
- Description
- Exterior views of unidentified residences in or near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Shows residents sitting on their front porches and lawns and standing in their side yards, gardens, and driveways., Image P.9299.115 possibly depicts Wyck in Germantown. The earliest section of the house was built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. Center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations the house belonged to the Wistar-Haines family. Image P.9299.111 possibly shows the Francis Cope House in East Germantown., Title supplied by cataloger., Copyrighted by Kiralfy Bros., Philadelphia., Photographer's imprint printed on mounts., Pink curved mounts with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Creator
- R. Newell & Son, photographer
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Residences [P.9299.111; P.9299.114-115; P.9299.122-123; P.9299.125]
- Title
- Lemon Hill mansion park
- Description
- View of the south elevation, divided into five bays, showing the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Title from manuscript note on photographer's label pasted on verso., Photographer's imprint on label pasted on verso., Photographer's blind stamp on mount: Newell, 724 Arch St., Philadelphia., Mint green mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Residences [P.9047.111]
- Title
- [Jane L. Webster, with group, on the porch of a residence, Lownes Clovercrest Farm, Springfield township, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, sitting in a rocking chair on the porch of a residence in Springfield township. Two older women and an older man sit in rocking chairs nearby. A little girl, attired in a pumpkin-pattern dress and wide-brimmed hat, sits on the stairs., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.85]
- Title
- Birth place of Benj. West, Springfield, Delaware Co. Pa
- Description
- View showing the birthplace of the prominent historical painter Benajmin West in Springfield, i.e., Swarthmore, Pennsylvania. Tall grass is visible in the foreground. The residence, built in 1724, was purchased by Swarthmore College in 1874 and serves as the college's visitors center. West was a founder and later president of the Royal Academy in London., Photographer's imprint and title printed on mount., Green mount with rounded corners., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Simons, M. P. (Montgomery P.)
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Simons - Residences - W [P.9058.164]
- Title
- E. White's res. at Bustleton 23d ward Phila. Dealer in coal, lumber, &c
- Description
- Atlas illustration showing the three-story house with roofed porch in Northeast Philadelphia of the businessman. A fence surrounds the property that neighbors a residence with attached barn. A woman stands on the porch and a man walks on the lawn. A couple in a horse-drawn carriage passes in the street., Published in the Combination atlas map of Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Compiled, drawn and published from personal examinations and surveys (Philadelphia: J. D. Scott, 1876), p. 59., Not in Wainwright., Label pasted on verso: (Bucks county [sic], Pa.) Published by James D. Scott Philadelphia, Pa., 1876, Philadelphia on Stone, POS 195
- Creator
- Scott, J.D
- Date
- [1876]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *BW - Residences [P.9207]
- Title
- On Schuylkill Riv. Philada. Pa
- Description
- Landscape view showing a rocky cliff along the river. Trees grow on and near the rock formation. In the background, a row boat passes near the opposite shore where two cows stand. A residence is visible further up the riverbank., Etched in image: Schuylkill Riv. Phila., Etched in image and printed below image: 10., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 529, Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Rivers - Schuylkill [P.9165]
- Title
- Carpenter's mansion
- Description
- Exterior view of the Sixth Street side of the isolated residence of brewer Joshua Carpenter built 1701-1722 at 615-619 Chestnut Street. Two men walk on the path next to the dwelling surrounded by trees. House razed 1826 following its sale by its last owner, Judge Tilghman, to the Arcade Company., Published in John F. Watson's Annals of Philadelphia...(Philadelphia: E.L. Carey & A. Hart, 1830), opp. p. 323., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 83, Gift of James Rush.
- Creator
- Breton, William L., artist
- Date
- [1830]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Residences - C [9245.Q.22]
- Title
- Slate roof house _ Residence of W. Penn 1700
- Description
- View showing the H-shaped building built circa 1687-circa 1699 on the 100 block of South Second Street. The dwelling served as the residence for Penn 1699-1701. A couple enters the entrance and two men walk on the sidewalk along the residence. Evergreens are seen behind the house and a partial view of an adjacent building is visible., Plate published in John F. Watson's Annals of Philadelphia...(Philadelphia: E.L. Carey & A. Hart, 1830), opp. p. 151., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 698, Gift of James Rush.
- Creator
- Breton, William L., artist
- Date
- [1830]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Residences - P [9245.Q.18]
- Title
- Poplar Grove. Residence of E.S. Richards, near Germantown, Penna
- Description
- View showing the villa-like estate of merchant Edwin S. Richards. Shrubery and trees landscape the grounds in front of the residence. In the background, behind a picket fence, a stone building and gazebo stand next to other buildings., Not in Wainwright., Gift of David Doret., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 614
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department BW - Residences - P [P.2003.37.2]
- Title
- [Mount Equity, distant view from lawn, Pennsdale, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts Mount Equity and surrounding property from a distance. A tennis net is set up in the field in front of the house and a group of people are gathered, probably weaving branches for baskets or brooms. Mount Equity was rented by the photographer's aunt, Hannah Mary S. Taylor, during the summer months of 1889 and 1890., A small stone section of Mount Equity, known as "The Cottage," was constructed near the Wolf Run House in Pennsdale, Pa. ca. 1810 by Mercy Ellis after the death of her husband, William Ellis. After her death in 1848, her children used the cottage primarily during the summer months. Her son Charles Ellis built a stone addition to the house in 1861 and a rear kitchen wing was added by the family in 1882. It was around this time that the enlarged house shed its name as "The Cottage," and was known as Mount Equity. The property is now home to a Buddhist Monastery, Mt. Equity Zendo Jihoji., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.107]
- Title
- [George Smedley residence, Lima, Pa.]
- Description
- View of partially concealed front and side of a stone house, surrounded by a wooden fence. A rear ell is visible. Property owned by George Smedley, the photographer's maternal grandfather, father of Lydia Smedley Webster., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.117]
- Title
- Lemon Hill
- Description
- Oblique view of the west flank and south elevation, divided into five bays, showing the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. A group of children sit on the lawn in the foreground. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Title from manuscript note on verso., Stamped in blank ink on verso: Fairmount Park 25 cents each., Yellow mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Parks [P.8731.7]
- Title
- [Lemon Hill mansion,] Fairmount Park, Phila
- Description
- Oblique view from dirt path of the west flank and south elevation, divided into five bays, showing the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Part of title printed on mount., Orange mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Residences [P.9047.31]
- Title
- Lemon Hill mansion
- Description
- Oblique, obscured view of the east flank and south elevation, divided into five bays, showing part of the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Title from manuscript note on mount., Gray mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Residences [P.9299.48]
- Title
- Conlen's, 712 Passyunk Avenue, furniture and carpets. (over) Puzzle card
- Description
- Illustrated puzzle trade card depicting a bucolic country scene with a cottage surrounded by a picket fence. The puzzle requires the viewer to find partially hidden figures including a man mounted on a horse, birds, elephants, and people walking, to name a few., Advertising text printed on verso: Conlen's, 712 Passyunk Ave. Cash or credit. Terms on furniture and carpets made to suit purchasers. Bed room suits from $15.00 to $150.00. Parlor suits from $20.00 to $250.00. Carpets from 25 c to $1.25 per yard. Everything in the way of household and wearing apparel sold on the same easy terms. Conlen'sm 712 Passyunk Ave. Open every evening., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Digitized.
- Date
- [ca. 1890]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Conlen's [P.9940]
- Title
- Residence of Wm. Penn 1700
- Description
- Book illustration showing the H-shaped building built circa 1687-circa 1699 on the 100 block of South Second Street. The dwelling served as the residence for Penn 1699-1701. A couple approaches the entrance. Evergreens are seen behind the house and a partial view of an adjacent building is visible., Plate opposite page 93 in John F. Watson's Historic tales of olden time : concerning the early settlement and progress of Philadelphia and Pennsylvania ; for the use of families and schools ; illustrated with plates (Philadelphia : E. Littell : Thomas Holden, 1833)., William L. Breton and Kennedy & Lucas created many of the lithographic plates for Watson's Annals of Philadelphia, so it is probable that they also created the plates in Historic tales of olden time., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 645
- Creator
- Breton, William L., ca. 1773-1855, artist
- Date
- [1833]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Am 1833 Wat [Log 2794.D.opp93]
- Title
- [Winter rooftop view]
- Description
- Rooftop view from rear of dwelling looking over adjacent, snow-covered roofs and yards in the city., Title supplied by cataloger., Photographer's imprint from embossed stamp on recto., Yellow mount with square corners., Possibly a view from one of George O. Bartlett's studios. He tenanted 602 Poplar Street with John E. Smith in 1867 and 1202 Chestnut Street the following year., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Bartlett & Smith, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1867]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & Smith - Views [P.2002.21.4]
- Title
- Mansion at Fairmount Park
- Description
- View of the south elevation, divided into five bays, showing the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. A man lies in the grass on his side in the foreground. A small sign for ice cream hangs from the porch. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Title from photographer's label pasted on verso., Yellow mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Bartlett & French was a partnership between Philadelphia photographers George O. Bartlett and William French circa 1867-1869.
- Creator
- Bartlett & French
- Date
- [ca. 1866]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Bartlett & French - Parks [P.8484.15]
- Title
- Lemon Hill mansion
- Description
- Oblique view of the west flank and south elevation, divided into five bays, showing the oval pavilion of the mansion built 1799-1800 for businessman Henry Pratt in East Fairmount Park. A man sits in a chair reading the newspaper on the lawn in the foreground. A banner for ice cream hangs from the porch on the west side of the house. In 1844, several years after Pratt’s death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion acquired by the city of Philadelphia to establish a public park, i.e., Fairmount Park. The residence was used as a lager beer garden following the establishment of the park in 1855., Title printed on label pasted on verso., Photographer's imprint on mount., Orange mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Rau, William Herman, 1855-1920
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Rau - Residences [P.9260.73]
- Title
- Old house nearly opp. Armat St., on Main, No. 4818 Main St., [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Christian Lehman's two-story stone house at 5524 Germantown Avenue. Vines climb up the walls on the right. Trees grow on either side of the house and back gate is visible on the right. Christian Lehman was born in Germany in 1714 and immigrated to the United States in 1731. He worked as a land surveyor and flower merchant. By 1809, the house had passed to his son, Benjamin., Photographer remarks: Pretty good picture., Time: 9:40 A.M., Light: Bright sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 7, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.182]
- Title
- Side of old Wister House, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the old Wister House, a two-story house with a porch and shuttered windows surrounded by trees., Photographer remarks: Quite a dense negative. Almost too much contrast., Time: 10:15, Light: Strong, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 4, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.179]
- Title
- Meadow Farm, Darlington, MD
- Description
- Film negative showing two boys standing in a lawn in front of a large two-story the Meadow Farm house. Trees grow near the house, which has a small porch and shuttered windows. Meadow Farm house was built between 1825 and 1830 by Isaac or Aquila Massey. A small dwelling that likely existed on this site during the revolution was incorporated into the main structure. The house went through numerous additions and alterations, including the addition of the summer porch in 1895., Inscription on negative: Meadow Farm 8/4, 1912, Originally located in negative album [P.2013.13a], Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- August 4, 1912
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.508]
- Title
- [Woman and children outside a cottage, probably England]
- Description
- Film negative likely taken during Marriott C. Morris’ European honeymoon showing a view of a woman holding a baby standing in the doorway of a cottage, probably in England. Three other children stand on the stone steps next to the house., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- Summer 1897
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.10]
- Title
- [Woman and children outside a cottage, probably England]
- Description
- Film negative likely taken during Marriott C. Morris’ European honeymoon showing a woman holding a baby and three children on the steps outside a stone cottage, probably in England., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- Summer 1897
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.12]
- Title
- Our old cottage, Church L[ane] & Chew Sts. From near Zell's gate, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a house, previously owned by the Morris family, at Church Lane and Chew Streets in Philadelphia. Trees surround the house. A young man leans against the low stone wall in front of the house next to a hitching post and gate., Time: 4:10, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 14, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1096]
- Title
- Our old cottage, Cor. of Chew St. & Church Lane. Taken from E. in garden, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a two-story home once owned by the Morris family at the corner of Chew Street and Church Lane. The house has a porch with vines growing up the columns. A tree and various tall shrubs stand in front of the home. To the right is a small covered patio., Time: 5:50, Light: Very faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 21, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.560]
- Title
- Rear view of house cor[ner] of Main St. & School Lane, Site of pres[ent] Saving F[un]d Soc[iety] of G[erman]t[ow]n
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the Germantown Saving Fund building at 5456 Germantown Avenue, a two-story stone house seen from across a brick road. The house has shuttered windows, two gabels on the roof and a lamppost standing at the street corner. The Saving Fund Society of Germantown, a savings and money-lending business, was founded by Samuel B. Morris. In 1854, the Society formally organized. The building moved twice, in 1869 and in 1883. The name changed to Germantown Savings Bank in 1987, after which it merged with another bank and ceased to be active as a separate entity in 1994., No. 22., Photographer remarks: Taken by Marriott ., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1880?]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.8]
- Title
- [Old Perot House, Heron Bay. Mrs. Dickinson & son. Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the rear of the old Perot House seen from the backyard. The son of the owner, Mrs. Dickonson, stands under an overhang in a small courtyard next to the garden and Mrs. Dickinson leans out of an opening in the side of the house. Tall, leafy shrubs fill the right side of the frame. Joseph C. Dickinson bought the Port Royal Perot house from William B. Perot in 1880., Back view of same house., Photographer remarks: Mrs. Dickinson & son., Time: 11:25, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 19, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1432]
- Title
- Old Tatnall houses on Market St. Brandywine, from near bridge, [Wilmington, DE]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a a series of stone houses previously owned by the Tatnall family set on a cobblestone road. A small retaining wall separates the houses' lawns from the street, where a horse-drawn carriage stands waiting. People walk along the sidewalk on the opposite side of the street., Time: 12:30, The emulsion is flaking along the top edge of the plate., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- December 20, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1386]
- Title
- [Interior of child's bedroom]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a child's bedroom. The corner of a bed is visible on the left next to a door and there is a dresser with a mirror on the right. Two chairs frame an open doorway leading to a balcony. A rocking chair sits in front of the dresser while a basket with handle sits on a table to the side of the dresser., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.15.12]
- Title
- Henry Darrell's house, Norwood, side view. [Bermuda]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Henry Darrell's house, a two-story house with a wide porch and shuttered windows. Palm trees and shrubs grow in the lawn in front of the house., Photographer remarks: Some overtimed, Time: 11:10, Light: Good sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 3, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1492]