Shows a fountain in the middle of a grassy area at the mental institution, known as Kirkbride's, at 4401 Market Street in West Philadelphia. The building, built 1836-1840 after the designs of Isaac Holden to remedy the overcrowded conditions at the Pennsylvania Hospital, was demolished 1959., Title from manuscript note on mount., Yellow paper mount with square corners., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of views of Philadelphia., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Date
ca. 1865
Location
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Hospitals [(8)1322.F.7d]
Location: Roosevelt Blvd. at Adams Ave., Frankford., Frontispiece to Fifteenth Annual Report of the State of the Asylum for the Relief of Persons Deprived of the Use of their Reason, (Philadelphia: Printed by T.A. Conrad, corner Sixth and Cherry Streets, 1832). Report also contains "Map of the Asylum Farm" and "Groundfloor of the Asylum" printed on tissue by Childs & Inman Lithrs. Philadelphia., Wainwright retrospective conversion project., Select link below to view a digital image., Library Company of Philadelphia: in Am 1814 Phi Asy (box) 9092.O.11a., Historical Society of Pennsylvania:
Creator
Doughty, Thomas, 1793-1856 artist., creator
Date
[1832]
Location
http://www.lcpgraphics.org/wainwright/W143.htm, Library Company of Philadelphia Print Dept. W143 [Am 1814 Phi Asy (box) 9092.O.11a]
Published as the frontispiece of the annual reports of the asylum (entitled: ... Annual Report of the State of the Asylum for the Relief of Persons Deprived of the Use of Their Reason) from 1836 to 1840., Select link below for a digital image., Exterior view of the front of the almshouse founded by the Society of Friends in 1813 located in the Frankford section of Philadelphia.
Creator
Lehman, George, d. 1870, artist., creator
Date
[1836].
Location
http://www.lcpgraphics.org/wainwright/W144.htm, Library Company of Philadelphia Print Dept. W144 [P.2049]