Oblique view of the front and north flank of the one-and-a-half story granite engine house at the Spring Garden and Northern Liberties Water Works (later known as the Schuylkill Water Works) at the foot of Thompson Street on the east bank of the Schuylkill River. In the foreground, an empty horse-drawn cart is stopped near a pump, where a man fills a bucket with water. A man stands with his arms crossed in the side door, a couple strolls arm in arm, and three men stand and converse at the foot of the stairs of the engine house entrance. Includes a canalboat (named the Captain T.M. Scott, after the artist) on the river, along with a partial view of the water basin of the waterworks lined by a fence in the background. The waterworks, completed circa 1845 after the designs of engineer William E. Morris, provided water to the Spring Garden, Northern Liberties, and Kensington neighborhoods., Philadelphia on Stone, POS 512, Wainwright retrospective conversion project, edited., Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Bc88 N 874.
Kuchel, Charles Conrad, b. 1820, artist
Library Company of Philadelphia | Print Department **W254 [P.2128]