Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Depicts the south and west elevations of Lemon Hill mansion near the Schuylkill River in east Fairmount Park as it appeared circa 1875. Henry Pratt built the house in 1800 and in 1844, several years after Pratt's death, Lemon Hill became the first mansion aqcuired by the city of Philadelphia to create a public park. A man sits on a bench and reads the newspaper. A sign for Ice Cream hangs from the second floor balcony.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Depicts a cottage located on the west side of the Schuylkill River above the Reading Railway Bridge. The farm house was on the estate of Jacob S. Waln when the Irish poet Tom Moore puportedly stayed here during his visit to Philadelphia in 1804.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Depicts the south side of the bridge spanning the Schuylkill River at Girard Avenue. Measuring 100 feet wide, the iron and stone Girard Avenue Bridge, built between 1872 and 1874, was considered to be the widest bridge in the world at the time of its construction. It replaced an earlier bridge at this site. The bridge, designed by James and Henry Sims, was demolished between 1970 and 1971.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Depicts a dirt footpath in East Fairmount Park, leading to Strawberry Mansion., Strawberry Mansion, also known as Summerville, was commissioned by Judge William Lewis, in 1789. In the 1820s Joseph Hemphill bought the property and added two wings to the house. His son Coleman grew strawberries from roots imported from Chile, giving the property its popular name, Strawberry Mansion. The house became a picnicking spot and restaurant in 1835. The Fairmount Park Commission bought the property in 1868.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., View looking from the west bank of the Schuylkill River showing the Fairmount Water Works. Includes the observatory tower arch (built 1860). A man stands among lush vegetation on the west riverbank. The waterworks, originally built between 1812 and 1822 after the designs of Philadelphia engineer Frederick Graff, were altered and expanded after the designs of Philadelphia engineers, Henry P.M. Birkinbine and Frederick Graff, Jr.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., View from hill looking in the direction of Fairmount Water Works on the east bank of the Schuylkill River. View mostly obscured by trees.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., View of Thomas Mill Bridge, a distinctive red, covered bridge that spans the Wissahickon Creek. It is the only covered bridge still standing in Philadelphia.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Depicts the single stone arch of the Allegheny Tunnel. Men are lined up at the edge of the cliff above the tunnel. Built in 1854 for the Pennsylvania Railroad.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., View looking east at the single stone arch of the Greensburg Tunnel. People sit and stand near the Greensburg station building on the south side of the tracks. A church steeple and other buildings near Harrison Avenue are visible above the tunnel.
Free-standing hand and torch from the Statue of Liberty mounted on subscription kiosk. A small crowd at the base of structure and two men at the hilt of the torch. In background is New York 'Tribune' Building, Women's Pavilion, and Drinking Fountain. The 'Liberty' hand and torch was designed by Fridiric Bartholdi; the Drinking Fountain was erected by the Sons of Temperance of Pennsylvania.
View of Centennial grounds with the lake and several buildings, including the Main Building, Machinery Hall, the Pennsylvania State Building, visible. In the foreground is a cart with a tower topped by a flag. Two men on platform at top of tower, one man climbing up the tower, and three seated on the cart.
Architects: Judge's Pavillion, Bldg. #109 - H.J. Schwarzmann, Hugh Kafka; World's Ticket Office, Bldg. #84 - H.J. Schwarzmann, Hugh Kafka; Centennial Photographic Association Building, Bldg. #110 - H.J. Schwarzmann.
Overview of exhibition grounds, with railroad, buildings, and people visible. In the center is a lake. Flags top most buildings.
Interior view of the main building from the southwest looking northwest. The view looks from the German exhibit towards Great Britain and Ireland. Depicts merchandise displays including Elberfeld, Exhibit #201, Gebhard & Co., John S. Brown & Sons, Belfast, Exhibit #19.
Display of "Old Abe", a Wisconsin Eagle, housed in an annex north of the Wisconsin State Building. Lithograph caption: "North of this building is an annex intended for special display of the productions of Wisconsin. It contains specimens of the ores, minerals, stone and woods of the State. Over this collection presides the war-eagle 'Old Abe,' a bird which can boast of a biography the particulars of which some of the 'Badger State' attendants will be glad to relate."
Four state buildings, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Michigan, in the background. Connecticut Building -- D.R. Brown, from a design by Donald G. Mitchell. In the foreground are roads filled with people, and railroad tracks.
Interior overview of South Avenue in Machinery Hall. Depicts various machines and steam engines. Exhibit titles: Lovegrove & Co., Phila., Pa., Exhibit #588; Charles P. Gladwin, Phila., Pa., Exhibit #596, machinery hall, Bldg.#2.
Aerial view of the exhibition from the reservoir.
Architects: Michigan State Building - N/A; New Hampshire State Building - N/A; Connecticut State Building - D.R. Brown, from a design by Donald G. Mitchell; Massachusetts State Building - N/A; Delaware State Building - E.L. Rice Jr.; Maryland State Building - George A. Frederick; U.S. Government Building - James H. Windrim; Main Exhibition Building - Henry Pettit & Joseph M. Wilson; Machinery Hall - Henry Pettit & Joseph M. Wilson.
Photographer's imprint printed on mount., Photographer's blindstamp on mount., Men sit and stand on the porch of the four-story Logan House hotel, built 1852-53 by Pennsylvania Railroad carpenter foreman Thomas Burchinell. The hotel closed in 1927 and was converted to a post office in the early 1930s.
Ornamental fountain by Janes & Kirtland, New York, N.Y, inside Agricultural Hall. On the rim of the basin are planters, around the base of the fountain there are sculptures, and on top there is a sculpture. In the background "the Old Windmill" from Hecker, George V., & Co., New York, N.Y., Exhibit #203, and a U.S. Post mailbox are visible.
Large crowds along the roads around exhibition buildings. Buildings visible include U.S. Government Building and arm and hand of Bartholdi's Statue of Liberty. Depicts statues, shrubs, trees, and walkways.
View down Main Avenue in Agricultural Hall. Prominent is a wooden cow at the mincemeat display, containers of biscuits and crackers, and a Tufts soda fountain. Exhibit titles: Atmore & Son, Philadelphia, Pa., Exhibit #147; Larrabee, E.J., & Co., Albany, N.Y., Exhibit #258; Tufts, Jas. W.,Boston, Mass., Exhibit #n/a, Agricultural Hall, Bldg. #152.
View of lake looking northwest from Machinery Hall. Cook's World's Ticket Office visible in foreground. U.S. Government Building and Michigan State Building visible in background. Also depicts fountains, railroad tracks, and boats.
Interior of Art Gallery. Several figural sculptures on pedestals and one surrounded by benches. Framed paintings on the walls and skylight above. Note on wall reads, "Do not point at the works with canes parasols &c."