© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Rear of Independence Hall
- Description
- View looking from a tree-lined path in Independence Square showing the rear entrance of the State House. Also shows a street lamp., Title from accompanying publisher's label containing a line of descriptive text., Grey paper mount with square corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- c1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McClees - Government buildings [(8)1322.F.9b]
- Title
- View of the ruins caused by the great fire northeast corner of Sixth and Market st. which began on the night of Weds. April 30, 1856 - From the northwest
- Description
- Shows burnt ruins and fire debris lining Sixth Street above Market from the fire begun in the rag and paper warehouse of Jessup & Moore on North Street below Arch. Includes a line of men standing on debris and Independence Hall in the background. The fire razed forty-four buildings, which caused a loss of half of a million dollars., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 77. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees 1856-5., See clippings in Poulson scrapbook "Illustrations of Philadelphia," vol. 5, p .21., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Fires and firefighting [(5)2526.F.9a]
- Title
- Independence Hall or State House, from the N.E. across the ruins made by the great fire N.W. corner of Chestnut & Fifth St
- Description
- View looking northeast showing the State House built 1732-1748 after the designs of Andrew Hamilton and Edmund Woolley at 520 Chestnut Street. In the foreground, a partial view of the fire ruins from the expansive fire of the Artisan Building near Fourth and Chestnut streets on April 11th, 1856 is visible. Shows the exposed side of a damaged building adorned with broadsides., Title from transcribed scrapbook inscription., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Probably originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 30. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #76., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- Spring 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Government Buildings [8339.F.31]
- Title
- [St. Mark's Lutheran Church, Spring Garden Street, south side, west of 13th Street, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Location: Spring Garden St., south side, west of 13th St., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, with corrections.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [Wagner P.8]
- Title
- [Church of the Redemption, Protestant Episcopal. Rev. George A. Durburrow's Church.]
- Description
- Location: Callowhill and 22nd Sts., N.W. cor., Duplicate of (3)1322.F.73v. Date from manuscript note on duplicate., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, with corrections.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- [August 1858]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *phot. McClees [Wagner P. 20]
- Title
- Engine house of the Twenty-fourth Ward Water Works. Designed and constructed by Birkinbine & Trotter, engineers and contractors, Philadelphia
- Description
- View showing the engine house at the water works also known as the West Philadelphia Water Works, completed circa 1855, on the west bank of the Schuylkill River above the Fairmount Dam. The engine house built after the designs of engineers Birkinbine & Trotter, contained two boiler rooms, sleeping rooms for the engineers, and storerooms. Also shows two men standing near a fence in the foreground and the smokestack at the waterworks in the background., Name of photographer from duplicate in private collection., Title from accompanying label., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 70? The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Birkinbine & Trotter was a partnership between Philadelphia engineers Henry P.M. Birkinbine and Edward H. Trotter (1814-1872), Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #97., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1854
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Public Utilities [(5)2526.F.4a]
- Title
- Baptist Church, 5th & Buttonwood streets
- Description
- Exterior view of the Fourth Baptist Church built 1853-1855 after the designs of Joseph C. Hoxie. Edifice includes a tapering spire. Also shows neighboring buildings. Demolished circa 1970., Title and date from manuscript note on verso., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., See clipping in Poulson scrapbook, "Illustrations of Philadelphia," vol. 4, p. 4 for description of church., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #89., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- July 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.34]
- Title
- Rev. Jno. Chambers Church, N.E. cor Broad & Sansom Sts
- Description
- Exterior view of the First Independent Church, later renamed Chambers Presbyterian Church, built 1831 at the northeast corner of Broad and Sansom streets. Also shows adjacent buildings, including a residence with awnings adorning the second floor windows. Church housed the independent congregation of Rev. John Chambers. Congregation admitted to the Presbytery in 1873., Title from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 91? The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Published in Robert F. Looney's Old Philadelphia in Early Photographs 1839-1914 (New York: Published in cooperation with The Free Library of Philadelphia by Dover Publications, Inc., 1976), plate 157., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- McClees & Germon, photographer
- Date
- 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and meetinghouses [(5)2526.F.105]
- Title
- Rev. Durborrow's (Episcopal) Church, Callowhill near Fairmount
- Description
- Exterior view of the Protestant Episcopal church, Church of the Redemption, built 1846 on the 2200 block of Callowhill Street. Also shows neighboring buildings. George A. Durborrow served as rector of the church 1846-1869., Title and date from transcribed scrapbook inscription., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- August 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and Meetinghouses - C [(3)1322.F.73v]
- Title
- Old Swedes Church
- Description
- View looking from the southeast showing the Episcopalian, former Lutheran, church known as Gloria Dei Church, built 1700-1703 by master builder John Harrison I at 929 South Water Street. A wood fence, stenciled with the advertisement "Read the Daily Register," surrounds the church cemetery. Also shows neighboring buildings in the background., Title and date from manuscript note on verso., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., *McClees 1858-12., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- September 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.18]
- Title
- Independent Church Dr. Chambers, Broad and George St
- Description
- Exterior view of the First Independent Church, later renamed Chambers Presbyterian Church, built 1831, altered 1853 at the northeast corner of Broad and Sansom streets. Also shows adjacent buildings. Front facade altered with a portico. Church housed the independent congregation of Rev. John Chambers. Congregation admitted to the Presbytery in 1873., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Manuscript note on mount: See page 91., McClees 1855-16., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 4, page 81. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and meetinghouses [(4)2526.F.2]
- Title
- Rev. Newberry's Church (Presbytery) 22d & Mount Vernon sts July 1858
- Description
- Exterior view of the church also known as Olivet Presbyterian chapel, later Olivet Covenant Presbyterian Church beside a grassy lot. Includes surrounding buildings. Also shows the sidewalk in front of the church lined with trees and a gas street lamp., Title from maunscript note on recto., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- [July 1858?]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and Meetinghouses - U [(6)1322.F.176b]
- Title
- Wylie Memorial Church, Broad & Spruce streets, Philadelphia
- Description
- Exterior view showing the third building of the First Reformed Presbyterian Church (i.e. Wylie Memorial Church) erected in 1854 on the 300 block of Broad Street after the designs of John McArthur, Jr. Also shows partial views of adjacent buildings, including a wood shack adorned with broadsides. Congregation organized in 1798. Church renamed in the early 1890s for long-term pastors T.W.J. Wylie and Samuel Wylie., Title from manuscript note on mount., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry. edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and Meetinghouses - F [4)1322.F.41a]
- Title
- Spring Garden Water Works
- Description
- View showing the rear of the engine house at the Schuylkill Water Works (formerly the Spring Garden and Northern Liberties Water Works) at the foot of Thompson Street on the Schuylkill River. Also shows the water basin of the waterworks lined by a fence in the foreground. The waterworks, completed circa 1845 after the designs of engineer William E. Morris, provided water to the Spring Garden, Northern Liberties, and Kensington neighborhoods., Title and date from manuscript note on verso., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- September 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Public Utilities [(6)1322.F.32b]
- Title
- [Spring Garden Institute, northeast corner Broad and Spring Garden streets, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Shows the vocational school built 1851-1852 after the designs of Hoxie & Button at 523-525 North Broad Street. Also shows partial views of surrounding buildings. The institute, comprised of a lecture-room, a lending library, a free reading room, classrooms, and a boardroom, educated youth for employment in the practical sciences and technologies., Title supplied by cataloguer., Manuscript note on mount: Sp. Garden Hall - N.E. Cor Broad and Sp. Garden St., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., McClees, an early prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1853
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Spring Garden [(7)1322.F.45b]
- Title
- Entrance to Woodlands Cemetery
- Description
- Shows the arched gateway entrance to the cemetery chartered in 1840 on the former estate of botanist William Hamilton at 3900 Woodland Avenue in West Philadelphia. View includes a workmen's shed to the right of the image. The entranceway, built after the designs of John McArthur, Jr., was razed in 1936., Title and date from manuscript note on verso., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Probably originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #153., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- November 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [8339.F.21]
- Title
- Central High School house, Broad Street
- Description
- View looking northeast showing the second building of the Central High School for Boys (established 1838), the first public high school in the city, built 1853 at North Broad and Green streets. Also shows adjacent buildings and several large pipe sections in the street in the foreground. Building housed the school until 1900., Title from accompanying label., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a Poulson scrapbook., Trimmed., McClees 1856-8.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Education [(5)2526.F.14b]
- Title
- [Chestnut Street Theatre, 603-609 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View of the second building of the theater, built 1820-1822 after the designs of William Strickland, displaying several playbills for the last performance at the current building. Includes additional playbills displayed under a gaslight fixture in front of the adjacent theater, the Melodeon (611-613 Chestnut). Fixture adorned with shades advertising the "Melodeon Celebrated Troupe Dancer" and an illustration of a dancer. Also shows the opposite neighboring businesses of a shooting gallery and "Shakespeare Bowling Saloon" (601 Chestnut) and Hart's Building owned by prominent Jewish publisher and philanthropist, Abraham Hart, erected 1848 (537-539 Chestnut). Signage advertising Gilbert & Gihon, engravers on wood, is partially visible on Hart's Building and a poster showing a man shooting a pistol adorns the shooting gallery. Theater razed 1856., Title supplied by cataloguer., Photographer's blindstamp on mount of (6)1322.F.44., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Published in Robert F. Looney's Old Philadelphia in Early Photographs, 1839-1914 (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with The Free Library of Philadelphia, 1976), entry #125., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 16., Arcadia caption text: Referred to as the New Theatre to distinguish it from the Southwark, or Old, Theatre, the Chestnut Street Theatre opened in 1794 near the northwest corner of Sixth and Chestnut streets. After fire destroyed its building in 1820, the Association of the Proprietors of the New Theatre sold shares in the property and hired William Strickland to design a new building. Constructed at the same location in only eight months, the imposing marble structure included the statues of Comedy and Tragedy sculpted by William Rush, which survived the fire. To celebrate its opening, the managers held a contest for the best opening night address. Prize winner Charles Sprague’s verses were so well-received that his address was read a second night. The theater is shown here in 1855, shortly before being demolished.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- May 1, 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Theaters [(6)1322.F.44; (7)1322.F.63a]
- Title
- Interior of Independence Hall
- Description
- View showing William Rush's wood statue of George Washington (carved 1815, installed 1824) in the Assembly Room of the State House. Also shows framed portrait paintings, predominately from the Charles Wilson Peale collection; a framed commemorative print in honor of the Declaration of Independence; a bronze eagle; a clock; and partial views of Thomas Sully's portrait painting of Lafayette and chairs adorning the room., Title printed on mount., Manuscript note on mount: 1859 - Rush's statue of Washington., White paper mount with square corners., Attributed to James E. McClees., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McClees - Government buildings [(8)1322.F.8f]
- Title
- Academy of Music - or operahouse - S.W. cor. Broad & Locust St
- Description
- View of front and partial side facades of brick and sandstone Italianate style building. Architects Napoleon LeBrun and Gustav Runge formed a short-lived partnership to win design competition. Building constructed 1855-1857. Served as home of Philadelphia Orchestra from 1900-2000., Photographer's blind stamp on duplicate., Title from scrapbook inscription., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of Poulson scrapbook of material relating to Philadelphia.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1857
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees [8339.F.32]
- Title
- Fairmount from below Lemon Hill
- Description
- View looking south across the Schuylkill River from below Lemon Hill showing the Fairmount Water Works. Shows the old engine house, pavilion on the mound dam, and standpipe at the waterworks. Also shows boat landings; the Wire Suspension Bridge at Fairmount; and cityscape. The waterworks, originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Frederick Graff, were expanded until 1872., Title and date from manuscript note on recto., McClees 1858-10., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of Philadelphia views., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- September 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Public Utilities [(6)1322.F.174a]
- Title
- Joseph Waterman's Western Exchange Hotel, 15th & Market streets
- Description
- Exterior view of the hotel patronized by farmers and used as the western terminus of several omnibus lines. Also shows, in the foreground, vendors and a horse-drawn wagon parked in front of the market sheds above Fifteenth Street. The market sheds were removed April 1859 following the completion of the Western Market House at Sixteenth and Market streets. Hotel removed circa 1860., Title and date from transcribed scrapbook inscription., Photographer's imprint blindstamped on mount., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 112., Arcadia caption text: In 1830, a western branch of sheds on Market Street was built between Fifteenth and Seventeenth streets. Known as the Western Market, the stalls stood near the Western Hotel, a resting spot for many of the farmers who rented at the market. The hotel also served as a western terminus for several omnibus lines. The market sheds were removed soon after this 1859 photograph was taken and replaced by the Western Market House at Sixteenth and Market streets. A year later, the hotel met the same fate as the sheds., Published in Robert F. Looney's Old Philadelphia in early photographs 1839-1914 (New York: Published in cooperation with The Free Library of Philadelphia by Dover Publications, Inc., 1976), plate 94., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- April 19, 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Hotels, Inns, and Taverns [(9)1322.F.49b]
- Title
- Harrison's Row, Locust St. bel. 18th
- Description
- View of the row of mansions, known as Harrison Row, built for locomotive engineer Joseph Harrison in 1856 as an experiment in community housing. The single family residences included a kitchen, dining room, sitting-room, skylight, and laundry facilities as well as shared a garden with Harrison's adjacent mansion at 221-225 South 18th Street. Also shows a partial view of St. Mark's Church (1607-1627 Locust); neighboring buildings; and a horse-drawn carriage., Title from manuscript note on verso., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees 1859-2., Published in Theo B. White, ed., Philadelphia architecture in the nineteenth century (Philadelphia: Philadelphia Art Alliance by the University of Pennsylvnai Press, 1953), entry #95., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 29., Arcadia caption text: One of Philadelphia’s few architect-designed rows, Harrison’s Row consisted of a block of ten elegant Italianate houses on the north side of Locust Street near Rittenhouse Square designed by Samuel Sloan. The homes shared a back garden (see image above) with Harrison’s palatial mansion on Eighteenth Street, also designed by Sloan, and a block of stables to the north. Around the time this photograph was taken in March of 1859, the homes were occupied by three merchants, three brokers, two “gentlemen,” and an engraver, along with their families and servants., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- March 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Streets - L [(6)1322.F.154a]
- Title
- [Spring Garden Hall, N.W. corner Thirteenth & Spring Garden Street, Philadelphia.]
- Description
- Exterior view of the hall containing the district's police station and Mayor's office completed in 1848 after the designs of William L. Johnston at Spring Garden and North Thirteenth streets. Shows the Greek-Revival style building, the largest of the commissioners' halls buildings, adorned with a steeple built by Jacob Berger and containing a clock made by T. Tyson. Prior to the city's consolidation with bordering townships in 1854, neighborhoods maintained and housed their own police stations, mayors, and other government officials in commissioners' halls, including Spring Garden. Razed circa 1892., Photographer's imprint blindstamped on mount., Manuscript note on recto: 12th and Spring Garden; 13th & Sp. Garden., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Probably originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees & Germon, a partnership between Philadelphia photographers James E. McClees and Washington Lafayette Germon, was active between 1854-1855.
- Creator
- McClees & Germon
- Date
- ca. 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [8339.F.18]
- Title
- [Dundas-Lippincott mansion, northeast corner of Broad and Walnut streets, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Exterior view from the southwest of the residence built circa 1838 after the designs of Thomas U. Walter for Philadelphia banker James Dundas at 1335 Walnut Street. Shows the property, known for its extensive gardens, surrounded by an ironwork fence. The residence, also known as the Yellow Mansion, was later the home of Agnes Keene Lippincott and her son, James Dundas Lippincott. Building demolished circa 1905., Manuscript note on recto: Mr. Dundas, Broad & Walnut, July 1858., Title supplied by cataloguer., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- July 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Residences - D [(6)1322.F.176a]
- Title
- 7th Presbyterian Church, Broad Above Chestnut
- Description
- Exterior view of the Greek Revival-style church built 1842 after the designs of Napoleon LeBrun on Broad Street between Penn Square and Chestnut Street. View shows a man and children on the church steps; a street lamp at the corner; and a partial view of the U.S. Mint (1331-1337 Chestnut) in the left background., Title from manuscript note on mount., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees & Germon, a partnership between Philadelphia photographers James E. McClees and Washington Lafayette Germon, was active between 1854-1855.
- Creator
- McClees & Germon, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.44a]
- Title
- Spring Garden Hall, N.W. corner Thirteenth & Spring Garden St
- Description
- Exterior view of the hall containing the district's police station and Mayor's office completed in 1848 after the designs of William L. Johnston at Spring Garden and North Thirteenth streets. Shows the Greek-Revival style building, the largest of the commissioners' halls buildings, adorned with a steeple built by Jacob Berger and containing a clock made by T. Tyson. Also shows a gentleman at the entranceway of the building; neighboring buildings; and trees in cages, including one adorned with a broadside, lining the street in the foreground. Prior to the city's consolidation with bordering townships in 1854, neighborhoods maintained and housed their own police stations, mayors, and other government officials in commissioners' halls, including Spring Garden. Razed circa 1892., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 69. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees 1855-12., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #94., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Government Buildings [(5)2526.F.8a]
- Title
- [Fairmount Water Works forebay during the winter.]
- Description
- View showing the "Nymph with Bittern" statue at the east side of the icy forebay at the Fairmount Water Works on the Schuylkill River. The statue, sculpted in wood in 1809 by William Rush for the Centre Square Water Works, was installed at the basin in 1827. Also shows an elevated walkway to Reservoir Hill in the upper left corner of the image. The waterworks, originally constructed between 1812 and 1822, were altered and expanded until 1872., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.152]
- Title
- [Chew mansion, Germantown]
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows the facade of the two-story stone building with a pediment over the front door, shuttered windows, and dormers and chimneys on the roof. On the grounds in front of the house is a classical female nude sculpture without a head and arms. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from duplicate., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia. McAllister Collection, gift, 1886., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., McClees 1857-1a., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #56., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- February 1857
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Residences - C [(7)1322.F.61b]
- Title
- Schuylkill Navigation Co. canal and Fairmount Water Works in the distance
- Description
- View of the Schuylkill Canal lock in front of the Fairmount Water Works. Shows the old engine house, mill house, and standpipe on Reservoir Hill of the waterworks. Also shows an anchor on the lock. Canal and lock constructed in 1820 following an agreement between Philadelphia and the Schuylkill Navigation Company (incorporated 1815) for the city to build the system in return for constructing a dam and receiving the water rights to the water works., Title and date from transcribed scrapbook inscription., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees 1855-1a., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- Spring 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Public Utilities [(3)1322.F.119a]
- Title
- North side of Chestnut above 7th
- Description
- View looking east from below Eighth Street showing businesses, including tenants of the Masonic Hall, on the 700 block of Chestnut Street. Shows A. Hildebrandt, fancy baskets and toys and G.W. Stead, cigar store (713-721 Chestnut) adjacent to the Washington House hotel (709-711 Chestnut). Hotel under the proprietorship of A.F. Glass. Storefronts demolished in 1853 for the erection of the new Masonic Hall., Title from manuscript note on recto., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., McClees 1853-4., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1853
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Streets - Chestnut [(7)1322.F.39a]
- Title
- The Chew mansion, Germantown Battle of Germantown fought October 4th 1777. Lieutt. Col. Musgrave threw himself with six companies of the 49th British regt. into Chew's house, which stood full in front of the main body of the Americans. Gen'l Reed was for pushing on immediately, this was opposed by Genl. Knox as against all military rule to leave an enemy in a fort in his rear, thus in attempting to induce the surrender of Lieut. Col. Musgrave, the precious moments were lost and gave Generals Gray, Grant and Agnew time to come up with a reinforcement
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows the facade of the two-story stone building with a pediment over the front door, shuttered windows, and dormers and chimneys on the roof. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: See pp. 43-83 opposite page and., Contains several lines of text by Poulson describing the architecture of the house on the verso., McClees 1856-7., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 41. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- Summer 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Residences - C [(3)2526.F.41]
- Title
- Church of St. James the Less (Episcopal.) Rector Rev. A. Tenbrueck Ridge Avenue, near Laurel Hill - Falls Schl
- Description
- View showing the Gothic-style Protestant Episcopal church built 1846-1850 after the designs of English architect George Gordon Place at 3200-3230 West Clearfield Street in East Falls near Laurel Hill Cemetery. Also shows the bells in the church spire and tombstones in the church cemetery. The Ecclesiological Society, a British church architecture society, provided the plans for the church to be recreated in the style of a 13th-century English country parish., Title, date, and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Retrospective conversion record: original entry,edited., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 67. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees 1855-11., Reproduced in Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #87., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and meetinghouses [(5)2526.F.10b]
- Title
- Tomb of Dr. E.K. Kane, in Laurel Hill Cemetery
- Description
- Shows the Kane family hillside vault including the remains of Philadelphia Arctic explorer Elisha Kent Kane. Laurel Hill cemetery was built 1836-1839 after the designs of John Notman., Title from publisher's label pasted on verso., Grey paper mount with square corners., Printed on mount: Tomb of Dr. Kane., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McClees - Cemeteries [(8)1322.F.45e]
- Title
- The Swedes' Church, Southwark. (From the south east.) Rector Rev. J.G. Clay, D.D Called Gloria Dei Church
- Description
- Exterior view of the Episcopalian, former Lutheran, church built 1700-1703 by master builder John I. Harrison at 929 South Water Street. Also shows tombstones in the adjacent cemetery of the church., Title and date from Poulson inscription on accompanying label., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 42 or 43. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees 1856-6., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1856
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Churches and meetinghouse [(5)2526.F.45]
- Title
- [Academy of Natural Sciences and La Pierre House, north west corner of Broad and Sansom Streets, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View showing the second building of the Academy of Natural Sciences museum and the adjacent hotel on the west side of the 100 block of South Broad Street. The second building of the Academy, completed in 1840 after the designs of Philadelphia architect John Notman, and expanded in 1855, housed the museum until 1876. The hotel, completed in 1853 after the designs of Philadelphia architect John McArthur, was expanded and renamed Lafayette Hotel in 1876. Includes a horse-drawn carriage parked in front of the hotel; a broadside pasted on the gateway to the alley between the buildings; and a neighboring building to the north., Title supplied by cataloguer, Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., One of the images probably originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., One of the images originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 5, page 41. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., McClees 1855-13., One of the images reproduced Kenneth Finkel's Nineteenth century photography in Philadelphia (New York: Dover Publications, Inc. in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1980), entry #100., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerrotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Museums [(5)2526.F.4b; 8339.F.27]
- Title
- [Hope Hose Company steam fire engine and fire fighters in front of the company fire station, Second and Union streets, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Includes spectators and a partial view of an "Oyster Depot" in the background. Fire station was former mansion of gentlewoman Mary Gurney. Hope Hose Company founded on August 17, 1805., Title supplied by cataloguer., Date from manuscript note on verso: Hope steam fire engine and the Gurney Mansion, s.e. corner Front & Union streets. July 18, 1858., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook., McClees, an early prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- July 18, 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *photo - McClees [(6)1322.F.120]
- Title
- Panoramic views from the steeple of Independence Hall, 520 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia
- Description
- Series of views looking north, northeast, northwest, east, west, southeast, and southwest from Independence Hall showing the several blocks surrounding the historic building. Images predominately depict the 400 and 500 blocks of Library, Minor, Chestnut, and Market Streets. Includes Howell Evans, card and fancy printer (402 Library); Military Hall, public hall and former arsenal building (412 Library); Goldsmith's Hall, office building (420 Library); Library Company of Philadelphia (s.e. cor. 5th and Library); Philadelphia National Bank (419-423 Chestnut); U.S. Customhouse (420 Chestnut); Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank (425-429 Chestnut); Henry J. Pepper & Son, jeweler (441 Chestnut); Wright, Smith & Co., chinaware (5 N. 5th); P. Hirst & Co., hat manufacturer (501 Chestnut); George J. Henkels City Cabinet Wareroom (509 Chestnut); Barnes, Osterhout & Co., hats and furs (503 Market); Smith, Williams & Co., dry goods (513 Market); Coleman & Smith, cutlery and fancy goods (521 Market); Chaffees, Stout, & Co., wholesale dry goods (523 Market). Also shows the steeple of Christ Church; rooftop business signage including White Hall clothiers' sign (400 Market); the 500 block of Minor Street; the 600 block of Market Street; J.M. Maris & Co., drugs and chemical manufacturer (711 Market); the Delaware riverfront; and partial views of Independence Square., Attributed to James E. McClees., White or pale yellow paper mounts with square corners, including two with printed titles and two inscribed with the date., Title supplied by cataloguer., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1859
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - McClees - Views [1322.F.4i; 1322.F.5d-e; 1322.F.6b; (5)1322.F.4b; (6)1322.F.20a; (8)1322.F.9i]
- Title
- Westside of Fourth St. from above Prune to Spruce St Upper cor. Louis Phillipe's house - lower cor. Dr. Shippen's house also Dr. Wister's, las Job R. Tyson's house - next J.P. Norris jrs - next St. Mary's Church; next H. Pratt's houses (2) corner of alley; &c. Mr. Tyson's house by orders of his execy. recently sold for $15,000 to Ricd. Smithurst
- Description
- View looking south on Fourth Street from above Locust Street showing the several residences. Includes the King Louis-Philippe residence (236 S. 4th); the Shippen-Wistar residence built circa 1765 (238 S. 4th); the Norris-Cadwalader residence built circa 1828 (240 S. 4th); and St. Mary's Church built 1763 (242-250 S. 4th). Job R. Tyson, was a Philadelphia attorney and politician., Title and photographer's imprint from Poulson inscription on mount., Date inscribed on recto., Compass directions inscribed on mount., Manuscript note by Poulson on mount: see p. 95., Originally part of a series of eleven scrapbooks compiled by Philadelphia antiquarian Charles A. Poulson in the late 1850s entitled "Illustrations of Philadelphia" volume 3, page 11. The scrapbooks contained photographs of 18th-century public, commercial, and residential buildings in the city of Philadelphia collected by Poulson to document the vanishing architectural landscape., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., McClees 1858-15., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- 1858
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Streets - F [8339.F.33]
- Title
- [M'Clees & Germon daguerreotype rooms, 160 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia]
- Description
- View of the south side of Chestnut Street between 6th and 7th Streets showing the daguerreotype studio of McClees & Germon at 160 Chestnut Street. Neighboring tenants include Howell & Brothers, paper hangings (156 Chestnut); Charles Oakford, hats (158 Chestnut); James H. Orne, carpets (160 Chestnut); and the adjoining businesses of Jones Hotel and J.C. Smith, piano fortes and J. Couenhoven, music store (162 Chestnut). Also shows horse-drawn wagons parked in the foreground. The partnership between James E. McClees and Washington Lafayette Germon lasted from 1846 to 1855, and was located at this address from 1854 until a fire destroyed the studio on March 15, 1855., McClees 1855-10., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 56., Arcadia caption text: Photographer James McClees captured this view of the south side of the 600 block of Chestnut Street showing the studio he shared with Washington Lafayette Germon shortly before the building was destroyed by fire in March 1855. At the time, Philadelphia, a leading center of American photography, supported more than 120 photographers. Although signage on the building advertised the men as daguerreotypists, by the mid 1850s McClees was also producing some of the earliest photographic views of Philadelphia printed on paper., McClees, a prominent Philadelphia photographer and daguerreotypist, produced some of the earliest paper photographic views of Philadelphia between 1853 and 1859.
- Creator
- M'Clees, Jas. E. (James E.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1855
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department photo - McClees - Businesses [(7)1322.F.57d]