Removed from 204-206 South Juniper Street in 1949., The Fire Association of Philadelphia was organized in 1817 by volunteer fire companies and incorporated as an insurance company in 1820. It became a joint stock company in 1871., Insurance policy holders were required to affix fire marks outside of their building to inform fire brigades that the building was insured and by which company., Fire Association of Philadelphia fire marks include a fire-plug with a section of hose attached to it, with the letters F.A. on each side of the plug.
Tradecard containing a view of the Fairmount Waterworks. View looking from the west bank of the Schuylkill River showing the waterworks originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Frederick Graff. Shows the engine house, mill house, mound dam, and Reservoir Hill. Also shows individuals fishing from and on a boat near the Schuylkill Canal lock in the foreground. Also contains the pictorial detail of a running hose entwined around a fire hydrant., Names of Trenton and Plainfield, N.J. agents stamped in blue ink on recto., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 251, Smithsonian Institution: NMAH Archives Center - Warshaw Collection - Fires & Firefighting - Box 2 Folder 23 - Fire Association
Major & Knapp Engraving, Manufacturing & Lithographic Co.
Smithsonian Institution | NMAH Archives Center Warshaw Collection SI NMAH Archives Center - Warshaw Collection - Fires & Firefighting - Box 2 Folder 23 - Fire Association