Contains images of Chestnut Hill Academy, originally built as the Wissahickon Inn in 1883-1884 after designs by G. W. & W. D. Hewitt. Includes a landscape view of the school and an interior view of the swimming pool., Opened as a summer resort by Henry H. Houston. Chestnut Hill Academy occupied the building in 1898., Sheet number: 153B01., Undivided backs., Digitized with funding from a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Brightbill, George M., collector
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Brightbill postcards [Schools - Miscellaneous - 153]
Depicts the meeting house and school building constructed circa 1833 at the southeast corner of Orthodox and Penn Streets., Modern reference print #2 available in research file., Attributed to John H. Webster but may have been taken by other Webster family members.
Webster, John H., 1861-1934, photographer
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Webster [P.9501.105]
Aerial view of Chestnut Hill Academy in the St. Martin's area of Chestnut Hill. Depicts the u-shaped building constructed 1883-1884 after designs by G. W. & W. D. Hewitt that was formerly the Wissahickon Inn and which the academy occupied in 1898. Also shows nearby estates primarily established by Henry H. Houston. Chestnut Hill Academy was founded in 1851 as a boarding and day school for boys., Negative number: 7292.
Aero Service Corporation, photographer
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.7292]