Blue and white transferware, by J. & W. Ridgway, Shelton, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent, between 1814 and 1830. Part of J. & W. Ridgway’s “Beauties of America Series.” Depicts the Library Company's 5th St. building surrounded by a border of medallions of roses and leaves., Gift of Donald H. Cresswell, 1997., Exhibited in Haverford College's exhibition, The Pennsylvania Landscape: Colonial to Contemporary (2007).
Buckets were the first means of defense against a fire in the 18th century. Home owners and businesses purchased them from saddlers or bellow-makers and had their name painted on them (to distinguish them from the public or fire company buckets). They were kept hanging in a convenient location in the building at all times., Six leather buckets inscribed, Library Company of Philadelphia, with a ornamental scroll above and a sunburst below., LCP Minutes vol. 6., Feb. 7, 1797, p. 64: “The Librarian was instructed to purchase six good large leathern buckets, painted with the words “Library Company of Philadelphia,” to be kept in the Library-Hall.” Vol. 6, Apr. 6, 1797, p. 65 : “The Librarian produced an account, amounting to L7.17.6, for six fire buckets, procured by directions of the board, for which amount an order was drawn on the Treasurer in his favor.”, Purchased by the Library Company in 1797., Exhibited in, Benjamin Franklin: In Search of a Better World (2005-2007).
The Union Library, founded in 1746, merged into the Library Company of Philadelphia in 1769., Image of an open book and two hands shaking. Inscription on outer ring of the seal reads, “Union Library Company Philadelphia.” Motto below this reads, “Read But Chuse.”, Acquired when the Union Library merged with LCP, 1769.
Two library tables with pine tops covered with red leather. Baluster turned legs joined by rectangular stretchers, which are molded on top. Ball feet. Drawer in apron has decorative brass pulls and key plate. One table lacks key plate. Original covering was likely green baize., Purchased by the Library Company, ca. 1740.
This tallow candle lantern formerly hung in the entrance to the Library's 5th St. building. It was preserved and rehung in the Ridgway Branch., Purchased by the Library Company from Poultney & Wilson in 1791.
The Ridgway Library was built with a million dollar bequest from Dr. James Rush with the condition that he would choose the site. It was named in honor of Dr. Rush’s wife, Phoebe Ann Ridgway Rush., This model was made for comparative purposes in choosing the architecture for the Ridgway Branch of the Library Company. The model was supplied by Addison Hutton, the architect of the Ridgway Library at Broad and Christian Streets., Made for the Library Company, ca. 1870.
United States one cent piece, "Liberty" and "1801" on the obverse with "United States of America" and "One Cent" on the reverse., Given to commemorate the year the 204 Juniper St. building was built (1801)., Gift of the Women's Committee by Miss Gertrude Atkinson, Feb. 15, 1943.
Laid on August 31, 1789., The cornerstone was formerly embedded in the base of the statue of Benjamin Franklin (OBJ 596). At the time the cornerstone was laid, a collection of coins and medals was placed inside (OBJ 054)., Library Company Minutes vol. 3, September 3. 1789, p. 178: "The building Committee reported, That the first stone of the edifice was laid on the thirty =first of August last;- that upon the suggestion of Dr. Benjamin Franklin a large stone was prepared and laid at the south=west cornor (sic) of the building with the following Inscription, composed by the Doctor, except so far as relates to himself, which the committee have taken the liberty of adding to it:-`Be it remembered,/In honor of the Philadelphia Youth,/then chiefly Artificers/ That in MDCCXXXI,/They cheerfully,/At the Instance of Benjamin Franklin,/one of their Number,/Instituted the Philadelphia Library;/which, tho' small at first,/Is become highly valuable and extensively useful,/And which the Walls of this Edifice/Are now destined to contain and preserve;/The first stone of whose Foundation,/was here placed/The thirty-first day of August,/Anno Domini MDCCLXXXIX,/ Benjamin Gibbs, Josiah Hewes, John Kaighn, Mordecai Lewis, Thomas Morris, Thomas Parke, Joseph Paschall, Benjamin Poultney, Richard Wells, Richard Wistar, then being Directors-, Samuel Coats, Treasurer, William Rawle, Secretary, Zachariah Poulson, Junr., Librarian'". Vol. 3, September 3, 1789, p. 179-180 describes the coins and medals placed inside the cornerstone. Vol. 8, May 7, 1880, p. 332: "On motion, the matter of the removal of the cornerstone of the building at 5 & Library Sts was referred to Mr. Biddle as a Committee with power to act".
Colored tiles which were placed around the fireplace in the Librarian’s room. Depicts the Logan coat of arms with the inscription, “Haec Majorum Virtus,” the Penn coat of arms, and the Library Company's coat of arms., Purchased by the Library Company, 1882.
Made of various woods: legs and stretchers are maple; arms are mahogany; arm supports are oak; seat is poplar; bow is white oak; spindles are hickory., Library Company set includes 11 chairs., Purchased by the Library Company from Joseph Henzey, Dec. 1792 for 11 pounds, five shillings., Exhibited in the Library Company's exhibition, Quarter of a Millennium (1981).
View from Broad Street of west front of Greek-Revival building constructed 1873-1878 by Addison Hutton near Christian Street for the Library Company of Philadelphia. Shows a man standing on a landscaped lawn enclosed by an iron fence in the foreground. Library built on the million dollar bequest of Dr. James Rush on the condition that he would choose the site of the library. Named in honor of Dr. Rush's wife, Phoebe Ann Ridgway Rush., Title supplied by cataloger. Incorrect title inscribed in negative: Girard College, Phila., Photographer's imprint on mount., Label pasted on verso includes paragraph describing history of Girard College., Buff curved mount with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Campbell, Alfred S., 1840-1912
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Campbell - Libraries [P.8451.6]