Back to top

Dr. Bensel's old barn, School Lane, rear of Saving Fund.

Germantown Academy, built 1760.

107 W. School Lane. Bought in 1810 for faculty of Academy.

N.W. & N. E. Chelten Ave. & Main St., Post Office & 1st Presbyt. Church.

N.E. [sic] & S.E. cor. Main St. and Chelten Ave.

Old P & R. Ry. Station, Main St., Germantown.

Old willow, Vernon Park & a monument to commemorate Battle of Germantown.

Vernon Park near Main St.

Vernon Park on Greene St.

Vernon, Wister mansion. Built in 1803 by James Matthews.

Doorway of Wister House, Vernon Park.

Public library, Vernon Park.

5845 Main St. Standing at time of Revolution.

Doorway to Blair House, formerly in Bensel House.

N. E. Main & Walnut Lane, built 1806 by Rev. Saml. Blair for his son S. Blair Jr.

Doorway, N. E. Walnut Lane & Main St.

Mennonite Meeting, Main St.

6205 Main St., built by Dirck Keyser 1738. 1st 2-story house in Germantown.

6211 Main St.

Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.

Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.

Wakefield Mills, Fisher's Lane. Built by Wm. Logan Fisher.

Old building, Fisher's Hollow, used as a powder mill during Revolution.

Near Wakefield, Fisher's Lane.

Very old house, date unknown. Was used as home of sexton of St. Michaels Lutheran Church. 6669 Main St.

Paul House, 6843 Main St. Occupied by Gorgas family during battle of Germantown.

Gowen House, S.E. cor. Main St. & Gowen Ave.

John Keyser House, 6347 Main St. Revolutionary.

Doorway of 6347 Main St. Keyser-Rodney House.

Main St. entrance to Chew House, Main & Johnson St.

Chew House, Main & Johnson Sts.

Chew House, Germantown, Pa.

Upsala, Johnson House. Main St. near Upsal St.

Carlton, north side, near Midvale Ave. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

Carlton, from the east. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

"Springbank," Wissahickon Ave. Built by Wm. Rittenhouse 1736, afterwards home of John Welsh.

[[The]] Monestary [sic]. Built by Joseph Gorgas bt. 1746 & 1752.

On the Wissahickon, just above Kitchen's Lane, where the Dunkards baptized in 1719.

Livezey House, Gtn. From west bank of Wissahickon.

Thos. Livezey House on Wissahickon.

Doorway of Livezey House, 3 p.m.

Old tavern on Wissahickon Drive below Lincoln Drive.

Indian Rock Hotel, upper Wissahickon Drive.

5112-5114 Main St.

Home of Christopher Ludwig, Baker General to Continental Army. So. side Haines St. abv. Chew.

Entrance to Jewish Hospital. Columns formerly in front of U. S. Mint, Juniper & Chestnut.

Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.

Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.

Old stone monument to Continental soldiers buried inside gateway to Chas. Wharton's place, Old York Road below Chelten Ave.

Home of Thos. Godfrey, inventor of the quadrant. Died 1749. N. E. Church Lane & Dunton [sic] St. near Old York Road.