© Copyright 2025 - The Library Company of Philadelphia, 1314 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107. TEL (215) 546-3181 FAX (215) 546-5167
For inquiries, please contact our IT Department
- Title
- Reward of merit
- Description
- Contains central vignette showing a steamboat departing a dock. People line the dock across from a passing train., One of prints [P.2011.10.152]: Presented to R. Wallace Harnt. By E. A. [Cord?]., Includes verse: Remember thy Creator. Child with the glad, glad heart. And joy shall be thy portion, When thou with life shall part., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1850]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Rewards of Merit [P.2011.10.152 & 153]
- Title
- Reward of merit
- Description
- Contains central patriotic-themed vignette showing an American eagle, with the U.S. shield, and sailing a river on an American flag. A steam boat and train are visible in the background., Includes verse: Worship to God alone belongs, Worship to him alone we give, His be our heart & his our songs. And to his glory we would live., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1850]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Rewards of Merit [P.2011.10.156]
- Title
- North from Landsdowne Terrace
- Description
- Landscape view looking north from Landsdowne (i.e., Lansdowne) terrace in West Fairmount Park showing freight cars on railroad tracks traveling north., Title from manuscript note on verso., Photographer's imprint in red text on mount., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Morris Finkel.
- Creator
- Cremer, James, 1821-1893
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Cremer - Parks [P.8643.5]
- Title
- Horseshoe Curve
- Description
- View of a train going around the Horseshoe Curve on a double set of railroad tracks. A steep embankment drops down from either side of the tracks and a forested mountain rises up in the background. The Horseshoe Curve opened to train traffic on February 15, 1854 and allowed trains to travel over Pennsylvania's Allegheny Mountains., Image is made from the same negative as P.9644.22., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., William T. Purviance became an official photographer for the Pennsylvania Railroad in 1867.
- Creator
- Purviance, W. T. (William T.), photographer
- Date
- ca. 1870
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo-Purviance-transportation [P.9644.20]
- Title
- Reward of merit
- Description
- Contains central vignette showing a Native American man seated on a hillside and watching a train approaching a town. Another train travels past the town., Includes verse: Tis sweet oh sweet to know, If we our time improve, We shall be happy while below, And dwell in heaven above., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1850]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Rewards of Merit [P.2011.10.158]
- Title
- Susquehanna Valley and Starucca Viaduct
- Description
- Landscape view showing railroad tracks near the Susquehanna River. Incorporated as the New York and Erie Railroad in 1832, the railroad was reorganized as the Erie Railway in 1861. The Starucca Viaduct in Lanesboro, Pa., constructed by the railroad in 1848 after the designs of engineers James P. Kirkwood and Julius W. Adams, is visible in the distant background. A man stands in the foreground., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title printed on mount., Possibly photographed by C.W. Buell., Walker, a stationery store owner and publisher of New York stereographic views, had a working relationship with photographer C.W. Buell, who operated a studio from Walker's business address., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Walker, Lewis E., 1826-1916
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Miscellaneous - Walker [P.9168.8]
- Title
- Harrisburg, Pa. (Bridgeport)
- Description
- Pictorial lettersheet containing a bird's eye view showing Bridgeport (later Lemoyne) across the Susquehanna River from Harrisburg. Townscape lines the riverbanks and a train travels across a bridge parallel to a covered one. In the background, mountains are visible, and in the foreground, rail cars rest on tracks near the bottom of a hillside. Bridgeport was renamed Lemoyne in 1905., Printed below image: No. 1., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Creator
- Magnus, Charles
- Date
- [ca. 1855]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Receipts [P.2011.10.135]
- Title
- [View of rocky hillside near railroad in Mill Creek Valley, Schuylkill County]
- Description
- View of the rocky terrain adjacent to a railroad, most likely the Mill Creek Railroad, which extended from Port Carbon, Pa. up the valley of Mill Creek to the mines. A man stands near the tracks in the righthand edge of the image., Title supplied by cataloger., Photographer's imprint from label pasted on verso., Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Yellow mount with square corners., A.M. Allen, born in Deerfield, Mass., relocated to Pottsville, Pa. ca. 1852 and set up his studio at the southwest corner of West Market and North Centre Streets. He retired from the business in 1894., Cataloging of copy no. P.9844.20 funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift from the heirs of Paul D.I. and Anna S. Maier: James H. Maier, Anthony M. Maier, Marianna M. Thomas, and Cynthia C. Maier.
- Creator
- Allen, A. M. (Amos Morrel), 1823-1900, photographer
- Date
- [ca. 1868]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Allen - Views [P.9844.20]
- Title
- West Park Trolley Station postcards
- Description
- Depicts the number 33 trolley sitting in front of the West Park Trolley Station., Contains 1 postcard printed in color and 1 in black and white., Sheet numbers: 86A19 and 86B11., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1900-1920
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Fairmount Park - Miscellaneous - 86]
- Title
- Elevated railroad, Fortieth Street Station, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Depicts two trains traveling through the Fortieth Street elevated station., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A08., Divided back. Text on verso., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Interior of elevated car, Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Depicts the interior of an elevated railroad car, including several passengers., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A09., Divided back., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- "All Aboard!" car on Philadelphia and West Chester Trolley
- Description
- Depicts a Philadelphia and West Chester Traction Company trolley car on the tracks., Numbered 134 on verso., Sheet number: 158B01., Undivided back. Post marked 1907., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1907
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Delaware Avenue elevated railroad postcards
- Description
- Depicts sections of the Market Street elevated railroad along Delaware Avenue looking north and south, showing the Delaware Avenue station and the Market Street and Chestnut Street Ferry stations., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet numbers: 158A02, 158A06, 158A07 and 158A11., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1907-1916
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Elevated railroad bed postcards
- Description
- Depicts the railroad bed along the Market Street elevated railroad near an unidentified station., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A03., Divided backs., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Elevated railroad at 69th Street station postcards
- Description
- Depicts the elevated railroad bed and tracks near 69th Street Station, showing residences in the background., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A04., Divided backs., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1910
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Elevated railroad from 32nd Street, West Philadelphia postcards
- Description
- Depicts the elevated tracks of the Market Street subway near 32nd Street looking east toward City Hall at night., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A05., Divided backs., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- 1908-1911
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Near east park, Phila
- Description
- Etching looking southeast showing two men walking between two large mounds of land, one with a goat standing near the edge, the other surmounted by a frame shack surrounded by a fence. Also includes dwellings, a tower and a train traveling south on tracks running along Pennsylvania Avenue in the right background., Manuscript note on album page: S.E. corner 27th & Aspen., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kollner advertised four volumes of small folio pictures, including "Bits of Nature and Some Art Products, in Fairmount Park ..." in 1878. Several of the lithographs from this volume were based on sketches he executed in the 1840s.
- Creator
- Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
- Date
- [ca. 1880]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department albums - Kollner [*Am 1878 Kol, 2086.F.16]
- Title
- The Philadelphia & Chester Valley Railroad Company
- Description
- Stock certificate for the railroad chartered in 1850 as the Chester Valley Railroad Company. Contains central vignette showing a train, including a "U.S. Mail" car, traveling through countryside. A steamboat travels on a river in the background. Company reincorporated as Philadelphia and Chester Valley Railroad company in 1888. The train operated between Philadelphia and Downingtown., Pictorial details printed above title labeled "Number 191" and "Shares.", Contains ornamental border. Printed within border: Shares $50 Each., Transfer agreement printed in letterpress on verso. Includes monogram "L.S.", Reissue statements dated "188_" printed on flap., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler., Allen, Lane & Scott partnered by 1875.
- Date
- [ca. 1888]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Miscellaneous [P.2011.10.180]
- Title
- Reading's Sesqui-Centennial, Reading, Pa. Jubilee Week June 5th to 12th, 1898. 150th Anniverary
- Description
- Pictorial envelope designed by Sesqui-centennial committee members Samuel Dilbert, W. Morris Deischer and Howard L. Boas containing a menagerie of imagery bordering two vignettes. Vignettes depict a view of the Reading "Court House, 1782-1841" and a view captioned "1748" showing Native Americans near a teepee watching a traveling Conestoga wagon from across a river. Other images show a locomotive, factories, train shed, and a winged female allegorical figure holding a trumpet and bolt of lightning, probably representing progress. An anvil, gear, and angle rest at the figure's feet. Over 700, 000 envelopes were printed and distributed nationally. The sesqui-centennial celebration included band concerts; civic, firemen, and industrial parades; grand illuminations; fireworks; and an equestrian and bicycle day., Addressed in manuscript to: Ronalds & Johnson Co., 139 N. 7th St., Philadelphia, Pa., Printed in red ink on recto: Return to E. S. Summons' Plumbing & Heating Co., 209 N. 6th St., Reading, Pa., Ink-stamp postmark on verso: Received Philadelphia, PA Mar 31, 1898 6 30 PM., Publication information from Morton Luther Montgomery, History of Reading, Pennsylvania: and the anniversary proceedings of the sesquice-centennial, June 5-12, 1898 (1898)., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [c1897]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Envelopes [P.2011.10.89]
- Title
- Memorial Hall
- Description
- Oblique view showing the front and west flank of the exhibition hall, also known as the Art Gallery, built 1874-1876 after designs by Hermann J. Schwarzmann. In the foreground, a locomotive pulls open-air coaches west, parallel to the Avenue of the Republic. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Photographer's imprint printed on mount and on verso. Imprint on verso contains initials "CPC" in decorative border surmounted by date range 1776-1876., Stamped on mount in black ink: Grade 2, White curved mount with rounded corners., Gift of Robert M. Vogel., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Centennial Photographic Co.
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Centennial Photographic Co. [P.9047.166]
- Title
- Evans printer. The fast cardpress, Philadelphia, cor. Fourth and Library Sts
- Description
- Illustrated trade card depicting a patriotic column surmounted by an eagle and adorned by American flags and an American shield. Includes a partial view of a train in the background. Evans, the self-promoted first "fast card press in the city" operated his firm at Fourth and Library Streets until 1880. In 1860, his press executed the advertisements for the Philadelphia City Directory., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Digitized.
- Date
- [ca. 1860]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Evans [5786.F.10e]
- Title
- Scenery of Pennsylvania. Cattawissa Rail Road
- Description
- Incomplete collection of the series, published by John Moran between 1862 and 1868, of scenic views along the Catawissa Railroad, including views in Lycoming, Carbon, and Schuylkill County. Two unlabeled views titled "Bridge over the Susquehanna at Williamsport" and "Tunnel at Summit Station" included as part of the series. Incorporated in 1831 and opened in 1854, the passenger and commercial railroad traveled through the mountains near Blue Ridge connecting Port Clinton and Williamsport, Pennsylvania., Views predominately depict Catawissa Island, a retreat on the Susquehanna River below the town of Catawissa. Views include scenes near a farm and the river. Series also contains views of Lycoming Creek; McCauley Mountain and Railroad; Pine Swamp at Ringtown; base of Summit Hill, Quakake Railroad; and head waters of the Schuylkill River, Summit Station. Many of the views contain posed male figures, including possibly John Moran. Two of the views include a railroad car and railroad tracks., Buff and cream mounts with square corners., Photographer's label pasted on verso of sixteen views in the series., Imprint of distributor, James W. Queen & Co., 924 Chestnut Street, Phila. stamped on verso of two of the series., Label of distributor, McAllister & Brother, 728 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia pasted on verso of one of the series., Five of the series are numbered: No. 150, 153, 158, 162 1/2, 174, and 184., Title stamped on mount of sixteen of the series., Three of series originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of Pennsylvania views and political miscellany., Includes accession numbers: 5759.F.9b; 5759.F.3h; 5759.F.1j; P.8546; P.8992.1-.11; P.8979.6-9., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Moran, a Philadelphia photographer, specialized in landscape photography and often took artistic excursions with his painter brothers, Thomas and Edward. The men visited and documented the Catawissa Valley around 1862.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Views [5759.F.9b; 5759.F.3h; 5759.F.1j; P.8546; P.8992.1-11; P.8979.6-9]
- Title
- The great trestle, Mt. Washington Railway
- Description
- View of the first mountain climbing railway in the world, completed in 1869, in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire. The brain-child of Sylvester Marsh, the cog railway utilized coal-powered locomotives. Shows "Tip Top," the first four-cylinder locomotive used on the railway pulling a passenger car labeled "Mt. Washington" down a steep decline of track. Passengers stand near the car windows. A boy stands in front of the trestle., Photographer's imprint printed on verso., Negative number printed on mount: 1825., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of American Views., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kilburn Brothers, was a partnership between brothers Benjamin West Kilburn and Edward Kilburn from 1865 to 1877.
- Creator
- Kilburn Brothers
- Date
- [ca. 1874]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Kilburn Bros. - Views [5739.F.62d]
- Title
- The Camden & Atlantic Railroad. The short and popular route to Atlantic City Pocket time card-season of 1882. Depots in Philadelphia foot of Vine-Street and Shackamaxon Street
- Description
- Illustrated trade card depicting a vignette of a well-dressed family on the beach, including the father wearing a top hat and cane and the mother holding a yellow parasol. Two girls play near the waves while their parents look on. Vignette inset into a larger scene depicing a sailboat in the ocean, a lighthouse, and seashells lining the shore in the foreground. The Camden & Atlantic Railroad began regular service between Camden and Atlantic City, New Jersey in 1855. The railroad was taken over by the West Jersey & Seashore Railroad in 1883., Contains a condensed timetable ("summer arrangement") for trains traveling between Atlantic City and Philadelphia printed on verso. Includes times for the South Atlantic City Branch and the locations of ticket offices in Philadelphia, Germantown, and Camden, New Jersey., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Digitized.
- Date
- 1882
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Camden [1975.F.25]
- Title
- [Hennigar's Photo Studio and Ye Old Dummy Depot, 4700 Frankford Avenue.]
- Description
- Exterior view of Hennigar's Photo Studio, the former site of Pickard's Photo Studio on Frankford Avenue. Includes Ye Old Dummy Depot, which served as the Frankford terminal for steam dummies that replaced horse cars on the Frankford & Southwark Railway in 1860., Real photo. Divided back. AZO stamp box with upward pointing triangles in corner., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1907
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department LCP postcards - Business - [P.9933.13]
- Title
- Train entrance of the Philadelphia subway, Front & Arch Sts. [sic], Philadelphia, Pa
- Description
- Depicts the train entrance for the Market Street subway near Front and Market Streets looking west, showing a train emerging from underground about to loop around a steep incline to continue along Delaware Avenue. Also depicts commercial store fronts on the south side of Market Street., Numbered 302 on verso., The Philadelphia Rapid Transit Company (PRT) built the Market Street subway - elevated from 15th Street to 69th Street in 1907. Construction expanding the line eastward to Delaware Avenue finished in 1908, but the elevated section connecting Frankford to the Center City line was not completed until 1922., Sheet number: 158A01., Divided back. Post marked 1914., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- ca. 1914
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Transit - 158]
- Title
- Transportation Building. 250 x 960 feet. Cost $280,000
- Description
- Trade card issued during the Columbian Exposition of 1893 advertising M&D Wrought Steel Ranges. Contains a view of the Transportation Building built after the designs of Adler & Sullivan and lower cornice vignettes showing a ship and a train. The exposition held in Chicago May 1-October 30, 1898 celebrated the 400th anniversary of Christopher Columbus's arrival in the New World in 1492., Copyright by A. L[os?]se & Co., Illustration and advertising text printed on verso. Illustration depicts a Mason & Davis cooking range, including six burners. Text reads: M & D Wrought Steel Ranges for Coal, Wood or Gas. All Sizes and Styles. For Families, Restaurants and Hotels. Mason & Davis Co., 72 Lake St., Chicago, Ill., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Michael Zinman.
- Date
- c1892
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Michael Zinman World's Fairs Collection - Trade cards [P.2008.36.82]
- Title
- Adams & Co's express. Eastern, Western, and Northern package express, for the conveyance of merchandise, specie, baggage, &c, &c, and insurance effected, whenever required on any package, to its full amount of value
- Description
- Bill of lading for the Philadelphia branch (est. circa 1843) of the rail express service company started by Alvin Adams of Boston in 1840. Contains vignette showing an "Adams & Co. Express" train crossing over a stone bridge under which a horse-drawn wagon travels. In the background, a ship sails and in the foreground, two men watch the train from a valley., Name of proprietors (Alvin Adams, W.B. Dinsmore, E. S. Sanford, E. S. Shoemaker) and office locations (Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Washington, and Richmond) printed below and to side of image., Contains N.B. explicating that Adams & Co. are "alone responsible for the loss or injury of any article or property of any description entrusted to their care...", Completed in manuscript for J. S. Myers shipping one tin box to Wm. Gadsby, Washington, DC., dated March 17, 1852, signed: For the Proprietors, [D Nussing?]., Numeric calculations inscribed on verso., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler., Small section of bottom edge torn off.
- Date
- [ca. 1850]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Receipts [P.2011.10.116]
- Title
- Thomas Borbidge, forwarding and commission merchant, no. 278 Market Street
- Description
- Bill of lading for the Philadelphia merchant containing a view showing a locomotive hauling canal boats past two buildings in a scenic region., Completed in manuscript for C. Schrack for shipping 2 Kegs and 1 Box to Helfneck & Pepper, Chambersburg, dated December 6, 1849 and signed W. B. Smith., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [1849]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Receipts [P.2011.10.123]
- Title
- Henry McShane Manufacturing Company, brass and iron founders and finishers. And proprietors of the McShane Bell Foundry, Phoenix Iron Works and Baltimore Sheet Metal Works Established 1856
- Description
- Pictorial envelope containing a bird's eye view and advertising text on the verso. View shows the McShane manufactory complex over two blocks at "415 to 441 North St." Also shows street traffic, including horse-drawn carts and an omnibus, and a train. Advertising text list the addresses of the foundry and branch houses and "Highest Awards for Church Bells and Chimes" awarded at fairs and exhibitions between 1873 and 1887, including the Centennial Exhibition 1876. The McShane firm, also known as the McShane Bell Foundry, operated under the name Henry McShane Manufacturing Company beginning circa 1891., Title from illustration on verso., Date inferred from ink-stamp postmarks on recto and verso: Baltimore, MD, Aug 15, 1893, 6 PM and Received Philadelphia, PA, Aug 16, 1893, 1 30 A[M]., Return address printed in upper left corner: REturn to Henry McShane Mfg. Co., 441 North St., Baltimore, Md. If not delivered within 5 days., Addressed in manuscript to: The J.D. Johnson Co., Plumber Supplies, 139-41 N. seventh St., Philadelphia, Pa., Contains on recto: cancelled two-cent stamp printed in green and depicting a profile portrait of George Washington., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1893]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Envelopes [P.2011.10.83]
- Title
- Guns in front of Gov't B'l'd'g
- Description
- View showing Rodman guns and carriages lined up near the entrance to the U.S. Government Building, designed by James Windrim, looking southeast along Belmont Avenue. Also shows a train next to the covered platform across the street and the music pavilion in the middle of the intersection of Belmont and Fountain Avenues. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Photographer's imprint printed on mount and on verso. Imprint on verso contains initials "CPC" in decorative border surmounted by date range 1776-1876., White curved mount with rounded corners., Gift of Robert M. Vogel., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Centennial Photographic Co.
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Centennial Photographic Co. [P.9047.165]
- Title
- Elevated railway, Centennial Grounds
- Description
- View showing the monorail, also known as the "Safety Elevated Railway," consisting of a steam locomotive and passenger car straddling a beam elevated above the ground. Male passengers stand on the outside of the car while others inside the car poke their heads out of the windows. Designed by General Roy Stone, the monorail transported spectators between Horticultural Hall and Agricultural Hall over Belmont Ravine. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Photographer's imprint printed on mount and on verso. Imprint on verso contains initials "CPC" in decorative border surmounted by date range 1776-1876., Manuscript note on verso: Laura C. Bumpus., White curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Centennial Photographic Co.
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Centennial Photographic Co. [P.9229.8]
- Title
- United States Express Company, principal office, 82 Broadway, branch offices, 291 (corner Reade) and 416 Broadway. New York D.N. Barney, prest. T.B. Marsh, treas. C.A. Dewitt, genl. supt. East. Henry Kip, genl. supt. West
- Description
- Bill of lading containing an illustration comprised of a montage of scenes. In the left, a horse-drawn cart loaded with freight arrives at a train station at which several crates are piled by the tracks. In the right, a train travels through a town, past a church steeple. In the center, an American eagle perches, under a beacon of stars, on a safe box labeled "Security Speed." The privately-owned United States Express Company, operated 1854-1914, and served the northern states from New England west to Colorado. Ashbel H. and Danforth Barney founded the company., Completed in manuscript for "one box" shipping to F. Lamprecht, St. Paul, Minn., dated April 8, 1864, and signed (416) [D.M.L.?], Advertising text printed below image: General Express Forwarders and Collecting Agents to All Points throughout the West, North West, South West, Canada West, and on the Line of the New-York and Erie R.R. and its branches, under Charge of Special Messengers, on Passenger Express Trains., Liability terms printed on recto, including United States Express Company shall not be held liable for "any loss or damage by fire, the acts of God, or of the enemies of the Government, the restraint of Governments, mobs, riots, insurrections, pirates...nor upon frail fabrics....; nor upon any fabrics consisting of or contained in glass.", Manuscript note on verso: 1864 New York. April 8th. United States Express Co. Bill., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Creator
- Lossing & Barritt, engraver
- Date
- [ca. 1860]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Receipts [P.2011.10.147]
- Title
- Scenery of the Allegheny Mountains and Pennsylvania Central R[ail] R[oad]
- Description
- Incomplete collection of the series, published by John Moran circa 1863, showing scenic views of the Allegheny Mountains and Conemaugh and Susquehanna rivers along the Pittsburgh division of the Pennsylvania Railroad. The railroad (incorporated in 1846) traveled from Philadelphia to Pittsburgh through the mountain passage known as the "Horse Shoe Curve," completed in 1854. Three views attrtibuted to Moran titled, "Head Waters of the Susquehanna, Cambria Co., PA.," "Kittaning Point, Allegheny Mountains," and "The pass through Jack's Mountain, Huntingdon, Co." included as part of the series., Views depict: the forest at the summit of the Alleghanies; an overlook and rocky valley at Kittaning Point in the Alleghenies; old bed of the Conemaugh River; sand ridge at Mapleton at the foot of Jack's Mountain; views of the head waters of the Susquehanna River in Cambria County, and a canal lock in "Jack's Narrows" on the Juniata River. Three of the views include posed male figures., Cream mounts with square corners., Photographer's label pasted on verso of six views in the series., Six of the series are numbered: No. 237, 244, 254, 259, 260, and 294., Title stamped on mounts., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Moran, a Philadelphia photographer, specialized in landscape photography and often took artistic excursions with his painter brothers, Thomas and Edward. He resided at 806 Coates Street between 1862 and 1864.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1862]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Views [P.8979.10; P.8992.14-19; P. 9462.20; P.9466.15]
- Title
- Sliding down Jacob's Ladder, Mt. Washington Railroad
- Description
- View of the first mountain climbing railway in the world, completed in 1869, in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire. The brain-child of Sylvester Marsh, the cog railway utilized coal-powered locomotives. Shows three men on slideboards sliding down the cog rack of the steepest section of the railway., Photographer's imprint printed on verso., Negative number printed on mount: 691., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of American Views., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kilburn Brothers, was a partnership between brothers Benjamin West Kilburn and Edward Kilburn from 1865 to 1877.
- Creator
- Kilburn Brothers
- Date
- [ca. 1874]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Kilburn Bros. - Views [5739.F.61j]
- Title
- The Allegheny Tunnel, at the Summit
- Description
- View showing the portal of the Pennsylvania Railroad Tunnel, completed in 1854, running beneath the summit of the Allegheny Mountains at Gallitzin, Pa. Includes passengers waiting at the train station near a stopped locomotive and a sign post advertising the Gallitzin House hotel. In the far background, the borough is visible above the tunnel., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Title printed on the mount., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Purviance, W. T. (William T.)
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Purviance - Transportation [P.9577.21]
- Title
- Willow Grove Park postcards
- Description
- Contains views of Willow Grove Park, a trolley amusement park located in the Philadelphia suburb of Willow Grove in Montgomery County. Images document buildings, grounds and attractions at the park including night and day time views of the lighted or "electric rainbow" fountain; the music pavilion, a open air theater which served as performance space for summer concert series featuring John Philip Sousa and others; the artificial lakes which were used for boating; popular rides including the Mountain Scenic Railway, the Airships (also known as the Captive Flying Machine), the Coal Mine (a roller coaster), and Venice (a gondola ride); the midway; the lake side pavilion which also served as a soda fountain; the casino; and boat landing. Also contains bird's eye views; views of the grounds and picnic areas; the entranceway; the cafe; a natural spring; and the Women's Building. Two postcards contain group portraits of Sousa's band and Victor Herbert's Orchestra., Postcards issued by a variety of different publishers with the greatest number (over thirty cards each) issued by J.M. Canfield and W.N. Jennings, a Philadelphia photographer. Includes part of two series Philadelphia Post Card Company, no. 1001-1012 and Illustrated Post Card Company, no. P-22 to P-30., Contains 134 postcards printed in color and 22 in black and white. Also includes 4 linen postcards., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Brightbill, George M., collector
- Date
- bulk 1902-1907
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Willow Grove - 168]
- Title
- Elevated r[ail] r[oad], highest point, New York
- Description
- View of steam-powered locomotive pulling cars around curved elevated track, sometimes called Suicide or Angels' Curve, located at 110th and 8th Avenues on New York City's 9th Avenue line. Two standing figures and a wagon with two passengers are at street level. After 1903 steam powered locomotives were no longer used on this line., View is numbered 7815 in a series., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Rau, William Herman, 1855-1920, photographer
- Date
- between 1896 and 1903
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Rau - transportation [P.9600.9]
- Title
- At Tamaqua, Pa
- Description
- View of a locomotive and passenger car at rest in the coal mining town. The town, laid out in 1829 by the Little Schuylkill, Navigation, and Railroad Company, served as the transition point between the Little Schuylkill and Catawissa railroads. The Catawissa Railroad, incorporated in 1831 and opened in 1854, traveled through the mountains near Blue Ridge connecting Port Clinton and Williamsport, Pennsylvania., Photographer's label pasted on verso., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Moran, John, 1831-1903
- Date
- [ca. 1862]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereos - Moran - Views - Cattawissa Railroad [P.9373]
- Title
- Pipe line, and rail road war. Transferring oil across rail road
- Description
- View showing two men and a horse-drawn tank wagon transporting oil between Millerstown and Pittsburgh stopped in front of a passing West Penn Rail Road locomotive. The tank wagon rests on a platform leading to railroad tracks near a sign inscribed, "Look out for the locomotive." Another tank wagon turns at a fork in the road in the distance. Also includes a residence in the background. Clothes drying on a clothesline in the backyard of the residence are visible. Oil tank wagons were used following the continual destruction of pipe lines by Pennsylvania Railroad Company workers., Buff mount with rounded corners., Title and publisher's imprint printed on verso., Brief history of the conflicts caused by the transport of oil from the fields to storage tanks printed on verso., Digitized for AMD: Global Commodities., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Robbins, Frank, b. 1846
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Robbins - Industry [P.9276.60]
- Title
- Ninth and Market streets - Philadelphia
- Description
- View looking east from Ninth Street showing the south side of the 800 block of Market Street. Depicts Gimbel Brother's Department Store, opened in 1894, at the southeast corner of Ninth and Market streets. Street and pedestrian traffic includes trolleys and horse-drawn carriages., Tile from label on negative., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Printed on mount: Made especially for fine trade., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1895
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9260.82]
- Title
- Delavan House, Chas. E. Leland & Co., proprietors. Warren F. Leland Clarendon Hotel, Saratoga Springs. Rossmore Hotel, junction Broadway, Seventh Avenue and 42d St., three blocks from Grand Central Depot, N.Y. and 20 minutes from Wall street. Chas. E. Leland, proprietor
- Description
- Breakfast menu containing an exterior view of the hotel operated by Leland 1865-1882. Also shows street and pedestrian traffic, including strolling couples, a train, and and horse-drawn coaches, carriages, carts and an omnibus. Menu organized as beverages (coffee, chocolate, and green and black tea); "Bread"; "Broiled"; "Fried"; "Stewed"; "Fish"; "Eggs"; "Cold"; and "Potatoes." Menu also includes hours of service for meals; notice of "Milk from Charles E. Leland's Valley Farm"; and the disclaimer "Dishes Ordered not on the Bill of Fare charged extra. All Meals, Lunches, Dessert or Fruit sent to Rooms, will be charged extra. Full prices charged for children occupying seat at the Public Table.", Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Gift of Helen Beitler and Estate of Helen Beitler.
- Date
- [ca. 1875]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Helen Beitler Graphic Ephemera Collection - Miscellaneous [P.2011.10.184]
- Title
- Centennial opening - the orators. 1876
- Description
- View showing a large crowd of visitors gathered around and on top of Memorial Hall (i.e., Art Gallery, built 1874-1876 after designs by Hermann J. Schwarzmann) on Opening Day on May 10, 1876. Pedestrians, many with parasols, walk toward the speakers' stands to hear President Ulysses S. Grant speak. Includes two West End Passenger Railway Company streetcars in the foreground. The fair celebrated the centennial of the United States through an international exhibition of industry, agriculture, and art., Title on negative., Photographer's imprint printed on mount and on verso. Imprint on verso contain initials "CPC" in decorative border surmounted by date range 1776-1876., White curved mount with rounded corners., Gift of Robert M. Vogel., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Creator
- Centennial Photographic Co.
- Date
- c1876
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Centennial Photographic Co. [P.9047.162]
- Title
- Street cars, Philadelphia
- Description
- View shows a horse-drawn railway car ready to pull away from the Ridge Avenue passenger depot or car barn. "Girard College" and "Ridge Avenue" flank the number "15" on the side of the car. A string of text running the length of the car above the windows reads, "Odd Fellows Cemetery, Laurel Hill, Falls of Schuylkill & Wissahickon". Other signboards read, "Through by railway" and "Girard College and Manayunk". A group of men, one holding the reins of the hitched horses, stand on or near the car. A woman disembarks from the front., Title printed on mount below image., Explicative paragraph of text about street cars in Philadelphia printed on verso below series title and surmounted by eagle clutching "United States of America" banner in its talons. Text and vignette enclosed within decorative border., Distributor's blindstamp on mount., Creme mount with square corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1865]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Transportation [P.8464.32]
- Title
- Almost there. -- Lizzie Bourn's [sic] monument
- Description
- View of a monument adjacent to the Mount Washington Cog Railway. The monument, constructed of rocks and a marker, memorializes Lizzie Bourne, a 23 year-old hiker, who died September 14, 1853 while attempting to ascend Mount Washington. The railway organized and directed by Sylvester Marsh was completed in 1869. Shows a man sitting on the tracks directly opposite the monument., Photographer's imprint printed on verso., Negative number printed on mount: No. 112., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Originally part of a McAllister scrapbook of American Views., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Kilburn Brothers, was a partnership between brothers Benjamin West Kilburn and Edward Kilburn from 1865 to 1877.
- Creator
- Kilburn Brothers
- Date
- [ca. 1874]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Kilburn Bros. - Views [5739.F.63a]
- Title
- D & H Canal & coal dock, Honesdale, Pa
- Description
- View showing the Delaware and Hudson Canal Company boat and coal dock on the canal. The Delaware and Hudson canal, constructed from 1825-1828 after the designs of engineer Benjamin Wright, was conceived by Philadelphia merchants, William and Maurice Wurtz, as a means to transport anthracite coal from northeastern Pennsylvania to New York. Depicts in the foreground, workers standing on one of several docked canal boats used to transport coal hauled to Honesdale by the Pennsylvania Coal Company gravity railroad. In the background, a Pennsylvania Coal Company locomotive steams down the tracks past mountains of coal., Orange mount with rounded corners., Title from manuscript note on mount., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- ca. 1885
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified -Transportation [P.9212.4]
- Title
- Fairmount
- Description
- Puzzle showing a Reading Railroad Co. train with passengers in the foreground and the Fairmount Waterworks and Wire Suspension Bridge from the west bank of the Schuylkill River in Philadelphia in the background. Includes spectators surrounding a hot air balloon behind the train and rowers and a steamboat on the Schuylkill River. The waterworks, originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Frederick Graff, were altered and expanded after the designs of Philadelphia engineers Henry P.M. Birkinbine and Frederick Graff, Jr. The Wire Bridge of Fairmount, the first suspension bridge in the United States, was built over the Schuylkill River from 1841-1842 after the designs of engineer Charles Ellet, Jr. and was removed in 1874., One of four puzzles housed in clamshell box., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- [ca. 1858]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *albums (flat) - Four Lithographic Puzzles [8418.F.1]
- Title
- The best flour inside View of the famous Washburn, Crosby Co. flour mills and St. Anthony Falls, Minneapolis, Minn
- Description
- Illustrated, metamorphic trade card depicting a windmill with panels that open to show bags and a barrel of "Superlative" and "Gold Medal" flour in the foreground and in the background, a bird's eye view of the Washburn-Crosby Co.'s flour mill complex, including "Mill C Elevator", adjacent to the St. Anthony Falls in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Also shows a train crossing the Mississippi River near the falls on the curved Stone Arch Bridge, which was built in 1883 by railroad tycoon James J. Hill for his Great Northern Railway. Cadwallader C. Washburn's business began as the Minneapolis Milling Company at the St. Anthony Falls site ca. 1856. John Crosby entered the partnership in 1877. Consolidated into General Mills in 1928 with twenty-six other national mills., Advertising text printed on verso promotes the "Superlative" and "Gold Medal" brands of flour produced by the Washburn-Crosby Co. of Minneapolis, Minnesota., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Digitized.
- Date
- [ca. 1890]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department trade card - Washburn [P.9993.2]
- Title
- Market St. looking east from Schuylkill
- Description
- View looking east from the Market Street Bridge showing the 2300 block of Market Street. Depicts a row of buildings, including S.H. Smith's Union Hotel at 2330 Market Street. The first Philadelphia Gas Works, completed in 1834 after the designs of engineer Samuel V. Merrick is visible on the opposite block. Pennsylvania Railroad tracks run adjacent to a train shed and the gas works and a horse-drawn carriage stands in front of the hotel. The first gas works were expanded in 1850. A second facility, the Point Breeze Gas Works, was built 1851-1854 at Passyunk and Schuylkill avenues after the designs of engineer John C. Cresson., Title and series number from manuscript note on verso., Photographer's label pasted on verso., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Retrospective conversion record: original entry, edited., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012., Newell & Son, a partnership between Robert and his son, Henry, was active from around 1870 until 1897 and the death of the elder Newell.
- Creator
- R. Newell & Son
- Date
- [ca. 1870]
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Newell - Streets [P.9260.66]
- Title
- S.E. corner of 22nd & Green Sts. Philada
- Description
- Exterior view of the front and east elevations of the three-story, brick row houses at 2146-2148 Green Street. Includes the side entrance of the corner property and a street lamp. Two women, three girls, and a baby in a carriage pose on the corner. A woman looks out the window at the viewer. Also shows a partial view of a horse-drawn streetcar (labeled "40" on the rear) turning the corner and heading east on Green Street. Two men on board look at the viewer., Title from manuscript note on verso., Date and initials from manuscript note on verso: J.B. 9/10/61., Yellow mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
- Date
- September 10, 1861
- Location
- Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - unidentified - Streets [P.9751.1]

