Cityscape views looking south across the Schuylkill River from below the Lemon Hill estate showing the Fairmount Waterworks, pavilion on the mound dam, and steamboat landing on the east bank of the river. Also shows the west bank in West Philadelphia and the Wire Bridge at Fairmount in the distant background, built 1842 after designs by Charles Ellet, Jr. The Fairmount Water Works, originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Frederick Graff, were altered and expanded by Philadelphia engineers Henry P.M. Birkinbine and Frederick Graff, Jr., Title printed on mounts., Photographer's imprint printed on versos., Yellow mounts with rounded corners., Cataloging funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (PW-506-19-10), 2010-2012.
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department stereo - Kilburn - Parks [P.9168.9], Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Holstein stereo - Bridges [P.2011.47.78]
Aerial views of the Delaware River waterfront include the Benjamin Franklin Bridge (formerly the Delaware River Bridge) and piers in South Philadelphia. Views face north and west from a vantage point on the river, taken on a relatively clear day so that they extend well into North Philadelphia along the waterfront and into South Philadelphia towards the Center City skyline, which can be seen in the distance., Negative numbers: 13829n, 13831n., Manuscript note on negative sleeves indicates images were taken December 3, 1930.
Aero Service Corporation, photographer
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department Aero Service [P.8990.13829n; P.8990.13831n]
Contains eight, titled vignettes with varying Kollner imprints depicting "Girard College," "State House," "Fairmount," and "Exchange," i.e., the Merchant's Exchange. The Girard College, State House, and Merchant Exchange views are repeated. Girard College vignette shows Founder’s Hall and the eastern and western outbuildings built 1833-1847 after the designs of Thomas Ustick Walter. State House vignette shows Independence Hall, built 1732-1748 after the designs of Andrew Hamilton and Edmund Woolley at 520 Chestnut Street. Also shows City Hall built 1790-1791 after the designs of David Evans, Jr. (500 Chestnut) and Congress Hall built 1787-1789 (540-558 Chestnut). Fairmount vignette shows the Fairmount Waterworks and the Wire Bridge at Fairmount. The waterworks were originally built 1812-1822 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Frederick Graff and the bridge was built 1841-1842 after the designs of engineer Charles Ellet, Jr. Exchange vignette shows the exchange building constructed 1832-33 for the Philadelphia Exchange Company after the designs of William Strickland at 143 South Third Street. A line of horse-drawn carriages is parked in front of the building., Not in Wainwright., Includes registration marks., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 768
Kollner, Augustus, b. 1813, artist
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department *BW - Education - G [P.8662.16]