Back to top

Little lily vendor at [Avocado], Sea Girt, N.J. [graphic].

[Residences lining an unidentified canal] [graphic].

View at Seal Harbor, Mt. Desert [Island], Maine [graphic].

Old Swedes Church, Wilmington Del. [graphic].

White Wings [sailboat] Manasquan River, N.J. [graphic].

A favoring wind. Shrewsbury River [graphic].

Deserted house at Atsion, N.J. [graphic].

In the woods, Sea Girt, N.J., [Bess and another woman sitting in foreground] [graphic].

Weathercock from the steeple of German Reform Church at Market Square 1733-1833 [graphic].

Fording to the Island. Boys Parlors Asso[ciation] first camp, Upper Delaware R[iver] [graphic].

Old Friend's Meeting House, Manasquan, N.J. [graphic].

E[lliston] P[erot] M[orris] Jr. at Sea Girt [graphic].

[Mennonite meeting house with view of cemetery grounds, Germantown] [graphic].

Canoeing on the Mullica River [graphic].

[Unidentified residence near a body of water] [graphic].

[Unidentified harbor with schooner] [graphic].

Bark under full sail [graphic].

Decoration of Quebec Cathedral. Installation of Cardinal Tascherau [graphic].

[Tree near unidentified river] [graphic].

Snuff Mill & house near Providence, Rhode Island where Gilbert Stuart the painter was born [graphic].

Winter scene on Mill Creek [graphic].

Fall in the Plaaterkill Clove, Catskill M[oun]t[ain]s, N.Y. [graphic].

Wood road at Sea Girt, N.J. [graphic].

Gathering "Centaury" Sea Girt, N.J. [graphic].

[Portait of] "Katie" Swan [graphic].

Midway Plaisance-Cairo Street-Outrunners of Wedding Procession [graphic].

From the beach, Sea Girt, N.J. [graphic].

Robert Elliston. Original painting on wood in possession of Mrs. Quill, Smith Parish, Bermuda [graphic].

Wife of Robert Elliston. Original paintings on wood in procession of Mrs. Quill, Smiths' Parish, Bermuda [graphic].

N. end of Electrical Building. Transportation B[ui]ld[in]g in distance [graphic].

Snuff Mill & house near Providence, Rhode Island where Gilbert Stuart the painter was born [graphic].

Jas. S. Willis' home. Willis Island Upper Delaware River [graphic].

Midway Plaisance-Dahomans [graphic].

Woods Allaire, N.J

Camp of Germantown Boys Club at Stone Harbor N.J. from July 15 to Aug 5, 1911 [graphic].

[Deshler-Morris House, 5442 Germantown Avenue]

4821 Main St.

Wagner House, 4840 Main St., built 1747, hospital in Battle of Germantown.

Henry House, 1760. 4908 Main St. In 1828 bought by John S. Henry father of Alex Henry thrice mayor of Phila.

General Wayne Hotel, S.W. Main & Manheim Sts.

Conyngham-Hacker House, 5214 Main St.

5430 Main St. Home of Capt. Albert Ashmead.

"Wyck" Haines home, Walnut Lane & Main St., oldest house standing in Gt'n at this date.

Wyck, front bedroom.

Knorr house, N.W. Main St. & Walnut Lane, from pencil sketch on a visiting card, made in 1862.

Old Johnson House, N. W. Main & Washington Lane.

[[The]] Johnson House, Main & Washington Lane, built in 1768 by John Johnson. The doors & hall show marks of bullets in battle of Germantown.

Keyser House, 6316 Main St., subsequently owned by Elwood Johnson.

[Upsala, Johnson House. Main St. near Upsal St.]

Near Wakefield, Fisher's Lane.

Old stone monument to Continental soldiers buried inside gateway to Chas. Wharton's place, Old York Road below Chelten Ave.

Birthplace of David Rittenhouse, born 1732. On Lincoln Drive, Germantown.

Robeson's Knoll, mouth of Wissahickon.

Old market sheds, 1898. 2nd St. North from Lombard.

Neglee House, 4518-20 Main St., built before 1750.

Hotel on Ridge Ave. Falls of the Schuylkill.

Warner houses, 6021 & 6023 Main St.

Old Concord School House. Main St. Germantown, Pa. Built 1775

Old Mill near Jay Cooke's residence Chelten Hills.

Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.

5261 Main St. Built by John Wister 1744.

Blair House, Main & Walnut Ln. Built 1775 by Dr. Wm. Shippen, occupied also by his son in law. Rev. Saml. Blair afterward President of Princeton University.

Riverside Mansion, Ridge Road, Phil.

Mehl House, 4817 Main St.

Jacob Knorr House, 1760, 6307 Main St.

[Merchants Exchange, Philadelphia]

On the Wissahickon near Valley Green.

Germantown Academy, built 1760.

Doorway of Stenton.

Very old house, date unknown. Was used as home of sexton of St. Michaels Lutheran Church. 6669 Main St.

[[The]] Castle. Built 1812 [sic]. State in Schuylkill fish house below Graysferry. Old fishing club. Founded 1732.

Home of Anthony Gilbert, "the Strong Blacksmith."

5450 Main St. Built 1790. Home of Thos. Armat.

5151 Main St. Home of Phil. R. Freas and first office of the Village Telegraph, later Germantown Telegraph.

Livezey House, Gtn. From west bank of Wissahickon.

Built by Jos. Spencer 1746. N. side Old York Road opposite Church Lane. Sold to Dr. Benneville in 1758 & named Silver Farm.

Branchtown Hotel, York Road and Church Lane. Built by Joseph Spencer 1790.

Vernon Park on Greene St.

Statue of Stephen Girard in Girard College.

[[The]] Monestary [sic]. Built by Joseph Gorgas bt. 1746 & 1752.

Hokey Pokey Man.

Peter Robeson House in 1789. Ridge Road & mouth of the Wissahickon.

Sandeago - Cuba

[Black woman washing young black boy at a dam]

N.W. & N. E. Chelten Ave. & Main St., Post Office & 1st Presbyt. Church.

Doorway of Livezey House, 3 p.m.

Wanamakers, 5 mo. 1899. Market St. Front.

"Ship" House, Main St., G'tn. 6338 Main St. Built 1760. At one time an inn. First public hall in Gt'n. was in rear. One of first three hand fire engines kept here.

Stenton, built by James Logan 1727.

S.W. Manheim & Portico St., near Main St. Owned by Jacques Marie Roset in 1792. Introduced the tomato to Gtn.

Riverside Mansion, formerly Milverton.

Old blacksmith shop, Ridge Ave. & Wissahickon opposite Millverton.

Dr. Bensel's old barn, School Lane, rear of Saving Fund.

Old tavern on Wissahickon Drive below Lincoln Drive.

Morris House.

Carlton, north side, near Midvale Ave. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

Loudoun, built 1801 by Thos. Armat for his son.

Old Market, 2nd & Pine Sts. 1745. Clock & bell put in, 1819.

Court of Honor, Peace Jubilee. Oct. 25-28, 1898. Looking north from Locust St. Shows Dundas House cor. Broad & Walnut.

6211 Main St.

N. W. Upsal & Main St. from Upsal St.

6305 Main St.

Home of Col. Thos. Forrest, artillery officer Battle Germantown. Stenton Ave, east side, north of Haines St.

Rear of old Swan Tavern, Ridge Ave & Nicetown Lane.

Main St. abv. Upsal.

Gowen House, S.E. cor. Main St. & Gowen Ave.

Broad St. looking N. from Filbert, showing the four churches on 4 corners of Arch St.

Looking up Market St. from Front.

Chelten Ave. Station P.R.R. Just before it was raised [sic] 1-1916.

Wakefield, home of Thos. & Sarah Fisher. Built about 1795.

Indian Rock Hotel, upper Wissahickon Drive.

Doorway, N. E. Walnut Lane & Main St.

A Guernsey herd.

Paul House, 6843 Main St. Occupied by Gorgas family during battle of Germantown.

Cypress planted by John Bartram. In 1830 it was 91 years old, 112 ft. high, 25 ft. in circumference.

Old barn of Wyck altered into dwelling, Walnut Lane W. of Main St.

Wakefield Mills, Fisher's Lane. Built by Wm. Logan Fisher.

Home of Christopher Ludwig, Baker General to Continental Army. So. side Haines St. abv. Chew.

Morris-Littel House, Main & High St.

Old willow, Vernon Park & a monument to commemorate Battle of Germantown.

Doorway of Chew House, 1882.

Steamboat plying between Phila. and Smith's Island. Between Phila. & Camden.

Main St. entrance to Chew House, Main & Johnson St.

Engle House, Germantown. Built 1758.

Rear of 5140 Main St. Gtn. House in which Gilbert Stuart painted portrait of Washington.

Christopher Ludwig house, Haines Street.

John Keyser House, 6347 Main St. Revolutionary.

N.E. [sic] & S.E. cor. Main St. and Chelten Ave.

6205 Main St., built by Dirck Keyser 1738. 1st 2-story house in Germantown.

Girard College.

Entrance to Jewish Hospital. Columns formerly in front of U. S. Mint, Juniper & Chestnut.

Toland House, 4810 Main St., built abt. 1740. Home of Geo. Miller, an officer of Continental army.

Vernon Park near Main St.

5434 Main St. Home of John Ashmead.

5112-14 Main St.

"Laurel Hill," Dr. Physic's residence. Fairmount Park. Built 1765.

Concord School House. Built 1775.

Doorway to Johnson House, Main & Washington Ln.

Wyck.

Thos. Livezey House on Wissahickon.

Morris-Littel House, S. east cor. Main & High St.

Old houses, N. side of Locust near 5th St.

E. Park Drive where Wissahickon Drive enters.

Among the Berkshire Hills.

Johnson House, Main & Johnson Sts. Oldest house in Germantown. Built in 1698 by Heivert Papen. Passed into Johnson family early in the 18th century. Demolished in 1883

Doorway of Wister House, Vernon Park.

Blair House, 6043 Main St. First 3 story house, 1775. In 1851 owned by Charlotte Cushman the actress.

Pencoyd Iron Works, opposite mouth of Wissahickon.

Smith House. Main St. abv. High. DPS 1748 on gabel.

Canal near Bridgeport below Norristown, Pa.

Washington Inn, Washtn. Lane & Main St., known as Washington Tavern, 1793.

5845 Main St. Standing at time of Revolution.

6019 Main St. Old Green Tree Tavern, once kept by Daniel & Sarah Pastorius until his death in 1754. Shows also 6021 & 23.

Mennonite Meeting, Main St.

Triumphal Arch. Peace Jubilee. Oct. 1898.

"Springbank," Wissahickon Ave. Built by Wm. Rittenhouse 1736, afterwards home of John Welsh.

Chew House, Germantown, Pa.

On the Wissahickon, just above Kitchen's Lane, where the Dunkards baptized in 1719.

5203-5205 Main St. Home of Dr. Theodore Ashmead and Dr. Belton. Owen Wister born here July 14,1860.

Doorway to Blair House, formerly in Bensel House.

Cope House, Main abv. Johnson St. [sic]

Clock tower of Independence Hall, Philada.

Reading R.R. Bridge at mouth of Wissahickon.

[Iron truss canal bridge spanning dry land.]

Rear of Johnson House, Main St. & Washington Lane.

Old building, Fisher's Hollow, used as a powder mill during Revolution.

Market Square showing two old houses. Monument to soldiers who fell in War of Rebellion. Erected 1883.

5300 Main St. at present parsonage of Trinity Luth. Church. Formerly Sauer's property. In cellar first type case in America 1772.

Engle House, Main St. abv. Town Hall. Built 1758 by Benj. Engle. Stone in N. Gable B. E. 1758.

Looking east at mouth of Wissahickon.

Ripplemead from the hill.

Emlem Homestead. Washington's headquarters previous to Battle of Germantown, Whitemarsh, Pa.

Billmyer House, 1727, N.E. Main & Upsal Sts.

Hicksite Friends' Meeting House, N.E. 9th & Spruce. Since demolished.

St. George's Hall. N.W. [sic] 13th & Arch Sts.

Near Sheffield, Mass. 1890.

5112-5114 Main St.

Carlton, from the east. Washington's Headquarters 1777.

Home of Thos. Godfrey, inventor of the quadrant. Died 1749. N. E. Church Lane & Dunton [sic] St. near Old York Road.

Edgar H. Butler's House, Main below High St. G'tn.

5242-44 Main St., formerly Indian Queen Hotel.

Parsonage of St. Stephens Church, 5213 Main St.

5011 Main St.

N. E. Main & Walnut Lane, built 1806 by Rev. Saml. Blair for his son S. Blair Jr.

Old P & R. Ry. Station, Main St., Germantown.

Mermaid Tavern, Main St., Chestnut Hill.

Main St. abv. Washington Lane, S.W. side of Main St.

Main St. above Upsal, S.W. side.

Thos. Kunders House, where 1st Friends' Meeting in Germantown was held.

Valley Green on Wissahickon.

Where Wissahickon Drive joins E. Park Drive.

Vernon, Wister mansion. Built in 1803 by James Matthews.

Dunkard Meeting House, Germantown. Main St. abv. Sharpnack, N.E. side, 1770, mother church of Dunkards or German Baptists.

Old P.R.R. Station. foot of Market St., Phila. Just previous to widening Delaware Ave. 1898.

Spring on the Cresheim Creek.

Doorway of 6347 Main St. Keyser-Rodney House.

Capt. Barrow's House, 5106 Main St.

Old House, Main St. & Mermaid Lane.

Chew House, Main & Johnson Sts.

John Bringhurst House, 1775-1795, 5219 Main St.

Pages