Advertisement showing the factory complex built 1825-1876 between Ninth, Parrish, Brown, and Darien Streets. Buildings house a showroom, storerooms, laboratories, boiler rooms, acid houses, drying rooms, and warehouses. Horse-drawn carts and wagons pick up and make deliveries and travel past the manufactory. In the right of the image, a crossing guard with a signal flag stands at the corner of Ninth and Paris streets. Train cars travel the tracks of the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad past a separately-standing warehouse of the factory in the foreground. Opposite the factory and across from the railroad tracks, laborers load a horse-drawn cart with crates and barrels that are lined up in several rows. Also shows pedestrians on the sidewalks, a partial view of a neighboring building, and distant cityscape. In 1847, Powers & Weightman succeeded Farr & Kunzi (established in 1818), and became internationally renown for their manufacture of medicinal and other fine chemicals. The company was the first to introduce quinine to the United States., Not in Wainwright., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 620, Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bb 38 P 872, Gift of David Doret.
Blanc, Albert, artist
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *BW - Industries [P.2007.28.20]