© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Old white oak tree marking an old boundary of Cedar Grove Farm
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a field with a large, bare tree in the center marking the boundary of Cedar Grove, the old Morris family home. A dirt road runs in front of the tree and railroad tracks run behind. Built by Elizabeth Coates Paschall in 1748-1750, Cedar Grove was a summer retreat and home for the Paschall-Morris family into the nineteenth century. The last family owner, Marriott Morris' second cousin once removed, Lydia Thompson Morris, lived in the house from 1869 to 1888. In 1926 she donated the house to the Fairmount Park Commission, when it was dismantled and moved from its original Frankford location to Fairmount Park., Photographer remarks: Undertimed or underdeveloped, Time: at sunset, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 22, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1247]
- Title
- Tulpehocken Station, 1928
- Description
- Triplicate panoramic views showing the train station built in 1878 after the designs of William Brown and Washington (sometimes listed William) Bleddyn Powell at 314 West Tulpehocken Street, Germantown. Men and women wait on the station platform in the right of the image. A car is parked next to the Victorian-style station building across from the platform on which the passengers wait. A multi-story building rises from behind the station. A rough-patched grassy pasture to the left of the station fills most of the image. Groves of trees and a three-story white building are also visible., Title and date from manuscript notes on verso., Manuscript note on versos: L-85., Attributed to Marriott C. Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- [1928]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris [P.2016.37.6-8]
- Title
- Harkness House & church across Market Sq[uare] fr[om Deshler-Morris House], 5442 [Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church (center) and Fromberger-Harkness House, 5100 Germantown Avenue (right) from across Market Square. A brick road lined with trolley tracks is in the foreground. The church, with a steeple, rose window, and rounded arch entryway, stands on the opposite side of the street. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964). Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: 2 plates, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.12]
- Title
- [Women's Christian Association, 5501 Germantown Avenue including a view of the Market Square]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the Women's Christian Association in the Fromberger-Harkness House at 5501 Germantown Avenue from a high vantage point. A lamppost marks the corner of two brick roads and the corner of Market Square. A metal fence borders the square, separating it from the surrounding sidewalk. The Association tenanted here from 1873 to 1915. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964)., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.6]
- Title
- Harkness House & church across Market Sq[uare] fr[om Deshler-Morris House], 5442 [Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church (center) and Fromberger-Harkness House (right) from across Market Square. A brick road lined with trolley tracks is in the foreground. The church, with a steeple, rose window, and rounded arch entryway stands on the opposite side of the street. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964). Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: 2 plates, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.12a]
- Title
- Old "Buttonwood Tavern," 4434 Main Street, below Fisher's Lane, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Mechlin-Wagner House, a two-story tavern with shuttered windows at 4840 Germantown Avenue. A fence surrounds the lawn. Trolley tracks run down the brick road in front of the building and two large trees grow on either side of the entryway. The Mechlin-Wagner House was built in 1747 by John Zachary. It was sold to Samuel Mechlin in 1764 and continued to pass through the Mechlin-Wagner family. The house was demolished in 1915., Time: 9:10, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 2, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1530]
- Title
- New Wissahickon Hotel [Wissahickon Inn] from S., [Willow Grove Avenue, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Wissahickon Inn, a large multi-story building with multiple spires and chimneys seen from below. Willow Grove Avenue lined with trees and a lamppost travels up the hill toward the hotel. The Wissahickon Inn, a summer resort developed by Henry H. Houston (1820-1895), was built in 1884 after designs by George and William Hewitt. The hotel hosted the Philadelphia Cricket Club and the Philadelphia Horse Show. In 1898, Chestnut Hill Academy began using the hotel during the off-season. The Academy permanently took over the building in 1901., Photographer remarks: Very weak neg., Time: 10:15, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- November 8, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.446]
- Title
- Back of Independence Hall from near 5[th] & Walnut Sts. [Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Independence Hall, a multi-story building with a prominent central spire designed by Andrew Hamilton (1676-1741) and Edmund Woolly (1695-1771) at Fifth and Walnut Streets. The building is seen from a distance across a field dotted with trees. Construction on Independence Hall began in 1732 and completed in 1753. It originally housed all three branches of the Pennsylvania colonial government, as well as being host to the signing of the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitutional Convention. The building went through numerous renovations and reconstructions, until in 1950 when the National Park Service restored much of the architecture and interior to its 1776 appearance. It is a part of Independence National Park and a major tourist attraction as of the 21st century., Time: 2:00, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 22, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1104]
- Title
- State House from 6[th] & Walnut [streets]. [Philadelphia]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Independence Hall, a large building with a prominent central spire designed by Andrew Hamilton (1676-1741) and Edmund Woolly (1695-1771) near Sixth and Walnut Streets. The building is viewed from across a park that is lined with paths and dotted with trees. People walk down the various paths and sit on benches. Construction on Independence Hall began in 1732 and completed in 1753. It originally housed all three branches of the Pennsylvania colonial government, as well as being host to the signing of the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitutional Convention. The building went through numerous renovations and reconstructions, until in 1950 when the National Park Service restored much of the architecture and interior to its 1776 appearance. It is a part of Independence National Park and a major tourist attraction as of the 21st century., Photographer remarks: same remark as last. [too fast for stop used], Time: 2:10, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1108]
- Title
- Oxford [Trinity] Church from E. across pike, [Olney, PA]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Trinity Church Oxford, a brick building with a steeple designed by Frank Furness (1839-1912) in the Olney section of Philadelphia. A low stone wall stands in front of the church across from the street. A gate leads into the church cemetary and trees stand on either side of the wall. Church services were first held on this site in 1698 in a log meeting house belonging to the Oxford Society of Friends. Trinity Church Oxford received the deed to the land in 1700. The oldest portion of the church building was completed in 1711. Frank Furness designed additions to the church in the late 19th century., Photographer remarks: Fair sun. Undertimed., Time: 3:20, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 31, 1886
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1059]
- Title
- [Fromberger-Harkness House seen from second floor window, Deshler-Morris House]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the Fromberger-Harkness House seen from a second-story window across the street at the Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue. The two-story house stands on the street corner and has shuttered windows and an open door. Market Square separates the house from Germantown Avenue. Two trees grow in front of the house. The window panes of the Deshler-Morris House are visible in the upper half of the photo. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964)., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.64.14]
- Title
- Monument in Market Square, church & Harkness House. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church and Fromberger-Harkness House from across Market Square. A brick road with trolley tracks runs down the center. A sidewalk and the square bordered by a metal fence separate the buildings from the road. The Civil Ware monument, consisting of a statue of a man standing on a carved pedestal, stands in the square to the left. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House and the German Reformed Church. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964). Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.64.3]
- Title
- Market Square Street from library window. Old Church & Harkness House
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of Market Square separating the Market Square Presbyterian Church and Fromberger-Harkness House from a brick road. Trees grow in planters on the sidewalk while grass and small shrubs grow in the square. A lamppost stands on the street corner while a horse-drawn cart waits in front of the house on the opposite side of the square. The view is seen from the second-story window of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Named for John Fromberger and Mary Warden Harkness, the Fromberger-Harkness House was built as late as 1795. It was occupied variously by St. Luke’s Protestant Episcopal Church (1813-1837), the Young Women’s Christian Association of Germantown (1873-1915), Mary Warden Harkness Boarding Home for Girls (1917-1941), the Germantown Fire Insurance Company (1954-1964), and the Germantown Insurance Co. (1964). Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., No. 5., Photographer remarks: Very weak., Time: 10:30, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- March 12, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.99.1]
- Title
- Monument in Market Square, & Old church across from 5442 [Germantown Avenue] taken from 2nd floor window
- Description
- Glass negative showing Market Square taken from the second-story window at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. The Civil War monument, consisting of a statue of a man standing on a carved pedestal, stands in the square to the left. A sidewalk and a metal fence border the square. The Market Square Presbyterian Church stands behind the square. A brick road with trolley tracks runs down the center. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument.Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 24, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.64.6]
- Title
- Rear view of State House from Walnut St[reet]
- Description
- Glass negative showing exterior view of the back of the Independence Hall. A wide path with benches leads through a Independence Square toward the building. Pedestrians pass through the square on the flagstone walks under the trees that dot the park. Construction on Independence Hall began in 1732 and completed in 1753 after the designs of Andrew Hamilton (1676-1741) and Edmund Woolly (1695-1771). It originally housed all three branches of the Pennsylvania colonial government, as well as being host to the signing of the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitutional Convention. The building went through numerous renovations and reconstructions, until in 1950 when the National Park Service restored much of the architecture and interior to its 1776 appearance. It is a part of Independence National Park and a major tourist attraction as of the 21st century., Title from entry in photographer's diary., Inscribed in negative: No. 14., Photographer remarks: too fast for stop used., Time: 2:00, Reproduced in The Print and Photograph Department of the Library Company of Philadelphia's Center City Philadelphia in the 19th century (Portsmouth, N.H.: Arcadia Publishing, 2006), p. 119., Arcadia caption text: Originally known as the State House Yard, Independence Square, on the 500 block of Walnut Street, was purchased in 1729 by the Pennsylvania Assembly for the erection of the State House. When the city bought the square in 1816, the undeveloped portion north of Walnut Street had been enclosed by fencing and was used as a public green for community meetings and demonstrations. The above view, taken in 1887, shows the square after its major redesign into geometric form, and includes the new flagstone walks, from the plans of William Dixey, City Commissioner of Property., Digitization and cataloging edits have been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris [P.9895.1107]
- Title
- Wakefield Church from Main St. in front of Mrs. Adamsons, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Wakefield Church on the left side of Germantown Avenue, a cobblestone road with trolley tracks. A cemetery is next to the church, surrounded by a metal fence. Tall trees line the road and the churchyard. The Wakefield Presbyterian Church was built in 1873 with a bequest of land from church member William Adamson. The church originally started as a Sunday School in 1856. When the congregation grew, a new stone church building was built in 1882., Time: 4:20, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 4, 1888
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1371]
- Title
- Horse chestnut tree in our garden from centre of yard, [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a large, leafy chestnut tree set in a lawn at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. Various flower beds and a bench decorate the garden, which is surrounded by foliage on either side. The back facade of the house is barely visible behind the tree. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: MS note beside entry: Began new box with 944., Time: 4:10, Light: Fair sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 6, 1886
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.944]
- Title
- [Deshler-Morris] House, 4782 Main St. from yard [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the two-story Deshler-Morris House (later 5442 Germantown Avenue) with shuttered windows and a balcony on the second floor. Photo taken from the yard, facing the house diagonally. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Forms part of Marriott C. Morris Collection., Photographer remarks: First attempt. Varnished. Ghost in centre., Time: 4 P.M., Light: Good cloudy day., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., The emulsion is heavily damaged in the lower right corner., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 10, 1882
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1]
- Title
- Old Morris House from workmen club house. Corner School La[ne] & Main St[reet, Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of the De la Plaine House, a three-story building seen from across a brick road lined with trolley tracks at 5521-5523 Germantown Avenue. The first floor of the building houses a storefront with various kinds of merchandise piled on the sidewalk under an awning. Trees line the sidewalk to the side of the house and a streetlight is visible in the foreground. James De la Plaine settled in Germantown in 1691. Before his death in 1750, he built a house. It was afterward owned by E.B. Paramore and used as a corner store before the Germantown Mutual Fire Insurance Company bought the property in 1885. The Rev. B. Wistar Morris also lived here before he became a bishop in Oregon., No. 14., Photographer remarks: Taken in rain. Sam [Morris] with me at the time., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 24, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.100.3]
- Title
- View of Philadelphia from roof of father's new building, 715-719 Arch St. Looking S.W
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Philadelphia cityscape seen from the roof of Elliston Perot Morris' property at 715-719 Arch Street. Buildings of various sizes, including the U.S. Post Office extend toward the horizon with a clear sky above. A sign on a building in the foreground reads: 730 H. Heller, Manufacturer of Lace Goods, Ladies' & Childrens' Wear. A sign on a building in the background reads: Hastings & Co., Gold Leaf. Other signs are partially visible., Time: 9:55, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 21, 1886
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1028]
- Title
- [Market Square Presbyterian] Church & Market Square from our front gate. Policeman Saddington in it. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church across Germantown Avenue and Market Square from the front gate of the Deshler-Morris House. A metal fence surrounds the square which houses the Civil War monument on the left side of the frame. Two men stand next to the fence near a lamppost, including Policeman Saddington. Various buidlings, including the church, line the street on the opposite side of the park. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Time: 12:30, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 26, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1128]
- Title
- [Market Square Presybterian] Church from [Germantown] Saving Fund pavement, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church across Germantown Avenue and Market Square. A metal fence surrounds the square which holds the Civil War monument comprised of a carved pedestal and a statue of a man. Three boys lean against the fence in front of the monument. Various buildings, including the church, line the street on the other side of the park. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 12:30, Light: No sun., The top edge of the plate is rough and uneven., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 26, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1129]
- Title
- Friends Free Library from McNichols' harness store, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Friends Free Library at 5418 Germantown Avenue, a stone building covered in ivy. There is a low brick wall and a short staircase leading to the entryway of the library. A lamppost and hitching post stand on the sidewalk next to the cobblestone road. The Friends Free Library was originally housed in the Germantown Friends School, starting in 1845. In 1874, a separate library building was built, endowed by Alfred Cope. The Friends Free Library was an independent organization until 1977 when it was taken over by the school., Time: 9:05, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 9, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1134]
- Title
- Friends Free Library [from McNichols' harness store] [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Friends Free Library at 5418 Germantown Avenue, a stone building covered in ivy. There is a low brick wall and a short staircase leading to the entryway of the library. A lamppost and hitching post stand on the sidewalk next to the cobblestone road. Three children sit, stand, and lean against the wall. The Friends Free Library was originally housed in the Germantown Friends School, starting in 1845. In 1874, a separate library building was built, endowed by Alfred Cope. The Friends Free Library was an independent organization until 1977 when it was taken over by the school., From same position as last., Time: 9:10, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 9, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1135]
- Title
- The [Friends Free] Library from St. Luke's gate. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Friends Free Library at 5418 Germantown Avenue, a stone building covered in ivy. A low brick wall and metal fence surround the library and a sidewalk lined with trees separates it from the cobblestone road. The Friends Free Library was originally housed in the Germantown Friends School, starting in 1845. In 1874, a separate library building was built, endowed by Alfred Cope. The Friends Free Library was an independent organization until 1977 when it was taken over by the school., Time: 9:15, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 9, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1136]
- Title
- [Friends Free] Library [from St. Luke's Gate], [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Friends Free Library at 5418 Germantown Avenue, a stone building covered in ivy. A low brick wall and metal fence surround the library and a sidewalk lined with trees separates it from the cobblestone road. The Friends Free Library was originally housed in the Germantown Friends School, starting in 1845. In 1874, a separate library building was built, endowed by Alfred Cope. The Friends Free Library was an independent organization until 1977 when it was taken over by the school., Same position as last view., Time: 9:20, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 9, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1137]
- Title
- Cherry tree in our garden, in bloom, [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a cherry tree in the garden at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. A fence lined with low shrubbery runs down the left side of the lawn. A house is visible in the background on the left. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 9:30, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 5, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1116]
- Title
- Old Presbyterian Church, opp. side of [Market] Square, from our front gate, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church from across Germantown Avenue and Market Square, taken from the steps of the Deshler-Morris House. A metal fence surrounds the square which contains the Civil War monument comprised of a carved pedestal and statue of a man on the left side of the frame. Various buildings, including the church, line the road across from the park. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Undertimed. Reduced 12/1894, Time: 1, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 5, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1117]
- Title
- [Old Presbyterian] Church from [Charles W. & William A.] Schaeffers pavement. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church across Germantown Avenue and Market Square taken from the front of Charles and William Schaeffer's home. A metal fence surrounds the square which holds the Civil War monument comprised of a carved pedestal and statue of a man on the left side of the frame. Various buildings, including the church, line the road across from the park. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 1:10, Light: Faint sun., Slightly different view of the same subject as in plate 1117., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 5, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1118]
- Title
- [Old Presbyterian] Church from Saving Fund pavement. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Market Square Presbyterian Church across Germantown Avenue and Market Square. A metal fence surrounds the square which holds the Civil War monument comprised of a carved pedestal and a statue of a man on the right side of the plate. Three boys lean against the fence in front of the monument. Various buildings, including the church, line the street on the other side of the park. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855 and became Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 1:15, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 5, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1119]
- Title
- Bird cherry tree at top of yard in full bloom. [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the garden lined with trees and tall shrubs at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. On the right is a pedestal holding an urn and there is a bench on the left. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: A little undertimed., Time: 9:15, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 12, 1887
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.1122]
- Title
- Our [Deshler-Morris] house, 4782 Main Street, G[erma]nt[own]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue, a two-story house with shuttered windows, multiple chimneys and two gabled windows on the roof. Trolley tracks run down the center of the brick street. A wooden fence extends to the left of the house. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1880-ca. 1900
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.3.1]
- Title
- [Deshler-Morris] House, 4782 Main St. from yard [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the back porch of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue taken from the yard facing the side of the house. Ivy grows over a balcony on the second floor and along the walls of the house. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Varnished. Very good picture., Time: 4 P.M., Light: Good cloudy day., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- June 10, 1882
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.2]
- Title
- Our house [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue] at Germantown from Eberle's side steps
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue, a two-story stone house with shuttered windows and a fence on either side from across the cobblestone street. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Failure, neg. des., Time: 9:30, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 19, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.240]
- Title
- Chew House, [Cliveden], from drive, [Germantown]
- Description
- Exterior view of the colonial residence built 1763-1767 by master carpenter Jacob Knor for Philadelphia attorney Benjamin Chew at 6401 Germantown Avenue. Shows the facade of the two-story stone building with a pediment over the front door, shuttered windows, and dormers and chimneys on the roof. Chew House, also known as Cliveden, was the site of the turning point in the Battle of Germantown in 1777. The Chew family enslaved people of African descent in the city of Philadelphia and in Germantown during the 18th and 19th centuries. The estate was the Chew family residence until 1972 when it was acquired by the National Trust for Historic Preservation., Time: 12:30, Light: Fair, no sun., The negative is very light and has faded to a light yellow., Purchase 2001., Description revised 2022., Access points revised 2022., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 19, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.244]
- Title
- View in our garden, [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue], looking up from kitchen
- Description
- Glass negative showing a large garden of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue, with a pedestal on the left and a large tree in the center. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Poor neg., Time: 5:15, Light: Not very strong sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Some damage to the emulsion in the lower left., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 10, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.262]
- Title
- [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue] In our garden. Looking toward Carriage Road from flag path
- Description
- Glass negative showing the garden surrounded by trees at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. A planter stands on the right and the roof of the neighboring house is visible on the left. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Poor neg., Time: 5:20, Light: Not very strong sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 10, 1884
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.263]
- Title
- Mennonite Meeting house. Main St., [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a stone Mennonite meeting house at 6119 Germantown Avenue standing next to a cemetary surrounded by a metal fence. Trolley tracks run through the center of the street. A tree grows to the left of the meeting house and other buildings are visible in the background. A Mennonite meeting house was originally built on Main Street in 1705. The stone building replaced the wooden structure in 1770. The meeting house had one addition in 1908, and was restored to its colonial appearance in 1952., Photographer remarks: Beautiful negative., Time: 10:35 A.M., Light: Bright., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 7, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.185]
- Title
- Garden from top of yard. [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the garden at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue filled with trees, bushes, and other foliage. A path runs along the left side and there is bench in front of a large tree on the right. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Photographer remarks: Pretty good neg., Time: 4:10 PM, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 13, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.187]
- Title
- Our Meeting-house from W. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Germantown Meeting House, a long two-story building with a wide porch. There is a lawn in front of the meeting house and trees behind. The Germantown Meeting began circa 1690, shortly after the settling of the area. Smaller meeting houses existed on this land until a larger building was built in 1869 by Hibberd Yarnall from designs by Addison Hutton. During the 1827 Quaker split, the meeting remained affiliated with the Orthodox sect. The Meeting House remained a place of Quaker worship up through the 21st century., Photographer remarks: Sharp negative but no[t] as good as #173., Time: 4PM, Light: Faint, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- August 30, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.172]
- Title
- Friend's Library from girls door of school house, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing Friends' Library at 5418 Germantown Avenue, a one-story stone building with rounded doorways and window arches. A low stone wall stands next to the building and the lawn is surrounded by a metal fence. The Friends Free Library was originally housed in the Germantown Friends School, starting in 1845. In 1874, a separate library building was built, endowed by Alfred Cope. The Friends Free Library was an independent organization until 1977 when it was taken over by the school., Photographer remarks: Very good view, Time: 4:10PM, Light: Faint sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- August 30, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.173]
- Title
- Paramore's [De la Plaine House, NE corner School Lane and Main St., Germantown] from J.S. Jones pavement. Side view
- Description
- Glass negative showing the De la Plaine House at 5521-5523 Germantown Avenue seen from the back, a three-story stone house previously owned by the Morris family. Trees line the sidewalk in front of the house. James De la Plaine settled in Germantown in 1691. Before his death in 1750, he built a house. It was afterward owned by E.B. Paramore and used as a corner store before the Germantown Mutual Fire Insurance Company bought the property in 1885. The Rev. B. Wistar Morris also lived here before he became a bishop in Oregon., Photographer remarks: To replace broken one (No. 174). Very good. Too dense & harsh., Time: 9:30 A.M., Light: Very good, Photo depicts the same house shown in plate 170., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 4, 1883
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.177]
- Title
- [Soldiers] Monument [Market Square] fr[om] up town, [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Civil War monument in Market Square, comprised of a sculpture of a soldier set on a tall, carved pedestal. The monument is set in the square surrunded by a low metal fence. A lamppost stands to the right at the entrance to the square. The Market Square Presbyterian Church across the street is partially visible through the trees. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Weak neg. developed too fast., Time: 11:45, Light: Faint good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- September 26, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.764]
- Title
- Old Morris House, Cedar Grove fr[om] S
- Description
- Glass negative showing the old Morris family home Cedar Grove, a three-story stone home with shuttered windows and two chimneys. The house has a porch surrounding two sides of the first floor and trees and other foliage throughout the yard. Built by Elizabeth Coates Paschall in 1748-1750, Cedar Grove was a summer retreat and home for the Paschall-Morris family into the nineteenth century. The last family owner, Marriott Morris' second cousin once removed, Lydia Thompson Morris, lived in the house from 1869 to 1888. In 1926 she donated the house to the Fairmount Park Commission, when it was dismantled and moved from its original Frankford location to Fairmount Park., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 4:30, Light: No sun. Poor light., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 20, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.772]
- Title
- [Old Morris House, Cedar Grove] fr[om] S.E. Front
- Description
- Glass negative showing the old Morris family home Cedar Grove, a three-story stone home with shuttered windows and two chimneys. A wide porch encircles the house. A woman sits on the right corner of the porch. Built by Elizabeth Coates Paschall in 1748-1750, Cedar Grove was a summer retreat and home for the Paschall-Morris family into the nineteenth century. The last family owner, Marriott Morris' second cousin once removed, Lydia Thompson Morris, lived in the house from 1869 to 1888. In 1926 she donated the house to the Fairmount Park Commission, when it was dismantled and moved from its original Frankford location to Fairmount Park., Same house., Photographer remarks: Undertimed., Time: 4:35, Light: Light very bad, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- October 20, 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.9895.773]
- Title
- Front door 5442 (then 4782) Main St. Germantown. [Deshler-Morris House]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the front doorway of the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. Two columns stand on either side of the door supporting an engaged pediment. A cartouche decorates the wall between the pediment and the second story windows. Two shuttered windows flank the doorway. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- ca. 1894
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.7.10]
- Title
- [Soldier's] Monument & Presbyterian Church from Dr. Schaeffer's pavement. [Germantown]
- Description
- Glass negative showing the Civil War monument in Market Square in front of the Market Square Presbyterian Church at 5507 Germantown Avenue. The church has a spire on the left side and a rose window over a rounded entryway. A metal fence surrounds the square, where tall trees grow. Flowers surrounded the monument. The monument is comprised of a tall, carved base surmounted by a statue of a man. First called The Green, Market Square was established from land originally owned by James De la Plaine as early as 1703. As a center of community activity, Market Square contained not only market stalls but also the prison and stocks. Samuel B. Morris planted many of the Square’s original trees. Prominent buildings situated around the Square include the Deshler-Morris House, the German Reformed Church, and the Fromberger-Harkness House. The Market Square monument, built in 1883, commemorates the contributions of soldiers to the Civil War. Designed as a Union soldier, it rests on a pedestal made from granite taken from Devil’s Den, Gettysburg. The fence surrounding the monument was constructed from old musket barrels and bayonets. Cannons used during the war stand beside the monument. Originally built as a Dutch Reformed Church circa 1710, the Market Square Presbyterian Church became a German Reformed Church by 1732. The building was razed and rebuilt in 1838-1839, and then enlarged in 1857. The congregation, led by pastor Jacob Helffenstein, withdrew from the Reformed Church in 1855, become Presbyterian in 1858. In 1888, the church was rebuilt after the designs of architect George T. Pearson. By the early 21st-century, it housed the Impacting Your World Christian Center., Photographer remarks: Last exposure made with Rebecca Cooper's camera (cousin) & lens now returned to her. This negative developed 4 mo. 23 1891., Time: 2:30, Light: Good sun., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 9, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.1541]
- Title
- Locust tree in bloom in back of our house, [Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of a locust tree standing in a garden at the Deshler-Morris House at 5442 Germantown Avenue. Shrubs and other trees grow throughout the rest of the garden, which is separated from the lawn by a wire fence. David Deshler built the original four-room summer cottage on this Germantown lot in 1752, adding the three-story front addition in 1772. The house was sold to Col. Isaac Franks in 1792 after Deshler’s death. President George Washington rented the home for the duration of the yellow fever epidemic of 1793 and the summer of 1794. Elliston and John Perot purchased the house in 1804, selling it to Elliston’s son-in-law Samuel B. Morris after his death in 1834. The house stayed in the possession of the Morris family for over a century, when Elliston P. Morris donated the house to the National Parks Service in 1948. The name was officially changed to the Germantown White House in 2009., Time: 10:00 AM, Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 21, 1899
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.8.4]
- Title
- Old house. Side of Boys Club Camp
- Description
- Film negative showing three men from the Germantown Boys' Club walking across a field toward a two-story wooden building. Two cows stand on either side of the men. Founded in 1887, the Boys’ Parlors Association of Germantown served as a safe space for neighborhood children whose parents worked longer hours in an industrializing city. The name changed in 1907 to the Germantown Boys’ Club after joining ranks with the Boys and Girls Clubs of America. Marriott Canby Morris served as the president of the club in the first decade of the 1900s., Originally located in negative album [P.2013.13a], Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- May 14, 1912
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [P.2013.13.481]
- Title
- Nos. 5226, 5228, & 5234 (The Old Ship House) on Main St. Germantown
- Description
- Glass negative showing a view of two two-story stone buildings at 6336-6338 Germantown Avenue. A wooden fence extends from the left of the building and a telephone pole stands on the sidewalk in front. Trolley tracks run down the center of the road. Visible on the far right, the Ship House, built around 1760, was named for a plaster of Paris ship visible on the side of the building. It was variously a meeting hall for schools and churches, a hotel, and a ladies’ boarding school in 1836 under the ownership of James Ford. It also served as a stop for stage coaches from Chestnut Hill to Philadelphia. It belonged to Charles Bockius circa 1844. Visible in the center of the negative, the Metzger-Unrod house’s front section was built by Jacob Unrod circa 1806, and owned by Joshua Metzger, a soldier. Both houses were demolished in 1907., Digitization and cataloging has been made possible through the generosity of David Marriott Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, and William Perot Morris in memory of Marriott Canby Morris and his children: Elliston Perot Morris, Marriott Canby Morris Jr., and Janet Morris and in acknowledgment of his grandchildren: William Perot Morris, Eleanor Rhoads Morris Cox, Jonathan White Morris, and David Marriott Morris., Edited.
- Creator
- Morris, Marriott Canby, 1863-1948, photographer
- Date
- April 25, 1889
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Marriott C. Morris Collection [*P.9895.3.7]