Fire company certificate containing a central view, vignettes, and firefighting iconography. Central view shows the company's fire station at Queen Street below Sixth Street. Two men and a dog sit in front of a fenced lot adjacent to the station. Vignettes show volunteers drawing a hand pump past the station in "1857" and a church in "1864"; firefighters battling the "Burning of the Ironsides" at League Island on December 16, 1866; and fighting the blaze from a boiler explosion at "Merrick's Foundry" on April 7, 1864. Fire fighting equipment including a fire hose, helmets, and axes are drawn layered together to form decorative elements in the upper corners. A small oval framed scene of "Marion and the British," semi-draped with an American flag, adorns an arch at the top. The scene shows Continental Army Lieut. Col. Francis Marion's slave Oscar Marion preparing a meal that the officer invited the British to share. Also contains the company institution date, 1833, and incorporation date, 1834., Not in Wainwright., Company seal pasted on recto., Issued to Geo. Jeffries on May 9, 1871. Signed by William Byrnes, Pres. and Alfred A. Mullen, Sec., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 456, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Certificates - Marion Hose, Duval and Hunter was a partnership between Stephen Orr Duval (P.S. Duval’s son) and Thomas Hunter that lasted from P.S. Duval’s retirement in 1869 until 1874.
Bosch, A. H., artist
Historical Society of Pennsylvania HSP Certificates - Marion Hose