© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
(451 - 500 of 1,148)
- Title
- [McFadden Estate. Sorrel Horse Inn, Conestoga Rd., Rosemont.]
- Description
- Oblique view of the front and side of the McFadden house, also known as Barclay Farm, the residence of George H. McFadden, built circa 1769 and occupied by the Sorrel Horse Inn around the time of the Revolution. Renovated after designs by Horace Trumbauer from 1923-4., Inscribed in negative: 3616., Title from negative sleeve., Original negative housed in freezer.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- 1921
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.129]
- Title
- Jonathan Evans' House, 322 Union Street, now DeLancey
- Description
- View of the residence built for Jonathan Evans circa 1786 at 322 Union Street, including three houses nearby. The size and style of these neighboring homes contrast greatly. A man in a suit and hat sits with two children on the stairs below the bow window of 324 Union Street. A woman stands outside of 320 and two men sit on the stairs of 318 Union Street, both much smaller than the homes nearby. Occupied by Joseph Ley circa 1880., Inscribed in negative: 3624., Title from negative sleeve., Jonathan Evans descended from the Evans family that settled in Gwynedd, PA circa 1698. Evans was active in the Quaker community in Philadelphia, and was a leading figure in the Hicksite separation of 1827., Original negative housed in freezer.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Film Negatives - Hand [P.9259.131]
- Title
- 226 W. Gravers Lane, S. E. cor. W. Gravers Lane - Millman [Place]
- Description
- Real estate photograph commissioned by the Jackson-Cross Company depicting the snow-covered front facade of dwelling built circa 1871 for Timothy Crowley., Label on recto: Jackson-Cross Company, Lincoln-Liberty Building, Philadelphia., Title from manuscript note on verso., The Jackson-Cross Company, established around 1876, was a Philadelphia real estate firm in operation until 1998.
- Date
- ca. 1940
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jackson-Cross [P.9784.3]
- Title
- 727 N. 11th St
- Description
- Real estate photograph commissioned by the Jackson-Cross Company depicting a three story apartment building converted from an old row home at the southeast corner of Eleventh and Brown Streets. The window store front and corner entrance suggests that the first floor was once a shop. A woman stands on the entrance stairs of the building. Includes other dwellings on Eleventh and Brown Streets and two parked cars near the corner., Title from manuscript note on verso., The Jackson-Cross Company, established around 1876, was a Philadelphia real estate firm in operation until 1998.
- Date
- ca. 1940
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jackson-Cross [P.9784.4]
- Title
- 8336 Millman [Place]-west side of Millman
- Description
- Real estate photograph commissioned by the Jackson-Cross Company depicting the dwelling built circa 1860 for Jesse Millman. Includes a partial view of a neighboring house., Label on recto: Jackson-Cross Company, Lincoln-Liberty Building, Philadelphia., Title from manuscript note on verso., The Jackson-Cross Company, established around 1876, was a Philadelphia real estate firm in operation until 1998.
- Date
- ca. 1940
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jackson-Cross [P.9784.5]
- Title
- [1026 Olive Street, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- Real estate photograph commissioned by the Jackson-Cross Company depicting a three story row home at 1026 Olive Street. Includes partial views of 1024 and 1028 Olive Street. A wooden door marks the narrow alley between 1024 and 1026. A car is parked in front of the dwelling., Title from manuscript note on verso., The Jackson-Cross Company, established around 1876, was a Philadelphia real estate firm in operation until 1998.
- Date
- ca. 1940
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Jackson-Cross [P.9784.9]
- Title
- Wyck, Germantown (from steps of Methodist Church)
- Description
- Exterior view of house from the steps of the Methodist Church, looking south. Earliest section built circa 1690 by Hans Milan. Center section and alterations were designed and completed by William Strickland in 1824. For nine generations belonged to the Wistar-Haines family., Inscribed in negative: 4256., Title from negatives sleeve.
- Creator
- Hand, Alfred, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department 4x5 Glass Negatives - Hand [P.9259.171]
- Title
- [Illustrated letter seals containing admonitions]
- Description
- Series of single and parts of sheets of illustrated letter seals containing humorous, positive, and negative admonitions. Illustrations predominantly depict modes of transportation, including a sailing ship, steam boat, and locomotive and animals, including a cat holding a rat, parrot, slug, frog, bat, and dog. Other images show a blacksmith, a well, rings, flowers, a house, a church, a couple in an embrace, and a bundle of wheat. Admonitions include "Good Eye"; "All's [Well]"; "Friendship, Love, Truth"; "Stop Your Clatter"; "Forget Me Not"; "I Bear the Hopes of Many"; "How I Love You"; "Contentment"; "Remembrance";"Fidelity"; "We Bloom Today, Tomorrow Die"; "The Road"; "You Deserve Thrashing"; "News"; "Express"; "Slow But Sure"; "Keep Dark"; "God Bless You"; "Are You Musical"; "Strike While the Iron's Hot"; and "Memory.", Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1860]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Miscellaneous [P.2011.10.177.1-9]
- Title
- Schuylkill River above Fairmount Dam, Philada. in 1843
- Description
- Lithograph showing the profile of an older man sitting on a hill high above the Schuylkill River above Fairmount Dam. Men ride horseback closer to the water's edge, large barges carry materials, and people recreate in small rowboats on the Schuylkill River. Also shows a large dwelling in the distance and smoke billowing from a building on the opposite bank of the dwelling., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.10]
- Title
- Prospect from Ridgeland, Fairmount Park, Phila
- Description
- Lithograph showing the landscape of West Fairmount Park near Ridgeland, the dwelling built as a farmhouse for William Couch between 1752 and 1762. A woman stands on the porch of the dwelling watching two children drag a tree branch toward the house. A man approaches a bench and cluster of trees nearby. Includes the outlines of Belmont Mansion and Girard College in the distance. Dwelling sold to the city of Philadelphia in 1869., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.3]
- Title
- Sweet Briar Mansion, in 1843. (In Fairmount Park)
- Description
- Lithograph showing horses galloping and drinking water in front of the former country house of Philadelphia merchant and politician Samuel Breck built in 1797 in West Fairmount Park. Two men stand and talk in front of the mansion in the background. Includes a view of another dwelling in the right background. Sweet Briar was incorporated into the park in 1869 and remodeled in 1870 for use as a children's restaurant. Also known as the Samuel Breck House and Sweetbrier., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.4]
- Title
- Schuylkill River below the falls, Fairmount Pk. Phila
- Description
- Lithograph showing a man with a book sitting on a large rock near a towering rock formation on the edge of the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia. Includes a dog curled up on the ground nearby, people in rowboats on the river, and a dwelling on the edge of the river in the right background., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.6]
- Title
- Thos. Moore’s Cottage, Phila. Park
- Description
- Lithograph showing the one-story cottage located on the west side of the Schuylkill River above the Reading Railway Bridge in Fairmount Park. A man leaves the house as a woman enters the dwelling. Includes a dog on a path in the foreground, a large warped tree in front of the cottage, and horses walking on paths in the distant right background. The cottage was on the estate of Jacob S. Waln where the Irish poet Tom Moore puportedly stayed during his visit to Philadelphia in 1804. Dwelling also known as Boelson Cottage, Belmont Cottage and Pig's Eye Cottage., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813
- Date
- [ca. 1878]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.1]
- Title
- Marble Terrace, West Philadelphia
- Description
- View looking east from Thirty-third Street and Woodland Avenue at "marble row" (i.e., marble terrace), a block of marble-fronted row houses with mansard roofs on the south side of Chestnut Street between Thirty-second and Thirty-third Streets. Also shows three men standing in the entrance of the storefront in the westernmost house on the block (3264 Chestnut Street). Built ca. 1870., Title from publisher's series list printed with 106 other numbered titles in the series (No. 139-245)., Manuscript note on mount: Marble Terrace - West Phila., Photographer's imprint from series list pasted on verso., Mint green mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James., Robert Newell's son Henry entered the business in 1872 and the name changed to "R. Newell & Son".
- Creator
- R. Newell & Son
- Date
- [ca. 1872]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Residences [P.9299.25]
- Title
- Sedgely Mansion
- Description
- Oblique view showing two men standing behind three women seated in front of Sedgley estate's tenant's cottage. The tenant's cottage, also known as the Porter House, was used as a guard house and jail after the estate was purchased by the city for incorporation into Fairmount Park in 1857. Benjamin Henry Latrobe designed the extant cottage and the mansion built 1799 for William Cramond on the east bank of the Schuylkill River., Title and publisher's imprint from printed series list on verso. Series includes sixty-seven other titles (No. 58-125)., Manuscript note in pencil on mount: Sedgely mansion., Buff mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Ms. Jane Carson James.
- Creator
- R. Newell & Son
- Date
- [ca. 1872]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Residences [P.9299.66]
- Title
- Views of Mount Peace, Philadelphia
- Description
- Views depict the Ralston estate known as "Mount Peace" located near St. James the Less and the junction of Nicetown Lane and Lamb Tavern Road. One image shows an open field and farm building in the foreground and larger dwellings and outbuildings in the distant background. The other depicts a man sitting in the grass next to a winding tree-lined path. Probably photographed before the Odd Fellows Cemetery Company purchased the land to build Mount Peace Cemetery (adjacent to Mount Vernon Cemetery) on the site in 1865-66., Title supplied by cataloger., Attributed to Robert Newell., Manuscript note on verso of item 7992.F.2: Mount Peace near Philadelphia., Manuscript note on verso of item 7992.F.13: View at Mount Peace (near Phila.)., Yellow mounts with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Newell, Robert, 1822-1897
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Views [7992.F.2 and 7992.F.13]
- Title
- Locust St. east from Sixteenth
- Description
- View looking east from Sixteenth Street showing brick row houses on the south side of Locust Street and the Gothic-style Presbyterian church built 1851-1853 after the designs of John Notman (1508-1514 Locust Street). a pile of rubble sits in the street in the foreground. The church was completed for a dissenting congregation that included locomotive industrialist Matthias Baldwin who contributed $10,000 to the over $100,000 construction and land fees., Title on negative., Manuscript note on verso: 16th St. looking E. on Locust, Calvary Presbyterian Ch., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9208.6]
- Title
- The Doan, under the management of the Philadelphia Dairy and Cafe
- Description
- Illustrated trade card depicting a winter scene of a rural house, bare trees, and an inset vignette of a rustic footbridge spanning a creek., Contains advertising text printed on verso: "Great dinners" - 25 cents. All the delicasies. Meals at all hours, 25 cts. Ice cream, fruit ices. Board per week, $4.00. Strawberry shortcake. Best meals in the city. Ice cream and cake, 10 cts. A charming place. All the good things. The ladies' delight. The Doan, 238, 240, 242 and 244 Erie St., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Digitized.
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Doan [P.9490.37]
- Title
- [Hannah Mary S. Taylor sitting on the porch of Mt. Equity, Pennsdale, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's maternal aunt, Hannah Mary S. Taylor, sitting in a rocking chair on Mt. Equity's porch, a property in Pennsdale, Pa. rented to her during the summer months of 1889 and 1890, and owned by her son-in-law's family for generations., A small stone section of Mount Equity, known as "The Cottage," was constructed near the Wolf Run House in Pennsdale, Pa. ca. 1810 by Mercy Ellis after the death of her husband, William Ellis. After her death in 1848, her children used the cottage primarily during the summer months. Her son Charles Ellis built a stone addition to the house in 1861 and a rear kitchen wing was added by the family in 1882. It was around this time that the enlarged house shed its name as "The Cottage," and was known as Mount Equity. The property is now home to a Buddhist Monastery, Mt. Equity Zendo Jihoji., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1890
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.49]
- Title
- [Four women, including Jane Lownes Webster, sitting on the porch, Lownes Clovercrest Farm, 321 West Woodland Avenue, Springfield, Pa.]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, sitting on the steps of the porch, opposite an unidentified young girl. Two older women sit in rocking chairs behind them. A dog sits on the lawn in front of the house. The residence has five bays, an addition on the right and another porch on the left. The residence is part of the Lownes Clovercrest Farm, and was built by the Lownes family in 1827 and occupied by them until 1913., Images of the property that were catalogued separately include: P.9501.28, P.9501.106, and P.9501.85, showing exterior views of the front and back of the residence on the farm, and a detailed view of Jane Lownes Webster sitting with her family on the front porch of their residence., Modern reference print #27 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.58]
- Title
- [Jane L. Webster sitting with a woman in a horse-drawn buggy]
- Description
- Depicts the photographer's wife, Jane Lownes Webster, sitting in a horse-drawn buggy, next to an unidentified woman who controls the whip and reigns. One horse is harnessed to the buggy, which sits in the stone drive in front of an unidentified house., Modern reference print #29 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
- Creator
- Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.59]
- Title
- Philadelphia in 1702
- Description
- Print containing a panoramic view of the city in 1702 and three titled vignette views representing the early settlement of the city. View looks west from Camden, New Jersey and shows the Delaware River and burgeoning Philadelphia cityscape. Includes Swedes Church (1); Old Horse Mill (2); Pont House from Chester (3); Sven Svener's House (4); Duck Pond and Indian Huts at 3rd & Pine (5), Loxley's House (6); Dock Creek and drawbridge (9); Blue Anchor Tavern (13); Budd's Row (18); Carpenter's House, Brewery and Bakery (20); Old Slate House (22); Friends Public School (24); Benezet House (25); Duck Pond at 4th & Market (26); Baptist & Presbyterian Meeting House at 2nd & Chestnut (27); Friends Meeting (28); London Coffee House (31); Market Shambles (34); Christ Church (36); Jones Row (37); Turners Famous House (39); Arch Street under Arch (40); Friends Bank Meeting (42); Penny Pot House (43); Pegg's Run (44); Swedish settlement (48); Fairman's Mansion & Treaty Tree (49); and Floating Windmill (50) in the Delaware. Also shows other early dwellings and taverns, sailing vessels on the river, and activity at the riverfront that is lined with a few piers. Vignettes show "Penn's Treaty" after the Benjamin West painting; "Site of Philada. When in Possession of the Swedes before the Landing of Penn" covered with forests; "Landing of the First Families" who gather with their posessions at the shore near a cave and in the presence of Native Americans. "Landing" vignette also shows a man cooking at a spit and a cabin under construction on a hillside in the background., Copyrighted by Smith & Cremens in Washington, D.C., Not in Wainwright., Print priced at 50 cents., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 590, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc 864 W 119. HSP copy contains separately-issued key to 50 sites depicted in image pasted on verso. Facsimile of key provided with LCP copy of print., Trimmed.
- Creator
- Smith & Cremens
- Date
- c1875
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **BW - Views [5225.F.4]
- Title
- Bladen's Court, looking south and out to Elfreth's Alley, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- View of the small cobblestone alley looking south toward Elfreth's Alley, showing the front and back elevations of dwellings., Title, photographer and date from manuscript note on verso., Gray curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Creator
- Lightfoot, Frederick S., photographer
- Date
- November 4, 1947
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Lightfoot - Streets [P.9047.35]
- Title
- Elfreth's Alley, looking west towards Second Street. Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- View of cobblestone street flanked by small rowhouses looking west toward Second Street. Shows a little girl halfway down the street on the sidewalk near a group of pigeons. Also includes signs for "Coach House Restaurant" and "Olde Alley ... Poor Richard" in the distant background., Title, photographer and date from manuscript note on verso., Manuscript note on verso: Bladen's Court extends north at arrow right. Lightfoot's daughter on pavement left by pigeons., Gray curved mount with rounded corners., Named after Jeremiah Elfreth, the blacksmith that owned a large number of the properties on Elfreth's Alley between Front and Second Streets. Oldest preserved residential street in Philadelphia consisting of brick Trinity houses built early to mid eighteenth century., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Creator
- Lightfoot, Frederick S., photographer
- Date
- November 4, 1947
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Lightfoot - Streets [P.9047.36]
- Title
- Washington Monument, Baltimore, Md
- Description
- View looking east from West Monument Street showing the Washington Monument constructed 1815-1829 after designs by Robert Mills in the Mount Vernon neighborhood of Baltimore, Maryland. The 178-foot doric column is visible from the street flanked by large brownstone mansions., Title printed on mount., Photographer's blind stamp on mount., Publisher's label pasted on verso., Distributor's label pasted on verso: From James W. Queen & Co., opticians, No. 921 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, White mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim Brothers copyrighted a series of stereographs with labels inscribed: "American Stereoscopic Co., Langenheim, Loyd & Co., Philadelphia" in 1858. They continued to produce stereographs until 1865, when they withdrew from the American Stereoscopic Co.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm)
- Date
- c1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Monuments and statues [8353.F.24]
- Title
- Washington Monument, Baltimore, Md
- Description
- View looking east from West Monument Street showing the Washington Monument constructed 1815-1829 after designs by Robert Mills in the Mount Vernon neighborhood of Baltimore, Maryland. The 178-foot doric column is visible from the street flanked by large brownstone mansions., Title printed on mount., Photographer's blind stamp on mount., Publisher's label pasted on verso., Distributor's label pasted on verso: From James W. Queen & Co., opticians, No. 921 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, White mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., The Langenheim Brothers copyrighted a series of stereographs with labels inscribed: "American Stereoscopic Co., Langenheim, Loyd & Co., Philadelphia" in 1858. They continued to produce stereographs until 1865, when they withdrew from the American Stereoscopic Co.
- Creator
- W. & F. Langenheim (Firm)
- Date
- c1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Langenheim - Monuments and statues [8353.F.24]
- Title
- [Broad and Oxford Streets, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View looking northeast showing the front facades of row houses and dwellings on Broad Street, just below Oxford Street (1529-1535 North Broad). Also depicts the Oxford Presbyterian Church at the northeast corner, constructed 1879-1881 after a fire destroyed the original church and chapel. Church organized in 1867., Title supplied by cataloger., Copy photograph attributed to James Cremer based on duplicate stereograph bearing his imprint., Manuscript note on verso: Broad & Oxford Sts., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1881]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9260.52]
- Title
- Chesnut [sic] St. east from Nineteenth
- Description
- View looking east on Chestnut Street from Nineteenth Street, primarily showing the north front and west flank of Dr. David Jayne's corner residence built 1865-66 after designs by John McArthur, Jr.. Trees in the foreground obscure upper stories of dwellings east of the Jayne residence. A lamppost in the foreground has "Nineteenth" and "Chestnut" inscribed in the fixture. Residence demolished 1922., Title on negative., Copy photograph attributed to James Cremer based on imprint on duplicate photograph in the collections (stereo - Cremer - Streets [P.9212.16])., Manuscript note on verso: Chesnut St. east from 19th, Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9208.4]
- Title
- S.E. corner of 22nd & Green Sts. Philada
- Description
- Exterior view of the front and east elevations of the three-story brick row houses at 2146-2148 Green Street. Includes the side entrance of the corner property and a street lamp. Two women, three girls, and a baby in a carriage pose on the corner. Also shows a partial view of a horse-drawn streetcar (labeled "40" on the rear) turning the corner and heading east on Green Street., Title from manuscript note on verso., Initials and date from manuscript note on verso: J.B. 9/10/61., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- September 10, 1861
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9751.1]
- Title
- O. Sheridan, Chestnut Hill
- Description
- View showing two men each holding the reins of two horses on the dirt drive leading up to the Chestnut Hill residence of Owen Sheriden, also known as Union Grove, where West Highland Avenue is today. A woman and a boy stand near the front porch of the property in the background., Title from manuscript note on verso., Mint green mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Residences [P.8709.7]
- Title
- Old Norris mansion, 7th & York Sts. Built 1727
- Description
- View looking northeast at the front elevation of the Fairhill mansion built 1778 near York and Seventh Streets. Shows the painted phrase, "Revolution House, Iron Sons of..." spanning the width of the front elevation, which was the name of a tavern that operated there in the 1870s. The original mansion, constructed 1712-1719 by bricklayer Richard Redman and stone mason John Hart for Isaac Norris, Sr., was destroyed by fire by the British troops in 1777. Second mansion demolished in 1885., Title from manuscript note on mount., Photographer's imprint printed on mount. Also contains photograper's blindstamp on mount: Gutekunst, 712 Arch St., Orange curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Robert M. Vogel.
- Creator
- Gutekunst, Frederick, 1831-1917, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Gutekunst - Residences [P.9047.65]
- Title
- Letitia House
- Description
- Book illustration showing the building known incorrectly as the Letitia Penn House on Letitia Street between Market and Chestnut streets. A man and a woman walk toward the house, which stands alone except for a large tree in the foreground. The misidentified residence, purportedly built in 1682 by William Penn and given to his daughter in 1701, was relocated to Fairmount Park in 1883., Plate opposite page 88 in John F. Watson's Historic tales of olden time : concerning the early settlement and progress of Philadelphia and Pennsylvania ; for the use of families and schools ; illustrated with plates (Philadelphia : E. Littell : Thomas Holden, 1833)., William L. Breton and Kennedy & Lucas created many of the lithographic plates for Watson's Annals of Philadelphia, so it is probable that they also created the plates in Historic tales of olden time., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 435
- Creator
- Breton, William L., ca. 1773-1855, artist
- Date
- [1833]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Am 1833 Wat [Log 2794.D.opp88]
- Title
- Grace Episcopal Church, Wabash av
- Description
- Oblique view of the church's third location designed by Loring & Jenney in 1868 on Wabash Avenue between 14th and 15th Streets in Chicago. Also shows adjacent dwellings and wooden sidewalk in the foreground., Title and photographer's imprint printed on mount., Distributor's label pasted on verso: From James Cremer's stereoscopic emporium, 18 South Eighth St., Philadelphia. Family groups taken for the stereoscope, and photography in all its branches., Manuscript note on verso: Muschamp - 12, Small, circular burn mark on left side of stereograph., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Gift of Mr. Saul Koltnow., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., John Carbutt operated a photography studio and resided in Chicago from 1861-1870.
- Creator
- Carbutt, John, 1832-1905
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Carbutt - Religion [P.9022.65]
- Title
- [Chestnut Street east from Nineteenth Street, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View looking east on Chestnut Street from Nineteenth Street, primarily showing the north front and west flank of Dr. David Jayne's corner residence built 1865-66 after designs by John McArthur, Jr.. Trees in the foreground obscure upper stories of dwellings east of the Jayne residence. A lamppost in the foreground has "Nineteenth" and "Chestnut" inscribed in the fixture. Residence demolished 1922., Title supplied by cataloger., Printed text on mount: Chesnut Street, Philadelphia., Manuscript note on verso: E. from 19th St., Photographer's imprint in black text on mount., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Streets [P.9212.16]
- Title
- Master St. east from 15th
- Description
- View looking east on Master Street from around Fifteenth Street, showing dwellings, shops and churches, including a partial view of the Grace Methodist Episcopal Church (cornerstone: 1873) at the northeast corner of Master and Carlisle Streets. Trees obscure most of the buildings, including most of the awning for a shop on the south side of Master Street. Also shows three boys sitting and standing on the sidewalk and in the cobblestone street in the foreground., Title from manuscript note on verso., Photographer's imprint in black text on mount., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Streets [P.9229.4]
- Title
- 22d and Green Sts., Philada
- Description
- View of dwellings and landscaped lawns separated by iron fences on the 2200 block Green Street. Two fountains decorate the lawns in the foreground. Possibly from 2222-2224 Green Street looking east., Title printed on mount., Photographer's imprint in black text on mount., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Streets [P.9260.44]
- Title
- Longfellow's House. Brattle St., Cambridge, Mass. from gate
- Description
- Glass negative showing Henry W. Longfellow's large house on Brattle Street. The house has columns and a pediment over the entryway, two chimneys and two porches on either side. A walkway bisects a wide lawn leading to the house. A line of shrubs runs in front of the house and trees grow around it., Time: 10:38, Light: Very faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- July 13, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1309]
- Title
- Oglesby's house from E. [Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's three-story house with a wide porch, multiple balconies and two chimneys. A road runs in front of the house and trees grow behind it. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Time: 8:05, Light: good sunlight, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 14, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1347]
- Title
- Oglesby's house from E. [Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Margaret Antoinnette Oglesby's three-story house with a wide porch, multiple balconies and two chimneys. A road runs in front of the house and trees grow behind it. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Time: 8:10, Light: Bright sun, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 14, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1348]
- Title
- Mrs. Oglesby's cottage from S.E. cor[ner], [Sea Girt, NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's three-stosry house with a wide porch and multiple balconies standing among the dune grass. A road runs in front of the house and trees grow behind it. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Time: 11, Light: Good sun., Spotting in the emulsion., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 26, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1358]
- Title
- Liveszey house, [Glen Fern, Allens Lane, Mount Airy, PA]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Glen Fern, a multi-story stone house nestled in the woods at the end of a narrow path at Allens Lane. Various smaller buildings surround the home. Thomas Livezey purchased the farmstead and mill he named Glen Fern in 1747. A prominent Philadelphia miller, Livezey was also one of the first trustees of the Germantown Academy. The house stayed in the possession of the Livezey family until it was sold to the city of Philadelphia in 1873., Same position as last., Photographer remarks: More distant view than last., Time: 11:35, Light: Good Sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- November 8, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.450]
- Title
- Oglesby's house Sea Girt, [NJ]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Margaret Antoinette Oglesby's multi-story house standing behind a grassy lawn and a field of dune grass. The house has a wide, wraparound porch and a balcony on the thrid floor. Other houses are visible in the distance overlooking the ocean. Oglesby’s husband Joseph built their house in 1887, but died before it was completed. She and her son continued to live in the house until his death in 1963. The house later burned down., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.50.11]
- Title
- Necker's Cottage, S. Broad St. near League St. [Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Necker's Cottage on South Broad Street, a small one-story house with a woman and four children sitting on the front porch. An unhitched carriage sits in front of the porch and another cart leans upended in the foreground., Photographer remarks: Not focussed [sic] well or else wind shook camera., Time: 12:10, Light: Strong sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 4, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.430]
- Title
- Birthplace of G[eorge] Fox
- Description
- Glass negative showing a photograph of George Fox's house pinned to a wood paneled wall. The photograph is titled "The Birthplace of George Fox, at Fenny Drayton, Warwickshire, A.D. 1624, founder of the 'Society of Friends,' He died A.D. 1690, and was Interred in Bunhill Fields Burial Ground, London." It shows an old two-story brick house with a wooden fence and a woman standing near the gate., Time: 10:20, Light: Strong sun out., Same as 463., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- December 5, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.481]
- Title
- Josiah Leeds' house, Wayne St., G[erman]t[ow]n
- Description
- Glass negative showing the three-story Victorian style home of Josiah Leeds surrounded by a low metal fence. A boy and a young girl stand next to the curb in front of the house while a woman stands on the porch. Quaker Josiah W. Leeds, born in 1841, spent most of his life in Philadelphia. He moved to West Chester in 1868, but returned to the Germantown area in 1871. Leeds wrote histories and was a proponent of peace and various moral reforms. He died in 1908., Time: 11:50, Light: Fairly good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- January 10, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.486]
- Title
- [Two canoes on the river, Atsion River, New Jersey]
- Description
- Film negative showing two canoes traveling down the Atsion River, i.e. Mullica River, past a house on the right riverbank. Each canoe holds two people. A dilapidated shed stands next to the house as trees line the riverbank. Mullica River, also previously known as Little Egg Harbor River and Atison River, is named after Finnish settler Eric Palsson Mullica (1636-approximately 1704). The river starts in central Camden County and empties into the Great Bay north of Atlantic City., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 18 & 19, 1906
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.47]
- Title
- [Deshler-Morris] House, 4782 Main St. from yard [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the two-story Deshler-Morris House (later 5442 Germantown Avenue) with shuttered windows and a balcony on the second floor. Photo taken from the yard, facing the house diagonally. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Forms part of Marriott C. Morris Collection., Photographer remarks: First attempt. Varnished. Ghost in centre., Time: 4 P.M., Light: Good cloudy day., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., The emulsion is heavily damaged in the lower right corner., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 10, 1882
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1]
- Title
- Old Morris House from workmen club house. Corner School La[ne] & Main St[reet, Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the De la Plaine House, a three-story building seen from across a brick road lined with trolley tracks at 5521-5523 Germantown Avenue. The first floor of the building houses a storefront with various kinds of merchandise piled on the sidewalk under an awning. Trees line the sidewalk to the side of the house and a streetlight is visible in the foreground. James De la Plaine settled in Germantown in 1691. Before his death in 1750, he built a house. It was afterward owned by E.B. Paramore and used as a corner store before the Germantown Mutual Fire Insurance Company bought the property in 1885. The Rev. B. Wistar Morris also lived here before he became a bishop in Oregon., No. 14., Photographer remarks: Taken in rain. Sam [Morris] with me at the time., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 24, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.100.3]
- Title
- [Catherine Brown's] old house [back of Roxborough, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Catherine Brown's two-story stone house surrounded by trees. A clothes line extends behind the house. A wooden fence extends from the front right corner of the house across a grassy field. Two women lean against the fence, one in front and one behind. A child clings to the legs of the woman in front of the fence., Different view., Time: 4:20, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 7, 1886
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1031]
- Title
- [Washington's Headquarters, Valley Forge, PA]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Isaac Potts House, a stone two-story house with shuttered windows and two chimneys at Valley Forge. A wooden fence runs along the left side of the building. From December 1777 to June 1778, the Continental Army camped at Valley Forge. The area became Pennsylvania’s first state park in 1893. George Washington’s headquarters was in the Isaac Potts House, built circa 1773., Photographer remarks: wh. had 14 sec., Time: 4:15, There is a circular area of different exposure in the center of the plate., Same on plate having copy of Photo "Afrique.", Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 30, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1115]