Advertisement with heavy street activity showing the manufactory at 1601 North Sixth Street for the firm founded by Benjamin J. and J. Lewis Crew and Stephen R. Rogers in 1860. Shop laborers load barrels onto a horse-drawn cart parked in front of the laboratory and unstack and shift crates and barrels that line the sidewalks. A company horse-drawn wagon passes in the street. Other traffic includes horse-drawn drays, a "Frankford & Southwark" street car, and elegantly-attired women and men crossing from and to street corners. Also shows a company wagon entering a bay and a dray entering a storage yard at the factory. Surrounding buildings, including probably the warehouse at the lumber yard of Jacob and George A. Binder (6th & Oxford), are visible in the background., Inscribed on recto: About 1854. Used during Civil War 1863-1865 as U.S. laboratory under charge of Prof. John M. Maisch. Maisch was a professor at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and secretary of the American Pharmaceutical Association., Philadelphia on Stone, Atwater Kent Museum: 88.98.423/90
Rease, W. H.
Atwater Kent Museum | Print Department AKM AKM 88.98.423/90
View showing the wrecked lumberyard at the southeast corner of 6th and Oxford streets destroyed by a flood that developed from a violent thunderstorm of hail. In the foreground, lay several lopsided piles of lumber. In the background, the chemical and pharmaceutical manufactory of Crew, Rogers, and Crew at 1601 North 6th Street stands unscathed next to a destroyed building., Buff mount with square corners., Title supplied by cataloguer., Attributed to Philadelphia photographer John Moran., Gift of E. Perot Walker., See Daily Evening Bulletin, September 4, 1861, p.3 for description of the flood., Digitization funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Moran, John, 1831-1903
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Moran - Business [P.8464.25]