Depicts an oblique view of the Bank of Germantown in a converted colonial home, the Clarkson-Watson House, built 1745-1775 on Germantown Avenue. The bank occupied this building from 1825 to 1868, until it moved to a new lot built by J.G. Sidney at 5500-5506 Germantown Avenue., Dwelling built circa 1745 for Matthew Clarkson, mayor of Philadelphia from 1792 to 1796. Thomas Jefferson and Edmund Randolph stayed here during the yellow fever epidemic of 1793. The Bank of Germantown occupied the property from 1825 to 1869, around the same time John Fanning Watson, author of Annals of Philadelphia, lived here., Sheet number: 100A01., Divided back. Post marked 1909., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
ca. 1909
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Buildings - 100]
Exterior view of east front of residence of William Ashmead, built in 1740 and later owned by his son John Ashmead. Image depicts the site when it was under the ownership of the Manheim Stables & Riding Academy, and contains a partial view of a banner advertising the stables and academy., Inscribed in negative: 3357., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 5, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.113]
View of house built circa 1748 and moved to Fairmount Park in 1926-7. Country seat of the Paschall-Morris family for five generations., Inscribed in negative: 3361., Title from negative sleeve., Also known as the Joseph Paschall House., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 8, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.115]
Distant view of front porch of house set back from the street and surrounded by trees. The flank of another house is visible in the foreground. Occupied by Philadelphia painter Gilbert Stuart from 1795-96. Barn in the rear of the property used as his studio., Inscribed in negative: 3367., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 13, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.116]
Depicts an old gnarled tree in the garden of Stenton, including a partial view of the house and the adjacent property in the background., Inscribed in negative: 2263., Title from negative sleeve., Dwelling built 1728-1734 by James Logan. The house remained in the Logan family until the early 20th century when the city acquired the property in 1910.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.32]
Exterior view of front elevation of house. Earliest section built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. Center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations belonged to the Wistar-Haines family., Inscribed in negative: 2448., Title from negative sleeve.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.39]
View of old dwellings, some occupied by the Poor Richard Club (239-241 South Camac Street) and William H. Rau's Studio, on Camac Street near Latimer. Depicts the narrow street lined with two story brick row houses looking north. Named after wealthy Irish landowner Turner Camac, who inherited properties on the street in 1804. Around 1880, the respectability of Camac Street declined when brothels and taverns moved in, bringing with them crime and debauchery. In the early 20th century, the Poor Richard Club moved to Camac Street, in an effort to revitalize the area. The old dwellings were transformed into clubhouses, studios and galleries., Inscribed in negative: 2490., Title from negative sleeve., The Poor Richard Club began in 1907 as an advertising and publishing club in honor of Benjamin Franklin., Modern reference prints available.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.42]
Depicts the south front and rear of the Edgar Allan Poe House, dwarfed by neighboring properties and partially obscured by a wooden fence. Laundry hangs from a line in the rear of the yard and a woman stands in the doorway of the house looking toward the camera. Occupied by the famous writer from 1842 to 1844., Inscribed in negative: 3200., Title from negative sleeve.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.86]
Depicts a large fireplace, a water pump and trough in the shed of the dwelling built by Richard Wall in 1682 on Church Road, immediately west of Old York Road., Inscribed in negative: 3345., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.105]
Exterior view of east front of dwelling of Captain Albert Ashmead, built before 1796. Albert's grandfather, William Ashmead, manufactured Germantown wagons in the rear of the property. Main house was used as a show room and was later turned into residence after Albert Ashmead's marriage. Includes a banner hanging in between 5430 and 5434 Main Street ( i.e. Germantown Avenue), advertising John A. Foley's Manheim Stables & Riding Academy at 5434 Main Street., Inscribed in negative: 3356., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 5, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.112]
Exterior view of Mill Grove, partially hidden by trees in the foreground. Built in 1762, purchased by Captain Jean Audubon in 1789 and occupied in 1803 by his son John James Audubon. Audubon was an artist, author and naturalist and was best known for his bird preservation work and published bird drawings, "Birds of America". Samuel Wetherill acquired the property in 1813 to supply lead for his paint manufacturing company., Inscribed in negative: 2744., Title from negative sleeve.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.49]
Oblique view of residence surrounded by two wooden fences and large trees in leaf. Built circa 1720 for Quaker farmer and miller, Benjamin Ring. Served as the headquarters for George Washington during the Battle of the Brandywine circa September 11, 1777. Reconstructed 1950-51 by George Edwin Brumbaugh., Inscribed in negative: 2756., Title from negative sleeve.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.56]
Exterior view of front facade of residence, showing a plaque attached to a large tree in the foreground, identifying the house as George Washington's headquarters during the Battle of Brandywine, September 11, 1777. Built circa 1720 for Quaker farmer and miller, Benjamin Ring. Reconstructed 1950-51 by George Edwin Brumbaugh., Inscribed in negative: 2759., Title from negative sleeve., Modern reference print available.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.57]
Shows the first farm of Isaac Shoemaker, known as the Rock House, built in the late 17th century on East Penn Street, east of the Reading Railroad Bridge. Farm also served as a location from which William Penn preached and as a station on the underground railroad., Inscribed in negative: 3316., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.93]
Real estate photograph commissioned by the Jackson-Cross Company depicting a row of three story brick homes spanning the north side of Haverford Avenue near Fifty-third Street. Each home has a porch, two of which have been enclosed. A car is parked in the foreground., Label on recto: Jackson-Cross Company, Lincoln-Liberty Building, Philadelphia., Title from manuscript note on verso., The Jackson-Cross Company, established around 1876, was a Philadelphia real estate firm in operation until 1998.
Date
ca. 1940
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jackson-Cross [P.9784.20]
Depicts four women, a man, a boy, and a dog sitting on the steps of a porch. Albert Lindsay is the only person standing (left) and Catharine Rupp Doering (wife of the photographer) is seated to the far right. Three large single dwellings are visible in the background., Title supplied by cataloguer., Gift of Albert L. Doering.
Creator
Doering, William Harvey, 1858-1924, photographer
Date
ca. 1895
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern slides - Doering [P.9453.161]
Depicts Lydia Webster, the daughter of John H. Webster, Jr., wearing a white dress and sitting in a wooden highchair. Her doll is propped up next to her on the tray., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
Creator
Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
Date
ca. 1900
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.35-37]
Depicts the residence of John H. Webster, the photographer's father, at 4834 Penn Street, looking at the northeast flank and carriage house in the backyard. Includes a partial view of the porch and side entrance. According to a datestone on the side of the house, it was constructed in 1890., The Webster family owned four neighboring residences, 4830 to 4834, on Penn Street in Frankford., Modern reference print #35 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
Creator
Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
Date
ca. 1900
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.120]
Depicts the residence of George S. Webster, the photographer's brother and surveyor of the city of Philadelphia, at 4900 Penn Street, looking at the southwest flank., Inscribed in negative: 62143W., The Webster family owned four neighboring residences, 4830 to 4834, on Penn Street in Frankford., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
Creator
Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
Date
ca. 1900
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.121]
Depicts the southeast front and rear stable of house owned by the photographer's brother, George S. Webster. View from Harrison Street., The Webster family owned four neighboring residences, 4830 to 4834, on Penn Street in Frankford., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
Creator
Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
Date
ca. 1900
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.125]
Exterior view of north flank of house known for the plaster-of-Paris model of a ship on the lower gable of the house. Includes three women standing in front of the house, with two baby carriages. Original portion of house built circa 1760. In the rear of the property was the first public hall in Germantown. The Germantown Fire Company housed a small engine known as the "Bull Dog" on the property. Kept as a hotel until 1836, when James Ford purchased the property and opened a boarding school for girls. Demolished circa 1906., Slide number 85., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount., Also known as Bockius House, for the family that resided here circa 1902.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca. 1906
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.81]
Exterior view of front facade of the Royal House, with a horse standing in front of the property. Named for Jacob S. Royal, a victualler who purchased the property in 1853. Converted to accommodate a store and apartments circa 1900. George H. Marsden's grocery store occupies the first floor., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
1910
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.9]
Exterior view of front facade of house, showing a boy standing in the front doorway. Constructed on the site of Thones Kunders' original house, built in 1683. The first meetings of the Society of Friends were held in this house, along with the first public protests against slavery written here by Daniel Pastorius in 1688. Occupied by J.S. Harding & Son's antique furniture store at the time of this photograph., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
1910
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.11]
Exterior view of front facade and flank of the Roset House at the corner of West Manheim Street and Portico Street (i.e. Spring Alley), with a group of four boys and two girls standing on the corner in front of the property. Includes a view of the front facade of the house west of the Roset House. Originally the home of Jacques Marie Roset who came to America in 1792 and moved to Germantown in 1821. One of his granddaughters married Anthony J. Drexel., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
January 30, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.12]
Exterior view of southeast front of house. Earliest section of the house built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. Center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations belonged to the Wistar-Haines family., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
January 30, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.54]
Copy of daguerreotype depicting the exterior view of the house as it looked in 1840. Earliest section of the house built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. Center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations belonged to the Wistar-Haines family., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.58]
Exterior view of west front and north side of Grumblethorpe, house built in 1744 by Philadelphia wine merchant John Wister. His house was the first in Germantown built solely for summer residency and greatly exceeded the dimensions of the homes around it, giving it the nickname "Wister's Big House.", Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative April 20, 1912
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.22]
Exterior view of east front of dwelling of Captain Albert Ashmead, built before 1796. Albert's grandfather, William Ashmead, manufactured Germantown wagons in the rear of the property. Main house was used as a show room and was later turned into residence after Albert Ashmead's marriage. Includes a banner hanging in between 5430 and 5434 Main Street ( i.e. Germantown Avenue), advertising John A. Foley's Manheim Stables & Riding Academy at 5434 Main Street., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca. 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.26]
Exterior view of east front of residence of William Ashmead, built in 1740 and later owned by his son John Ashmead. Image depicts the site when it was under the ownership of the Manheim Stables & Riding Academy, and contains a partial view of a banner advertising the stables and academy., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca. 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.27]
Depicts Germantown's Market Square. Includes the Civil War monument, erected in 1883 by the members of Ellis Post, No. 6, Grand Army of the Republic. Shows the granite figure of a soldier at "parade rest." Monument moved to Belmont Avenue and George's Hill Drive in West Fairmount Park in 1909.The front of the Market Square Presbyterian Church is visible in the background, along with the Fromberger House, located south of the church at 5501-5505 Germantown Avenue., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative March 6, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.28]
Depicts Smyser & Scott's drug store at the southwest corner of Germantown and Chelten Avenues in the foreground. Includes the Germantown Trust Company across the street on the southeast corner, built in 1895 after designs by Hazlehurst & Huckel. The sidewalk is crowded with pedestrians, some who appear to be waiting for the trolley car that runs along Chelten Avenue., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
April 8, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.35]
Exterior detail of front door, formerly part of the Bensel House, which was demolished for the construction of the Germantown Saving Fund. Blair House, built circa 1750, was purchased by Dr. William Shippen as a summer residence in 1775. Dr. Samuel Blair, Shippen's son-in-law and president of Princeton University , also lived here., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Also identified as the Shippen-Blair House and The Laurens.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
1916
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.63]
Exterior view of south flank and east front of house built by John Keyser before the Revolution. Reverand John Rodney, rector of St. Luke's Episcopal Church in the middle of the 19th century, later ocuppied the house., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount., Also known as the Keyser-Rodney House.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca. 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.84]
Oblique view of front elevation of Upsala built 1798 by John Johnson III. The house was occupied by members of the Johnson family until 1941., Title supplied by cataloger., Slide number 95., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount. Title misidentifies the residence as Johnson House, 1798, Main St. abv. Johnson St.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative 1899
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.91]
Exterior view of house built near Wissahickon Creek between 1746 and 1752 for Joseph Gorgas, a lumber merchant and third generation resident of Germantown. Constructed on the site of "the Kloster," the log cabin built in 1737 as a community house for the German Dunkards. Two carriages are parked on the wrap-around porch., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title given in manuscript on mount., Also known as the Joseph Gorgas House and the Children's Museum of Philadelphia (1973).
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
ca. 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.118]
Exterior detail of the first floor, entrance doorway and the second floor doorway that opens onto the balcony. Dwelling built for Thomas Shoemaker 1733-1739. Thomas Livezey bought the property, including a grist mill, from Shoemaker in 1747 and named it Glen Fern. In 1909 became the Valley Green Canoe Club., Slide number 129., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
February 15, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.122]
Distant view of the Spencer farm, the birthplace of Thomas Godfrey, inventor of the quadrant. The house, barn and other outbuildings sit on a hill overlooking Church Lane and Dutton Street., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative February 21, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.111]
Exterior view of dwelling of George Emlen built circa 1745 and occupied by George Washington during the Whitemarsh Encampment in 1777. View of house obstructed by trees and overgrowth surrounding the house., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative 1903
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.164]
Exterior detail of first floor window in the Bartram House. Includes an inscription on the stone window sill above the window depicted: "It is God alone Almyty Lord, The Holy One by me ador'd. John Bartram. 1770.", Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Dwelling built 1730-1731 and altered in 1770 by botanist John Bartram.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative 1886, printed 1895
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.142]
Depicts a man standing next to a cypress tree planted by John Bartram on his estate circa 1740. The man is barely visible next to the gigantic tree., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Dwelling built 1730-1731 and altered in 1770 by botanist John Bartram.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative 1883
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.143]
Exterior view of west front of house built circa 1750 and purchased by Dr. William Shippen as a summer residence in 1775. Dr. Samuel Blair, Shippen's son-in-law and president of Princeton University, also lived here. Image includes a group of people standing on the corner, looking toward the camera., Inscribed in negative: 2214., Title from negative sleeve., Also known as the Blair House or The Laurens.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
ca. 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.18]
Exterior detail of front doorway of Stenton. Built 1728-1734 by James Logan. The house remained in the Logan family until the early 20th century when the city acquired the property in 1910., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Title and date given in manuscript on mount., Also known as the Logan House.
Creator
Bullock, John G., 1854-1939, photographer
Date
Negative January 30, 1913
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department lantern - Bullock [P.9731.128]
Exterior view of front facade and side of Charles Willson Peale's house, also known as Belfield. House built circa 1750. Peale's museum and zoo was established on this site overlooking Wister Station., Numbered 579 on recto., Sheet number: 100B09., Undivided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
ca. 1905
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Buildings - 100]
Exterior views of front facade of the Deshler-Morris House, built in 1772 for Quaker merchant David Deshler. Colonel Isaac Franks' owned the house when George Washington sought refuge here from the Yellow Fever epidemic that swept through Philadelphia in 1793. Nicknamed the "Germantown White House" during his occupation. The Morris family occupied the house for more than 100 years until they donated it to the National Park Service in 1948., Contains 8 postcards printed in color and 6 printed in black and white., Sheet numbers: 102A09, 102A10, 102B10 and 102B11., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
1900-1915
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
Exterior views of the front facade of house. Earliest section built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. The center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations belonged to the Wistar-Haines family., Contains 5 postcards printed in color and 4 printed in black and white., Sheet numbers: 102A14, 102A15 and 102B1., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
1900-1910
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
Exterior view of front facade and side of Charles Willson Peale's house, also known as Belfield. Peale's museum and zoo was established on this site overlooking Wister Station., Sheet number: 102B01., Undivided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
ca. 1905
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Germantown - Mansions - 102]
Depicts images of Cobbs and Darby Creeks including Independence Falls, an old log cabin and homes of early settlers along Darby Creek., Contains 4 postcards printed in color and 4 in black and white., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Creator
Brightbill, George M., collector
Date
1900-1910
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Cobbs and Darby Creeks - 57]
View of mansion with a wrap-around porch, situated on a hill. Built circa 1725 by Hans J. Heijt. Occupied by George Washington from September 27-9, 1777, about two weeks after the Battle of Brandywine., Inscribed in negative: 3386., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 23, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.125]
Distant view of mansion with a wrap-around porch. A willow tree is visible in the foreground. Built circa 1725 by Hans J. Heijt. Occupied by George Washington from September 27-9, 1777, about two weeks after the Battle of Brandywine., Inscribed in negative: 3387., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
October 23, 1920
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.126]
Rear view of the McFadden house, also known as Barclay Farm, the residence of George H. McFadden, built circa 1769 and occupied by the Sorrel Horse Inn around the time of the Revolution. Renovated after designs by Horace Trumbauer from 1923-4., Inscribed in negative: 3614., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
Creator
Hand, Alfred, photographer
Date
1921
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.128]